5

Review: Blue Paramour by Louise Ligon & Hunter Maine

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Blue Paramour (The Blue Ridge Saga, #)
Author: Louise Ligon & Hunter Maine
Cover Artist: Najla Gamberd
Publisher: Voir Media Group
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Heterosexual
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When Brayden, a devastatingly handsome heir to a prominent Southern family, is caught in a compromising position with his handsome male lover, Jackson, life as he knows it comes crashing down. Exiled from the only home he’s ever known and separated from his love, Brayden is ordered to live in Boston where he is expected to become a true man and a proper successor.

But life will show him that things don’t always go as planned…

When Brayden encounters the mysterious and powerful, Vincent Gallaud, he instead embarks on an unforgettable adventure with his newfound king in the tantalizing world of New York City, forsaking everything he has ever known. Taking him on an unexpected journey that teaches him lessons Daddy would never approve.

Back home, Jackson has no choice but to consent to marry Brayden’s greatest adversary and twin sister, Annabelle Steed. Consumed with greed and longing for revenge, Annabelle will stop at nothing to destroy Brayden’s life and rob him of his birthright, Blue Ridge.


Review:

If it were possible to give more than 5 stars this book would be one of the very few deserving of that!!!! There aren’t words to adequately describe how this story made me feel and how much I loved it. It is set in a time when the North and the South were divided on the issue of slavery and when a man caught loving another man would get you hanged.

Blue Paramour is not your typical historical romance and it took me completely by surprise. I was expecting a sweet, flowery easy to read gay romance and what I got was a gritty, angst filled drama about deception, jealousy and hatred. It’s so much more than any gay romance out there and I’m hard pressed to call it that. Yes, there is romance, actually more than one, but they are so far from the easy romance I’m used to reading, it will gut you….it did me. This is one of those few stories that had me crying buckets, one of those stories that made me want to throw my kindle in frustration for the hardships the main characters had to endure but I kept reading because through all the hardship and the angst is a really great story and some beautiful scenes. The guys are amazing and I have to say the sex is hot!

I thought the writing was incredible and the characters were perfect, even the ones I hated. The story grabbed me and wouldn’t let go. I was hooked from page one and read far into the night, I just couldn’t put it down. Even if you aren’t a fan of historical romance I think you’ll love this one. I have one pet peeve when it comes to books in a series and that’s when the story ends with a cliff-hanger like this one does. Normally those stories will lose stars from me but I was just so blown away by this particular story, it deserved every star and then some. The next book in the Saga can’t come soon enough for me!

*Note* A heads up to those readers that really dislike anything m/f in their gay romance. Blue Paramour has an m/f sex scene in it but it’s crucial to the story. I just wanted to mention it so there are no surprises.

I highly recommend this story!

October 2nd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Bad Day by M.J. Ferguson

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Bad Day
Author: M.J. Ferguson
Cover Artist: M.J. Ferguson
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

After experiencing one of the worst days of his life, Greg stops at the first bar he sees to have a few drinks before heading home. There he meets the enigmatic Angel. Unable to resist the pull he feels for the mysterious stranger, Greg soon finds himself falling under Angel’s spell. But will Angel be his saving grace or is he the devil in disguise?


Review:

The book was hot. It read as if I was in someone’s fantasy’s mind based on how the character wanted their hot moment together to be the way he wanted it to. At the beginning, I was like wow, that stranger was brave to do that in the club front of anyone who could accidentally walked by. But they were in their own world without caring what was happening around them. Until they got up in the office upstairs, it had gotten much hotter. I couldn’t stop reading. It had a soft BDSM theme going on. This book was good when you were in the mood for a quickie that got you all hot up rather than focused on the world building, character developmental, plot driven, and so on. It was a nice break especially after I read two long novels right before I started Bad Day. It was absolutely perfect for my taste. When I reached the ending, I really didn’t see it coming because the author kept me busy imagining how hot it would be if I was there watching them doing all that in the office. I highly recommended if you need something smut-ful style story.

August 14th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Not Safe For Work by Ingela Bohm

Buy Links

Title: Not Safe For Work
Author: Ingela Bohm
Cover Artist: Ingela Bohm
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay, Questioning, & Undecided
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

It’s Jakob’s birthday, and boy is he getting a surprise. His friend Leo has written a sexy blog about the two of them — all untrue, of course. Or is it? Identity hijacked, fake love life laid out for the world to see, Jakob is devastated. He should deny it all, but he can’t stop reading. Soon, he’ll have to confront Leo, but he’s afraid — can there be a tiny grain of truth in those stories?


Review:

OMG!!! ….I know, not really the right way to start a review but……OMG! THIS BOOK! I don’t even know where to start or what to say about it. I guess I’ll start with…. I LOVE THIS STORY! So much so that it’s now on my top 5 favorites list of m/m reads, as a matter of fact this one deserves to be on my top 5 list of all-time great reads!

Not Safe for Work is a very complicated story. One that I couldn’t put down and didn’t want to end. It’s like nothing I’ve ever read before. This story is part fantasy, part mystery, part romance with some very erotic scenes. It’s so suspenseful it had me on the edge of my seat right up to the end. Someone is writing and blogging for all the world to see private moments of the MC’s lives but is it real or made up and if its real how do they know what they know?

Not only did Ingela Bohm do a fantastic job writing a story that made me think every step of the way but she also wrote some pretty amazing characters in Leo and Jakob. I felt their pain and their brief moments of euphoria and even though there were things about them that should have made it impossible for them to be together I so badly wanted these best friends to become lovers forever.

Bravo Ingela, for a job well done!

I highly recommend this amazing story.

July 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Speedy Rewards by Jeff Erno

Buy Links

Title: Speedy Rewards (Working Class, )
Author: Jeff Erno
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay, Trans*, & Queer
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Phil Mitchell pours his heart and soul into his job as manager of Speedy Mart, a local convenience store. He loves his work and he loves his fellow employees, but when it comes to his personal life, Phil is lonely and depressed and still pining for his long-departed ex.

He embarks upon the week from hell where anything that can go wrong does. It begins with a truck crashing into his outdoor sign and only goes downhill from there.

Add an asshole homophobic boss hell bent on seeing him fired and Phil realizes he needs to put into place a plan to save himself and his job.

First step in his plan… do something about his love life.

Meanwhile, Ezra, one of Phil’s team members, is dealing with his own roller coaster ride of a week.

As is Brandon, the local cop…

And Mark, the homophobic boss…

Perhaps, with a little… luck, the next week will be better.


Review:

This was an easy five-star novel read. When I started it, I simply couldn’t stop. I loved how Jeff Erno set the chapters the way he wanted by showing us who was doing the thinking and acting by mentioning a character’s name as a chapter title. The opening easily hooked me in. I just had to know what happened. The fun and somewhat suck part was after each chapter, it didn’t continue from the previous chapter, but change point of view and location. It worked extremely well for this novel, though!

Phil, the best character of the novel. He was what anyone would call “A Superstar Manager.” He really was. He sacrificed his own life for the sake of his employees’ safety and ensuring the store is in a good place. The first three days were insane and I was really surprised to see Phil handling it all without losing his mind. Especially dealing with homophobic boss! Phil’s heart was broken from his ex as well, but someone showed rather a big interested in him that got me all happy. Phil deserved better, which made me hardly wait for the second book of the series.

Ezra was actually my second favorite character. He was a real character who dealt with a tough life. And yet, he didn’t let anything pull him down as if he was a dust that had been swept under the rug. His heart has been huge, just like Phil. I could see why Phil hired him in the first place despite him being tattooed and wore eyeliners. He would do anything for his best friend as well. He was that special that hold a special place in my heart as I finished the novel.

Mark, an interesting character who had a good reason to be a homophobic. I couldn’t say anything more about Mark because you will need to read the book to find out why I wouldn’t mention it.

The rest of the characters were awesome (of course, there would be some jerk dislikable character in the novel). How could a real life survive without the dislikable person? Jeff Erno made sure his novel was more on the realistic side than being a completely fictional. I wholeheartedly highly recommended you to grab a copy and join for a wild roller coaster ride! It had a lot of ups and downs that kept me reading without stopping. Definitely a five-star read!

June 29th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Snared (Just For Fun, #1) by A.B. Gayle

Buy Links

Title: Snared (Just For Fun, )
Author: A.B. Gayle
Cover Artist: Jay's Cover Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Tyler Knoll was born one wild, stormy night in April 2013.

Of course, Tyler might tell you he was born twenty years earlier, but should we believe anything he says? That’s for you to decide.

In Tyler’s first adventure—like many a gay man before him—he was SNARED by gay porn, wallowing in tales of bigger, stronger, harder….


Review:

Tyler Knoll was rather an interesting character and wasn’t something I’ve been accustomed to read either. It took me a while to get used to the writing style, but by the time I finally got accustomed to it, the book was over with a “To Be Continued…” It was hard for me to review this book as well. There wasn’t enough plot for me to be able to review it. It was as if it was a glimpse of Tyler’s hardcore fantasy. But I could easily tell you, I was really amused and found myself chuckling as I read through the novella. It was fun as well. I think it was mainly because I wasn’t used to the writing style since I’ve not read anything as similar as this. So, the author scored for writing an original novella! Being amused by it, I want to read the next book as soon as possible. I think it would worth your time to check what was all about Tyler in the book. I still would recommend to readers that want to read something that was a light, but amusing read. It certainly didn’t waste my time.

June 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|2 Comments

Review: The Luxorian Fugitive by Mann Ramblings

Buy Links

Title: The Luxorian Fugitive (Ships Logs of the Santa Claus, )
Author: Mann Ramblings
Cover Artist: Mann Ramblings
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Sergeant Liam Jacks is the security chief of transport vessel, The Santa Claus. He travels the planetary cluster with Marc Danverse, his best friend and captain, seeking to escape his tortured past and find some peace of mind.

Having been through a civil war together, Danverse and Liam are close. Maybe too close….

All that changes when mysterious stranger, Hadrian Jamison, an escaped Adonirati, books passage to Alpha Centauri. Can he be trusted? Can the stories of his past be believed?

As Liam’s fascination with Hadrian grows, jealousy threatens to tear apart his friendship with Danverse.

When Hadrian’s owner shows up, Liam is forced to go against orders in order to launch a rescue mission to save him.

The ensuing conflict may be more than any of them expected.


Review:

The Luxorian Fugitive was truly a great read. I enjoyed the book from the beginning to the ending. I’m really looking forward to the next book of the series. Mann Ramblings is also a new author I’d continue checking his work out in the future. I loved the fact that the ship was called Santa Claus and it allows gay men only to board the ship. There was, however, only one woman that was allowed on the board. She was Mrs. Claus, a machine that ran things on the ship and followed orders from the men in charge. Not once did it degraded women, which was also a great thing about the book. I was worried at first, though, but as I went further into the novel, I stopped worrying about it and enjoyed the book really well.

I loved the world the author created in the book. Nothing was too complicated about it either. Hardrian was the most interesting character out of all characters that was mentioned in the novel. He held a dark secret and I couldn’t wait until the secrets have finally been revealed. Reading how Hardrian had gone through his entire life pain me a bit and was thrilled Liam was then attempting to rescue him. Liam and Hardrian made a perfect couple in my opinion.

Between Danverse and Liam, they did have a great thing going on for each other, but it lacked a depth that they were missing out from each other. Danverse had been there for Liam for who knew how long and that made their friendship much stronger to let anything got in between them. Few scenes in the novel nearly cost their friendship, though! Pretty much everything about the novel was awesome. It was original and different. I didn’t think there was a scene where it actually pulled me out from the novel since I was literally glued to the book. I definitely cannot wait till the second book comes out.

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot. It had plenty of hot scenes as well as fantastic plots to support the novel. The ending meets my expectation and I wasn’t disappointed with it either. Check it out!

June 15th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Devil Will Do by Heidi Cullinan

Buy Links

Title: The Devil Will Do
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

In a land unforgiving of indulgent, dangerous sex, merchantman Eryn does his best to keep his desires in the dark…until the plight of a beautiful prince leads him out of the shadows and into adventures both sensual and terrible.

Capture, curse, and torture litter Eryn’s road to true love, along with carnal delights beyond his most wicked imaginings. His strengths and limitations are exposed—and the hard truth, that nothing holds him back more than the monster of self-loathing in his heart. Prince Wyn might be everything he’s dreamed of in a man—and master—but before Eryn can accept the exquisitely wicked affections of his one true love, he must first save himself…from himself.

This novella was originally published under the title Sweet Son and has been significantly revised.


Review:

The Devil Will Do is not for everyone. It is a somewhat dark erotic fairy tale that centers on the gratification received from being sexually humiliated. Eryn is a merchant’s son who has been convinced he is deviant and unworthy. He enjoys being the object of humiliation and if there is pain involved even better. The Devil Will Do takes us on Eryn’s journey to self-acceptance and love.

In his dreams Eryn meets the man he is destined to marry. Wyn is a prince that has reached out to Eryn via his dreams for his help to claim his throne and Eryn’s love. Once Eryn decides to break off his engagement and search for his true love the story truly begins. Along his trail Eryn encounters witches, bandits, daemons, becomes a slave to a pasha (a powerful magician), and finds his true love. All of this bring some truly kinky sex and humiliation to Eryn and his path leads Eryn to self-acceptance and peace.

There is a ton of dark sex between the pages of this story including humiliation, gang bangs, anal training, exhibitionism, enslavement, non-con or dub-con, and torture some of which I truly didn’t understand the reasoning behind. However, it feels right as Eryn is lead to his destination of being worthy for Wyn if only in his own eyes. To make it thought this “Snow White/Sleeping Beauty” type of story you need to be open minded and remember that this is a fairy tale and not everything appears as it seems.

While this story goes a little beyond my liking I can appreciate it as a well written and thought-out work by the author. Under it all you truly get the depth of Eryn’s love and willingness to do anything for his true love. In the end Eryn and Wyn’s fairy tale gets its happy ending making the path there worth the steps taken and the things endured.

June 9th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Cellar (Opposites, #2.5) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: The Cellar (Opposites, #2.5)
Author: T.M. Smith
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: TTC Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

It’s time to learn the truth about what happened that day in The Cellar.

Taryn and Thanos are the formidable Ambassadors of House Orion. Taryn was born into power, bred from birth to lead the people of Greece along with his sister Theresa, Thanos was never a part of his mother’s plan. The son of a fisherman was not a suitable match for the son of Greece as far as their mother was concerned, but Taryn always takes what he wants.

The Cellar is the story of how these two men met and fell in love, and what lengths Taryn went to, to ensure he kept his man. This novella also contains a more detailed accounting of what happened the night Raven and Tanis went for a walk on the beach, and the adult version of Mistletoe and Mayhem that was initially released as a free short through goodreads.

The Cellar is the second novella in the Opposites series, the series should be read in order.

** Warning, Opposites is an Adult Dystopian majorly M/M series that contains explicit sexual content and relationships between gay, straight and lesbian couples. However, The Cellar is strictly a M/M novella **


Review:

<em>The Cellar</em> was just like <em>The Library</em>, which was filled with hot steamy scenes, but it did explained me how Taryn and Thanos was able to get married even when Taryn’s mother didn’t accept Thanos because he was a son of fisherman. There was no power in Thanos’s family either. That was where cellar happened that changed Taryn’s mother. It was a good and quick read. I enjoyed it better than <em>The Library</em>, though.

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Library (Opposites, #1.5) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: The Library (Opposites, #1.5)

Author: T.M. Smith

Cover Artist: N/A

Publisher: TTC Publishing

Reviewer: Sean

Genre: Contemporary

Type: Romance

Pairing: Gay

Length: Novelette

Heat Rating5 Stars

Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Three gay couples run amuck in this short story where clothing, beds, even four walls are all optional!

Want to know what happened that night in the library?
Cirian and Rian had a fight in the library and Rian ends up naked on the desk, on his back, at Cirian’s mercy.

Want to know how far things went with ice cream?
A romantic evening by the fire feeding his husband ice cream leads to a lot more than heavy petting for Aiyan and Kaden.

Want to know what was going on when those birds fled?
Travelling hundreds of miles, battling the rebels and then travelling back to House Gaeland will take it out of you. But when Tanis wants something, he takes it. Raven is about to be bent over a tree!

A Note from the Author: I’ve taken three scenes from Opposites that were cut short and elaborated on the shenanigans that ensued. I also focused more in the beginning on the relationship between Cirian and Rian, to give readers a chance to know them and their inner workings better.

**Warning, The Library is a novella set in the same world as Opposites. It’s an adult dystopian M/M novella that includes consenting and explicit sexual relationships between gay couples**


Review:

I find this book to be an okay read. It was full of erotic scenes. “Porn without Plot” in some way but it was enough to give me a better picture of how their relationship happened. I was able to enjoyed each couple’s hot scenes when I was in the right mood. Think of this book as a “Scenes that were cut from the first book” or “Bonus read” as long as you read the first book before starting this one. Nevertheless, the author wrote a brilliant erotic scene 🙂

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: A Touch of Mistletoe Anthology

Buy Links

Title: A Touch of Mistletoe
Author: A.F. Henley, E.E. Ottoman, J.K. Pendragon, Megan Derr, and Talya Andor
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Less Than Three Press presents a collection of stories about people brought together by the magic of mistletoe…

Here for You by J.K. Pendragon
Warren’s life has been shrinking ever since his wife passed away. Blind, and finding it difficult to adjust to life on his own, it’s easier to hide away in his house. When his friend Missy invites him to a Christmas party, an unexpected kiss with a stranger under the mistletoe leaves him confused and wondering…

The Christmas Spirit by Talya Andor
Christmas in Japan is no big deal for Ash Harmon, with his family half a world away and supernatural problems that have no respect for the holidays. When he picks up a bodyguard job for a rising star of figure skating who seems to be encountering trouble with a restless spirit, he stubbornly resists the unexpected attraction to his charge, wary of the risks that come with relationships. But the mistletoe has other ideas…

A Beautiful Thing by A.F. Henley
Sometimes, Fate gets tired of being ignored. And some nights, Fate decides something will just have to be done about it. Enter Drualus, Senior Correspondent for the Collective Assembly of Christmas Fae, working with the Night Before Reach Out Program. He’s got a few short hours to change Scott Misener’s outlook on life, love, and understanding. Lucky for Scott, Dru knows a tried and true trope that might just do the trick…

Ad Meliora by E.E. Ottoman
It’s Christmas Eve and An-An and M.C. have plans to spend Christmas in Texas with An-An’s family. But their plans are cut short when M.C. takes on a last minute case. Thankfully, though, it should be an easy exorcism.

Until they arrive at the snowbound lodge where trouble resides, and come face to face with a demon wolf unlike anything they’ve ever encountered.

Two Parts Mistletoe by Megan Derr
Kingston has worked hard to get where he is: owner of his own shop, master potion maker, well-respected… and lonely, too busy with life to enjoy more than his regular visits to Acacia House. If he wishes his loneliness might be eased by Hux, the man he meets at Acacia twice a month, well, someday he’ll work up the nerve to ask. Maybe.

Then Hux unexpectedly visits his shop, distressed and in desperate need of help to save his employer from a love potion…


Review:

A Touch of Mistletoe is a unique collection of holiday shorts. Most of the shorts have a mystical component to them taking you on journeys that toy with your emotions. It is hard to pick one favorite of the bunch but Two Parts Mistletoe comes out on top for me. If you missed this during the holiday season put in on your “to read” list for this year that is unless you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the holiday season and enjoy them now.

Here for You by J.K. Pendragon – This is just a sweet story about two lonely men who connect and move towards a future together. Warren is blind and has lost his wife his only true love. Kyung is longing for his home life in Korea. The attraction these two find is just what they each need.

The Christmas Spirit by Tayla Andor – Ash Haromon is a psychic detective hired to figure out what is plaguing skating champion Hanabishi Yuki. There is a slow building romance here that is sweet. The mystery is given time to be resolved but so is the relationship between these two relatively shy men.

A Beautiful Thing by A.F. Henley – Here we have a twist on the classic A Christmas Story. Scott is the Christmas grump in this story. Due to an encounter with a child at the local store he spouts his disgruntled Christmas beliefs. Dru enters his life and takes Scott on his journey of past, present and future. Their interaction and connection puts a smile on your face and you can’t help liking these men.

Ad Meliora by E.E. Ottoman – This gives us a haunting mystical story as to why one family’s Christmas rituals have ended in tragedy for the last few years. An-An and M.C. talents of magic and exorcism combine to make them the right choice for the problem. The love is evident and beautiful between An-An and M.C. as these two women face the real possibility of death.

Two Parts Mistletoe by Megan Derr – Potions Master Kingston and Hux have been meeting in secret and anonymously at a local club every couple weeks for some time now. Each man believes that there isn’t time for love in their current life. When they run across each other in the open at Two Parts Mistletoe each examines their true feelings for the other. The romance builds and peeks as they disentangle the love potion mystery that brought them together at last.

April 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments