Paranormal

/Paranormal

Review: L’Histoire de François: Vampire by Edward Kendrick

Buy Links

Title: L'histoire de François: Vampire (Immortal Angst, #)
Author: Edward Kendrick
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Since his turning in 1022 young spy, François, has hated all humans. And yet, in 1347, he falls in love with one, only to be betrayed by Giles who tells his liege lord that François is a vampire. The lord blackmails François into spying for him. Years later, François gains his revenge on Giles through his son.

In 1876 New Orleans, François joins forces with Vasile, a master of the city, to take on human vampire hunters. Then Vasile’s human lover dies and Vasile turns to François for comfort. Will love ensue, or is François destined to always be alone?


Review:

This little novella combines two things I love and that’s vampires and historical reads. I was hoping for a bit more than what I got but I still enjoyed the story. There is a lot packed into this short story, maybe a little too much but the big thing missing for me was the angst. Where was all the angst? I never really felt any.

L’Histoire de Francois revolves mostly around Francois but does introduce other characters. The premise is a good one, it’s the first book in the Immortal Angst Series about a young man that’s turned and used as a spy. He meets and falls in love with a human that betrays him and his life is never the same. Francois is a tough character to like but I’m drawn to the bad and tormented men, he fits that role perfectly.

I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series and hoping there will be a bit more angst.

December 4th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Shadows Fall by J.K. Hogan

Buy Links

Title: Shadows Fall
Author: J.K. Hogan
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

For him, the whole world is a graveyard…

A gift—or curse—gives Titus McGinty the unwanted ability to talk to ghosts. When he starts seeing the same few apparitions repeatedly, appearing with similar gruesome injuries, he begins to wonder what they want from him.

Detective Charlie Hale has a serial killer on his hands. On the loose for weeks, the Queen City Slayer has left the police nothing to go on, no forensic evidence other than what he wants found. The city is running out of time.

The crisis brings Titus and Charlie together—Titus stumbles upon a body and finds himself a suspect. Their budding romance is tested as they are sucked into a web of underground laboratories, restive spirits, and religious fanaticism. They’ll have to work together to find the identity of the killer before he takes his next victim…Titus.


Review:

Shadows Fall is a supernatural story with a very hot, in the closet police detective, Charlie Hale and an out and proud Coffee shop owner named Titus McGinty, oh and Titus sees dead people. There’s a serial killer on the loose and Charlie is determined to catch him with Titus’s help. Unfortunately for Titus in order to help Charlie he’s going to have to let his guard down and allow the victims to talk to him. He asks his gypsy grandmother to show him how to focus and not get bombarded or overwhelmed with all the voices.

I really loved reading this story. The main characters are great, the mystery is suspenseful and well-paced and I thought the chemistry between Titus and Charlie was good – not great but really good – I would have liked for there to have been more to the romance. Hopefully if there is a sequel – and I’m hoping there will be – that a bit more time is spent on Charlie and Titus’s relationship.

Even though I’d solved who the serial killer was fairly early on I thought Shadow Falls was a really great read, one that I couldn’t put down and would love to see more of.

I highly recommend it to anyone that loves to read a good paranormal mystery/suspense story with great characters.

August 19th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Homecoming by J. Scott Coatsworth

Buy Links

Title: The Homecoming
Author: J. Scott Coatsworth
Cover Artist: London Burden
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When his own world is destroyed, Aldiss and his crew barely manage to escape, leaving friends and lovers behind. What was meant to be an exploratory trip back to the home world turns into a mad dash for survival.

When they awaken from stasis on Earth, which was abandoned by humanity five centuries before, they must quickly learn about their new home. While exploring the region around the ship, Aldiss meets Hari, a shape-changer, whose people harbor secrets that might cost the crew their lives.


Review:

This was the first book I’d read written by J. Scott Coatsworth and most certainly won’t be last. The author had a good creativity when it came to storytelling. This novella was a mix of sci-fi and paranormal. It was based in the future and the main character was coming back to Earth from his home out in the space, which made it sci-fi. The people on Earth were shape-changer, which made it a paranormal.

The characters were pretty developed, but it wasn’t long enough for the characters to be completely developed. That was what I was looking for in the novella. But the author was off to a great start I was able to enjoy the characters very much. I even was able to connect to some characters even though we didn’t get full background on some of them. The plot itself was perfect for its length, although, I’d preferred much longer. In this case, it worked. Describing how the shape-changer occurred was well defined, so I was completely satisfied with how the book was written.

I really loved the world the author created and wanted more out of it. If the author ever decided to write a sequel or even an expanded version, I’d pick it up in a heartbeat. The writing style was well and an easy read. I definitely can recommend you to check this one out if you want to read something by a new author. It was good balance between sci-fi and paranormal. It loses a star because I felt it can be fleshed out a bit longer, but that was just my opinion. It was also a quick read as well.

August 18th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Hunter of Demons by Jordan L. Hawk

Buy Links

Title: Hunter of Demons (SPECTR, )
Author: Jordan L. Hawk
Cover Artist: Jordan L. Hawk
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer 


Blurb:

Unregistered paranormal Caleb Jansen only wants a normal life. But when a demon murders his brother, Caleb knows he has to avenge Ben’s death, no matter what the cost. Unfortunately, his only allies belong to an extremist group who would kill Caleb if they found out about his talent.

Gray is a wandering spirit, summoned to hunt and destroy demons by drinking their blood. This hunt goes horribly wrong, and for the first time in his existence Gray is trapped in a living, human body. Caleb’s body…and Caleb is still in it.

Hotshot federal agent John Starkweather thinks he’s seen it all. But when he’s called to exorcise Caleb, he finds a creature which isn’t supposed to exist outside of stories. For Gray is a drakul: a vampire.

Having spent his life avoiding the government as an unregistered ‘mal, Caleb can’t let himself trust a federal exorcist, no matter how sexy. And he certainly isn’t going to give into the heat growing between them and sleep with Starkweather.

Because if Gray gives in to bloodlust, Starkweather will have no choice but to kill them both.


Review:

What an amazing read! It didn’t take me long to finish the novella. The writing style was perfect for my taste. I understood everything that was going on in this novella. Caleb was a likable character. I actually liked Gray better for some reason. John was also a cool character to complete the novella. He wasn’t like a common SPECTR agent or detective, however you want to call it. He didn’t let the supernatural creature change his view; instead, he studied it before reacting in a bad way. I was just glad John followed his instinct and see things thoroughly.

Caleb was on a journey to find his deceased brother who was killed by a demon, only to find out his brother was being possessed by a demon. Things went horribly wrong during his visit to an abandoned mansion. He’d awaken to having a second soul inside his own body. The cool part was that he was able to have an annoying conversation with a soul inside Caleb’s head. Throughout a journey Caleb had been on gave him an opportunity to understand what was happening and it made me like Gray even more since he was an innocent confused person with only one hunger: demons. It was different type of vampires from any novels I’ve read in the past. I’m looking forward to finish the series and see how things worked out between Gray and Caleb. John, too, of course.

I highly recommended you to check this one out and it’s free at the moment. Think of it as a free sample of what the series would be and trust me, you’ll get hooked.

August 12th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Strength to Let Go by Alina Popescu

Buy Links

Title: Strength to Let Go (Tales of the Werewolf Tribes, )
Author: Alina Popescu
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer: Covers by Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

After being abandoned by his mates, Shiki Kirishima, beta of the Dragons of the Fang werewolf tribe, returns to his home in Tokyo.

Crippled by grief, Shiki decides to end it all by going into the territory of the Siberian Killers tribe and challenging them to a battle to the death.

His death.

Ganzorig, beta of the Siberian Killers, however, sees the potentially disastrous consequences of having Shiki die in battle.

Instead, he saves him.

Having suffered loss himself, Ganz takes it upon himself to help Shiki deal with his pain.

Blake, Shiki’s best friend since childhood, is as determined to show him there is life after a wolf’s ultimate loss.

Could there also be something ‘more’ for them after friendship?


Review:

I knew I would easily enjoy the novel because I really enjoyed Alina’s vampire series. Now she wrote a werewolf series and that excited me. I loved the fact that the author really showed her hard research since she included first few pages explaining what tribes were and what words meant. It was awesome to see that. That alone, gave me a hint, that it will be a good book. The hint was right after all. I couldn’t stop once I started.

Shiki’s world was fallen apart when his mates (yes, with plural) left him without any explanation. There was not even a suggestion what Shiki had done to make them leave. As a werewolf, mated meant for life. Once a mate was taken away or met its true death, the survivor mate would suffer a serious depression. That was what Shiki had gone through. He was ready to give up, so he went onto the most dangerous territory. On Siberian Killers’s property, they had a law where no “outsider” werewolf or any supernatural creatures were allowed on their land. If they chose to ignore the law and got onto their land, they would be killed without any explanation. Shiki already knew the law and that was his goal. But unfortunately (fortunately for us, readers!) Shiki didn’t meet his true death. Instead, he was rescued by a beta of iberian Killers.

Shiki was an important werewolf and was well known, which was probably why Ganzorig saved him. After being rescued, it became a much longer journey for Shiki to figure out how to let his lovers go hence the book title. That was when it got better because I was able to see Shiki wake up and realized there was a second chance at living. He had family and best friend, so he wasn’t alone to face his frustration or depression. In the end, things had turned out much better for Shiki. Of course, there was plenty of mystery going on with his former lovers. I was dying to learn more of why his former mates left him. I kind of think it was because of what was going on in Fae world that we didn’t know yet. Something out there pulled his former lovers away. Maybe we will find out why in next book. I can’t wait!

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot and see how awesome werewolves are in the novel. They each had their own laws. So, it was really cool. Don’t wait too long!

July 31st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Sangre Series: Buzz & Blow, Shave & Shimmer and Fade & Fluff by Alex Carreras

Buy Links

Title: The Sangre Series: Buzz & Blow, Shave & Shimmer and Fade & Fluff
Author: Alex Carreras
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

In the city of Sangre, Florida, vampires and humans coexist happily until one ancient and powerful vampire decides to mess up the entire thing. The hairdressers at Everlasting Salon who service vampires and humans alike decide to face the threat that lands on their doorstep enlisting the barbers across the street for a fight to the finish. Chaos ensues when fists fly, but it’s not all bad when old flames reunite and new relationships take root and grow. Between the clandestine meetings and vigilante justice, the vampires find love in unexpected companions, hoping to get some TLC along the way.


Review:

The Sangre series is like three novellas in one book. It’s a fast simple read with great characters and an interesting plot. With a few small variations to the vampire world like openly living amongst humans and some vamps having powers outside the norm there isn’t anything new but I enjoyed reading this story none the less.

Each part is about a different couple but all three centre around the same plot – good versus evil with the good winning out – and all the characters carry over from book to book. Each couple had their own issues when it came to getting to their HEA but they all eventually got there. Niko and Asher’s relationship was an insta-love/lust scenario from their first date they were a couple. Tory and Ray need help from the others to get them together. I thought of them as an unlikely pairing but a bit of matchmaking put them together and I was proven wrong. Tory is by far my favourite character, his flamboyant and sassy attitude made me chuckle, I love characters like him. Jerrod and Kairon had been a couple many years back, their breakup was a bad one but neither forgot the other nor could either move on. Their relationship took some work to get back the love they lost and I felt it was the strongest of the three couples, they are definitely my favourite couple. The plot is good but very typical, an evil vamp causing havoc amongst the humans and vampires alike. It’s a bit of a mystery/suspense theme where there are a string of murders and a kidnapping which the six MCs work to solve.

The mystery solved and the all-important HEA made me a happy camper. My reason for giving only 3.5 stars is because the story is in need of something that sets it apart from others of its kind it was just a bit too typical but still an enjoyable read.

July 6th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Breaking of Bonds by Alina Popescu

Buy Links

Title: The Breaking of Bonds (Bad Blood Trilogy, )
Author: Alina Popescu
Cover Artist: M.P. Revita
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer 


Blurb:

A human sacrifice throws vampires of two worlds, trueborn and baseborn, into an escalating conflict. One side pushes for revenge, the other for freedom. The trueborns stubbornly hunt for Anthony and Louis, pushed by Hesrah’s desire to avenge her human best friend, Alexa. The baseborns are divided between rallying with those challenging the rule of Ankhsis and obeying the trueborns.

What emerges from the portal between Earth and Ankhsis in the middle of the turmoil rocking both worlds is more dead than alive. Neither human, nor baseborn, and certainly not trueborn. This new being will either damn them all or be their race’s most powerful weapon. Will they trust it not to destroy them, or will Ankhsis decide putting it down is the only solution?

In the end, who is guilty? Who will pay? Will anyone survive its wrath?


Review:

The Breaking of Bonds had gotten better after the first book! I truly loved how original the novel was. After reading the blurb, I realized writing a review of this novel would be much challenging since I couldn’t exactly name a couple people that was in the novel. However, the trueborns’ home was amazingly awesome. There was something that flew fifty feet away from the portal and it was still alive. Just barely. The shocking thing was… This fallen body on the ground were neither a human, a baseborn, or a trueborn. It was a new being that no one ever met. This person was the most powerful being at the moment.

I was able to get to know Hesrah more in this novel and kept loving her character. She wanted to avenge Alexa by chasing down Anthony and Louis for betraying her. I was also introduced to Hesrah’s brother, Seth. He was one confused pal! He couldn’t make up his mind about how he truly felt for a certain person. It was frustrating (in a good way, mind you) to see how stubborn Seth was. In some way, he was a whining, spoiled brat.

As the novel ended, it ended on a softer cliffhanger so I wasn’t complaining. Although, I really hope the third book is nearly finished! I have a good feeling I know who gave the orders to Anthony, but I can’t say it here. 😀

I highly recommended! Vampire fan or not, still awesome!

June 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Edge of Hope by Alina Popescu

Buy Links

Title: The Edge of Hope (Bad Blood Trilogy, )
Author: Alina Popescu
Cover Artist: M.P. Revita
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer 


Blurb:

Everyone she loved betrayed her. She felt lost and broken. Getting away from the pain and embracing a new path, Alexa decided to leave her old life behind and chase a long forgotten dream in Malta. There she met a gorgeous man, bearing the scent of fresh love. He led her to a new city to explore, Amsterdam. Is the tall, dark, and delicious man a dream come true or just a risky gamble?

Alexa chose hope and new beginnings over fear and warning signs only to be brutally dragged into a world she never really thought existed. Vampires, their feuds, and her future held tightly in their hands.

Trapped in a mysterious world, Alexa gives love chance after chance. Following her quest of self-discovery in a blood bound world, will she survive the journey?


Review:

I’ve been seeing The Edge of Hope all over the social network and when I found out the sequel to it was about to come up, I knew I just have to give this novel a chance. I’m glad I did! It was a great vampire novel and I haven’t read vampire stories for a while, so it was a nice change for me to read The Edge of Hope. The plots were all there and the author chose to focus on the story itself rather than relationship, which was what I really enjoyed about the novel.

Alexa was truly a fun character to read. She had a strong mind and would speak up whether she like it or not, even if she knew that would cause her death, but she bravely kept on to it. I adored Alexa very much and I especially loved Hesrah. As much as I would love to explain who she was in the novel, I just couldn’t because it was a secret at the beginning of the novel until Alexa got herself in a horribly bad situation with the wrong man. I just couldn’t stop reading until the end. Of course I was completely frustrated when it ended on a cliffhanger, but hey, I only needed to wait for three days before the sequel The Breaking of Bonds comes out.

Another favorite part about the book was how the vampires started. Louis was an interesting character as well and he played an important role in the novel as well. The ending shocked me and it just ended there. I applaud the author for keeping the vampires’ background as original as possible. I knew it was hard since there were beyond too many vampire stories out there right now and I didn’t see any similarities to The Edge of Hope. I highly recommended you to check it out! Vampire fan or not, you will still enjoy them.

June 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Devil Will Do by Heidi Cullinan

Buy Links

Title: The Devil Will Do
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

In a land unforgiving of indulgent, dangerous sex, merchantman Eryn does his best to keep his desires in the dark…until the plight of a beautiful prince leads him out of the shadows and into adventures both sensual and terrible.

Capture, curse, and torture litter Eryn’s road to true love, along with carnal delights beyond his most wicked imaginings. His strengths and limitations are exposed—and the hard truth, that nothing holds him back more than the monster of self-loathing in his heart. Prince Wyn might be everything he’s dreamed of in a man—and master—but before Eryn can accept the exquisitely wicked affections of his one true love, he must first save himself…from himself.

This novella was originally published under the title Sweet Son and has been significantly revised.


Review:

The Devil Will Do is not for everyone. It is a somewhat dark erotic fairy tale that centers on the gratification received from being sexually humiliated. Eryn is a merchant’s son who has been convinced he is deviant and unworthy. He enjoys being the object of humiliation and if there is pain involved even better. The Devil Will Do takes us on Eryn’s journey to self-acceptance and love.

In his dreams Eryn meets the man he is destined to marry. Wyn is a prince that has reached out to Eryn via his dreams for his help to claim his throne and Eryn’s love. Once Eryn decides to break off his engagement and search for his true love the story truly begins. Along his trail Eryn encounters witches, bandits, daemons, becomes a slave to a pasha (a powerful magician), and finds his true love. All of this bring some truly kinky sex and humiliation to Eryn and his path leads Eryn to self-acceptance and peace.

There is a ton of dark sex between the pages of this story including humiliation, gang bangs, anal training, exhibitionism, enslavement, non-con or dub-con, and torture some of which I truly didn’t understand the reasoning behind. However, it feels right as Eryn is lead to his destination of being worthy for Wyn if only in his own eyes. To make it thought this “Snow White/Sleeping Beauty” type of story you need to be open minded and remember that this is a fairy tale and not everything appears as it seems.

While this story goes a little beyond my liking I can appreciate it as a well written and thought-out work by the author. Under it all you truly get the depth of Eryn’s love and willingness to do anything for his true love. In the end Eryn and Wyn’s fairy tale gets its happy ending making the path there worth the steps taken and the things endured.

June 9th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Homeport Journals by A.C. Burch

Buy Links

Title: The Homeport Journals
Author: A.C. Burch
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary and Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Fleeing New York City and an abusive partner, would-be writer Marc Nugent finds work at HomePort, the Provincetown mansion of Lola Staunton, a fabulously wealthy recluse. Aided by an attractive-but-unattainable artist and an all-too-available cross-dresser, Marc investigates accusations of rape and murder that have estranged Lola from a childhood friend for more than sixty years. Past and present converge when a long-lost journal reveals tales of infidelity, adultery, and passion that mirror the life Marc has recently abandoned. When his ex-lover arrives in search of revenge, Marc must confront his past, his notions of family, and his capacity for love.


Review:

The Homeport Journals by A.C. Burch is one of those that sneaks up on you before you know it. At first I was unsure how I was going to feel about this story. I was plodding along thinking that there was something I liked but wasn’t quite hooked. Before I knew what hit me I was thinking one more chapter to see what happens next and I was finished.

The story begins with Marc Nugent running away from his boyfriend and at first we can only surmise the true reason why. Once the reason is revealed you understand Marc and his actions better. Not to revel anything, but his ex-Brandon is a mess bordering on being a pyscho. Marc leaves NYC and heads blindly to Provincetown, Massachusetts. Once in P-Town while pondering his fate over a cup of hot chocolate he witnesses an elderly woman, Dorrie, struggling to carry her groceries in the rain. True to his nature Marc assists Dorrie and encounters his first new friend in P-Town.

Dorrie, sensing a good soul and person in need hooks Marc up with Lola Staunton, her once best friend, suggesting that Marc would be perfect for the gardener’s job. Lola is wealthy and employs the lost and needy presumably for help around her estate, but more realistically for the company of an old recluse. Here Marc meets Helena Handbasket the drag queen housekeeper, Cole the repairman – artist, and Marvin whose role is mysterious. There are others along the way including Dorrie’s friends and the cook. This unlikely combination of people form a tightknit family.

There are several intertwining plots including Brandon seeking out Marc, the rift between Dorrie and Lola, the mystery behind the deceased Captain Staunton journals, Cole’s history, Helena’s story, and a budding, albeit at a glacial pace, romance between Marc and Cole. All this combined to create an enjoyable story that can be difficult to follow at times with the primary theme being about discovery and bringing closure for the multitude of characters.

The Homeport Journals was pleasurable and well worth the time spent within its pages. The story included romance, mystery/suspense/thriller components, paranormal activity, mild eroticism, and what can only be characterized and drama/saga. The story is well written and the combination of current day and past are expertly woven together. The ending ties everything up for a HEA feeling. I definitely recommend this book just be prepared for something different and unique. It will challenge you as the reader while captivating you along the way.

June 3rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments