Mystery/Suspense/Thriller

/Mystery/Suspense/Thriller

Review: Enigma by Lloyd A. Meeker

Buy Links

Title: Enigma (A Russ Morgan Mystery, #)
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

Who’s blackmailing the high-profile televangelist whose son was famously cured of his homosexuality fifteen years ago? Now in 2009, that ought to be ancient history.

It seems there’s no secret to protect, no crime, not even a clear demand for money—just four threatening letters using old Enigma songs from the 90′s. But they’ve got Reverend Howard Richardson spooked.

Proudly fifty and unhappily single, gay PI Russ Morgan has made peace with being a psychic empath, and he’s managed to build a decent life since getting sober. As he uncovers obscene secrets shrouded in seeming righteousness he might have to make peace with a sword of justice that cuts the innocent as deeply as the guilty.


Review:

So I did this backwards, I read book 2 first then just had to read book one to see how this series started. While it’s not essential to read Enigma before reading Blood and Dirt Book 2 of this series I would highly recommend you do. The mystery in each book are stand-alones but there are things in Russ’s private life that I learned after reading Enigma that helped me understand him more.

Russ Morgan is a PI and an empath and he uses that to aide him in solving his cases. I loved the premise and surprisingly I even loved that there isn’t a romance in this story but there definitely looks like the beginning of one. Enigma is all about the mystery and I thought that was well done even if a bit predictable. I love this author’s writing style and so far I’m loving this series. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

October 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Blood and Dirt by Lloyd A. Meeker

Buy Links

Title: Blood and Dirt (A Russ Morgan Mystery, #)
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Family squabbles can be murder. Psychic PI Russ Morgan investigates a vandalized marijuana grow in Mesa County Colorado, landing in the middle of a ferocious family feud that’s escalating in a hurry. Five siblings fight over the family ranch as it staggers on the brink of bankruptcy, marijuana its only salvation. Not everyone agrees, but only one of them is willing to kill to make a point. Russ also has a personal puzzle to solve as he questions his deepening relationship with Colin Stewart, a man half his age. His rational mind says being with Colin is the fast track to heartbreak, but it feels grounding, sane, and good. Now, that’s really dangerous…


Review:

My first thought after reading this story was “Why the hell didn’t I read book one first?” I really should have, not that it’s imperative that you do but it would have given me some history of the characters that I would have liked. Blood and Dirt is an enjoyable read. It’s a little bit paranormal with a psychic PI who reads aura’s and taps into people’s emotions. It has a little romance that isn’t the driving force of the story but very sweet none the less. I would have loved to have read a lot more about Russ and Colin and I think I’ll be grabbing book one to see what I missed. The mystery is predictable but I was intrigued enough to keep reading to find out “who done it” for sure – in case I was wrong – also it’s written in a way that didn’t make me feel like I’d read this one before. The writing is smooth and the pacing is excellent. Even though the ending isn’t technically a cliff hanger if I want to know more about Russ and Colin’s relationship picking up book 3 when it’s available will be a must. I highly recommend this story to readers that love a mystery with a bit of romance woven in.

September 25th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Not Safe For Work by Ingela Bohm

Buy Links

Title: Not Safe For Work
Author: Ingela Bohm
Cover Artist: Ingela Bohm
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay, Questioning, & Undecided
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

It’s Jakob’s birthday, and boy is he getting a surprise. His friend Leo has written a sexy blog about the two of them — all untrue, of course. Or is it? Identity hijacked, fake love life laid out for the world to see, Jakob is devastated. He should deny it all, but he can’t stop reading. Soon, he’ll have to confront Leo, but he’s afraid — can there be a tiny grain of truth in those stories?


Review:

OMG!!! ….I know, not really the right way to start a review but……OMG! THIS BOOK! I don’t even know where to start or what to say about it. I guess I’ll start with…. I LOVE THIS STORY! So much so that it’s now on my top 5 favorites list of m/m reads, as a matter of fact this one deserves to be on my top 5 list of all-time great reads!

Not Safe for Work is a very complicated story. One that I couldn’t put down and didn’t want to end. It’s like nothing I’ve ever read before. This story is part fantasy, part mystery, part romance with some very erotic scenes. It’s so suspenseful it had me on the edge of my seat right up to the end. Someone is writing and blogging for all the world to see private moments of the MC’s lives but is it real or made up and if its real how do they know what they know?

Not only did Ingela Bohm do a fantastic job writing a story that made me think every step of the way but she also wrote some pretty amazing characters in Leo and Jakob. I felt their pain and their brief moments of euphoria and even though there were things about them that should have made it impossible for them to be together I so badly wanted these best friends to become lovers forever.

Bravo Ingela, for a job well done!

I highly recommend this amazing story.

July 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: A Touch of Mistletoe Anthology

Buy Links

Title: A Touch of Mistletoe
Author: A.F. Henley, E.E. Ottoman, J.K. Pendragon, Megan Derr, and Talya Andor
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Less Than Three Press presents a collection of stories about people brought together by the magic of mistletoe…

Here for You by J.K. Pendragon
Warren’s life has been shrinking ever since his wife passed away. Blind, and finding it difficult to adjust to life on his own, it’s easier to hide away in his house. When his friend Missy invites him to a Christmas party, an unexpected kiss with a stranger under the mistletoe leaves him confused and wondering…

The Christmas Spirit by Talya Andor
Christmas in Japan is no big deal for Ash Harmon, with his family half a world away and supernatural problems that have no respect for the holidays. When he picks up a bodyguard job for a rising star of figure skating who seems to be encountering trouble with a restless spirit, he stubbornly resists the unexpected attraction to his charge, wary of the risks that come with relationships. But the mistletoe has other ideas…

A Beautiful Thing by A.F. Henley
Sometimes, Fate gets tired of being ignored. And some nights, Fate decides something will just have to be done about it. Enter Drualus, Senior Correspondent for the Collective Assembly of Christmas Fae, working with the Night Before Reach Out Program. He’s got a few short hours to change Scott Misener’s outlook on life, love, and understanding. Lucky for Scott, Dru knows a tried and true trope that might just do the trick…

Ad Meliora by E.E. Ottoman
It’s Christmas Eve and An-An and M.C. have plans to spend Christmas in Texas with An-An’s family. But their plans are cut short when M.C. takes on a last minute case. Thankfully, though, it should be an easy exorcism.

Until they arrive at the snowbound lodge where trouble resides, and come face to face with a demon wolf unlike anything they’ve ever encountered.

Two Parts Mistletoe by Megan Derr
Kingston has worked hard to get where he is: owner of his own shop, master potion maker, well-respected… and lonely, too busy with life to enjoy more than his regular visits to Acacia House. If he wishes his loneliness might be eased by Hux, the man he meets at Acacia twice a month, well, someday he’ll work up the nerve to ask. Maybe.

Then Hux unexpectedly visits his shop, distressed and in desperate need of help to save his employer from a love potion…


Review:

A Touch of Mistletoe is a unique collection of holiday shorts. Most of the shorts have a mystical component to them taking you on journeys that toy with your emotions. It is hard to pick one favorite of the bunch but Two Parts Mistletoe comes out on top for me. If you missed this during the holiday season put in on your “to read” list for this year that is unless you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the holiday season and enjoy them now.

Here for You by J.K. Pendragon – This is just a sweet story about two lonely men who connect and move towards a future together. Warren is blind and has lost his wife his only true love. Kyung is longing for his home life in Korea. The attraction these two find is just what they each need.

The Christmas Spirit by Tayla Andor – Ash Haromon is a psychic detective hired to figure out what is plaguing skating champion Hanabishi Yuki. There is a slow building romance here that is sweet. The mystery is given time to be resolved but so is the relationship between these two relatively shy men.

A Beautiful Thing by A.F. Henley – Here we have a twist on the classic A Christmas Story. Scott is the Christmas grump in this story. Due to an encounter with a child at the local store he spouts his disgruntled Christmas beliefs. Dru enters his life and takes Scott on his journey of past, present and future. Their interaction and connection puts a smile on your face and you can’t help liking these men.

Ad Meliora by E.E. Ottoman – This gives us a haunting mystical story as to why one family’s Christmas rituals have ended in tragedy for the last few years. An-An and M.C. talents of magic and exorcism combine to make them the right choice for the problem. The love is evident and beautiful between An-An and M.C. as these two women face the real possibility of death.

Two Parts Mistletoe by Megan Derr – Potions Master Kingston and Hux have been meeting in secret and anonymously at a local club every couple weeks for some time now. Each man believes that there isn’t time for love in their current life. When they run across each other in the open at Two Parts Mistletoe each examines their true feelings for the other. The romance builds and peeks as they disentangle the love potion mystery that brought them together at last.

April 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Still Waters by F.E. Feeley Jr

Buy Links

Title: Still Waters (Memoirs of the Human Wraiths, )
Author: F.E. Feeley Jr.
Cover Artist: Paul Richmond
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller & Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Promise, Michigan is very much like every other small town across the state. Built on the edge of a lake, the homes sit in neat little rows in cute little neighborhoods. During the summer Promise bustles with tourists who come to spend their vacation dollars and enjoy the lake’s refreshingly cold water. But Promise holds a terrible secret. In the center of the lake is an abandoned island where a curse is rumored to wait for victims, unabated and deadly. Most think it’s just a story, something used to keep kids out of trouble. Still, everyone gives it a wide berth. Everyone except Bret and Adam. They dare to venture out the night of Bret’s birthday. When they declared their love and promise to get married, they believe no one else heard their whispered words—but they are wrong.

Five years later Adam dies, and Bret returns to his family to heal. But someone is killing the people of Promise in random acts of violence. Bret, with the help of FBI agent Jeff McAllister, must discover the identity of a murderer with death on his mind and revenge in his heart.


Review:

F.E. Feeley Jr has given us another gipping page turner with Still Waters. The story is set in small town Promise, Michigan which is no different than many small towns. It has its share of wealthy, middleclass, and lower income inhabitants. Well, Promise contains one slight difference with its cursed island smack dab in the middle of its lake. Superstitions abound about the Island and most steer clear. However, Adam and Bret see the island differently and make a promise to each other that fuels the chain of events captivating us with this story.

Bret Williams and Adam Woolsey fell in love during high school and made a promise to each other to be married after college. Bret and Adam are the stars of the swim team and very open about their feelings for one another. Due to a harsh turn of events that results in Adam’s death that promise is broken and the superstitions of Promise become reality. As the deaths pile up it is a race for FBI agent Jeff McAllister to decipher the events and set aside his logical thinking and accepting that forces outside his control are at work.

The love between Bret and Adam is strong, sweet, and heartbreaking. Bret and Adam are kind and generous individuals with strong personalities. The Woolsey family is loving and close knit. The Williams family is on the opposite end of the loving family spectrum. Jeff is a kind and caring individual that has isolated himself to the job. These charters combine to form an incredible cast that takes us through the events occurring in Promise as we approach the five year anniversary of Adam’s death.

I fell in love with Bret from the beginning. His strength, courage, and interaction with both Adam and Jeff connected me to him pulling at my heartstrings. As the story races to solve the mysterious events occurring in Promise you sense impending doom. You can’t help turning the pages to see if Jeff will be able to save Bret from what seems to be a certainty along with preventing his own heart from being shattered. This journey takes a toll on your emotions as you feel joy, happiness, and sadness for the good guys and outrage and hatred for the bad guys.

Though it all, we have a romance or two, a mystery with a paranormal twist, some well-defined and lovable characters, along with some totally despicable excuses for human beings. All this is packaged into a well flowing story that captivates from the beginning taking you into the lives of Adam, Bret and Jeff. While there, your emotions are all over the place being pulled in a multitude of directions by the events and the angst caused.

I highly recommend taking the time to engross yourself with F.E. Feeley’s latest work.

March 30th, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Buck Baxter, Love Detective by Geoffrey Knight

Buy Links

Title: Buck Baxter, Love Detective
Author: Geoffrey Knight
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Welcome to Wilde City, 1924—a crane on top of every skyscraper, a party in every club, a romance on every dance floor, a shooting every night, a broken heart on every street corner and a dirty secret behind every window with the curtain drawn. It’s the kinda town that keeps Buck Baxter, private detective, in business.

For despite his fondness for a cold gin and a pipe stuffed with cannabis, Buck is the best gumshoe in Wilde City. Why? Because he has rules: never make friends, never make enemies, and never ever fall in love. That is until the day playboy nightclub owner Holden Hart swings into town. He’s suave, he’s charming, he’s chivalrous… and he’s exactly the kinda man that Buck will break all the rules for.

From the romance of the Rainbow Palace atop the Wilde City Tower, to the dazzling debauchery of the gentlemen’s parlor The Velvet Viper—from the history surrounding the sinister convent on the hill better known Hell’s Bells, to the lantern-lit opium barge, The Peking Empress, run by the mystical Madame Chang—could Buck be about to unravel the greatest mystery of them all…

The mystery of love?


Review:

Buck Baxter, Love Detective is a story that takes place in the 1920s. It’s a time when night clubs were plentiful and almost anything goes, it was also a time when the mob ruled.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this! It’s not a love story but there is a story of undying love that plays a small role and even though I saw it coming a mile away it warmed my heart and made me smile. Buck is a great character and perfect for the role of the gumshoe detective, I’m looking forward to more of him in the coming books. There isn’t the heart stopping chemistry between Buck and his love as there is in some M/M romance books but I did feel their connection. Theirs is a deeper love that comes from the history they share. I’m hoping to learn more about both of them in the next installment.

If you’re looking for a lot of sex you won’t find it here but you will find characters that felt real even though they live in a fictional place called Wilde City and yes, that’s the name of the books publishing company, which made me chuckle but it works so well for the era this story takes place in. 

Beautifully written Buck Baxter, Love Detective is a great start to a new series by Geoffrey Knight.

September 3rd, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Holding Out for a Fairy Tale by A.J. Thomas

Buy Links

Title: Holding Out for a Fairy Tale (Least Likely Partnership, #2)
Author: A.J. Thomas
Cover Artist: Brooke Albrecht
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

When his vicious cousin Alejandro makes a violent late-night visit, San Diego homicide detective Ray Delgado gets a brutal reminder of why he left his family behind. Alejandro wants Ray to find his sister, Sophia, who disappeared from the UC San Diego campus, before the FBI digs too deep into his business. 

Special Agent Elliot Belkamp spent his entire life jumping from one place to another, but his new assignment assisting a FBI task force offers him a chance to settle down. When Elliot catches a missing person’s case as his first assignment, the last person he expects to find poking around the victim’s dorm room is Ray, a one-time hookup he’s more inclined to punch in the face than kiss hello. After discovering Sophia’s disappearance is linked to a massive computer-based theft that has two powerful crime families ready to declare war, Elliot focuses on his investigation and tries to ignore Ray. As the search for Sophia turns dangerous, Elliot and Ray discover that tackling organized crime might be easier than resisting the urge to tackle each other.


Review:

This is book two of the Least Likely Partnership series. I looked forward to reading it after enjoying A Casual Weekend Thing book 1 in the series but unfortunately it is missing that element that gives me the all important soft and fuzzy feeling.

I met the MCs Ray and Elliot in book one and I have to admit I really didn’t like Ray very much and there wasn’t enough of Elliot for me to like or dislike him so I was curious how book two would go. Well, it didn’t start out very promising. Ray was still annoying and Elliot was still a bit of a mystery to me but as the story progresses I slowly fell in love with Ray and was intrigued with the mystery. There was a lot to Ray, he’s smart, funny and a little crazy he definitely had a soft romantic side that was a bit surprising. I never really warmed up to Elliot, his character felt flat maybe a bit more of him in the story would have helped. In my opinion the chemistry between Ray and Elliot wavered I felt it most of the time I just wish that feeling wasn’t so up and down.

The mystery is good there is more to it than there is of the romance so if you’re looking for sweet and fluffy, as the title sort of implies, you won’t find it in this story. It’s actually kind of dark but in a different way than A Casual Weekend Thing. This one has gangs, drug cartels, a lot of violence and a family divided. With a better balance of mystery and romance this story would have been a 5 star book. 

All in all I enjoyed reading Holding Out for a Fairy Tale and I recommend this series for those who enjoy a story where there is more mystery than romance. 

July 16th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: A Casual Weekend Thing by A.J. Thomas

Buy Links

Title: A Casual Weekend Thing (Least Likely Partnership, #1)
Author: A.J. Thomas
Cover Artist: Brooke Albrecht
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Doug Heavy Runner left the life of an openly gay Miami police officer and returned to his home on the Salish-Kootenai Indian Reservation when his mother got sick. In the two years since she passed, he’s carved out an empty life as a small-town deputy, relying on out-of-town one-night stands to keep him sane. Then he meets Detective Christopher Hayes, and they share a wild night so incredible Doug breaks his own rule and allows a one-night stand to grow into a weekend of amazing sex.

When Christopher travels from San Diego to Montana to deal with his abusive brother’s suicide, he doesn’t expect to find the man he spent the weekend with to be handling his brother’s case. He certainly doesn’t mind spending more time with Doug—but then an arsonist destroys the house Christopher inherited from his brother, and Christopher and Doug discover they are the primary suspects.

As they investigate, they discover Christopher’s dead brother has set them on the trail of a psychotic pedophile who will stop at nothing to silence his last victim. However, the search for the victim goes horribly wrong, leaving Doug hospitalized and Christopher at the mercy of the killer…


Review:

A Casual Weekend Thing is a story that has a lot going for it sexy cops, a romance that made me hold my breath through a lot of the story, a mystery that’s dark and too scary to think about and thankfully parts that made me laugh. 

Christopher Hayes is a homicide detective in San Diego that’s had a difficult past. His older brother is a pedophile and for most of Christopher’s life he’s been running from that. He has a partner that he’s been lusting after for 4 years the problem is Ray is straight or is he? After Christopher gets shot on the job he has to re-evaluate his life it looks like he may never be able to return to the job he loves. While contemplating what to do with the rest of his life he receives a call that his brother has died and he needs to come to a small town in Montana to deal with the fallout. Christopher arrives late in the evening, too late to do much of anything so he heads to a bar near his hotel there he meets Douglas Heavy Runner, there is an instant attraction and the two spend a casual weekend together but unbeknownst to both of them they’ll be thrown together to solve a case involving Christopher’s deceased brother.

I really enjoyed this book even with the dark subject matter. Christopher and Doug were great characters with a lot of chemistry. Both being broken men, one because of his dark past and the other because he’s having to hide the real him, I’m drawn to them. I loved the mystery and the many twists and turns it takes I thought it was well done but I wasn’t crazy about the HFN ending. After everything Christopher and Doug went through they really deserved their HEA. I know there is a sequel and I’m really hoping Christopher and Doug are included in that story if only to give these two their perfect ending.

June 26th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Floodgates by Mary Calmes

Buy Links

Title: Floodgates
Author: Mary Calmes
Cover Artist: Reese Dante
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Tracy Brandt considers himself a lucky man. He has a wonderful family, good friends, and a dependable job. His love life, however, features a cheating ex who, though out of the house, is not yet out of the picture—with a past that just might get Tracy killed. 

Homicide inspector Cord Nolan wants nothing more than to show his best friend’s little brother that he’s a reliable man, but to do that he’ll have to get Tracy to look past the player he used to be. It’ll be a tough sell; reputation is everything, and Cord’s is tarnished by his past indiscretions. 

Tracy and Cord have spent five years trying to suffocate their fiery attraction under a blanket of grudging antagonism. When Tracy finds himself with a target on his back, Cord finally has the chance to ride to the rescue and break through the dam of Tracy’s reserve. But he’d better be careful: if Cord is breaking the floodgates to wash away the past, he’s going to have to hold tight to Tracy to make sure they’re still standing when the tumult recedes.


Review:

Floodgate is a cute crime mystery/romance where the main character has a slew of over protective people in his life. Of course this leads to there being a threat on said main character’s life creating the foundation for the story. However, we start off with the threat coming from one direction and just maybe it sneaks up from behind.

Tracy Brandt is a bookkeeper and partner of an import-export company run by Dimah Mashir. There are several people in his life: Matthew Sato his BFF, Breckin Alcott his cheating ex, Alexander Brandt his brother and handsome DEA officer, Evan Brandt his brother and a strikingly beautiful movie star, and Cord Nolan the rugged homicide detective with a promiscuous past. This is a trend with Mary Calmes writing and keeps us coming back for more.

I will say that it took me a few tries before my interest in Floodgates kept me reading. The banter between Tracy and Cord was fun to watch and after their love interest forms the story was considerably more entertaining. The part of the story that felt out of place was that of the Tracy’s Russian business partner Dimah. I didn’t get where that tied in except to add tension between Tracy and the other characters.

I am a big fan of Mary Calmes A Matter of Time series and I found similarities here to the writing style of that series. These characters are different people and thus have their own chemistry. The connection between Tracy and Cord and the development of their relationship was enjoyable. With Tracy being a sweetheart, Cord the ruff and tuff detective, the beautiful straight brothers, and the adorable BFF Matt this story is definitely worth reading.

April 14th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Eostre’s Baskets: Undercover Cruising by Cheryl Dragon

Buy Links

Title: Eostre's Baskets: Undercover Cruising
Author: Cheryl Dragon
Cover Artist: Syneca Featherstone
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating2.5 Stars (2.5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

FBI Special Agent Carlos Perez is undercover on a cruise ship, working to find and stop criminals targeting gay passengers. He’ll only get one chance to crack this case, so he has to stay on task. Normally, that wouldn’t be a problem for the experienced agent, but normally, he wouldn’t be falling in love on the job.

When Stuart “Red” Redmond takes a last minute vacation over Easter, he’s thrilled to find his sexy coffeehouse regular on the same cruise. For months he’s been hoping that Carlos would ask him out, but both of them have been too busy working. What better time to have a first date than on a cruise?

What should’ve been smooth sailing on both work and relationship fronts turns to rough waters. Red knows Carlos well enough to poke holes in his cover, and while Carlos trusts Red to keep it under wraps, that knowledge puts him in danger. Then a mysterious Sundae’s Easter basket appears in Carlos’s suite. Are the criminals onto him or is something much stranger in play?


Review:

I enjoyed reading Undercover Cruising. It’s a short read about FBI Agent Carlos Perez and coffee shop owner Stuart “Red” Redmond who find themselves on the same cruise ship. Carlos isn’t there on vacation he’s there undercover to find out who is drugging, abusing and filming gay men and Red decided at the last minute he was in need of a relaxing vacation and who knows he may find someone to enjoy the time with. Carlos frequents Red’s coffee shop and these two men have been flirting with each other for a while but neither has made a move to take it further. Carlos plans on asking Red out when he puts the case he’s working on to bed so finding Red on the same ship is a bit of a problem. He can’t ignore him nor does he want to involve Red and possibly put him in danger but then again hooking up with Red will help his cover. Carlos also worries that lying and keeping secrets may damage what could be something special between the them.

I liked these guys and their chemistry but I felt the story was too short. Mystery, suspense and romance need more time to develop. It did help that Carlos and Red had met and were attracted to each other before the cruise but everything happened so fast that the book sometimes felt like it jumped from scene to scene making it a bit disjointed. Great premise, great MC’s but I wish there had been more story.

April 9th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments