Contemporary

/Contemporary

Review: All That You Can’t Leave Behind by Kirby Quinlan

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: All That You Can't Leave Behind
Author: Kirby Quinlan
Cover Artist: Kirby Quinlan
Publisher: KQ Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating2 Stars (2 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Let go of the past. Live in the moment. The future will take care of itself.

Tailor Sway is a professional organizer on the brink of divorce. When he is hired to appear on a reality TV show called “Hoarded Houses”, he has three days to help a collector of Christmas decorations clean up her property before it’s condemned by local authorities.

Everything is going according to Tailor’s carefully laid plans. That is, until Brayzen Mapleridge, a mega-famous pop singer known for his wild, daredevil antics, shows up.

Forced to pay for a recent stunt which has turned into a serious legal matter, Brayzen is given the opportunity to avoid jail time by doing some hard labor in front of the cameras. But, it’s not an easy thing to do while being chased by all who trail in the wake of a major celebrity. Is Brayzen sincere about helping, or is it all just part of a well-crafted publicity campaign?

Despite some initial clashes between Tailor’s uptight determination and Brayzen’s carefree attitude, the two develop an unlikely partnership that quickly blossoms into a sizzling attraction.

But, Tailor’s unresolved conflict with his husband, Grant, an emotionally scarred veteran of the Iraq War, still looms in the background amidst a whirlwind of TV cameras, relentless paparazzi, eager fans, and scathing headlines. Despite all these complications, will it be Brayzen’s own meddling mother who puts the brakes on their steamy love affair for good?

At times sexy, laugh-out-loud funny, and tragically heartbreaking; this erotic tale of love, loss and letting go promises to give you a front-row seat on Tailor and Brayzen’s crazy, romantic rollercoaster ride. Strap yourself in!


Review:

This is another review that’s difficult to write because in order to explain why I feel the way I do about this story I have to give too much away and I won’t do that, not even by hiding it in a spoiler. So I’m left with trying to explain without giving to many specifics. I’ll give this a try and hope it makes sense.

Tailor is that guy you call if you are in need of organization, he’s even on a tv show helping people get their places and lives in order. Brazyen is a musician that got himself into some trouble with the law and part of his punishment is working with Tailor to fulfill his community service. After a less than stellar first meeting they do hit it off and I thought they were a great couple with lots of chemistry. One major road block for these guys is that Tailor is married and not willing to act on his feelings for Brazyen.

I really wanted to like this story but unfortunately it just didn’t work for me. Tailor and Brayzen are great main characters and some of the secondary characters are interesting even the story premise is a good one but and there is a very big but….so much went wrong. I did like this story until the 25% mark then one paragraph made the whole story fall apart for me. “How many years has it been now? It’s been a while. Poor Brayzen. I mean it’s no wonder he flaked out these past few years. Sneaking that pet monkey he had on the plane to Germany, exposing himself, getting in trouble with the law.” First of all, is this story really about Justin Bieber and the name has just been changed? Because not that long ago it was in the news about Justin Bieber trying to get his monkey on a plane in Germany, along with all is other troubles that sound very similar to Brayzen, it didn’t help that Brayzen is also a musician. That paragraph took it one step to far for me, add in the fact the writing doesn’t flow and at times sounds stilted. There were places the story read like bullet points rather than a smooth flowing sentences. One other major problem I had with this story was Tailor’s husband. That man was one big hot mess and what the author does with him annoyed me to no end!

I really do think there could be something here and with a lot of reworking it could potentially be a good story but as it stands it just it just didn’t work for me.

December 1st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Meet the Family by Leta Blake & Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Meet the Family (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Leta Blake Books
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Follow Will & Patrick as they cope with the fallout from their Vegas wedding in this second installment of the romantic-comedy serial, Wake Up Married, by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

Meeting the family is challenging for every new couple. But for Will and Patrick, the awkward family moments only grow more hilarious—and painful—when they must hide the truth of their predicament from the people they care about most.

Throw in the sexual tension flaring between them, uncomfortable run ins with Will’s all-too-recent ex-boyfriend, an overprotective mobster father, and a mafia spy tailing them around Healing, South Dakota, and you’ve got a recipe for madcap laughs and surprisingly heartwarming feels.

Episode 2 of 6 in the Wake Up Married serial.


Review:

Yet this novella was another excellent read and a great second episode to the serial. I got to learn more about Will’s family and they were complicated. Scary, yes, but complicated. The writing style flowed extremely well and I was able to enjoy without re-read to understand what was going on. Everything was explained clearly. It was also cool to learn more about Patrick. He may be a jerk, but on a deeper level, he wasn’t. I still adored Patrick more than any other characters.

I’m curious to learn more about Will’s mother. She seemed to be a strong optioned character. She did judge before get to know Patrick, but that would be what all mother would have done anyway. Will’s grandmother, on other hand, was an awesome grandmother! She was hilarious. I’m looking forward to read more between Will and Patrick. I have a great feeling things are going to turn out better for both of them even if they deny it. I believe they were meant to be together, but I shall wait and find out as I continue on reading the next episode. It was as excite as waiting for new episode coming up on television.

I highly recommended you to start first episode before starting this one or you would be completely lost since it cannot be read as a stand-alone novella. Start at the first episode and you’ll love this episode more.

November 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married by Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Join the wild ride in this vibrant and fun first installment of the new romantic comedy serial by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

After a drunken night of hot sex in Vegas, strangers Will Patterson and Dr. Patrick McCloud wake up married. A quickie divorce is the most obvious way out—unless you’re the heir of a staunchly Catholic mafia boss with a draconian position on the sanctity of marriage.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, Will and Patrick don’t like it, or each other, but they have to make the best of it until they can find another way out of their marriage. To ensure the trust fund Will’s charitable foundation relies on isn’t revoked by his mobster grandfather, he and Patrick travel to Will’s hometown of Healing, South Dakota, posing as a newlywed couple in the throes of true love at first sight.

Complicating their scheme are Will’s unresolved feelings for his all-too-recent ex-boyfriend Ryan, and Patrick’s desire to get back to the only thing that really matters to him in life: neurosurgery. Will they fool everyone? Or will the mafia get wind that their marriage is a fake? Throw their simmering attraction into the mix and all bets are off!

Episode 1 of 6 in the Wake Up Married Serial.


Review:

Wake up married with no knowledge can be scary. This novella just proves it. Will sure is a whiny character but I can see why he is acting like that. He comes from a wild family where he needs to be sure everything is going as expected. Otherwise his dream will crushes easily over one tiny mistake. He can’t afford making a dramatic mistake and getting married happened to be one of the huge mistake. It is entirely up to him to try to figure out how to solve the situation without losing everything he builds.

Patrick is a jerk but a fun character to get connect with. I don’t even dislike him, in fact, I like him best out of all characters so far. I feel terribly bad for Patrick being trapped after a crazy night in Vegas. I have no knowledge about getting hitched in Vegas is much harder to get it undo. But it is what making the first episode exciter. The challenge Will and Patrick have to deal is a good storyline to introduce the first season.

I’m really looking forward to start the second episode and see what happens next. I also am looking forward to learn more about Will’s grandmother. I have a funny feeling there will be a huge problem when Will’s ex tries to get involve, so I can’t wait!

I highly recommend you to check the first episode out. The novella formats as a true episode is done extremely well. It feels like I have been watching it on television.

October 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Pura Vida by Sara Alva (Audiobook Version)

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Pura Vida
Author: Sara Alva
Narrator: Joseph Northton
Cover Artist: Madison Parker
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella (2 hours and 23 minutes)
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Simon has found himself in an open relationship for the summer – though not by choice. Instead of wallowing, he’s decided to make the most of a family vacation to Costa Rica by hooking up with the first hot guy available. The trouble is, he has no clue how to go about doing that.

Luckily, he runs into someone with a little more experience. But when the moments of lust turn into something more, Simon isn’t so sure he’ll be able to return to his old relationship. And there’s no way to hold onto this new one, either, as thousands of miles will separate them in only a few short weeks. Either way, he’ll have to learn to let go.


Review:

Pura Vida is a sweet short vacation fling that turns in to more than each guy expects.  It is a relatively uncomplicated young adult story that changes the lives of these two men over time. And there are sea turtles!

While vacationing in Costa Rica with his family Simon hooks up with a local, Juan.  Simon has been forced into an open relationship by his boyfriend Leo who is ready to move on but Simon is having trouble letting go figuring that he won’t find anything better than Leo. Simon decides that he needs a summer fling to stop his obsession with Leo.

Simon meets Juan on the beach one night when he witnesses the hatching of sea turtles.  Little does Simon know that this simple act will change his direction in life forever and lead to him changing his course study upon returning to school. Juan is dedicated to preserving the sea turtle wildlife. He is skeptical of the American tourist at first, he has been here before.  However, Simon and Juan settle into more than a one night fling and enjoy each other’s company just “passing the time”.

Sara Alva has written a beautiful short young adult love story where two unlikely individuals come together and fit perfectly.  The difference between Simon and Juan are expertly intertwined allowing the story to flow freely and with easy. The story provides love, heartbreak, and ultimately romance with an epilogue that gives a realistic and satisfying closure to the story.

This review is based on the audio book version:

Narrator: Joseph Northton

Length: 2 hrs and 23 mins

Narration: Joseph Northton does a decent job with the narration and I enjoyed listening to his voice tell Simon and Juan’s story.  I did feel that emotion was lacking at times but overall a very pleasant experience.

September 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Submission by Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow

Buy Links

Title: Submission (Submit for Redemption, #)
Author: Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow
Cover Artist: Lou Harper
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

When Army Ranger Captain Everett Palmer enters gay BDSM club Cuffed Links, he is seeking brutal punishment for what he perceives to be an unforgivable failure: allowing an entire squad of men under his command to die while he worked to defuse a bomb at his base. Everett initially wants only pure pain, which professional interrogator and jaded British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge is more than prepared to give. Their meeting, however, is not at all by chance.

Phineas has been contracted to coerce a false confession from Everett, implicating the captain in planting the bomb. Phineas has tortured many men in the past, but there is something different about Everett Palmer, a man whose sheer purity of soul causes the colonel to question his every selfish, devious act and legion of war crimes.

In Submit for Redemption: Book One – Submission, erotic romance and spiritual redemption come from the most unexpected places – from the seedy extremes of a smoke-laden, neon-drenched bondage den to the tropical, hedonistic pleasures of Phineas’ private Greek island.

On this unbidden psychosexual odyssey, Everett and Phineas find exactly what they don’t expect: a chance to redeem their troubled souls and fulfil their every romantic ideal. But the clock is ticking. The deeper Phineas falls in love with Everett, the harder it becomes to finish his assigned task. If he succeeds, the consequences may be far more explosive than he ever anticipated.


Review:

Submission, the first in the Submit for Redemption series, is about two lost individuals whose paths cross changing their view of things.  Army Ranger Captain Everett and the British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge provide each other with what the other has been lacking.

Army Ranger Everett is looking for physical pain (punishment) after he survives a bomb that some of his men didn’t.  This takes him to a BDSM club where he meets Phineas Bainbridge who is ready and willing to dish out the punishment that Ev is seeking. Unbeknownst to Ev, Phineas has been hired to obtain a false confession from Everett for the bombing incident. When Phineas begins to have feelings for Ev things turn complicated.

The premise here is hard to swallow but somehow the authors manage to make it believable.  Watching Ev and Phineas build something even though they come from completed opposite ends of the spectrum is enjoyable.  The fact that they are able to provide what the other is lacking in their life spurs a relationship that is often beautiful. Though it all there is genuine concern for Ev and wonder will he ultimately become further broken at the hands of Phineas.

Ev is truly a tortured soul and I believe that Phineas is as well.  While Ev is a completely likeable guy that is easy to relate to, Phineas is extremely sketchy.  At times Phineas comes across as perfect for Ev, but then things happen that make you concerned for Ev and seriously doubt Phineas’ intentions.

Submission is a strange one.  At times it moved slowly then picked up and edged on brilliant then slowed again.  This flow continued, up and down, until the story ends on one of the biggest cliffhangers I have ever seen.  Because of this, I have to read the next in the series but I fear I will be angered at the turn of events.

September 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Valor on the Move by Keira Andrews

Buy Links

Title: Valor on the Move
Author: Keira Andrews
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: KA Books
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

He’d give his life to protect the president’s son. But he never expected to risk his heart.

Growing up gay in the White House hasn’t been easy for Rafael Castillo. Codenamed “Valor” by the Secret Service, Rafa feels anything but brave as he hides in the closet and tries to stay below the radar in his last year of college. His father’s presidency is almost over, and he just needs to stick to his carefully crafted plan. Once his family’s out of the spotlight, he can be honest with his conservative parents about his sexuality and his dream of being a chef.

It’s definitely not part of Rafa’s plan to get a new Secret Service agent who’s a walking wet dream, but he’s made it this long keeping his desires to himself. Besides, it’s not like Shane Kendrick would even look at him twice if it wasn’t his job.

Shane’s worked his way up through the Secret Service ranks, and while protecting the president’s shy, boring son isn’t his dream White House assignment, it’s an easy enough task since no one pays Rafa much attention. He discovers there’s a vibrant young man beneath the timid public shell, and while he knows Rafa has a crush on him, he assures himself it’s harmless. Shane’s never had room for romance in his life, and he’d certainly never cross that line with a protectee. Keeping Rafa safe at any cost is Shane’s mission.

But as Rafa gets under his skin, will they both put their hearts on the line?


Review:

While I did enjoy reading this story there were a few things I had problems with. First I’ll start with some of the things I liked. I thought the main characters were great! I loved Rafa and Shane and they had great chemistry. Reading about Rafa’s life made me sad and as funny as this may sound I loved that, I loved the emotion it made me feel. Rafa’s family, while a bit too perfect and predictable, where there for him when he needed them the most and I really loved that! And Shane….wow! He was bigger than life and just right for his character and in the end for Rafa.

The story kept me enthralled right to the end but there were a few things I had trouble getting past. One was the age difference between Rafa and Shane, and I don’t mean the number of years I mean the maturity level. Rafa is just too innocent in many ways. He’s never had a boyfriend or any experience on his own with the outside world and I thought Shane had a bit too much experience to be so attracted to Rafa. It’s not that it doesn’t happen but for the most part Rafa came across so childlike I had trouble understanding Shane’s attraction to him. That’s not to say I didn’t see glimpses of Rafa as a mature young man but therein lies my problem, they were only glimpses.

The other thing that I had issue with – and it is a small issue – was the drama near the end involving Rafa. It all seemed a bit too pact, I would have liked for there to have been a twist that surprised me instead I saw it coming a mile away. I didn’t hate it but I was looking for something more.

Overall it’s a good story, with great characters. If I were to ignore the age thing I’d say the romance was beautiful and the guys were definitely very hot together. This story is worth the read especially if you’re looking for a sweet romance.

September 22nd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Tyler Knoll’s Just For Fun: Books 1-4 by A.B. Gayle

Buy Links

Title: Tyler Knoll's Just For Fun: Books 1-4
Author: A.B. Gayle
Cover Artist: Jay's Covers by Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing:
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Tyler Knoll was born one wild, stormy night in April 2013.

Of course, Tyler might tell you he was born twenty years earlier, but should we believe anything he says? That’s for you to decide.

In Tyler’s first adventure—like many a gay man before him—he was SNARED by gay porn, wallowing in tales of bigger, stronger, harder….

Then his fickle mind was seduced and SHREDDED by the prospect of BDSM and slavery.

When a Big Misunderstanding SLASHED at Tyler’s sanity, almost costing him his life, he turned to another genre for his salvation. But even this encounter proved potentially hazardous—not from freezing temperatures, but at the hands of irate fans.

Finally, tired and SCREWED by his all his trials and tribulations, he discovers—like many storybook heroes before him—that sometimes Mr. Right is closer than we think.


Review:

Before I even started this novel, I read the first book called Snared and I was not used to the writing style. But now, I’m used to it and fully prepared for a fun ride with Tyler. I loved Tyler’s adventures now. Snared was better when I read it for the second time. I understood what was going on and was able to enjoy the humor in the story. I actually thought we would get to see more about what happened between Tyler and Gareth when I started Shredded. But it turned out it was something different and much more enjoyable as I kept on reading. He was moved to different room to work for a guy who was out sick for a while. He’d had a crush on the truck driver, which led to something entirely different. In Slashed, I am starting to love Tyler much more. He was so innocent the entire time. As for Screwed, it was amazingly ending to the novel. I enjoyed the book very much. It went from non-romance to romance from beginning to the ending, which was awesome. It was a fun and quick read! I highly recommended you to check it out if you want to read something funny.

September 14th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Entwined by Liberty Lace

Buy Links

Title: Entwined
Author: Liberty Lace
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

There’s something that twins Tobias and Thomas Whitmore never intended to tell their family—the fact that they’re gay and in love with each other, and have been for as long as they can remember. But these two brothers are about to discover that secrets run in their family. For on a weekend in Montauk to celebrate their grandmother’s 80th birthday, one spilled secret leads to another, and before long, the tragedies of the past, the uncertainties of the present, and the uncharted path of the future will collide… and change this family forever.


Review:

This is a very short, sweet and romantic read. The chemistry between the main characters is off the charts and their relationship – while not conventional – will make your heart beat just that little bit faster, at least it did mine. Secrets abound in this story and watching them unravel brought a tear to my eye.

I feel in love with Tobias and Thomas and their family, especially their feisty grandmother, that woman is a jewel. If only all families can work out their issues like the Whitmore family.

The writing is excellent and the story is engaging but one thing that stops this short story from getting more stars is its length. Reading this is like reading a sample or snippet of a much larger story. I want to know more of what came before and what happens after this story ended.

I stepped out of my comfort zone again to read this short and in all honestly I would have rather it wasn’t a twincest story but that’s a personal issue. For those that enjoy to read this sub-genre, Entwined is a story you should pick up.

September 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Danny’s Dragon by Sedonia Guillone

Buy Links

Title: Danny's Dragon
Author: Sedonia Guillone
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

A rugged, muscular cop.

A sexy computer genius.

Secret desires.

Brought together by a crime committed on a cold dark night.

From the moment they meet, their lives can never be the same again…

Wild and rugged Dave Pearce is haunted by the demons of his past. He’s done his best to make a life for himself after the devastation of his lover’s suicide years earlier, but the trauma has left its mark on his soul.

Danny Wong is what Dave considers a “nerdy Bruce Lee.” Handsome, refined, out of his league.

But that doesn’t matter.

Dave believes himself to be dangerous for any man who would love him. So he stays back in the shadows, letting the desire he harbors for the hot grad student remain unrequited.

Danny has demons of his own. Duty-bound to his family’s goals for him, he remains shy and closeted, contenting himself with his secret fantasies about the sexy Irish cop who patrols the campus building where Danny does his graduate work.

Until one freezing winter night…

Leaving the building, fate steps in and their paths cross in a new…deeper way. Neither man can turn back. Danny and Dave must face the demons rearing their heads with full force, or lose their chance at an epic love…


Review:

From the book cover, I thought it would be something about martial artist fell in love with other man or something similar to that. Turned out I was wrong, but it wasn’t the reason why it had a tad bit lower rating. I enjoyed the book and was able to connected to both characters Danny and Dave. Although, it probably would be better if Dave had a different name rather than having both starts with letter D. I got used to it eventually.

The story about Danny was really interesting and believable. He held a secret from his family about his own identity but he knew what he truly wanted. I adored his best friend Meg. She was a true friend anyone who can have when they were in a sticky situation. Meg understood and was able to be there for Danny for any type of situation. Danny did the same for Meg. So the character developmental was great.

Dave, on other hand, was a mystery character and it was a bit longer for me to reach to the point in the book where it finally explained more about Dave’s background and what happened to his past lover who committed suicide. Dave had a tough life and I connected to him quickly the minute I learned more about his background.

Now, the real reason why it didn’t have a solid five stars– the relationship between Danny and Dave were beyond too fast. It actually ruined the story for me the second Danny asked Dave something. It was too fast. I didn’t really like that type of insta-love. Other reason, the huge point of what could have possibly cost their relationship ended so abruptly and there were no close-call or a depth inspection going on. It was just done like that. It also disappointed me so much when I reached the ending of the novel. I adore Dave, Danny, and Meg so much. But the plot weren’t there to make the novel a solid five stars.

August 27th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Between the Lines by J. Scott Coatsworth

Buy Links

Title: Between the Lines
Author: J. Scott Coatsworth
Cover Artist: Aaron Anderson
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

What if you could hear the words behind the words?

Brad Weston’s life seems perfect. He’s GQ handsome, the chief of staff for a Republican California state senator, and enjoys the power and the promise of a bright future. And he’s in a comfortable relationship with his boyfriend of six years, Alex.

Sam Fuller is Brad’s young blond blue-eyed intern, fresh out of college, running from a bad breakup, and questioning his choices and his new life in politics. To make things worse, Sam also has a thing for the boss, but Brad is already taken.

While looking for a gift for his boyfriend, Brad wanders into a curiosity shop and becomes fascinated by an old wooden medallion. Brad’s not a superstitious man, but when he takes out the medallion in his office, he sees the world in a whole new light.


Review:

This was a really quick read. Less than an hour I’d presumed. The story itself wasn’t too bad. The writing style fit to my liking so I was able to enjoy the novella. For this type of story, it needed to be longer. It needed time to develop a feeling between two characters.

The part I loved about this novella was the medallion he’d found in a small shop. It gave Brad a gift that made a big life changing for Brad. So, that was the cool part about the story. The relationship developmental wasn’t there at all. That disappointed me a bit. I enjoyed the part where he did something insane at his work, so that was cool.

Overall, there weren’t enough plots to make the story completed so it felt unfinished. It wasn’t a waste of my time to read it because I still find a way to be able to enjoy the book. I’d say it was harder to me to be able to write a better review for this novella because there wasn’t much to say. I think this book needed to be expanded so badly.

August 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments