Horror

/Horror

Review: Bug Queen by Jen Ponce

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Bug Queen (Queen Trilogy, )
Author: Jen Ponce
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing:
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

A small town with an alien secret buried in its foundation.
A mysterious box willed to an unsuspecting niece.
An insidious parasite with only one goal: to infest and destroy all life on Earth.
One woman with unwanted power and an entire planet to save.

“Do not risk the life of your planet on wishful thinking. The infected must die.”

Vedalia Kirkaldy is deathly afraid of bugs, which makes the scarab-topped box her uncle leaves for her to find very strange indeed. But it isn’t what’s on the box but what’s in it: an alien creature that wants to help Vedalia save her world from the parasitic invader bent on starting the apocalypse.

Sabra Dempsey’s job is to protect and serve but when she meets Vedalia, she finds herself longing to do more than just guard her from harm. What could be the start of a great new relationship is interrupted by the meteor than crashes into a bean field and unleashes the beginning of the end of the world.

Together, Vedalia and Sabra fight to save the town from being overrun by an insidious parasite that spreads faster than they realize. Either they root out and eradicate every bit of the threat or watch as the fungus turns humanity into alien zombies.


Review:

Bug Queen was an interesting read. I found it through Amazon Unlimited and was relieved that the book was awesome. It was a different type of zombie novel, except it was caused by aliens. The whole bugs thing got me icky. I don’t like to be around bugs as much as Vedalia did. I really love how original the novel was as well. It was focus on the plot rather than the relationship development between Vedalia and Sabra. Although, they would be awesome together if the story continues on.

The part where Vedalia’s ex showed up and how Vedalia reacted totally caught me off guard. I didn’t think it was necessary for her to be like that, though. I did understand why she felt she needed to do that, but not necessary. Scare her off would be the best in my opinion. But again, I didn’t write the story. If the author felt it was important to be included in the novel, then so be it.

The length of the book was just right. It contained all details that support the novel really well. I didn’t find any flaw from it. Just disgusted by the awesome description the author describe for the monsters and how bugs deal things around people. Having a story that grossed me out a bit got on my win side easily. I can easily recommend this book to any horror fan. Yes, it was a lesbian horror novel but the pairing in the book didn’t matter. It was how the characters deal with the apocalypse that was important. Check it out! I seriously doubt you’ll be disappointed with it, disgusted maybe, but definitely not disappointed.

July 27th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Shamblers by Andrew Cormier

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Shamblers: The Zombie Apocalypse
Author: Andrew Cormier
Cover Artist: Andrew Cormier
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Betrayed by his best friend and left to die at the hands of zombies, Nick Steiner has a vendetta to settle: if he can stay alive. 

Being shot by Marcus Gray has given Nick sufficient reason to want revenge; for that alone Marcus deserves to die. Yet Marcus didn’t just shoot Nick: he stole Nick’s woman as well. 

Nick has vowed to kill everyone and everything in his way until he gets his girl back and makes Marcus pay. 

NOTE: This novel contains depictions of extreme violence, adult language, sexual references and situations, and other miscellaneous terms that may be racial and ethnically derogatory. If you are easily offended it is advised you think twice before purchasing it. The author wants to make it known that any offensive language and situations that are contained within have been put there solely in the interest of story-telling. 


Review:

I was in the mood to read something quick about zombie and to my luck; the author personally added me to his goodreads profile and informed me his book was free for a day. I figured why not? I went ahead and downloaded the book and started the book. Well, guess what? I finished it in a sitting and loved it. It only loses a half star because of constantly repetition throughout the book. It just needs a minor editor to spot that common mistake, but it didn’t ruin my pleasure of reading the exciting and full-on action zombie novel. 

The book was told in first person POV and I found it done extremely well. I felt connected to Nick and even the jerk Marcus. The blurb pretty much told you what exactly happened in the novel. I definitely didn’t like Marcus at all, which was great. Once the author made me feel something for a certain character, then the author had done his duty. Nick Steiner was an interesting character and I honestly had no idea how old he was in the book. The way the author described his behaviors, he made Nick sounded like he was in his late teen or early twenty’s. But he actually had a wife and that totally confused me. It nearly pulled me out of the novel, but I managed to keep going. 

The dialogues were hilarious in the novel. I found myself rolling my eyes, chuckling, and even had some wtffable moments. It had a constant action from the beginning to the ending. It wasn’t just the zombies Nick had to deal with. It was the idiot humans Nick dealt with mostly. Even in the apocalypse, there were bound to have some humans that had a twisty crazy mind to do the most insane thing to survive. I guessed after killing so many zombies make it boring for the certain people? Nevertheless, the author managed to make the book more believable and how the society would react if it were in our shoes. 

I highly recommended you to check this one out. It was a fun and exciting read. Excellent for zombie fans!

August 15th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Soul Thief (Gypsy Dreamwalker, #1) by David Menefee

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: The Soul Thief (Gypsy Dreamwalker, #1)
Author: David Menefee
Cover Artist: Charissa Yeo / Yocla Designs
Publisher: Sophic Arts
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Ever since the tragic accident that claimed the lives of the Grey family, Dr. Angela Cooper, psychiatrist and half-gypsy psychic healer, has refused to use her dream walking power. However, when Cassandra Grey, a survivor of the deadly fire, turns up unexpectedly at the hospital, Angela agrees to help her. Entering the Otherworld to heal the girl’s mind, Angela discovers a powerful, shadowy presence that knows her name and her darkest secrets. 

When Angela’s estranged shaman grandfather warns her that this shadowy entity seeks to steal her soul, she ignores him until it kills a close friend. Now she’s ready to fight, waging a supernatural conflict in the dreamscape of the Otherworld. Discovering that Cassandra’s unconscious mind holds the key to victory, Angela recruits her help to defeat the Soul Thief and save her family, friends, and, ultimately, everyone at the hospital.


Review:

I haven’t heard of this author until I joined Amazon Unlimited membership and I was in mood for glbt horror book and this book got my attention. It’d worth every second of my time when I started the book. It has a strong horror element in it but not too gruesome or anything that would make you feel sick to your stomach. No, this one has the full of suspense and heart-wrenching moments. 

Dr. Angela Cooper is an amazing character that has so many flaws in her characteristics. She has a lot to learn about her own gifts. She’d survived a horrible incident years ago that cause a girl’s family to die in the fire. No one knew how it happened until the girl whom Angela thought she died among the family showed up at the hospital where Angela works. In order to fix her mistake, she has to start to use her gift again after swearing herself she will not ever use her gifts. 

That is when all the mystery and suspense appeared. Angela is on for a long ride and she discovers who she really is in the past along the trip. The author did amazing job describing what the characters were feeling and how they dealt with the situations where there was no way anyone would’ve encountered that. The writing was awesome. I didn’t find myself repeat any paragraph unless someone interrupted me while I was reading. It was that good when my eyes were literally glued to the words shown on my ereader device. 

All minor characters were well described. Nothing was left out. Not even once there was an info dumping. The author balanced it all with the world building, character development, actions, emotions, and list goes on. It’d be so awesome to see this book hit the big screen. I cannot wait for book two!

I highly recommended to anyone who loved to read a book that have a strong supernatural element to it. Yes, it is horror but based on the supernatural of it not the gory. If you’re a member of amazon unlimited, it’s free to read this book! But I can assure you that it’ll worth the cents to spend on. 🙂

August 14th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Nganga by Damien D’Enfer

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Nganga
Author: Damien D’Enfer
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Jacksonville Detective Fletch Boatwright’s life sucks. It’s not easy being a white cop in an increasingly colorful world. Fletch has a chip on his shoulder as big as the space shuttle, pops pills like tic tacs and is so unpopular that his own wife and kids hate him. When he shoots and kills an unarmed Afro-Cuban boy and gets transferred down to Miami, his life goes from bad to worse.

Someone’s slaughtering the priests of Santeria, and Boatwright’s hunt for the killer leads him into Miami’s underworld of, in his words, ‘hoodoo and voodoo from every f*cking banana republic in the world.” Before he knows it he is being hunted by the spirit of dead murderer hell-bent on a particularly vicious brand of sadistic and psychosexual revenge.


Review:

For something that was so short, the author really did well with this one. I believe it was one of the author’s first works and it most certainly wouldn’t be my last with his work. I’ve enjoyed the story from the beginning to the ending. As far as I could tell, the author inspired his story toward the true story crime that happened back in 2013 where a unharmed teenager boy was shot dead from a police officer. This book was a straight-on revenge to cop for what he had done to an innocent teenager.

I loved the fact that author chose a black magic to be a horror element in the story. It worked perfectly for a short horror story. The horror part was actually detailed so it may not be for those who couldn’t stand anything that related with death, blood, murder or worse. For those who happened to have a tough heart, do pick this one up! It was a thrill read. Can’t wait to see what the author will write next.

January 27th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Forbidden Cuisine by Kevin Anthony

Title: The Forbidden Cuisine
Author: Kevin Anthony
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Damien Cooper’s mind is a bit fucked up.

His condition takes his senses to new heights and makes him a walking caution. The changes don’t stop as Damien’s high school sweetheart adopts an abnormal appetite and his mother becomes obsessed with the self-help book Feast, Stray, Love.

Damien strives to tame his mind but a feud involving an overzealous preacher and a cross-dressing businessman, the deadly rise of a fast-food chain and many unusual events provide unnecessary distractions.

The culinary student’s love life and career in the kitchen are put into jeopardy, but is he willing to literary blow up any obstacle in his way to maintain his happy?

Go ahead, take the first bite.

Note: The author has removed this book from Amazon and the reviewer wasn’t able to find it anywhere online. Therefore, there will be no buy links for this one.


Review:

The story concept was excellent. It was pretty much original. It somewhat reminded me of the movie:  Carrie. It wasn’t even the same, just reminded me that was all.

What I like:

The originality won me when I read the novella. The horror part, especially the suspense in some plots got me really curious and didn’t want to stop reading. The minor characters were well described and it didn’t leave me with some questions about who they were. I adored Damien very much. He was a funny character to read.

What I didn’t like:

It was mainly the writing style that didn’t do well with me. It felt a bit choppy like very detailed without a smooth flow. It’s hard to explain what I mean. It made me struggle a bit to connected to the story, but once I’ve gotten used to the author’s writing style, I was able to enjoy the book. The ending wasn’t that great. I think the author could’ve done better than that. It was all too easy and wished it’d be elaborated a bit.

Overall, it was a fun read and horror is something I love to read and this book has a well defined of horror story. Perhaps hiring a good editor would make the book much stronger. It definitely has a great potential and I will pick up more of the author’s work.

January 22nd, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Point Pleasant by Jen Archer Wood

Point Pleasant by Jen Archer Wood
Title: Point Pleasant
Author: Jen Archer Wood
Cover Artist: Svetlana Fictionalfriend
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Buy Links: Amazon
Genre: Horror
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨
Rating★★★★★

Blurb:

Ben Wisehart grew up in the idyllic town of Point Pleasant, West Virginia. An early encounter with the supernatural shaped his worldview and served as the catalyst for his career as a bestselling horror writer.

Ben left Point Pleasant at the age of twenty. Thirteen years after abandoning his home, he returns to the town to investigate the apparent reemergence of the terrifying creature responsible for his childhood nightmares.

In Point Pleasant, Ben is confronted not only by the town’s resident monster, the Mothman, but also by Nicholas Nolan, Ben’s former best friend. Together, with Bill Tucker—the old recluse who lives on the edge of town—Ben and Nicholas uncover the mystery of the monster in the woods and discover that the ghosts that haunt us are sometimes made of flesh and blood. And sometimes, they lead us home.

Point Pleasant is an illustrated novel and features over a dozen works of original art by Svetlana Fictionalfriend.

Review:

I didn’t even want the book to end. It was probably one of the best horror books I have read in like forever. It wasn’t even gore at all. It was the story telling the author had mastered at. The main theme of the book was ‘home’. You would understand when you read the book. Trust me, you wouldn’t be disappointed with this book. Yes, it was long but at the same time it didn’t feel like it was actually that long. It was estimated 419 pages on Amazon. I only spotted one typo and it was a person’s name so it didn’t bother me at all.

The opening captured and hooked me in completely when Ben and Nic was in their pre-teen age being chased by a myth the townspeople would call “mothman”. It was the only part that actually made me much more curious about the myth creature. It wasn’t what I expected when I discovered more details about the creature. That creature was freaky scary. I was really shocked when a tragedy happened to Ben. I didn’t see it coming, but I understood why the author decided to go that path to make the novel much stronger. It had all the creepiness I seek for in the novel, so I didn’t have any issue with the haunting part of the book. The author created awesome plots to keep me attached to the novel and even made me want to visit Point Pleasant.

The relationship development between Ben and Nic was really good. The dialogue was wonderful, too. I hardly found any issue for the romance part of the novel. None of the plots relating to romance pulled me out of the story. Other than the horror, my most favorite scene of the novel had to be the time Kate, Ben’s sister visited Ben in Point Pleasant because I laughed out loud several time when they were talking together and have Kate test on Nic in every possible way even the embarrassing part. I fell in love with Kate’s personality and Ben was lucky to have her as his sister.

If I could rate the book more than five stars, I would.  After finishing the book and had a couple of illustration to look at, I ordered the Point Pleasant: The Color Companion. It contained 35 pages of colored illustration. The author chose perfect person to bring the novel live into art.

I definitely highly recommended the book even to those who don’t like to read horror. There’s no goriness in the novel. I am looking forward to the author’s future work.

October 12th, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Zombie Boyz by Various Authors

Zombie Boyz by Various Authors
Title: Zombie Boyz
Author: T.J. Klune,Eric Arvin, Ethan Stone, Daniel A. Kaine, Ethan Day, and Geoffrey Knight
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Sean
Buy Links: Publisher | Amazon | ARe
Genre: Horror
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨♨
Rating★★★★★

Blurb:

Board up the windows, push an old dresser against the door and load your shotgun. A zombie apocalypse is about to hit Wilde City, and if you want the best survival tips, six of Wilde City’s boys are here to help.

You’ll never want to exercise again as Eric Arvin and TJ Klune turn a gym full of hunks into a smorgasbord of terror in GHOUL’S GYM.

Gather your friends and fight for the man you love, as Ethan Stone and Daniel A Kaine turn Vegas into a zombie nightmare in SURVIVING SIN CITY.

And bring a date to dinner to celebrate Grumpy Grampy’s 90th birthday and introduce your family to your new zombie boyfriend in Geoffrey Knight and Ethan Day’s GUESS WHO’S COMING AT DINNER.

You’ll scream with terror and howl with laughter as Wilde City’s boys bring you our first undead anthology ZOMBIE BOYZ.

Review:

It truly is a great anthology I have read for a while. Not just that, it is the first time I was unable to choose which of the three stories I love the most. The stories are its own. Personally, I think it should have its own individual books with its own book cover. The only similar between them are the zombies. All of them earn a five stars without a second thought.

Guess Who’s Coming At Dinner by Geoffrey Knight and Ethan Day

It was a hilarious read. The authors described everything in this story extremely well. The way of having a zombie boyfriend was funny and yet adorable. I was grossed out at first but as I read on, it had became an adorable read. Love can conquered everything and this story just proved it. The main character was likable character. The whole family was an interesting family as well.

Surviving Sin City by Ethan Stone and Daniel A. Kaine

I was immediately drawn to both main characters. The authors voiced their character really well. I especially enjoy the first time they slept together. The raw emotions were there. I would love to read more about them. The zombies in this story were scarier out of three stories.

Ghoul’s Gym by Eric Arvin and T.J. Klune

It was very interesting how the authors chose how people turned into zombies. That should scare people away from touching the steroids. This one had a bittersweet ending. I got to enjoy reading from Jake’s POV.

All in all, each stories told great zombies stories. Highly recommended to zombie fans.

September 23rd, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Cowboys & Vampires: Venom Valley Book I by Hank Edwards

Cowboys & Vampires: Venom Valley Book 1 by Hank Edwards
Title: Cowboys & Vampires: Venom Valley Book I
Author: Hank Edwards
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Sean
Buy Links: Publisher | Amazon | ARe
Genre: Horror
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨
Rating★★★★★

Blurb:

In the frontier town of Belkin’s Pass, as a vampire quietly feeds on the local saloon girls and their customers, a tragedy teaches resident Josh Stanton he has the ability to raise the dead. Knowing he is now a wanted man, Josh flees into the arid plains of Venom Valley. Pursued by Dex, the town deputy and Josh’s best friend, the two realize their friendship is truly something deeper, and Dex has to decide if he’s a man of the law, or a man in love. The vampire, drawn by Josh’s power, circles ever closer, gathering his forces against them.

Review:

The ending left me speechless and I don’t want to stop! It was a wonderful book that kept me feeling nervous for Dex and Josh from the beginning to the ending. That included Glory, too. The author successfully made the book original. The vampires had similar traits but how they were turned had been different. Also, how the zombies existed was original.

The writing style had been awesome and fast for me to read. That was exactly how I liked it. The sec scenes were unbelievably hot! The author had a great talent to turn the book to horror rather than having it as a common paranormal romance. Speaking of romance, I didn’t exactly think the book was romance but for some plots, it was an actual romantic between Dex and Josh.

I cannot wait for the second book! It is coming soon! I highly recommend you to check this book out. Just remember, this book ends on a big cliffhanger, therefore no happy for now ending. Also, it is a great opening or a series the author had started.

August 8th, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Ghosts of Alcatraz by Carol Lynne

Ghosts of Alcatraz by Carol Lynne
Title: Ghosts of Alcatraz
Author: Carol Lynne
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Sean
Buy Links: Publisher | Amazon | ARe
Genre: Horror
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨
Rating★★★★★

Blurb:

Love is a powerful force. Unparalleled, unpredictable and often unforeseen. Yet it can surface in the most dangerous of situations. Suffocation, mutilation and dismemberment aren’t the normal outside influences that bring two people together, but inside the newly refurbished Alcatraz Prison, anything can happen.

As inmates begin dying in shocking and sometimes gruesome ways, the deaths prompt Warden Jensen Black to bring in sexy parapsychologist, Brian Phipps. With the help of Brian, Jensen hopes to get to the bottom of what is killing the men he is responsible for. But what he didn’t count on is falling—and falling hard—for the smaller man with the heart of a lion. The question is: will their love survive against the ghosts of Alcatraz?

Review:

Just the first few pages, I was hooked! The mystery behind the deaths of inmates were crazy. I didn’t even gotten a chance to figure out why it had been happening until it was revealed. I enjoyed getting a chance to get to know the characters before author got to the main point of the story. It didn’t feel rush either. Everything about the book was at a good pace, which mean I didn’t get lost or re-read a couple times to understand what the author was trying to describe. I could picture myself being there and watch all the ghosts and men solving the mystery.

It had a good revenge story and imagining how that person suffered at the beginning could be a huge doom for the cybercrime inmates. It was scary to actually live what the person had suffered and survived. More than anything, I was amazed at how gruesome the kills the author had described. I didn’t even know how I would react if I was either an inmate or a guard at the prison when it happened right in front of my eyes.

At the beginning, I actually debated with myself if the book did have a romance to it, but to be honest, I didn’t think it was. Yes, the ending showed what love would have done to people if they were to do something that would saved someone even if it could have cost someone’s life. In the end, the romance was there and it showed a promising that there would be more stories for them.

I highly recommend to horror/mystery fan! The writing style was fantastic and readable. Nothing was too complicated.

July 26th, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Queer Fear by Various Authors

Queer Fear by Various Authors
Title: Queer Fear
Author: Ariel Graham, E.E. Ottoman, Erin Sneath, K.A. Merikan, and Zach Sweets
Cover Artist: Lou Harper
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Monika
Buy Links: Publisher | Amazon | ARe
Genre: Horror
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨♨
Rating: ★★★½

Blurb:

It’s long been known that fear and arousal create the same type of response inside the human body. Putting them together, then, is a recipe for a scorchingly hot time. Queer Fear does just that by exploring the world of erotic horror. It’s the ultimate marriage of lust and terror, the perfect blend of dark horror elements with sensuality and erotic content. This isn’t some safe and sparkly paranormal romance; this is the place where angels fear to tread, and so would you, if you had any sense. Turn back before it’s too late!

We begin with Reading Arteries, where a new designer drug engineered to force feelings of lust in those who take it. When the men hired to steal the formula decide to try it out, they end up addicted to love. Then, in The Possession of Lawrence Eugene Davis, following the death of his father, Lawrence has returned to his family’s ranch, but is quickly set upon by a demonic presence. Hope for release comes with the conveniently-appearing Elijah, but the deal he offers may be just as unholy as the demon itself. Next, The Dark Revelation brings us Derek, constantly at war with his darker half, a demon who uses Derek’s body to rape and kill. And though Derek tries to isolate himself from people, nowhere is truly empty, and Derek’s demon hungers again. The Pain Cycle follows Luke, despondent over the disappearance of his lover six months ago. When he witnesses a friend dragged into a tunnel by a hideous creature, he gives chase, only to learn the chilling truth about his lover—and who knows how many others. Finally, in Matthew Powers Lives!, a porn shoot in a former mental hospital is plagued by strange equipment failures, leading the crew to believe the site is haunted. For Matthew, those fears are confirmed when a restless spirit confronts him personally, and he’s a hottie!

Review:

2.5 Stars

Reading Arteries
By Erin Sneath

Andy is in love with his friend Stu but he’s straight not even a little bit bi as far as anyone knows. As a matter of fact Stu is quite the flirt with the ladies getting himself into trouble because of it. One night Stu thinks if only Andy was a woman he would sweep her off her feet but she wouldn’t be Andy. Andy kisses Stu and apart from the surprise he does realize he loves him, as more than a friend….I think. This part of the story is a bit murky and continues somewhat throughout the rest of the story. A new drug is on the market called Epoxy it’s taken by two people, one person takes pill one then gives the other person pill two this is supposed to make the person that took pill two attracted to the person that took pill one even if there has never been any attraction. Stu decides to fix his relationship problems by giving Andy a dose of pill one in his coffee and the two then become a couple. Most of the story is about the horrible side effects and what it does to their bodies. Stu never wants to stop even after the drug becomes illegal and Andy stays with him until the end.

I found myself confused a lot of the time and having to re-read sections. It’s an interesting idea but it didn’t work for me.

4 stars

The Possession of Lawrence Eugene Davis
By EE Ottoman

This has the making of a really good novel. It’s a historical which is something that attracts me instantly. For such a short story I thought the characters were well thought out, I was able to connect to Lawrence and Elijah. Billy was a bit of a mystery but very sweet I wish I could have learned more about him. I don’t think I can call this a romance if the story were longer I can certainly see it heading that way. Its most definitely horror which becomes apparent as it gets closer to the end. Lawrence has decided to move into the home he grew up in and the one his father died in after he chased away his family. There is something in the house that is trying to get to Lawrence he calls for help and Elijah enters his life.

It’s creepy, spooky and an all-around good read but it ended way too abruptly. I did enjoy reading this though.

3.75 Stars

The Dark Revelation
By Zach Sweets

This story is about Derek a human that has an Incubus living in him. The Incubus, Kered, needs Derek to lure men so he can take their soul to survive. The story is fairly graphic, Kered needs to have sex with the men in order to get their souls and sometimes with a demon that can be violent. Kered takes a man Derek has strong feelings for and after he kills Matt Derek vows never to let the monster out again. He’s been able to keep Kerek quiet until 2 boys happen along the cabin Derek/Kered live in. Kared gets free and tries to take the souls of both boys, the boys fight back and love wins out.

I liked this story, the characters were interesting and I especially liked the combination of evil vs good with it ending the way it should. It is a violent story but I don’t think you could write it any other way. This one is definitely a horror story!

3.5 Stars

The Pain Cycle
Ariel Graham

This little story was a bit different from the others, there was a lot more action and kept moving until the end. We only really get to know Luke but we do get an idea of what his lover Jesse is like and how much Luke loves him. Jesse disappears along with a lot of other men over time. One night as Luke runs from a dinner with his sister and brother-in-law he comes across creatures that have his friend Jonathan’s boyfriend Ben. Luke gives chase and finds Jesse being held captive along with what appears like 100’s of other men. Luke stays to fight the creatures rather than run like Jesse wants him to and together they are able to escape. The fight scene is a long one and either I missed something or it never really explains why the creatures want these men.

The story is pure horror, not scary not creepy just good old fashioned horror.

3.75 Stars

Matthew Powers Lives!
By K.A. Merikan

This short reminded me of the horror stories of a long time ago; it was like an episode of the Twilight Zone. Matt is starting his porn career and his first shoot is on location at an old Mental Hospital. Someone finds a strait jacket and thinks it would be a good idea to use it in the film so they put it on Matt. While things are being set up the lights go out and the crew have to leave for the day but Matt gets left behind. He spends an interesting night alone in the haunted Hospital trying to find his way out and running from whatever is in there. Matt finally comes across a ghost of a young man and the two spend the night together, when the crew arrive in the morning they find him asleep and when he wakes up he wonders if it was all real.

I liked this story, its creepy, spooky and strange things happen, I found myself really liking Matt and wishing there was more to the story, it read like a true suspense/horror novel.

Overall the Anthology is a good on and I would recommend it to anyone that reads horror.

July 5th, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments