Novella

/Novella

Review: L’Histoire de François: Vampire by Edward Kendrick

Buy Links

Title: L'histoire de François: Vampire (Immortal Angst, #)
Author: Edward Kendrick
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Since his turning in 1022 young spy, François, has hated all humans. And yet, in 1347, he falls in love with one, only to be betrayed by Giles who tells his liege lord that François is a vampire. The lord blackmails François into spying for him. Years later, François gains his revenge on Giles through his son.

In 1876 New Orleans, François joins forces with Vasile, a master of the city, to take on human vampire hunters. Then Vasile’s human lover dies and Vasile turns to François for comfort. Will love ensue, or is François destined to always be alone?


Review:

This little novella combines two things I love and that’s vampires and historical reads. I was hoping for a bit more than what I got but I still enjoyed the story. There is a lot packed into this short story, maybe a little too much but the big thing missing for me was the angst. Where was all the angst? I never really felt any.

L’Histoire de Francois revolves mostly around Francois but does introduce other characters. The premise is a good one, it’s the first book in the Immortal Angst Series about a young man that’s turned and used as a spy. He meets and falls in love with a human that betrays him and his life is never the same. Francois is a tough character to like but I’m drawn to the bad and tormented men, he fits that role perfectly.

I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series and hoping there will be a bit more angst.

December 4th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Meet the Family by Leta Blake & Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Meet the Family (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Leta Blake Books
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Follow Will & Patrick as they cope with the fallout from their Vegas wedding in this second installment of the romantic-comedy serial, Wake Up Married, by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

Meeting the family is challenging for every new couple. But for Will and Patrick, the awkward family moments only grow more hilarious—and painful—when they must hide the truth of their predicament from the people they care about most.

Throw in the sexual tension flaring between them, uncomfortable run ins with Will’s all-too-recent ex-boyfriend, an overprotective mobster father, and a mafia spy tailing them around Healing, South Dakota, and you’ve got a recipe for madcap laughs and surprisingly heartwarming feels.

Episode 2 of 6 in the Wake Up Married serial.


Review:

Yet this novella was another excellent read and a great second episode to the serial. I got to learn more about Will’s family and they were complicated. Scary, yes, but complicated. The writing style flowed extremely well and I was able to enjoy without re-read to understand what was going on. Everything was explained clearly. It was also cool to learn more about Patrick. He may be a jerk, but on a deeper level, he wasn’t. I still adored Patrick more than any other characters.

I’m curious to learn more about Will’s mother. She seemed to be a strong optioned character. She did judge before get to know Patrick, but that would be what all mother would have done anyway. Will’s grandmother, on other hand, was an awesome grandmother! She was hilarious. I’m looking forward to read more between Will and Patrick. I have a great feeling things are going to turn out better for both of them even if they deny it. I believe they were meant to be together, but I shall wait and find out as I continue on reading the next episode. It was as excite as waiting for new episode coming up on television.

I highly recommended you to start first episode before starting this one or you would be completely lost since it cannot be read as a stand-alone novella. Start at the first episode and you’ll love this episode more.

November 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Enigma by Lloyd A. Meeker

Buy Links

Title: Enigma (A Russ Morgan Mystery, #)
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

Who’s blackmailing the high-profile televangelist whose son was famously cured of his homosexuality fifteen years ago? Now in 2009, that ought to be ancient history.

It seems there’s no secret to protect, no crime, not even a clear demand for money—just four threatening letters using old Enigma songs from the 90′s. But they’ve got Reverend Howard Richardson spooked.

Proudly fifty and unhappily single, gay PI Russ Morgan has made peace with being a psychic empath, and he’s managed to build a decent life since getting sober. As he uncovers obscene secrets shrouded in seeming righteousness he might have to make peace with a sword of justice that cuts the innocent as deeply as the guilty.


Review:

So I did this backwards, I read book 2 first then just had to read book one to see how this series started. While it’s not essential to read Enigma before reading Blood and Dirt Book 2 of this series I would highly recommend you do. The mystery in each book are stand-alones but there are things in Russ’s private life that I learned after reading Enigma that helped me understand him more.

Russ Morgan is a PI and an empath and he uses that to aide him in solving his cases. I loved the premise and surprisingly I even loved that there isn’t a romance in this story but there definitely looks like the beginning of one. Enigma is all about the mystery and I thought that was well done even if a bit predictable. I love this author’s writing style and so far I’m loving this series. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

October 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married by Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Join the wild ride in this vibrant and fun first installment of the new romantic comedy serial by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

After a drunken night of hot sex in Vegas, strangers Will Patterson and Dr. Patrick McCloud wake up married. A quickie divorce is the most obvious way out—unless you’re the heir of a staunchly Catholic mafia boss with a draconian position on the sanctity of marriage.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, Will and Patrick don’t like it, or each other, but they have to make the best of it until they can find another way out of their marriage. To ensure the trust fund Will’s charitable foundation relies on isn’t revoked by his mobster grandfather, he and Patrick travel to Will’s hometown of Healing, South Dakota, posing as a newlywed couple in the throes of true love at first sight.

Complicating their scheme are Will’s unresolved feelings for his all-too-recent ex-boyfriend Ryan, and Patrick’s desire to get back to the only thing that really matters to him in life: neurosurgery. Will they fool everyone? Or will the mafia get wind that their marriage is a fake? Throw their simmering attraction into the mix and all bets are off!

Episode 1 of 6 in the Wake Up Married Serial.


Review:

Wake up married with no knowledge can be scary. This novella just proves it. Will sure is a whiny character but I can see why he is acting like that. He comes from a wild family where he needs to be sure everything is going as expected. Otherwise his dream will crushes easily over one tiny mistake. He can’t afford making a dramatic mistake and getting married happened to be one of the huge mistake. It is entirely up to him to try to figure out how to solve the situation without losing everything he builds.

Patrick is a jerk but a fun character to get connect with. I don’t even dislike him, in fact, I like him best out of all characters so far. I feel terribly bad for Patrick being trapped after a crazy night in Vegas. I have no knowledge about getting hitched in Vegas is much harder to get it undo. But it is what making the first episode exciter. The challenge Will and Patrick have to deal is a good storyline to introduce the first season.

I’m really looking forward to start the second episode and see what happens next. I also am looking forward to learn more about Will’s grandmother. I have a funny feeling there will be a huge problem when Will’s ex tries to get involve, so I can’t wait!

I highly recommend you to check the first episode out. The novella formats as a true episode is done extremely well. It feels like I have been watching it on television.

October 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Pura Vida by Sara Alva (Audiobook Version)

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Pura Vida
Author: Sara Alva
Narrator: Joseph Northton
Cover Artist: Madison Parker
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella (2 hours and 23 minutes)
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Simon has found himself in an open relationship for the summer – though not by choice. Instead of wallowing, he’s decided to make the most of a family vacation to Costa Rica by hooking up with the first hot guy available. The trouble is, he has no clue how to go about doing that.

Luckily, he runs into someone with a little more experience. But when the moments of lust turn into something more, Simon isn’t so sure he’ll be able to return to his old relationship. And there’s no way to hold onto this new one, either, as thousands of miles will separate them in only a few short weeks. Either way, he’ll have to learn to let go.


Review:

Pura Vida is a sweet short vacation fling that turns in to more than each guy expects.  It is a relatively uncomplicated young adult story that changes the lives of these two men over time. And there are sea turtles!

While vacationing in Costa Rica with his family Simon hooks up with a local, Juan.  Simon has been forced into an open relationship by his boyfriend Leo who is ready to move on but Simon is having trouble letting go figuring that he won’t find anything better than Leo. Simon decides that he needs a summer fling to stop his obsession with Leo.

Simon meets Juan on the beach one night when he witnesses the hatching of sea turtles.  Little does Simon know that this simple act will change his direction in life forever and lead to him changing his course study upon returning to school. Juan is dedicated to preserving the sea turtle wildlife. He is skeptical of the American tourist at first, he has been here before.  However, Simon and Juan settle into more than a one night fling and enjoy each other’s company just “passing the time”.

Sara Alva has written a beautiful short young adult love story where two unlikely individuals come together and fit perfectly.  The difference between Simon and Juan are expertly intertwined allowing the story to flow freely and with easy. The story provides love, heartbreak, and ultimately romance with an epilogue that gives a realistic and satisfying closure to the story.

This review is based on the audio book version:

Narrator: Joseph Northton

Length: 2 hrs and 23 mins

Narration: Joseph Northton does a decent job with the narration and I enjoyed listening to his voice tell Simon and Juan’s story.  I did feel that emotion was lacking at times but overall a very pleasant experience.

September 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Lord Loxley’s Lover: M/M Regency Romance by Katherine Marlowe

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Lord Loxley's Lover: M/M Regency Romance
Author: Katherine Marlowe
Cover Artist: Rachel Schoenbouer of Dreamslate Pub
Publisher: Honeywine Publishing
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Lord Loxley is bewildered when his noble-born friend and former lover, Miles Rochester arrives on his doorstep and applies for a position as his valet. His friend has suffered a complete loss of status and finances, and has become bitter at the world, but Lord Loxley is determined to find a way to soothe his friend’s pain and restore their friendship and love.


Review:

Lord Loxely’s Lover is a fast, easy, angst free read. The main characters are likable and there is some chemistry but, there were some issues that stopped me from loving this one.

There are a few things that aren’t explained well enough for my liking and unfortunately if I say what they are here I’d have to hide them as a spoiler and I so rarely do that. I can say things happened way too easily and the ending is all tied up much too fast. I’m left feeling like things are missing and not things that a sequel can clear up but things that are important to know in order for me to get attached to the story and its characters. There are some light-hearted moments that made me chuckle near the end of the story involving one very sweet little girl, I wish there had been more moments like those throughout the book.

While the plot could use some work I did see a lot of promise and in no way am I saying pass this story by I just needed a bit more. I definitely wouldn’t hesitate to pick another read from this author.

September 9th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Through Adversity by Amelia Faulkner

Buy Links

Title: Through Adversity
Author: Amelia Faulkner
Cover Artist: Satyr Designs
Publisher: LoveLight Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Tortured German fighter ace Lt. Siegfried Krämer has a terrible secret which could ruin him: he prefers men. Hurried, loveless encounters have armed him with a sardonic wit and a bleak outlook, and he faces a life in which his only companion is his dog, Eike.

The young and talented Lt. Valentine Westbrook should be considered an ace, but most of his victories are unconfirmed, and now that his squadron is relegated to bombing missions the chances of him ever reaching the magic number are dwindling. When he encounters an equally-skilled enemy pilot during a terrible storm, Valentine is unable to resist the hunt.

Both men soon abandon all common sense and – with a protracted dogfight at their backs – crash-land in the midst of the German Empire’s last great offensive push. Injured, stranded, and with no idea which side of the Line they are on, they must work together if they are to survive. One of them will become the other’s prisoner just as soon as they figure out where they are, but until then they are stuck with no food and no shelter in storms which don’t seem ready to end. But worse still, their mutual respect blossoms into something dangerously intimate, and their lives are about to become forever intertwined…


Review:

I liked this story but as much as I wanted to I just couldn’t love it. It’s an historical that takes place during WWI with two fighter pilots on opposite sides of the war depending on each other to get to safety after they crash and falling in love during their journey. Neither know where they’ve crashed landed and have no idea who will eventually become a prisoner but until they do they work together to find their way to the nearest town.

The main characters are great, their romance is sweet and they made me laugh. I’m a sucker for stories where one or both characters experience their first time at love and in that aspect this story didn’t disappoint. Through Adversity is a quick read with little to no angst and I do wish there had been more of Siegfried and Valentine’s romance and less talk of their flying. In my opinion that took up too much of this short story. With all of it taking place at the beginning it almost made me put the story down. I am glad that I persevered and I am very happy with the story that came after their crash but unfortunately it just wasn’t enough for me.

September 3rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Memory of Mermaids by Spencer Dryden

Buy Links

Title: The Memory of Mermaids
Author: Spencer Dryden
Cover Artist: Brenna Lyons
Publisher: Fireborn Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary, Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

After he rescues a mermaid from a sea monster, Max Weiss falls into a world of pirate treasure, dolphin whisperers, murderous mobsters, and a forbidden love.

Problems multiply in the already-troubled life of Max Weiss after he rescues a mermaid from the clutches of a sea monster. Drawn by the allure of the enchanting mermaid, Azzaria, Max agrees to help her find her lost mermaid sister. Max is pulled into a world of missing drug money, pirate treasure, murderous mobsters, dolphin whisperers, and a forbidden love.


Review:

I was in the mood to read something related to mermaids and I was being offered to review The Memory of Mermaids in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed the novella. It was original story as well, but I could be wrong since I didn’t read a lot of mermaids’ stories. Nevertheless, I liked the world the author created in such a short story. The length actually worked well for me. There were plenty of developmental in both characters and plots. It included a brief background of how mermaids appeared in the book and I liked it. Max Weiss was an interesting character and surprisingly a calm one when he witnessed something he never thought they would exist. As we were introduced to Azzaria, the mermaid, I enjoyed the story much more. Azzaria was an awesome straightforward type of person. She said what she wanted to say whether Max liked it or not. So, it was cool to see a strong woman character in the novella. The whole point of the book was to seek for Azzaria’s sister. There was some actions involved, hot scene between Max and Azzaria as well as neat plots to make story as whole. I definitely highly recommended you to give this one a shot.

August 31st, 2015|Categories: Review|2 Comments

Review: Between the Lines by J. Scott Coatsworth

Buy Links

Title: Between the Lines
Author: J. Scott Coatsworth
Cover Artist: Aaron Anderson
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

What if you could hear the words behind the words?

Brad Weston’s life seems perfect. He’s GQ handsome, the chief of staff for a Republican California state senator, and enjoys the power and the promise of a bright future. And he’s in a comfortable relationship with his boyfriend of six years, Alex.

Sam Fuller is Brad’s young blond blue-eyed intern, fresh out of college, running from a bad breakup, and questioning his choices and his new life in politics. To make things worse, Sam also has a thing for the boss, but Brad is already taken.

While looking for a gift for his boyfriend, Brad wanders into a curiosity shop and becomes fascinated by an old wooden medallion. Brad’s not a superstitious man, but when he takes out the medallion in his office, he sees the world in a whole new light.


Review:

This was a really quick read. Less than an hour I’d presumed. The story itself wasn’t too bad. The writing style fit to my liking so I was able to enjoy the novella. For this type of story, it needed to be longer. It needed time to develop a feeling between two characters.

The part I loved about this novella was the medallion he’d found in a small shop. It gave Brad a gift that made a big life changing for Brad. So, that was the cool part about the story. The relationship developmental wasn’t there at all. That disappointed me a bit. I enjoyed the part where he did something insane at his work, so that was cool.

Overall, there weren’t enough plots to make the story completed so it felt unfinished. It wasn’t a waste of my time to read it because I still find a way to be able to enjoy the book. I’d say it was harder to me to be able to write a better review for this novella because there wasn’t much to say. I think this book needed to be expanded so badly.

August 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Kindling: A Love Story about Scars by Castor James

Buy Links

Title: Kindling: A Love Story About Scars (The Fire Before Us, )
Author: Castor James
Cover Artist: Stonebound Books
Publisher: LoveLight Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Scar (n.): The mark left where something failed to kill you.

When a stage accident leaves his left hand permanently damaged, guitarist Silas St. Clare is left barely working out a living as a technician at a low-rent sound studio, convinced his dream of a life on stage is dead forever.

But when up-and-coming alt-rock star Asher Danes rents out the studio, it’s not long before the singer has Silas questioning everything he knows – and not just about music. Will Silas stay in his comfortable misery, or reach for happiness with both hands? And will he be able to grasp it, if he does?


Review:

Kindling: A Love Story About Scars is a sad, touching, sweet story dealing with tragedy and loss. Silas St. Clare has a promising career as a guitarist that is snuffed out when he is seriously injured while playing in a concert. Not only does Silas loses his dreams that night but, his boyfriend as well. Miranda, a friend of Silas, gives Silas a job at her small sound studio where he meets Asher Danes.

Asher Danes is an up and coming rock star that was present the night of Silas’ accident. Asher is having a spell with writers block and rents the small sound studio where Silas works. Asher remains somewhat of a mystery throughout the story which primarily focuses on Silas’ emotions and loss.

These two don’t exactly mesh or hit it off at first. However, over time a budding friendship emerges with each helping the other through their current issues. The story is sweet with moments of angst and communication issues as these guys explore the somewhat unexpected connection they forge.

Kindling: A Love Story About Scars ends with a begging of sorts. We are lead to believe that there is more coming from Silas and Asher as they begin their journey now that they have gotten over the initial hump. It’s a good start here but more is needed to form connections between the reader and the characters.

August 20th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments