4 Stars

/4 Stars

Review: Blood and Dirt by Lloyd A. Meeker

Buy Links

Title: Blood and Dirt (A Russ Morgan Mystery, #)
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Family squabbles can be murder. Psychic PI Russ Morgan investigates a vandalized marijuana grow in Mesa County Colorado, landing in the middle of a ferocious family feud that’s escalating in a hurry. Five siblings fight over the family ranch as it staggers on the brink of bankruptcy, marijuana its only salvation. Not everyone agrees, but only one of them is willing to kill to make a point. Russ also has a personal puzzle to solve as he questions his deepening relationship with Colin Stewart, a man half his age. His rational mind says being with Colin is the fast track to heartbreak, but it feels grounding, sane, and good. Now, that’s really dangerous…


Review:

My first thought after reading this story was “Why the hell didn’t I read book one first?” I really should have, not that it’s imperative that you do but it would have given me some history of the characters that I would have liked. Blood and Dirt is an enjoyable read. It’s a little bit paranormal with a psychic PI who reads aura’s and taps into people’s emotions. It has a little romance that isn’t the driving force of the story but very sweet none the less. I would have loved to have read a lot more about Russ and Colin and I think I’ll be grabbing book one to see what I missed. The mystery is predictable but I was intrigued enough to keep reading to find out “who done it” for sure – in case I was wrong – also it’s written in a way that didn’t make me feel like I’d read this one before. The writing is smooth and the pacing is excellent. Even though the ending isn’t technically a cliff hanger if I want to know more about Russ and Colin’s relationship picking up book 3 when it’s available will be a must. I highly recommend this story to readers that love a mystery with a bit of romance woven in.

September 25th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Submission by Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow

Buy Links

Title: Submission (Submit for Redemption, #)
Author: Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow
Cover Artist: Lou Harper
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

When Army Ranger Captain Everett Palmer enters gay BDSM club Cuffed Links, he is seeking brutal punishment for what he perceives to be an unforgivable failure: allowing an entire squad of men under his command to die while he worked to defuse a bomb at his base. Everett initially wants only pure pain, which professional interrogator and jaded British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge is more than prepared to give. Their meeting, however, is not at all by chance.

Phineas has been contracted to coerce a false confession from Everett, implicating the captain in planting the bomb. Phineas has tortured many men in the past, but there is something different about Everett Palmer, a man whose sheer purity of soul causes the colonel to question his every selfish, devious act and legion of war crimes.

In Submit for Redemption: Book One – Submission, erotic romance and spiritual redemption come from the most unexpected places – from the seedy extremes of a smoke-laden, neon-drenched bondage den to the tropical, hedonistic pleasures of Phineas’ private Greek island.

On this unbidden psychosexual odyssey, Everett and Phineas find exactly what they don’t expect: a chance to redeem their troubled souls and fulfil their every romantic ideal. But the clock is ticking. The deeper Phineas falls in love with Everett, the harder it becomes to finish his assigned task. If he succeeds, the consequences may be far more explosive than he ever anticipated.


Review:

Submission, the first in the Submit for Redemption series, is about two lost individuals whose paths cross changing their view of things.  Army Ranger Captain Everett and the British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge provide each other with what the other has been lacking.

Army Ranger Everett is looking for physical pain (punishment) after he survives a bomb that some of his men didn’t.  This takes him to a BDSM club where he meets Phineas Bainbridge who is ready and willing to dish out the punishment that Ev is seeking. Unbeknownst to Ev, Phineas has been hired to obtain a false confession from Everett for the bombing incident. When Phineas begins to have feelings for Ev things turn complicated.

The premise here is hard to swallow but somehow the authors manage to make it believable.  Watching Ev and Phineas build something even though they come from completed opposite ends of the spectrum is enjoyable.  The fact that they are able to provide what the other is lacking in their life spurs a relationship that is often beautiful. Though it all there is genuine concern for Ev and wonder will he ultimately become further broken at the hands of Phineas.

Ev is truly a tortured soul and I believe that Phineas is as well.  While Ev is a completely likeable guy that is easy to relate to, Phineas is extremely sketchy.  At times Phineas comes across as perfect for Ev, but then things happen that make you concerned for Ev and seriously doubt Phineas’ intentions.

Submission is a strange one.  At times it moved slowly then picked up and edged on brilliant then slowed again.  This flow continued, up and down, until the story ends on one of the biggest cliffhangers I have ever seen.  Because of this, I have to read the next in the series but I fear I will be angered at the turn of events.

September 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Tyler Knoll’s Just For Fun: Books 1-4 by A.B. Gayle

Buy Links

Title: Tyler Knoll's Just For Fun: Books 1-4
Author: A.B. Gayle
Cover Artist: Jay's Covers by Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing:
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Tyler Knoll was born one wild, stormy night in April 2013.

Of course, Tyler might tell you he was born twenty years earlier, but should we believe anything he says? That’s for you to decide.

In Tyler’s first adventure—like many a gay man before him—he was SNARED by gay porn, wallowing in tales of bigger, stronger, harder….

Then his fickle mind was seduced and SHREDDED by the prospect of BDSM and slavery.

When a Big Misunderstanding SLASHED at Tyler’s sanity, almost costing him his life, he turned to another genre for his salvation. But even this encounter proved potentially hazardous—not from freezing temperatures, but at the hands of irate fans.

Finally, tired and SCREWED by his all his trials and tribulations, he discovers—like many storybook heroes before him—that sometimes Mr. Right is closer than we think.


Review:

Before I even started this novel, I read the first book called Snared and I was not used to the writing style. But now, I’m used to it and fully prepared for a fun ride with Tyler. I loved Tyler’s adventures now. Snared was better when I read it for the second time. I understood what was going on and was able to enjoy the humor in the story. I actually thought we would get to see more about what happened between Tyler and Gareth when I started Shredded. But it turned out it was something different and much more enjoyable as I kept on reading. He was moved to different room to work for a guy who was out sick for a while. He’d had a crush on the truck driver, which led to something entirely different. In Slashed, I am starting to love Tyler much more. He was so innocent the entire time. As for Screwed, it was amazingly ending to the novel. I enjoyed the book very much. It went from non-romance to romance from beginning to the ending, which was awesome. It was a fun and quick read! I highly recommended you to check it out if you want to read something funny.

September 14th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Second Rate Posse by Lola Beverly Hills

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Second Rate Posse
Author: Lola Beverly Hills
Cover Artist: Lola Beverly Hills
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Young Adult
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Jada Williams wants to be the black Regina George, having her own set of fabulous friends that garner the most attention out of any posse they pass through the halls of Melrose High. Too bad Crystal and Junebug, her best friends since her sandbox days, would rather spend their weekends in front of Nat Geo Wild than house party hop like normal fifteen year olds. She can’t win the affections of Benjamin Banks if her posse can’t compete with the certified mean girl, KiKi Horn. When KiKi and her shameless friends, Habiba and Roxanne, take Melrose by storm, Jada becomes caught up in the competition, stopping at nothing to win. If it means paying dust to her longtime friends who can’t keep up, so be it. Jada will win the affection she’s been fighting for, but what will be her next move when it comes from someone she least expected?


Review:

Second Rate Posse was entertaining. It took me a couple chapters to be able to connected to the characters. Once I got connected to them, I really enjoyed the novel a lot. It reminded me of Mean Girls film in some way. It was a girl who wanted to be popular in her high school. Which means she had to find herself a hottest boy and be surrounded by popular people. Of course, she had a rival who wanted the same as her. Jada was annoying at first but eventually I grew onto her. Crystal was my favorite character. Imani was a hilarious character but she cared about her own friends deeply.

Benjamin was an interesting person, but he wasn’t a people person. He was the one Jada and Kiki fought for. Jada really picked the wrong guy since I could totally hand picked a right guy for her. But again, being popular infested her brain. It made the book much more entertaining and had me chuckled a couple times.

It loses a star because there were some words that were overused. Matter-of-factly for example. It was starting to get annoying to see that word being used over and over. Although, it didn’t entirely ruined the novel.

Overall, it was a good read and I can easily recommended to anyone who want to read something light and had some humor in it. I really hope the author will write at least one more book about them. I wanted to see if Jada eventually go with the guy I thought was perfect for her.

August 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Kindling: A Love Story about Scars by Castor James

Buy Links

Title: Kindling: A Love Story About Scars (The Fire Before Us, )
Author: Castor James
Cover Artist: Stonebound Books
Publisher: LoveLight Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Scar (n.): The mark left where something failed to kill you.

When a stage accident leaves his left hand permanently damaged, guitarist Silas St. Clare is left barely working out a living as a technician at a low-rent sound studio, convinced his dream of a life on stage is dead forever.

But when up-and-coming alt-rock star Asher Danes rents out the studio, it’s not long before the singer has Silas questioning everything he knows – and not just about music. Will Silas stay in his comfortable misery, or reach for happiness with both hands? And will he be able to grasp it, if he does?


Review:

Kindling: A Love Story About Scars is a sad, touching, sweet story dealing with tragedy and loss. Silas St. Clare has a promising career as a guitarist that is snuffed out when he is seriously injured while playing in a concert. Not only does Silas loses his dreams that night but, his boyfriend as well. Miranda, a friend of Silas, gives Silas a job at her small sound studio where he meets Asher Danes.

Asher Danes is an up and coming rock star that was present the night of Silas’ accident. Asher is having a spell with writers block and rents the small sound studio where Silas works. Asher remains somewhat of a mystery throughout the story which primarily focuses on Silas’ emotions and loss.

These two don’t exactly mesh or hit it off at first. However, over time a budding friendship emerges with each helping the other through their current issues. The story is sweet with moments of angst and communication issues as these guys explore the somewhat unexpected connection they forge.

Kindling: A Love Story About Scars ends with a begging of sorts. We are lead to believe that there is more coming from Silas and Asher as they begin their journey now that they have gotten over the initial hump. It’s a good start here but more is needed to form connections between the reader and the characters.

August 20th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Homecoming by J. Scott Coatsworth

Buy Links

Title: The Homecoming
Author: J. Scott Coatsworth
Cover Artist: London Burden
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When his own world is destroyed, Aldiss and his crew barely manage to escape, leaving friends and lovers behind. What was meant to be an exploratory trip back to the home world turns into a mad dash for survival.

When they awaken from stasis on Earth, which was abandoned by humanity five centuries before, they must quickly learn about their new home. While exploring the region around the ship, Aldiss meets Hari, a shape-changer, whose people harbor secrets that might cost the crew their lives.


Review:

This was the first book I’d read written by J. Scott Coatsworth and most certainly won’t be last. The author had a good creativity when it came to storytelling. This novella was a mix of sci-fi and paranormal. It was based in the future and the main character was coming back to Earth from his home out in the space, which made it sci-fi. The people on Earth were shape-changer, which made it a paranormal.

The characters were pretty developed, but it wasn’t long enough for the characters to be completely developed. That was what I was looking for in the novella. But the author was off to a great start I was able to enjoy the characters very much. I even was able to connect to some characters even though we didn’t get full background on some of them. The plot itself was perfect for its length, although, I’d preferred much longer. In this case, it worked. Describing how the shape-changer occurred was well defined, so I was completely satisfied with how the book was written.

I really loved the world the author created and wanted more out of it. If the author ever decided to write a sequel or even an expanded version, I’d pick it up in a heartbeat. The writing style was well and an easy read. I definitely can recommend you to check this one out if you want to read something by a new author. It was good balance between sci-fi and paranormal. It loses a star because I felt it can be fleshed out a bit longer, but that was just my opinion. It was also a quick read as well.

August 18th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: A Place to Call Their Own by Dean Pace-Frech

Buy Links

Title: A Place to Call Their Own
Author: Dean Pace-Frech
Cover Artist: Written Ink Designs
Publisher: JMS Books LLC
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

Frank Greerson and Gregory Young have been discharged from the Army and are headed to their childhood homes. They both defied their parents in 1861 when they joined the Army. After battling southern rebels and preserving the Union of the United States of America, the two men set out to battle the Kansas Prairie and build a life together. Once they find their claim, they encounter common obstacles to life on the Kansas Prairie in 1866: Native Americans, tornadoes, wild animals, and weather.

When a prairie fire destroys their crops and takes their neighbor’s lives, Frank and Gregory are instructed to find their young son’s aunt. Faced with leaving a destroyed claim, the railroad coming through their land, and dwindling funds, Frank and Gregory must decide whether to leave the place they have worked hard to make their own or fulfill their friends’ dying wishes.


Review:

I’m a nut for historical novels. It’s not often I run across one that takes place after the civil war in the old west with Indians and land claims. A time when families packed up and moved west to work the land hoping to lay claim to it and make a life. A Place to Call Their Own is that type of historical.

It’s an easy, almost angst-less read, more gay fiction than romance but there is a beautiful love story about two men who meet and fall in love while in the Army. Frank and Gregory make plans to head west when they’re discharged to find place they can call their own and live together without trouble. The journey takes them to Kansas where they find land they can homestead but it’s not easy. Through bad weather, a man that wants to ruin what Frank and Gregory have, a fire that wipes out all their hard work and the lives of some special neighbors these amazing men find a way to keep going when most would give up.

Frankie and Gregory are wonderful characters and I fell in love with them immediately. Their story is sweet and at times an emotional one. The unexpected addition to their family and the happily for now ending has me excited to see where they end up next.

I recommend A Place to Call Their Own

July 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Klockwerk Kraken by Aidee Ladnier

Buy Links

Title: The Klockwerk Kraken
Author: Aidee Ladnier
Cover Artist: Deana Jamroz
Publisher: MLR Press, LLC
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When the right space pilot walks into his bar, a desperate bartender uses all his wiles (and tentacles) to talk the man into business and his bed–but the spacer is still enslaved by his past and isn’t sure he can deal with a two-handed lover, much less one with six.

When the supply shipments stop coming, Teo Houdin needs all his tentacles to keep his waystation bar open. Facing a riot by thirsty miners stranded in the backwater of the galaxy, Teo helps a greenie space pilot buy a ship in return for a regular haul of liquor. But he longs for the courage to invite the enigmatic spacer to fill his lonely bed as well.

Still smarting from his newly implanted navigational ports, Jimenez knows owning his own ship will prevent him from ever being bought and sold again. For a former slave, transporting cargo through the emptiness of space sounds like paradise, but after meeting the compassionate and sexy Teo, his heart feels empty, too.

At the edge of the galaxy’s spiral arm, can Teo convince Jimenez that the heart has its own tentacles and theirs should be entwined forever?


Review:

When I was offered to read this book in exchange for an honest review, I was excited. I hadn’t read any stories that involved tentacles. This novel was pretty good. Overall, the steamy scenes were hot. It had excited me plenty of time. So there were no issues when it came to steamy scenes between Teo and Jimenez since it was beyond hot. However, the plots, I found it not too bad. It could be better, but as is, I was fine with it. I was entertained with the plots the author chose to go on.

The crime that was mentioned in the novel was too short. I thought it should be expanded a bit. Maybe make the trial longer? Something that’d make me nervous for anyone that was part of the trials. Unfortunately, it didn’t. But the memory that was being played during the trial was amazingly well done. I could imagine in my head of how the event happened. It was sad as well.

I actually was hoping for much more depth background story in Jimenez. There were just so much to tell about Jimenez and I didn’t get it from the novel. Yes, it was enough detail to prevent from it being info-dumping, which was great. I still wanted more, though. The writing style was really well. I didn’t find any problem trying to understand a couple scenes the author was describing. The author described them as clear as possible. Not even once had it pulled me out from the novel while I was reading.

All in all, it was a good tentacles story with a good plot to support the novel. It wasn’t porn without plot either so that was a win. I definitely recommend you to check this one out. It was an entertaining read.

July 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Buck Baxter and the Disappearing Divas by Geoffrey Knight

Buy Links

Title: Buck Baxter and the Disappearing Divas (Buck Baxter Murder Mysteries, )
Author: Geoffrey Knight
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Something sinister is occurring at the Maharaja Majestic Theater on Broadville Boulevard. The domineering actress, Dominique Darlington, has vanished without a trace, the opening night of the theater’s new production of The Snake Charmer’s Slave is now in jeopardy, and six suspects are about to have the pleasure of meeting Buck Baxter, Private Detective, as he investigates whether there’s a killer on the loose… or a phantom at the opera?

Could it be the handsome leading man, Errol Hemingway, who’s responsible for the disappearance of his leading lady… or perhaps it’s that sweet, doe-eyed understudy Olivia Overton? Is it the theater owner himself, the tall and mysterious Raja Khan who has committed the crime… or the show’s investor, the autocratic aristocrat Serafina Somerset? Or is it possible that the meek and mild stage manager Stanley Small, or the flamboyant and frustrated director Barnabas Blake, is guilty?

And what of Buck’s romance with playboy millionaire Holden Hart? Will Buck get a backstage pass to access all areas of his one true love… or will this be the final curtain for Buck and Holden?

Follow the clues, and you might just solve… the mystery of the disappearing divas!


Review:

I was so excited to read this! I loved book one in the series and was waiting patiently for more. Like Buck Baxter, Love Detective the Disappearing Divas takes place in the 1920’s which is perfect for me being a self-professed historical nut. I’m also a lover of Gumshoe detective series whether in books or film and TV. There is just something campy and fun about them and Book 2 of this series was chockfull of campy and fun with a bit of spice for the loving couple and of course a mystery that needs solving.

There were more than a few times that I chuckled or outright laughed. From Harry and Buck getting caught by Harry’s father bare ass naked doing the nasty on the balcony of Harry’s penthouse to Buck’s incredibly hilarious and snarky assistant Stella. Boy do I love her, that women has no filter and she talks non-stop. Sometimes I couldn’t believe the things that came out of that mouth of hers. I love Stella’s feistiness and for someone who stands a mire 3 feet tall the visual is hilarious. Beware of Stella she’ll steal your heart.

Buck Baxter and the Disappearing Divas is a great little story. The writing style, the pacing, the mystery, all the wonderful characters and Buck and Harry’s growing love affair all make for very enjoyable read. It’s a quick easy fun afternoon read and I can’t wait for the next installment.

July 13th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Love Cubed by Eddy LeFey

Buy Links

Title: Love Cubed
Author: Eddy LeFey
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, & Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Three very different young men meet at St-Frederick’s University.

Francis, haunted by his past and seeking a new life.

Andrew, the introverted football jock.

And Sebastian, the charismatic and confident hockey star.

Francis, wary and troubled, didn’t count on meeting anyone he could care for.

Andrew, closeted and lonely, didn’t think anything would matter more than his football career.

Sebastian, content to float from conquest to conquest, never believed he’d meet someone who could hold his interest.

An encounter with a journalist causes consequences for all three.

Will they be able to take what they need from one another in order to cope?


Review:

Love Cubed was actually the first novel I have read that had a polygamous relationship and I thought the author did extremely well with the relationship development between three men. Out of the three men (Francis, Andrew, and Sebastian), Andrew was my favorite and the most character I felt connected to. I used to play football back in high school and I was closeted that time as well. But not once did I care to think about guys in the locker room, I just want to play some football and that was it. So, that was why I was able to relate to Andrew.

Francis was the most mysterious character and once I got more details about him, I was able to connect to him much more. Sebastian was an easy character to get connected to. He was a common jock, but with a big heart when it was needed. Just to read how they all started to express their feeling toward each other with a help from two awesome people, which were Heather and John. I definitely adored them equally. Heather was a strong female in the novel and she wouldn’t accept the disrespectful type of people and she would say something about it. John, being such a sweetheart and opened mind person, was a great roommate for Andrew.

The whole dramas the guys had to go through was very real. It was very realistic and could happen at this very moment. Someone would bully a gay person in a locker room while the adults weren’t around. That was a scary thought if you think about it. The author provided a realistic perspective, which was exactly what I was looking for. Especially a polygamous relationship, which was tough to write. The author did well!

I gave it a four stars because I feel the ending could have been better than what it currently stood. I ended rather abruptly and I felt that there were so much more to wrap up the novel. This one lacked it a bit.

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot and I seriously doubt you would be disappointed with it.

July 3rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments