4

Review: Submission by Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow

Buy Links

Title: Submission (Submit for Redemption, #)
Author: Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow
Cover Artist: Lou Harper
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

When Army Ranger Captain Everett Palmer enters gay BDSM club Cuffed Links, he is seeking brutal punishment for what he perceives to be an unforgivable failure: allowing an entire squad of men under his command to die while he worked to defuse a bomb at his base. Everett initially wants only pure pain, which professional interrogator and jaded British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge is more than prepared to give. Their meeting, however, is not at all by chance.

Phineas has been contracted to coerce a false confession from Everett, implicating the captain in planting the bomb. Phineas has tortured many men in the past, but there is something different about Everett Palmer, a man whose sheer purity of soul causes the colonel to question his every selfish, devious act and legion of war crimes.

In Submit for Redemption: Book One – Submission, erotic romance and spiritual redemption come from the most unexpected places – from the seedy extremes of a smoke-laden, neon-drenched bondage den to the tropical, hedonistic pleasures of Phineas’ private Greek island.

On this unbidden psychosexual odyssey, Everett and Phineas find exactly what they don’t expect: a chance to redeem their troubled souls and fulfil their every romantic ideal. But the clock is ticking. The deeper Phineas falls in love with Everett, the harder it becomes to finish his assigned task. If he succeeds, the consequences may be far more explosive than he ever anticipated.


Review:

Submission, the first in the Submit for Redemption series, is about two lost individuals whose paths cross changing their view of things.  Army Ranger Captain Everett and the British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge provide each other with what the other has been lacking.

Army Ranger Everett is looking for physical pain (punishment) after he survives a bomb that some of his men didn’t.  This takes him to a BDSM club where he meets Phineas Bainbridge who is ready and willing to dish out the punishment that Ev is seeking. Unbeknownst to Ev, Phineas has been hired to obtain a false confession from Everett for the bombing incident. When Phineas begins to have feelings for Ev things turn complicated.

The premise here is hard to swallow but somehow the authors manage to make it believable.  Watching Ev and Phineas build something even though they come from completed opposite ends of the spectrum is enjoyable.  The fact that they are able to provide what the other is lacking in their life spurs a relationship that is often beautiful. Though it all there is genuine concern for Ev and wonder will he ultimately become further broken at the hands of Phineas.

Ev is truly a tortured soul and I believe that Phineas is as well.  While Ev is a completely likeable guy that is easy to relate to, Phineas is extremely sketchy.  At times Phineas comes across as perfect for Ev, but then things happen that make you concerned for Ev and seriously doubt Phineas’ intentions.

Submission is a strange one.  At times it moved slowly then picked up and edged on brilliant then slowed again.  This flow continued, up and down, until the story ends on one of the biggest cliffhangers I have ever seen.  Because of this, I have to read the next in the series but I fear I will be angered at the turn of events.

September 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Valor on the Move by Keira Andrews

Buy Links

Title: Valor on the Move
Author: Keira Andrews
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: KA Books
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

He’d give his life to protect the president’s son. But he never expected to risk his heart.

Growing up gay in the White House hasn’t been easy for Rafael Castillo. Codenamed “Valor” by the Secret Service, Rafa feels anything but brave as he hides in the closet and tries to stay below the radar in his last year of college. His father’s presidency is almost over, and he just needs to stick to his carefully crafted plan. Once his family’s out of the spotlight, he can be honest with his conservative parents about his sexuality and his dream of being a chef.

It’s definitely not part of Rafa’s plan to get a new Secret Service agent who’s a walking wet dream, but he’s made it this long keeping his desires to himself. Besides, it’s not like Shane Kendrick would even look at him twice if it wasn’t his job.

Shane’s worked his way up through the Secret Service ranks, and while protecting the president’s shy, boring son isn’t his dream White House assignment, it’s an easy enough task since no one pays Rafa much attention. He discovers there’s a vibrant young man beneath the timid public shell, and while he knows Rafa has a crush on him, he assures himself it’s harmless. Shane’s never had room for romance in his life, and he’d certainly never cross that line with a protectee. Keeping Rafa safe at any cost is Shane’s mission.

But as Rafa gets under his skin, will they both put their hearts on the line?


Review:

While I did enjoy reading this story there were a few things I had problems with. First I’ll start with some of the things I liked. I thought the main characters were great! I loved Rafa and Shane and they had great chemistry. Reading about Rafa’s life made me sad and as funny as this may sound I loved that, I loved the emotion it made me feel. Rafa’s family, while a bit too perfect and predictable, where there for him when he needed them the most and I really loved that! And Shane….wow! He was bigger than life and just right for his character and in the end for Rafa.

The story kept me enthralled right to the end but there were a few things I had trouble getting past. One was the age difference between Rafa and Shane, and I don’t mean the number of years I mean the maturity level. Rafa is just too innocent in many ways. He’s never had a boyfriend or any experience on his own with the outside world and I thought Shane had a bit too much experience to be so attracted to Rafa. It’s not that it doesn’t happen but for the most part Rafa came across so childlike I had trouble understanding Shane’s attraction to him. That’s not to say I didn’t see glimpses of Rafa as a mature young man but therein lies my problem, they were only glimpses.

The other thing that I had issue with – and it is a small issue – was the drama near the end involving Rafa. It all seemed a bit too pact, I would have liked for there to have been a twist that surprised me instead I saw it coming a mile away. I didn’t hate it but I was looking for something more.

Overall it’s a good story, with great characters. If I were to ignore the age thing I’d say the romance was beautiful and the guys were definitely very hot together. This story is worth the read especially if you’re looking for a sweet romance.

September 22nd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Tyler Knoll’s Just For Fun: Books 1-4 by A.B. Gayle

Buy Links

Title: Tyler Knoll's Just For Fun: Books 1-4
Author: A.B. Gayle
Cover Artist: Jay's Covers by Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing:
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Tyler Knoll was born one wild, stormy night in April 2013.

Of course, Tyler might tell you he was born twenty years earlier, but should we believe anything he says? That’s for you to decide.

In Tyler’s first adventure—like many a gay man before him—he was SNARED by gay porn, wallowing in tales of bigger, stronger, harder….

Then his fickle mind was seduced and SHREDDED by the prospect of BDSM and slavery.

When a Big Misunderstanding SLASHED at Tyler’s sanity, almost costing him his life, he turned to another genre for his salvation. But even this encounter proved potentially hazardous—not from freezing temperatures, but at the hands of irate fans.

Finally, tired and SCREWED by his all his trials and tribulations, he discovers—like many storybook heroes before him—that sometimes Mr. Right is closer than we think.


Review:

Before I even started this novel, I read the first book called Snared and I was not used to the writing style. But now, I’m used to it and fully prepared for a fun ride with Tyler. I loved Tyler’s adventures now. Snared was better when I read it for the second time. I understood what was going on and was able to enjoy the humor in the story. I actually thought we would get to see more about what happened between Tyler and Gareth when I started Shredded. But it turned out it was something different and much more enjoyable as I kept on reading. He was moved to different room to work for a guy who was out sick for a while. He’d had a crush on the truck driver, which led to something entirely different. In Slashed, I am starting to love Tyler much more. He was so innocent the entire time. As for Screwed, it was amazingly ending to the novel. I enjoyed the book very much. It went from non-romance to romance from beginning to the ending, which was awesome. It was a fun and quick read! I highly recommended you to check it out if you want to read something funny.

September 14th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Entwined by Liberty Lace

Buy Links

Title: Entwined
Author: Liberty Lace
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

There’s something that twins Tobias and Thomas Whitmore never intended to tell their family—the fact that they’re gay and in love with each other, and have been for as long as they can remember. But these two brothers are about to discover that secrets run in their family. For on a weekend in Montauk to celebrate their grandmother’s 80th birthday, one spilled secret leads to another, and before long, the tragedies of the past, the uncertainties of the present, and the uncharted path of the future will collide… and change this family forever.


Review:

This is a very short, sweet and romantic read. The chemistry between the main characters is off the charts and their relationship – while not conventional – will make your heart beat just that little bit faster, at least it did mine. Secrets abound in this story and watching them unravel brought a tear to my eye.

I feel in love with Tobias and Thomas and their family, especially their feisty grandmother, that woman is a jewel. If only all families can work out their issues like the Whitmore family.

The writing is excellent and the story is engaging but one thing that stops this short story from getting more stars is its length. Reading this is like reading a sample or snippet of a much larger story. I want to know more of what came before and what happens after this story ended.

I stepped out of my comfort zone again to read this short and in all honestly I would have rather it wasn’t a twincest story but that’s a personal issue. For those that enjoy to read this sub-genre, Entwined is a story you should pick up.

September 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Danny’s Dragon by Sedonia Guillone

Buy Links

Title: Danny's Dragon
Author: Sedonia Guillone
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

A rugged, muscular cop.

A sexy computer genius.

Secret desires.

Brought together by a crime committed on a cold dark night.

From the moment they meet, their lives can never be the same again…

Wild and rugged Dave Pearce is haunted by the demons of his past. He’s done his best to make a life for himself after the devastation of his lover’s suicide years earlier, but the trauma has left its mark on his soul.

Danny Wong is what Dave considers a “nerdy Bruce Lee.” Handsome, refined, out of his league.

But that doesn’t matter.

Dave believes himself to be dangerous for any man who would love him. So he stays back in the shadows, letting the desire he harbors for the hot grad student remain unrequited.

Danny has demons of his own. Duty-bound to his family’s goals for him, he remains shy and closeted, contenting himself with his secret fantasies about the sexy Irish cop who patrols the campus building where Danny does his graduate work.

Until one freezing winter night…

Leaving the building, fate steps in and their paths cross in a new…deeper way. Neither man can turn back. Danny and Dave must face the demons rearing their heads with full force, or lose their chance at an epic love…


Review:

From the book cover, I thought it would be something about martial artist fell in love with other man or something similar to that. Turned out I was wrong, but it wasn’t the reason why it had a tad bit lower rating. I enjoyed the book and was able to connected to both characters Danny and Dave. Although, it probably would be better if Dave had a different name rather than having both starts with letter D. I got used to it eventually.

The story about Danny was really interesting and believable. He held a secret from his family about his own identity but he knew what he truly wanted. I adored his best friend Meg. She was a true friend anyone who can have when they were in a sticky situation. Meg understood and was able to be there for Danny for any type of situation. Danny did the same for Meg. So the character developmental was great.

Dave, on other hand, was a mystery character and it was a bit longer for me to reach to the point in the book where it finally explained more about Dave’s background and what happened to his past lover who committed suicide. Dave had a tough life and I connected to him quickly the minute I learned more about his background.

Now, the real reason why it didn’t have a solid five stars– the relationship between Danny and Dave were beyond too fast. It actually ruined the story for me the second Danny asked Dave something. It was too fast. I didn’t really like that type of insta-love. Other reason, the huge point of what could have possibly cost their relationship ended so abruptly and there were no close-call or a depth inspection going on. It was just done like that. It also disappointed me so much when I reached the ending of the novel. I adore Dave, Danny, and Meg so much. But the plot weren’t there to make the novel a solid five stars.

August 27th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Hunted by Lourdes Skye

Buy Links

Title: Hunted
Author: Lourdes Skye
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating2.5 Stars (2.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Upon a dastardly escape from his sadistically abusive husband, Jace Vanderhuff embarks on a journey that’ll lead him into a dangerous realm of trafficking, murder, and unsuspecting love.

However, Jace has no choice but take the chance, for going back would be a fate worse than death. Hiding in plain sight brings Jace face to face with a cop who is sexy as sin.

Detective Cobra Stallone, while investigating a teen trafficking ring, stumbles upon a sweet, shy, blonde-haired guy who invades his thoughts and dreams. But there’s something there. Something that Jace is guarding. When the truth is revealed, can he melt past Jace’s defenses and fears and show him that love can be better the second time around?

With his husband and a crazed killer-for-hire hot on his trail, will the jungle known as New York City become ground zero, where the hidden has now become the hunted.


Review:

There are some great things about this story…the characters, the chemistry between the MC’s, the premise and the HEA. Unfortunately there are just as many not so great things….too many characters and more than one storyline to follow that made it hard to focus on any one event. The writing style was hard to read it felt choppy and sometimes disconnected. The formatting is off, it desperately needed obvious breaks, more chapter headings, or some kind of mark when the story was moving to a different POV to let the reader know the story was headed in a different direction. I found myself re-reading a lot to make sure I didn’t miss something and to make sure I knew whose head I was in. The names of some of the characters – while they made me chuckle at the beginning – ended up being annoying with such a serious storyline.

I thought Jace falling for Cobra so quickly after having just run from an abusive husband seemed too unlikely. Falling in love with the first person you meet after a breakup isn’t unusual or wrong but when that relationship you’re running from was as abusive and dominating as the one Jase was in with Octorian I just don’t see it.

Some of the phrasing and word choices took me out of the story, for instance when Cobra was telling Jace about his sister being snatched he says “My parents were heartbroken” Heartbroken? Your child has been taken you don’t know where she is or if you’ll ever see her again and all you’re feeling is heartbroken? Frantic, devastated or inconsolable would have been better choices. Heartbroken sounds too simple a word to use in a situation like that. This is just one example, it happens more times than I’d like and I really needed to set the book down for a few minutes to re-group each time it happened.

All the important elements are here for a really great read and with some restructuring this could have been a really great read.

August 17th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Don’t Trust the Cut by Kade Boehme

Buy Links

Title: Don't Trust the Cut
Author: Kade Boehme
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Tucker Gray is a Baltimore, MD waiter, hailing from the deep south, whose mental health issues and past relationships have made it hard to trust more than the cut. After he hits what he thought was rock bottom Tucker decides to keep close to the ones who stood by him and keep his head down, until he finds something to prove it can get better.

Jesse Bauer is unsure what his future holds after an injury forces him to retire from the marines. With all of the decisions he has to make in his civilian life with all of its freedoms and possibilities, he feels staying closeted and keeping the people in his life happy will keep down the chaos.

Until the night he met Tucker Gray at a party he thought that’d be possible, but both of them are instantly and strongly in lust. As their relationship grows Jesse has to prove himself and Tucker has to learn to trust more than the cut.


Review:

What an emotional ride it had been! The novel was emotional and written so beautifully. I was able to feel connected to all characters that were mentioned quite often throughout the book. I adored Allison the most because she was a true friend anyone had to earn for. She was a perfect friend for Tucker. Tucker had a dark past, and yet, that didn’t spook Allison away. She remained on his side for however the journey Tucker had to go through. She was still there for him.

Jesse was also a wonderful character and a perfect person for Tucker. He had his own secret he had been dying to let the secret out. Of course it would cost him his relationship with certain people. Still, he was able to be there for Tucker even though they barely know each other on a deeper level to the point where one of them thought it was just a fling. Miranda was a love and hate relationship for me. She did something that got me all boiled up inside my chest, but eventually, I adored her just as much as I adored the rest of the characters.

I had to admit I was jealous of the friendship Tucker and Allison were having. I didn’t see that often in real life. Kade was still able to make the relationship for each character as realistic as possible. I could easily relate to how they were feeling, even though, I didn’t experience the issues they were having firsthand. The author wrote it so well that made me feel something.

My only tiny disappointment with the novel was how Tucker’s dark pasts were described so briefly. I wanted to learn more about what Tucker had gone through to make him do things to himself. That was all. The rest of the novel as its whole was amazingly well done. I just loved reading how the relationship was built for Tucker and Jesse. A flaw, but a real relationship. I just loved it. I highly recommended the novel, but be prepared for an emotional ride!

August 11th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Klockwerk Kraken by Aidee Ladnier

Buy Links

Title: The Klockwerk Kraken
Author: Aidee Ladnier
Cover Artist: Deana Jamroz
Publisher: MLR Press, LLC
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When the right space pilot walks into his bar, a desperate bartender uses all his wiles (and tentacles) to talk the man into business and his bed–but the spacer is still enslaved by his past and isn’t sure he can deal with a two-handed lover, much less one with six.

When the supply shipments stop coming, Teo Houdin needs all his tentacles to keep his waystation bar open. Facing a riot by thirsty miners stranded in the backwater of the galaxy, Teo helps a greenie space pilot buy a ship in return for a regular haul of liquor. But he longs for the courage to invite the enigmatic spacer to fill his lonely bed as well.

Still smarting from his newly implanted navigational ports, Jimenez knows owning his own ship will prevent him from ever being bought and sold again. For a former slave, transporting cargo through the emptiness of space sounds like paradise, but after meeting the compassionate and sexy Teo, his heart feels empty, too.

At the edge of the galaxy’s spiral arm, can Teo convince Jimenez that the heart has its own tentacles and theirs should be entwined forever?


Review:

When I was offered to read this book in exchange for an honest review, I was excited. I hadn’t read any stories that involved tentacles. This novel was pretty good. Overall, the steamy scenes were hot. It had excited me plenty of time. So there were no issues when it came to steamy scenes between Teo and Jimenez since it was beyond hot. However, the plots, I found it not too bad. It could be better, but as is, I was fine with it. I was entertained with the plots the author chose to go on.

The crime that was mentioned in the novel was too short. I thought it should be expanded a bit. Maybe make the trial longer? Something that’d make me nervous for anyone that was part of the trials. Unfortunately, it didn’t. But the memory that was being played during the trial was amazingly well done. I could imagine in my head of how the event happened. It was sad as well.

I actually was hoping for much more depth background story in Jimenez. There were just so much to tell about Jimenez and I didn’t get it from the novel. Yes, it was enough detail to prevent from it being info-dumping, which was great. I still wanted more, though. The writing style was really well. I didn’t find any problem trying to understand a couple scenes the author was describing. The author described them as clear as possible. Not even once had it pulled me out from the novel while I was reading.

All in all, it was a good tentacles story with a good plot to support the novel. It wasn’t porn without plot either so that was a win. I definitely recommend you to check this one out. It was an entertaining read.

July 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: The Sangre Series: Buzz & Blow, Shave & Shimmer and Fade & Fluff by Alex Carreras

Buy Links

Title: The Sangre Series: Buzz & Blow, Shave & Shimmer and Fade & Fluff
Author: Alex Carreras
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

In the city of Sangre, Florida, vampires and humans coexist happily until one ancient and powerful vampire decides to mess up the entire thing. The hairdressers at Everlasting Salon who service vampires and humans alike decide to face the threat that lands on their doorstep enlisting the barbers across the street for a fight to the finish. Chaos ensues when fists fly, but it’s not all bad when old flames reunite and new relationships take root and grow. Between the clandestine meetings and vigilante justice, the vampires find love in unexpected companions, hoping to get some TLC along the way.


Review:

The Sangre series is like three novellas in one book. It’s a fast simple read with great characters and an interesting plot. With a few small variations to the vampire world like openly living amongst humans and some vamps having powers outside the norm there isn’t anything new but I enjoyed reading this story none the less.

Each part is about a different couple but all three centre around the same plot – good versus evil with the good winning out – and all the characters carry over from book to book. Each couple had their own issues when it came to getting to their HEA but they all eventually got there. Niko and Asher’s relationship was an insta-love/lust scenario from their first date they were a couple. Tory and Ray need help from the others to get them together. I thought of them as an unlikely pairing but a bit of matchmaking put them together and I was proven wrong. Tory is by far my favourite character, his flamboyant and sassy attitude made me chuckle, I love characters like him. Jerrod and Kairon had been a couple many years back, their breakup was a bad one but neither forgot the other nor could either move on. Their relationship took some work to get back the love they lost and I felt it was the strongest of the three couples, they are definitely my favourite couple. The plot is good but very typical, an evil vamp causing havoc amongst the humans and vampires alike. It’s a bit of a mystery/suspense theme where there are a string of murders and a kidnapping which the six MCs work to solve.

The mystery solved and the all-important HEA made me a happy camper. My reason for giving only 3.5 stars is because the story is in need of something that sets it apart from others of its kind it was just a bit too typical but still an enjoyable read.

July 6th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Illusions & Dreams by Z. Allora

Buy Links

Title: Illusions & Dreams
Author: Z. Allora
Cover Artist: Paul Richmond
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Trans*
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Randy Camster failed at being married. His life now centers around work, TV sports, and listening to his friend Jake complain about how Randy’s lack of a sex life will be the downfall of mankind. Not true! Well, not totally. He’s just never understood the fascination with sex until… ladyboy performer Lalana Dulyarat shimmies into his world via an Internet ad for Thailand tourism.

Jake O’Neil’s open pansexuality yields him interesting bedmates, but he’s never chased after the mythical illusion of love. He focuses on others, like his best friend Randy, who needs a Bang-Cock vacation. Finding an adorable little imp named Boon-nam wasn’t on the itinerary. Gay, straight, and undecided, Jake has had ‘em all, but never a virgin aching to take a walk on the kinky side after having her affirmation surgery. Talk about pressure. And what’s with everyone warning him not to break her heart? His is the one in danger


Review:

Randy Camster and Jake O’Neil are best friends. After Randy’s failed marriage he becomes kind of a loner hiding in his personal space. Jake is out going and tries to pull Randy’s out into the world again. Deciding what they need is a vacation the two decided on a trip to Thailand for a Bang-Cock vacation. Illusions & Dreams takes us on a trek were these two discover themselves and find love that neither thought was out there.

In preparation for their trip Randy does his research and becomes entranced by ladyboy performer Lalana (La-La) Dulyarat. Upon their arrival in Thailand they immediately head to the club Illusions & Dreams and encounter La-La and her friend Boon-nam. La-La is reserved and presents an air of experience while Boon-nam is a ball of energy and comes across slightly naïve. Randy’s attraction for La-La only intensifies and surprising to Jake he is attracted to Boon-nam. Plans are made to meet up after the show for drinks beginning a two week romance for the two couples.

In case you are wondering yes, La-La and Boon-nam are trans. Boon-nam has just completed her affirmation surgery finally feeling like she is in the right body. Illusions & Dreams does not hide the details of living a trans life and you are made part of their world. The writing of these characters was done very well providing these ladies with the respect they deserve. The love and true emotion that Randy and Jake exude is truly amazing. While the setting is part of the red-light district that is not what this story is about at all.

This is a love story through and though. For me it was educational at times giving me insight that I was unfortunately lacking. All the characters not just the MCs are strong and well integrated in to the story. Your heart breaks for Jake and Randy when they put themselves out there but in the back of your mind you understand what is really happening. In the end these two couples receive their happy ending and you are left a better person for having spent the time with these individuals

June 22nd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments