3.75 Stars

/3.75 Stars

Review: Touched Starved by Samantha Lau

Buy Link

Publisher

Title: Touch Starved
Author: Samantha Lau
Cover Artist: Samantha Lau
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Recently removed from the life he knew, from his family, and from the land that saw his birth, Rajnish Nayar finds himself lonely. On this new country, on his birthday, what could have been a fatal accident helps him rediscover himself, and perhaps, find a second chance at love.

Erotica writer Stephen Kouris has trouble keeping friends. He has even more troubles keeping lovers, even though all he wants is someone to be by his side always. When he meets exotic Rajnish Nayar, his interest is immediately piqued. Could this shy man be the one? And could he get him to admit his feelings, despite the cultural differences?


Review:

Rajnish’s birthday is today, he is turning 43 years old, is Indian, is divorced from his arranged heterosexual marriage, is shy, and has a teenage son. He left his homeland to be in the US while his son attends college. Raj has few friends and finds himself lonely in the states.

Raj literally runs into the drunken M/M writer Stephen who is in his late thirties. Stephen is instantly attracted to Raj and wishes to form a friendship with the man. Raj and Stephen take their time and becomes friends before lovers. Stephen is patient with Raj as he works through accepting his son’s homosexuality along with his own. They spend time together learning about each other and becoming friends.

The level of drama and angst here is minor giving us a sweet romance that builds between the main characters at a slow and steady pace. The intimate scenes were well written with care given to Raj’s inexperience. There are some unanswered questions that niggled me while I was reading but I have come to expect that from a short story.

Overall Touch Starved is a sweet romance where the writing is simple, well done, and the story flows nicely. The characters were well defined and you can’t help encouraging Raj and Stephen along. The friends first was pleasant and fit well with Raj’s personality. At only 44 pages long you can’t go wrong giving this story a try.

August 21st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Love: Universal by Dawn Flemington

Buy Links

Title: Love: Universal
Author: Dawn Flemington
Cover Artist: Fiona Jayde Media
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

John Russell, a UFOlogist, comes home for a much needed break, only to find his ex-lover Adien Kaper has moved in next door. They made a perfect couple except one thing: Adien doesn’t believe in UFOs or extraterrestrials.

After spotting a meteor shower, John goes to investigate, only to find a dark crystal. Later, that same crystal produces an alien who is looking for Adien. It seems Adien is needed back home on Xulpath as soon as possible.

But Adien doesn’t believe he’s an alien and he doesn’t want to go.

After Adien’s memory block wears off and he accepts who he is, trouble starts brewing. The government gets wind that there are aliens around and they want the aliens. John, with the help of his grandmother and Dr. Kolbi, try to help the aliens get back home.

The thing is, John really doesn’t want Adien to leave without him.


Review:

With Love: Universal Dawn Flemington has created a short sci-fi story about finding one’s perfect mate. The Xulpathians can choose to travel to Earth in search of their mate. To do so they must change their appearance and be given treatment to block out their memories of their home planet.

John Russell is an UFOlogist who has returned home to take a break and get away from the recent filming “UFOs and Aliens: Believe”, a television show. At his welcome home/valentine’s day party John discovers that his ex-lover Adien Kaper has moved in next door. John and Adien broke up because Adien hated John’s traveling, didn’t believe in UFOs or aliens, and wanted John to grow up and stop wasting his time on the UFO “foolishness”.

When John believes he has seen a UFO, investigates the site, and takes a dark crystal from the impact site the story unfolds. It is revealed that Rune has come to Earth to fetch Adien who is needed back home on Xulpath. During the story a past encounter with Rune, Grandma Nadia, and her brother David is revealed. It becomes a race against time to get Adien back to his home that is thwarted by John’s father, Colonel Frank Russell.

Love: Universal is just that, about universal love and those that choose to believe and find happiness. Of course there is government interference and uncertainty wrapped up in this short sci-fi romance. What is the fate of John and Adien’s relationship? What happened to David all those years ago? These questions and others are answered as we enter and traverse the reality that Dawn Flemington has given us. All in all this is a break from reality for a bit while you engross yourself in this sweet inter-terrestrial romance.

June 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Aidan’s Journey by CJane Elliott

Buy Links

Title: Aidan's Journey (Serpentine, )
Author: CJane Elliott
Cover Artist: L.C. Chase
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

The star of the University of Virginia theater department, Aidan Emery is lusted after and admired for living out and proud. He uses his talent and good looks to his advantage and never sleeps with the same guy twice. But his glamorous patina has been carefully honed to hide the pain he carries inside.

Aidan wasn’t always such a player. He starts college naively romantic, hungry for the attention he can’t get from his workaholic father and mentally ill mother. Unfortunately, that leaves him ripe pickings for predatory professor Rodney Montgomery. Rodney’s flattering regard seduces Aidan into a dysfunctional relationship that destroys his innocence.

Life looks up for Aidan when he finally breaks free of Rodney’s pull and moves to New York City to make it as an actor. Meeting sweet fellow actor Patrick Jaymes seems like the start of a fairy tale. But before Aidan can rebuild his life into happily ever after, family secrets rip him wide open, leaving him easy prey when Rodney decides he’s not willing to let Aidan go.


Review:

Aidan’s Journey gives the backstory of Aidan that is missing in Serpentine Walls, the first in the Serpentine series by CJ Elliott. Serpentine Walls and Aidan’s Journey can be read as a standalones or out of order. While the characters are the same the plots only mix slightly. In fact reading Aidan’s story first may give you more insight into his character while reading Serpentine Walls. This however, is not a romance story it is about Aidan’s life as he matures, grows, and finds his place.

Aidan Emery is talented, good looking, and a friendly young man. He enters college just like any other young man. He has grown up with an absent father and a loving mother. Both mother and son are impacted negatively by the “head” of the household. Aidan being young and coming of age is drawn in by the dashing and smooth tongued Professor Rodney Montgomery. Rodney keeps Aidan hanging on with the promise of a relationship. While Aidan makes several attempts to break away from Rodney he continues to be drawn in by the pull Rodney exudes on him. This back and forth with Rodney and this so called relationship interferes with the potential healthy relationships presented to Aidan.

To protect (?) himself, Aidan becomes a player and hooks up with random guys. He never see the same guy twice and they never spend the night. The self-destruction you watch Aidan go through pulls at your emotions with loads of hatred for Rodney but with compassion for Aidan. Aidan learns the hard way about relationships the good, the bad, and the ugly. Unfortunately for Aidan it is hard for his heart to let go even though his brain is telling him to.

I adored Aidan along with the majority of the characters in this story the exceptions being Rodney and Aidan’s father. These two are truly despicable individuals. Rodney’s interaction with Aidan consumes almost three quarters of the story so be prepared to watch Aidan spiral in and out of heartbreak and self-destructiveness. If you are looking for romance and the associated scenes that accompany that build of a relationship you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a well written story of one man’s journey into adulthood fraught with frustration, heartbreak and ultimately moving on (coming of age if you will) sit back and enjoy.

March 16th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Volunteered to the Future by H.B. Kurtzwilde

Buy Links

Title: Volunteered to the Future
Author: H.B. Kurtzwilde
Cover Artist: April Martinez
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Queer
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Kourt Crowe, the last remaining Servitor assassin, also a shape-shifter, lives to restore the lost golden age of the Fellowship of Servitors. His first husband died over a century ago, and, since then, he’s been fighting his battles alone. This next battle may be more than he bargained for, as he finds himself head-to-head and body-to-body with a promising, but troubled human student.

Evicted from his college for broken vows, self-described five-star hottie Kato Giovanni isn’t ready to hang up his dreams. With his razor-sharp mind and native genius for theoretical mathematics, he convinces bad-ass Master Kourt to take him on as a student. He wants to learn. Really, he does. But he can’t help testing all of his teacher’s boundaries.


Review:

The world within Volunteered to the Future is detailed and complex. I have to admit this book challenged me to understand what was occurring most of the time. Oh I got the gist of the adventure and was pulled into their world. However, there were times that I just had to keep reading hoping that things would make sense. Being that it required my full attention it was not a story to be read before retiring for the day or as an escape. 

Master Kourt Crowe is a servitor assassin who can shape shift. Following the teachings of his college he teaches Kato Giovanni the lessons he has learned from his masters and teachers. All of this occurs as they fulfill Crowe’s duties as assassin and child collector. You see the colleges obtain children from parents who give them away or sell them to the college. These two differ greatly on their views of love and sexual contact. Kato has no understanding of sexual contact for pleasure while Kourt has lost a husband who he loved deeply.

As time passed, Korut learns that most of Kato’s short comings are due to the lack of talented masters. Patiently Crowe works his way into Kato’s heart and these two begin to build a relationship. Their story is lacking romance and feels for the most part about a person serving their master. That is until Kato begins to enjoy the sexual encounters they share along with the emotions that begin to stir within him. There is a fair amount of internal struggle on Kato’s part because his teachings have not allowed for emotions to play role in one’s life.

If you are looking for romance Volunteered to the Future is not for you. If you enjoy a complex science fiction story you will not be disappointed. While I enjoyed the story I didn’t find this a pleasure to read. It required too much attention and I felt removed from the story at times. With that said the story was well written and the alternate world was well developed. 

October 1st, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Skinny on Love by Fyn Alexander

Buy Links

Title: The Skinny on Love
Author: Fyn Alexander
Cover Artist: Ginny Glass
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Thirty seven year old fitness fanatic and gym owner John Moorcroft has always known he was gay, and he has always had a problem admitting it, even to himself. After a failed attempt at a relationship with Roslyn, his long time female BFF, he knows he must take a hard look at himself. The first thing John does is to try to find out what happened to his mother who disappeared when he was four years old. Roslyn recommends Sky Cook Investigations to help him. The first time John meets Sky he finds himself extremely attracted to the man’s bear-like physique and eager to please manner.

Sky Cook, thirty six years old, is sweet, mild mannered and desperately in need of a health regime. He knows he needs to lose weight but is thwarted by issues from his childhood. Sky also wants a loving, yet dominant man to direct him, so when John suggests they barter services, the perfect storm for a relationship unfolds.


Review:

Well John Moorcroft isn’t gay or so he says over and over again. John is a 37 year old retired Army Captain who now owns a gym. He believes he is happy with his life and has accomplished his goals. That is until his best friend Roslyn pushes him by telling him that he is gay and needs to track down his mother. John has grown up believing that his mother died or was killed by his father but there has always been unanswered questions about her.

Roslyn provides John with the name of a private investigator Sky Cook to aide his search for his mother. Sky lives by the motto that you can catch more flies with honey. He is a sweet, kind, and a respectful person. Sky also enjoys food, could afford to lose a few pounds, and is a submissive who enjoys being on the receiving end of a master slave paring. 

John and Sky do not get off on the right foot together. Sky deceives John and pretends to be a client interested in joining John’s club. Well that backfires when John discovers the deceit. Next they unknowingly partake in some BDSM action at a private club. Thus begins John’s denial about being gay and their immediate attraction to one another. These two make a deal to exchange services with John getting Sky into shape and Sky helping John find out what really happened to his mother.

John starts out being someone that you are not so fond of, frankly he is an ass, whereas Sky is lovable from the beginning. Along the way these two learn a lot about each other while their attraction continually grows. They fit well together and once John realizes that he has been hard on Sky and let’s Sky in, these two become a likable couple who complement each other and fit with their Master/Slave personalities. 

This is a story of finding love in the most unlikely places. It is a story of redemption. It is a story of love that may not work for everyone but does for these guys. It is about family and forgiving the sins of the past and moving on. I will admit it took me quite a while to like John but you find out things about both these guys and how truly amazing they really are. 

August 26th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Holding Out for a Fairy Tale by A.J. Thomas

Buy Links

Title: Holding Out for a Fairy Tale (Least Likely Partnership, #2)
Author: A.J. Thomas
Cover Artist: Brooke Albrecht
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

When his vicious cousin Alejandro makes a violent late-night visit, San Diego homicide detective Ray Delgado gets a brutal reminder of why he left his family behind. Alejandro wants Ray to find his sister, Sophia, who disappeared from the UC San Diego campus, before the FBI digs too deep into his business. 

Special Agent Elliot Belkamp spent his entire life jumping from one place to another, but his new assignment assisting a FBI task force offers him a chance to settle down. When Elliot catches a missing person’s case as his first assignment, the last person he expects to find poking around the victim’s dorm room is Ray, a one-time hookup he’s more inclined to punch in the face than kiss hello. After discovering Sophia’s disappearance is linked to a massive computer-based theft that has two powerful crime families ready to declare war, Elliot focuses on his investigation and tries to ignore Ray. As the search for Sophia turns dangerous, Elliot and Ray discover that tackling organized crime might be easier than resisting the urge to tackle each other.


Review:

This is book two of the Least Likely Partnership series. I looked forward to reading it after enjoying A Casual Weekend Thing book 1 in the series but unfortunately it is missing that element that gives me the all important soft and fuzzy feeling.

I met the MCs Ray and Elliot in book one and I have to admit I really didn’t like Ray very much and there wasn’t enough of Elliot for me to like or dislike him so I was curious how book two would go. Well, it didn’t start out very promising. Ray was still annoying and Elliot was still a bit of a mystery to me but as the story progresses I slowly fell in love with Ray and was intrigued with the mystery. There was a lot to Ray, he’s smart, funny and a little crazy he definitely had a soft romantic side that was a bit surprising. I never really warmed up to Elliot, his character felt flat maybe a bit more of him in the story would have helped. In my opinion the chemistry between Ray and Elliot wavered I felt it most of the time I just wish that feeling wasn’t so up and down.

The mystery is good there is more to it than there is of the romance so if you’re looking for sweet and fluffy, as the title sort of implies, you won’t find it in this story. It’s actually kind of dark but in a different way than A Casual Weekend Thing. This one has gangs, drug cartels, a lot of violence and a family divided. With a better balance of mystery and romance this story would have been a 5 star book. 

All in all I enjoyed reading Holding Out for a Fairy Tale and I recommend this series for those who enjoy a story where there is more mystery than romance. 

July 16th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: No Ocean Too Deep by Leona Carver

Buy Links

Title: No Ocean Too Deep
Author: Leona Carver
Cover Artist: Tanya Rehaluk
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

To buck the brutal rule of the Republic, Amirzade Sharouk and his men pull off a desperate plan: Destroying the Republic’s fleet by joining forces with the legendary sea folk, masters of the leviathans, immense living weapons born of the sea and magic.

Though the gamble succeeds, one of the leviathans vanishes with a valuable human, straining an already tenuous alliance. Her caretaker Nils needs to find her as quickly as possible to redeem himself before his superiors. His search is further burdened by Dastyaf, a furious human warlord and liability in the marine realm. But after combing the deep ocean and discovering the dangers it holds, Nils realizes he may need the human more than he thought, to save his mission and himself.


Review:

The world the author created was absolutely wonderful. So realistic and creative. I learned a lot about the legends the author described and I didn’t feel lost while reading at all. Nils and Dastyaf were an interesting pairing. They had gone through for each other a lot among their journey into finding Sharouk. I wasn’t exactly sure if Nils was actually a mermaid or simple a seafolk, so that part was somewhat vaguely. But yes, there were sirens that lure humans to their death. 

I was more fascinating with a new creature I haven’t heard of: leviathans. How they turned into leviathans were even cooler and sad simultaneously. The journey from the beginning to the ending was an awesome ride. I enjoyed everything about it. Until the very ending, it left me puzzled and unsatisfied hence the 1.25 star dropped. I wasn’t entirely pleased with the ending the author chose with. 

Also, I noticed it was part of Less Than Three Press‘s A Loose Screw collection, which is a mecha story. This book didn’t include any of character that was a mecha. It wasn’t even a sci-fi story either. Just a pure fantasy with a journey of discovering themselves and what they truly belonged to. Whether it be in the water or on the land. I didn’t think it deserved to be part of the collection but definitely deserved as a stand-alone novel. It’d be cool to have a sequel to follow up what ending exactly meant. I re-read the ending several times and I still didn’t get it. 

Leona Carver is an author I’m going to keep my eye on. The creative the author had done was done marvelously. If the author decides to write a similar world or create a completely new world that focus in underwater, I’d drop everything and picked the book up to see what the author created. The law, the society, and all that. It was perfect. I just wished the ending was better, though. It hurt the book too much to lose the rating. 

Still, though, you need to check this one out. I am most certainly going to check out the author’s longer novel, Piper. Highly recommended!!

May 23rd, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Bad Idea (Audiobook) by Damon Suede

Buy Links

Title: Bad Idea
Author: Damon Suede
Narrator: Charlie David
Cover Artist: Paul Richmond
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel (14 Hours and 42 Minutes)
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Reclusive comic book artist Trip Spector spends his life doodling supersquare, straitlaced superheroes, hiding from his fans, and crushing on his unattainable boss until he meets the dork of his dreams. Silas Goolsby is a rowdy FX makeup creator with a loveless love life and a secret streak of geek who yearns for unlikely rescues and a truly creative partnership. 

Against their better judgment, they fall victim to chemistry, and what starts as infatuation quickly grows tender and terrifying. With Silas’s help, Trip gambles his heart and his art on a rotten plan: sketching out Scratch, a “very graphic novel” that will either make his name or wreck his career. But even a smash can’t save their world if Trip retreats into his mild-mannered rut, leaving Silas to grapple with betrayal and emotions he can’t escape. 

What will it take for this dynamic duo to discover that heroes never play it safe?


Review:

Trip Spector is a comic book artist with a lot of talent and a boatload of insecurities and aliments. Seriously dude, that boss (the “unboyfriend”) of yours is playing you like a fiddle. Silas Goolsby is an FX makeup artist with a sense of humor and an easy almost carefree nature. I loved Silas and Trip, well I’m not sure about him, he was a little too needy and self-deprecating. I felt like Silas could do better and the Trip wasn’t good enough for him. Although Silas really falls for Trip and because of that Trip is the person that should make him happy, right? But Trip, common on man, tears were shed because of your treatment of Silas.

Bad Idea felt more like a love story to me than romance and I loved that aspect of the story. The guys are real, flawed, and geeky which was also really good. The Scratch comic book idea is farfetched although pretty steamy and a major part of the plot so that works well – so not your typical super hero at all. The secondary characters are well developed and add to the story, little boy Max is wise beyond his years and Trip’s sister is a hoot.

The gripe… You follow the story through all the ups, downs, drama and resolution comes then bang the book is over. What happened to the couple of story lines that could have been developed further? Maybe the next book in the series will answer that. 

Bad Idea is wacky and nerdy love story with real love, pain, and issues that was worth the time spent immersed in their lives.

This review is based on the audio book version:
Narrator: Charlie David
Length: 14 hours & 42 minutes
Narration: First I must admit that Charlie David is not one of my favorite narrators. What’s with all the hushed almost whispering tone of voice all the time? Charlie did bring the story to life and was well suited for Trip, but the voice of Silas seemed wrong to me. I believe there is an error in the narration, at one point I thought I heard the word “iPhone” spoken and has to rewind and listen a couple of times but it didn’t make sense to me.

May 1st, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Deep Dish by Marc Harshbarger

Buy Links

Title: Deep Dish
Author: Marc Harshbarger
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Queer, Questioning, Undecided, Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, & Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

When teenager Cary Davenport agrees to take his mother’s poodle for a walk late one summer night, he never expects to end up gazing upon the gorgeous Chandler Haze (the star quarterback of the Winnetka Wildcats, homecoming king and an object of desire for many), who suddenly appears from Lake Michigan to stand glistening in all his naked glory on the beach.

And with this opening scene, we are transported back to that groovy yesteryear of 1975 to meet various families, friends and other strangers, whose lives become dramatically intertwined as they dance to The Hustle, worship Mary Richards, wear mood rings and own pet rocks during their search for love and happiness—or at the very least a one-night stand of incredible sex.

This is the world of Deep Dish, a dark comic soap opera where sordid secrets are kept by almost everyone.


Review:

Deep Dish by Marc Harshbarger is reminiscent of the night time soaps Dynasty, Dallas, and Knots Landing with the spin of Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City. The story has it all: cheating wives & husbands, scheming villains & villainesses, righteous women, oblivious hunks, inebriated men and women, jealously, fabulous drag Queens, and a bit of incest. It is full of secrets, deceit, lies, love and hate. The spin of course is which of these characters are gay, questioning, or actually straight. Well as it turns out a good number of the 40+ characters are. Some openly, some closeted, and some just discovering it. Everywhere we turn there is sexual tension and drama.

The story set in the mid 1970’s centers around the marriage of Helen Davenport and Howard Haze. Well things go seriously out of control from the start. The sexscapades, raunchy humor, twists and turns all make this a roller-coaster ride of fun. All the guys seem to have abnormally large appendages and most are not shy about giving you a peek (or feel). Even while in a coma the sheet is tented like the big top at a circus.

It is hard to say who the main characters were since there were so many characters. I myself focused on Chandler Haze and Matt Mahoney’s story but there are so many other outstanding characters as well. The story keeps switching between the different story lines with a header telling you where you are now. See… just like watching one of nighttime soaps. The story all happens in the course of a few days with parallel plots occurring. The biggest issue I had was keeping track of who’s who. There is a cast of characters in the front of the print copy but the page is blank in the ebook version. So being google capable I am I found the cast of characters to help me out. 

If you are looking for a sexually infused romp through yesteryear then gab a copy and enjoy. The characters are multi-dimensional and expertly written. However, while the story flows quickly it reads different than usual and the story just like those on TV leaves you hanging. I almost gave up on this story and I am so glad I hung in there. I am now hooked and anxiously looking forward to reading deeper dish the continuation.

April 28th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Fair Play (Zephr Ranch, #5) by Nessa Vincent

Buy Links

Title: Fair Play (Zephyr Ranch, #5)
Author: Nessa Vincent
Cover Artist: April Martinez
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Jamie comes to his high school reunion on a mission: show everyone that the scared kid who was picked on for being gay has grown up into a sexy, confident lawyer. Maybe then he’ll finally shake his fear of not fitting in.

Nick, once the worst of Jamie’s bullies, has an agenda too. He’s looking for Jamie…to apologize.

Though a stint in the army left Nick injured, humbled, and without a clear plan for his future, Jamie’s skeptical that Nick has changed. Still, he doesn’t fight the new sexual charge between them, even though his submissive tendencies and Nick’s dominance seem like a recipe for high school all over again. A one-night stand with his former tormenter seems like just the thing to put the past behind him, but when he tries to walk away in the morning, he doesn’t get very far.

He and Nick both are snatched by a band of werewolves and told they have a supernatural bond. Nick can see the supernatural world and Jamie…well, Jamie’s apparently a kelpie.

Dismayed, Jamie fights their bond and their new reality, still believing Nick isn’t trustworthy. Nick’s determined to prove Jamie wrong and keep him safe. The combative supernatural world has them tightly in its grip; Nick and Jamie, though, have only each other to hold on to. 


Review:

For the most part I really liked this installment to the Zephyr Ranch Series. After the surprising turn of events in the previous book I wondered where the author would take the story. I liked how I got to see things from Cyril’s perspective but I would have liked for there to be more, for such an important character I don’t think he’s in the series enough. 

The love interests in Fair Play, Jamie and Nick, meet up again at their High School reunion. There is a lot of history between these two and none of its nice. Nick is there to apologize to Jamie for his part in what he and his friends put Jamie through with their bullying and Jamie is there to show everyone what became of him in spite of the bullying and if possible to exact a bit of revenge on Nick. I couldn’t help but love Nick and Jamie and feel for them even with what happened in the past. I’m sure a lot will find Jamie’s character a bit trying, on the outside he appears full of himself but I saw that same insure guy from High School trying to make everyone believe he was totally together. Like the other MC’s in this series, once Nick and Jamie have sex they become soul mates and find themselves in a whole other world. 

Like the previous books I loved the characters and the romance but I really need the paranormal aspect of the series to get to the point before I lose interest in it.

March 31st, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments