1

Review: Will & Patrick Meet the Family by Leta Blake & Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Meet the Family (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Leta Blake Books
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Follow Will & Patrick as they cope with the fallout from their Vegas wedding in this second installment of the romantic-comedy serial, Wake Up Married, by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

Meeting the family is challenging for every new couple. But for Will and Patrick, the awkward family moments only grow more hilarious—and painful—when they must hide the truth of their predicament from the people they care about most.

Throw in the sexual tension flaring between them, uncomfortable run ins with Will’s all-too-recent ex-boyfriend, an overprotective mobster father, and a mafia spy tailing them around Healing, South Dakota, and you’ve got a recipe for madcap laughs and surprisingly heartwarming feels.

Episode 2 of 6 in the Wake Up Married serial.


Review:

Yet this novella was another excellent read and a great second episode to the serial. I got to learn more about Will’s family and they were complicated. Scary, yes, but complicated. The writing style flowed extremely well and I was able to enjoy without re-read to understand what was going on. Everything was explained clearly. It was also cool to learn more about Patrick. He may be a jerk, but on a deeper level, he wasn’t. I still adored Patrick more than any other characters.

I’m curious to learn more about Will’s mother. She seemed to be a strong optioned character. She did judge before get to know Patrick, but that would be what all mother would have done anyway. Will’s grandmother, on other hand, was an awesome grandmother! She was hilarious. I’m looking forward to read more between Will and Patrick. I have a great feeling things are going to turn out better for both of them even if they deny it. I believe they were meant to be together, but I shall wait and find out as I continue on reading the next episode. It was as excite as waiting for new episode coming up on television.

I highly recommended you to start first episode before starting this one or you would be completely lost since it cannot be read as a stand-alone novella. Start at the first episode and you’ll love this episode more.

November 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Enigma by Lloyd A. Meeker

Buy Links

Title: Enigma (A Russ Morgan Mystery, #)
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

Who’s blackmailing the high-profile televangelist whose son was famously cured of his homosexuality fifteen years ago? Now in 2009, that ought to be ancient history.

It seems there’s no secret to protect, no crime, not even a clear demand for money—just four threatening letters using old Enigma songs from the 90′s. But they’ve got Reverend Howard Richardson spooked.

Proudly fifty and unhappily single, gay PI Russ Morgan has made peace with being a psychic empath, and he’s managed to build a decent life since getting sober. As he uncovers obscene secrets shrouded in seeming righteousness he might have to make peace with a sword of justice that cuts the innocent as deeply as the guilty.


Review:

So I did this backwards, I read book 2 first then just had to read book one to see how this series started. While it’s not essential to read Enigma before reading Blood and Dirt Book 2 of this series I would highly recommend you do. The mystery in each book are stand-alones but there are things in Russ’s private life that I learned after reading Enigma that helped me understand him more.

Russ Morgan is a PI and an empath and he uses that to aide him in solving his cases. I loved the premise and surprisingly I even loved that there isn’t a romance in this story but there definitely looks like the beginning of one. Enigma is all about the mystery and I thought that was well done even if a bit predictable. I love this author’s writing style and so far I’m loving this series. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

October 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married by Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Join the wild ride in this vibrant and fun first installment of the new romantic comedy serial by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

After a drunken night of hot sex in Vegas, strangers Will Patterson and Dr. Patrick McCloud wake up married. A quickie divorce is the most obvious way out—unless you’re the heir of a staunchly Catholic mafia boss with a draconian position on the sanctity of marriage.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, Will and Patrick don’t like it, or each other, but they have to make the best of it until they can find another way out of their marriage. To ensure the trust fund Will’s charitable foundation relies on isn’t revoked by his mobster grandfather, he and Patrick travel to Will’s hometown of Healing, South Dakota, posing as a newlywed couple in the throes of true love at first sight.

Complicating their scheme are Will’s unresolved feelings for his all-too-recent ex-boyfriend Ryan, and Patrick’s desire to get back to the only thing that really matters to him in life: neurosurgery. Will they fool everyone? Or will the mafia get wind that their marriage is a fake? Throw their simmering attraction into the mix and all bets are off!

Episode 1 of 6 in the Wake Up Married Serial.


Review:

Wake up married with no knowledge can be scary. This novella just proves it. Will sure is a whiny character but I can see why he is acting like that. He comes from a wild family where he needs to be sure everything is going as expected. Otherwise his dream will crushes easily over one tiny mistake. He can’t afford making a dramatic mistake and getting married happened to be one of the huge mistake. It is entirely up to him to try to figure out how to solve the situation without losing everything he builds.

Patrick is a jerk but a fun character to get connect with. I don’t even dislike him, in fact, I like him best out of all characters so far. I feel terribly bad for Patrick being trapped after a crazy night in Vegas. I have no knowledge about getting hitched in Vegas is much harder to get it undo. But it is what making the first episode exciter. The challenge Will and Patrick have to deal is a good storyline to introduce the first season.

I’m really looking forward to start the second episode and see what happens next. I also am looking forward to learn more about Will’s grandmother. I have a funny feeling there will be a huge problem when Will’s ex tries to get involve, so I can’t wait!

I highly recommend you to check the first episode out. The novella formats as a true episode is done extremely well. It feels like I have been watching it on television.

October 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Second Rate Posse by Lola Beverly Hills

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Second Rate Posse
Author: Lola Beverly Hills
Cover Artist: Lola Beverly Hills
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Young Adult
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Jada Williams wants to be the black Regina George, having her own set of fabulous friends that garner the most attention out of any posse they pass through the halls of Melrose High. Too bad Crystal and Junebug, her best friends since her sandbox days, would rather spend their weekends in front of Nat Geo Wild than house party hop like normal fifteen year olds. She can’t win the affections of Benjamin Banks if her posse can’t compete with the certified mean girl, KiKi Horn. When KiKi and her shameless friends, Habiba and Roxanne, take Melrose by storm, Jada becomes caught up in the competition, stopping at nothing to win. If it means paying dust to her longtime friends who can’t keep up, so be it. Jada will win the affection she’s been fighting for, but what will be her next move when it comes from someone she least expected?


Review:

Second Rate Posse was entertaining. It took me a couple chapters to be able to connected to the characters. Once I got connected to them, I really enjoyed the novel a lot. It reminded me of Mean Girls film in some way. It was a girl who wanted to be popular in her high school. Which means she had to find herself a hottest boy and be surrounded by popular people. Of course, she had a rival who wanted the same as her. Jada was annoying at first but eventually I grew onto her. Crystal was my favorite character. Imani was a hilarious character but she cared about her own friends deeply.

Benjamin was an interesting person, but he wasn’t a people person. He was the one Jada and Kiki fought for. Jada really picked the wrong guy since I could totally hand picked a right guy for her. But again, being popular infested her brain. It made the book much more entertaining and had me chuckled a couple times.

It loses a star because there were some words that were overused. Matter-of-factly for example. It was starting to get annoying to see that word being used over and over. Although, it didn’t entirely ruined the novel.

Overall, it was a good read and I can easily recommended to anyone who want to read something light and had some humor in it. I really hope the author will write at least one more book about them. I wanted to see if Jada eventually go with the guy I thought was perfect for her.

August 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Earth Three by Richard Ross

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Earth Three
Author: Richard Ross
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

David has lived all the twenty-two years of his life inside spaceship Columbus, which is the only world he knows. His destination is Earth Three, an Earth-like planet with harsh weather and life-threatening conditions, inhabited by humans for thousands of years. The only evidence that there are people still living on Earth Three is a hostile message received a few years before Columbus took off from Earth.

As Columbus approaches its destination, after a sixty-five years journey through the universe, David and his group are daunted by the hostile message and the dangers that they may face on Earth Three, both from the planet itself and from its inhabitants.

When they finally land on their new home, all their fears come true.


Review:

Earth Three was Richard Ross’s first novel. It had a great idea, enough to keep me going until the end of the novel. The writing style was what I didn’t enjoy. It was read as if it was a college essay. It took me a while to ignore the writing style and concentrate on the story itself. It had so many promising from the author, though. I could see his talent of putting ideas to share with the readers. It just had too much of telling than showing, so it was a bit difficult for me to imagine the world the author tried to build inside my head. It was also told in a present tenses, which I wasn’t a big fan of. For this type of story, I honestly think it’d sit well with past tenses, but that was just my preference.

The dialogue style the author chose for the people who lived on Earth Three didn’t fit the story well. It clearly stated the people of the district who were taller than normal were dumb people. Full of violence type of people and yet the way they talked, acted as if they did have some intelligent in them. So, it was a bit frustrating for me to be able to feel the fears David felt when he was surrounded by the “giants”.

The size of the spaceship didn’t make any sense to me either. I would be fine with the size and all, if there were more of David’s people, but it only mentioned like 5 to 8 of them the entire time. I wondered where did the kids come from. So many important details were taken out of the novel. Basically, the all important details I was looking for, being the clear definition of what the ship looked like inside and outside as well as the environment around the ship, had been taken out of the novel. That frustrated me deeply. I loved sci-fi and they usually were filled with an awesome description of what the world looked like. People’s own language, for example.

So, I accepted for those details missing out and managed to enjoy the novel as is. I loved the fact that they were in space far too long and finally found a new planet to live. The terror David and his people had to go through were well written, except the fact that it was telling rather than showing, which I was okay with it. The battle was fun to read as well.

All in all, I eventually enjoyed the novel. If it was edited really well and had been re-release, I definitely would give it another shot.

August 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Bug Queen by Jen Ponce

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Bug Queen (Queen Trilogy, )
Author: Jen Ponce
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing:
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

A small town with an alien secret buried in its foundation.
A mysterious box willed to an unsuspecting niece.
An insidious parasite with only one goal: to infest and destroy all life on Earth.
One woman with unwanted power and an entire planet to save.

“Do not risk the life of your planet on wishful thinking. The infected must die.”

Vedalia Kirkaldy is deathly afraid of bugs, which makes the scarab-topped box her uncle leaves for her to find very strange indeed. But it isn’t what’s on the box but what’s in it: an alien creature that wants to help Vedalia save her world from the parasitic invader bent on starting the apocalypse.

Sabra Dempsey’s job is to protect and serve but when she meets Vedalia, she finds herself longing to do more than just guard her from harm. What could be the start of a great new relationship is interrupted by the meteor than crashes into a bean field and unleashes the beginning of the end of the world.

Together, Vedalia and Sabra fight to save the town from being overrun by an insidious parasite that spreads faster than they realize. Either they root out and eradicate every bit of the threat or watch as the fungus turns humanity into alien zombies.


Review:

Bug Queen was an interesting read. I found it through Amazon Unlimited and was relieved that the book was awesome. It was a different type of zombie novel, except it was caused by aliens. The whole bugs thing got me icky. I don’t like to be around bugs as much as Vedalia did. I really love how original the novel was as well. It was focus on the plot rather than the relationship development between Vedalia and Sabra. Although, they would be awesome together if the story continues on.

The part where Vedalia’s ex showed up and how Vedalia reacted totally caught me off guard. I didn’t think it was necessary for her to be like that, though. I did understand why she felt she needed to do that, but not necessary. Scare her off would be the best in my opinion. But again, I didn’t write the story. If the author felt it was important to be included in the novel, then so be it.

The length of the book was just right. It contained all details that support the novel really well. I didn’t find any flaw from it. Just disgusted by the awesome description the author describe for the monsters and how bugs deal things around people. Having a story that grossed me out a bit got on my win side easily. I can easily recommend this book to any horror fan. Yes, it was a lesbian horror novel but the pairing in the book didn’t matter. It was how the characters deal with the apocalypse that was important. Check it out! I seriously doubt you’ll be disappointed with it, disgusted maybe, but definitely not disappointed.

July 27th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: A Fool Among Fools by John Terracuso

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: A Fool Among Fools
Author: John Terracuso
Cover Artist: SanPan Design/NYC
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

It’s 1986. Ronald Reagan is in the White House, Molly Ringwald is on the cover of Time and 29-year-old Michael Gregoretti is a struggling, underpaid copywriter at a big New York ad agency. He’d rather be writing plays; instead, he’s writing awful commercials for a moisturizer formulated to conquer that dire, life-threatening condition: handruff.

Michael reluctantly accepts an assignment on a brand-new (and very secret) product – an aerosol butter – hoping it will lead to the kind of work that will land him a better job at another agency. But there’s a catch: Working on this new account will also mean working for the rigid, compulsive and quite possibly insane Gwen Hammond, who thinks that Michael, with his off-the-wall ideas and unconventional campaigns, is just too much of a rebel to work with such a conservative client.

To further complicate life, Michael meets and falls for Craig Connolly, an absolute dreamboat from the South with a voice like FM radio and a face to match. Craig claims he’d like to be in a relationship and Michael wants to believe it. The problem is, Craig is already married – to his job.

Michael survives it all with the help of his two best friends: Irene Lucca, a witty book editor with a flair for vintage clothing and an eye for the art director Michael works with, and Anthony DeLorenzo, Michael’s wise (and wisecracking) roommate and staunchest supporter.

By the time A Fool Among Fools ends, Michael has battled stuffy clients and stifling supervisors, written and produced what just might be the worst commercials in the history of advertising, found and lost love, and managed to keep himself – and the reader – laughing along the way.


Review:

This story takes place in the 80’s and if you’ve lived through that decade you’ll be able to relate to A Fool Among Fools and if not it will give you an idea of what it was like and a bit of a history lesson. There isn’t a romance but the main character does fall in love it’s just not the focus of the story. This story fits perfectly in the gay fiction genre so if you’re looking for a romance this story may not work for you but you’ll be missing out on a great story.

For the most part I really enjoyed the read but it took me awhile to get into the book and along the way there are some slow parts that made it feel like it dragged. The writing is excellent, I had no trouble visualizing the scenes and that’s very important for me. The characters are great, they had me laughing at their crazy way of doing things but be warned with the story taking place in the 80’s there are some dark and frightening things. Being gay in the 80’s had its challenges with trying to gain acceptance and AIDS exploding onto the scene with no understanding of the disease and no cure in sight it made that decade a frightening one.

I highly recommend A Fool Among Fools it’s a great read and it was fun going back to the 80’s

June 8th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Open Waters by Valerie Mores

Buy Links

Title: Open Waters
Author: Valerie Mores
Cover Artist: Natasha Snow
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Lesbian
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Captain Jane Avery of the Tantibus has been pirating for more than ten years. With a crew at her command and a ship under her feet, she is a terror to anyone that has the misfortune of crossing her path. Her latest conquest is just one more on the list. When they find a common whore aboard, Jane orders the woman be brought along, never realizing the impact one decision can have, and that even an unstoppable pirate has a weakness…


Review:

Open Waters is a fast, easy read that I enjoyed. It’s something just a bit different, a pirate story with a ship Captain that is a terror on the water. There are rumors that the Captain of the Tantibus is a woman but most pirates aren’t convinced until they come up against her in a fight. Always being underestimated has played in Captain Jane Avery’s favor when things get sticky.

Boarding one of her conquests she not only finds cargo that will be profitable but she also finds what she thinks is a common whore aboard. Captain Jane takes Cecily and the crew members that wish to join her ship and heads to a safe place to store the new cargo.

This is an exciting action packed novella. It has all the elements that make Pirate stories what they are, a fun fantasy. I loved Cecily, she can have a snarky attitude one minute then turn on the charm of a lady the next. Jane has never had a love interest not just because she’s been on the ship for 10 years but because she’s never met anyone she’s been interested in that way….until she meets Cecily. The relationship is a slow one, which I loved, watching the two women circle each other had me chuckling and sighing. Jane is such a strong wonderful woman on the ship’s deck when she’s commanding her crew but put her in her quarters with Cecily and she is totally out of her depth.

The story is well written and the pacing is perfect. I wish it could have been longer but as it is I never felt like anything was rushed or missing nor was I ever confused or bored. All the characters are great in their own way and the adventure, while a quick one was just what I’d expect from a fun Pirate story.

I recommend this novella if you’re looking for something fast, easy, adventurous and sweet. I’d also love to read more adventures of Captain Jane, in a series perhaps?

April 2nd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Adventures of Monkey Girl and Tiger Kite by Kai Schalk

Buy Links

Title: The Adventures of Monkey Girl and Tiger Kite
Author: Kai Schalk
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Young Adult
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Lesbian
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

High school would be a lot easier to deal with if Sunny Wong did not have to balance schoolwork with superhero shenanigans. But superhero she is, gifted the powers of Chinese folk hero Monkey, and when zombies start appearing it’s up to her and her sidekick, Delia, to figure out who’s responsible for raising the dead and why…


Review:

This is a cute little novelette about Super Heroes and Zombies. I really liked the premise it’s a good one; someone is raising the undead and Sunny with her friend Delia take on the challenge of finding out who is doing it. I also really liked Sunny’s character she kicks butt and she has a fun and snarky personality. Although Delia is Sunny’s best friend and her secret crush Delia has very little to do with the story.

There was a lot going on, perhaps too much, causing the story to feel rushed and not exactly what I was expecting. I wasn’t expecting a romance but I did think there would be more to Sunny and Delia’s relationship or non-relationship. When Sunny gets up the courage to tell Delia about her crush on her Delia all but ignores it. It left me with questions that never got answered. Did Delia deliberately ignore Sunny and if so why? Is that just Delia’s personality, kind of nonchalant and not too serious or did it Sunny’s feelings frighten her? With Delia not being in the story very much it was next to impossible to get into her head.

Perfect set-up if there are plans for a sequel and if there is then YAY! I did enjoy reading it but as a stand-a-lone too much is unanswered or missing to feel really complete.

March 31st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Open Waters by Valerie Mores

Buy Links

Title: Open Waters
Author: Valerie Mores
Cover Artist: Natasha Snow
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Lesbian
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Captain Jane Avery of the Tantibus has been pirating for more than ten years. With a crew at her command and a ship under her feet, she is a terror to anyone that has the misfortune of crossing her path. Her latest conquest is just one more on the list. When they find a common whore aboard, Jane orders the woman be brought along, never realizing the impact one decision can have, and that even an unstoppable pirate has a weakness…


Review:

Open Waters is a fast, easy read that I enjoyed. It’s something just a bit different, a pirate story with a ship Captain that is a terror on the water. There are rumors that the Captain of the Tantibus is a woman but most pirates aren’t convinced until they come up against her in a fight. Always being underestimated has played in Captain Jane Avery’s favor when things get sticky.

Boarding one of her conquests she not only finds cargo that will be profitable but she also finds what she thinks is a common whore aboard. Captain Jane takes Cecily and the crew members that wish to join her ship and heads to a safe place to store the new cargo.

This is an exciting action packed novella. It has all the elements that make Pirate stories what they are, a fun fantasy. I loved Cecily, she can have a snarky attitude one minute then turn on the charm of a lady the next. Jane has never had a love interest not just because she’s been on the ship for 10 years but because she’s never met anyone she’s been interested in that way….until she meets Cecily. The relationship is a slow one, which I loved, watching the two women circle each other had me chuckling and sighing. Jane is such a strong wonderful woman on the ship’s deck when she’s commanding her crew but put her in her quarters with Cecily and she is totally out of her depth.

The story is well written and the pacing is perfect. I wish it could have been longer but as it is I never felt like anything was rushed or missing nor was I ever confused or bored. All the characters are great in their own way and the adventure, while a quick one was just what I’d expect from a fun Pirate story.

I recommend this novella if you’re looking for something fast, easy, adventurous and sweet. I’d also love to read more adventures of Captain Jane, in a series perhaps?

March 3rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments