Short

/Short

Review: DIY Delights by Taylin Clavelli

Buy Links

Title: DIY Delights
Author: Taylin Clavelli
Cover Artist: Lily Velden in Collaboration with Design Bug
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

While renovating his first house with his partner, Mike, Duncan discovers a plethora of reasons to use his favourite word… Bollocks!


Review:

I absolutely loved this story. It was hilarious and the way of using bollocks in sentences was fabulous. There were so many ways to use it as well. It was only approximately four thousand words and it was a complete story to me. I didn’t feel like anything was missing or cut out from the story. I laughed plenty of times, especially the fart part. I really needed the laugh and this one did its job. The couple were perfect for each other. I highly recommended if you need a quick laugh read.

February 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|2 Comments

Review: The Interview by Jacintha Topaz

Buy Links

Title: The Interview: A Lesbian Medical BDSM Erotic Romance (DykeLove Quickies, )
Author: Jacintha Topaz
Cover Artist: Jacintha Topaz
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Lesbian
Length: Short
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Small town girl Kaylee Hall wants to make it in the big city. Supplementing her weeknight college courses with a day job is the best way for her to make ends meet. However, interviewing for a position in a medical office lands her at the end of her rope.

Out at work, Dr. Monica Halverson feels a gaping hole in her personal life. Posting a position for personal assistant yields an interview with a breathtaking candidate who pushes her hot buttons, one who meets and exceeds every description listed for the job.

The Interview is a Lesbian Medical BDSM Erotic Romance written by Purr Erotica Romance Author Jacintha Topaz.


Review:

I actually was surprised I really did enjoy a quick erotic story written by Jacintha Topaz. I wasn’t a huge fan of erotic stories in general but few of them do get me excited a bit. Even though, I’m attracted to men, this book still turned me on. I simple imagine myself in Kaylee’s situation if I was being interviewed by a hot man and the scenes occurred. So of course, the erotic scenes between Kaylee and Monica were extremely hot. Apparently I do enjoy a bit of BDSM play. I’m looking forward to read the rest of the series since the author’s writing style was great. I didn’t find myself repeating any sentence whether I understood it or not. I understood everything the author had written in this short story. As short as it was, I felt the story was a complete story without me whining for more or thinking it was too short. It was just perfect and a true fantasy from author’s mind.

If you’re looking for a quick hot scene between two women with a huge bonus by including BDSM play; this book is for you. Give it a shot!

February 17th, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Sleepwalking by Taylin Clavelli

Buy Links

 

Title: Sleepwalking
Author: Taylin Clavelli
Cover Artist: Lily Velden in Collaboration with Design Bug
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Devastated by loss, Matthew sleepwalks through life, existing but not living. 

Can someone rescue him from his waking nightmare and help him to live again?


Review:

Broken heart could be healed by a right person no matter how hurtful it could get. Losing a husband was never an easy thing to deal with. Especially if they spent nearly everything together. Second chance at loving did exist. So, that was what Sleepwalking was all about. Second chance at loving someone again didn’t mean it replaced the love he had for his deceased husband but to add more love. Even at such a short length of the story, it still sent a powerful messages that it wasn’t too late to express more love for someone else. Of course, it’d be better if ti was expanded a bit longer. This one ha more telling than showing but thankful it worked for me. I definitely recommended you to give this one a shot. I wasn’t disappointed. 

December 30th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Invisible by Taylin Clavelli

Buy Links

Title: Invisible
Author: Taylin Clavelli
Cover Artist: Lily Velden in collaboration with Design Bug
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

What do you do when you become invisible to the love of your life?


Review:

Invisible showed a powerful message to the long-term relationship that no one ever take each other for granted. One of them might just vanished. I held this short story to my heart. Even a little thing could easily change things. A simple kiss before leaving for work or getting home were one of those little things. It made me smile when I reached such a wonderful ending. It easily applied to anyone that are currently in a relationship. Highly recommended! 

December 29th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Hunter or Hunted? by Lily Velden

Buy Links

Title: Hunter or Hunted?
Author: Lily Velden
Cover Artist: Lily Velden in collaboration with Design Bug
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Any hunter worth his salt will tell you that in order to capture your prey, there are few simple rules you must follow…


Review:

Hunter or Hunted was probably the most hilarious and hot at the same time story I’d ever read. It got me all excited seeing how they both actually were hunting over each other. In the end, I didn’t know who was actually a hunter because they both gave in toward each other. It was fun to read from both point of views. The author truly had a talent of describing what individuals were thinking and applying it to the actions. I read it in a sitting since I couldn’t stop reading. I just wanted to know what happened in the ending. The ending was satisfying.  I didn’t see any issue in the short. Nothing was cut out or rushed. It was told extremely well, leaving me happy. I definitely highly recommended to someone who wanted a quick read that could put a fire on your body if you know what I mean. Heh 😀

November 25th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Written in the Stars by Lily Velden

Buy Links

Title: Written in the Stars
Author: Lily Velden
Cover Artist: Lily Velden in collaboration with Design Bug
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Who needs a holiday when your destiny is Written in the Stars?


Review:

The short story was a fantastic and quick read. It had plenty of humor to it. It was a very simple way of how the fate had done the job. Even though it was really short, I still find myself satisfied with how the book ended. It reminded me of old matchmaker television show I used to watch when I was a kid. I think it was called cupid matchmaker or something like that. The writing style was so easy to read and each page just constantly flowed smoothly. I labeled it non-romance because it wasn’t there but it would happen if the story didn’t end. Seeing how the author wrote this story, I’ll definitely check out other author’s work. Highly recommended for anyone who want a quick humor read. You won’t be disappointed with this story.

November 13th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Seeing Double by A. Lusch

Buy Links

Title: Seeing Double (52 First Dates, #3)
Author: A. Lusch
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short 
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

The man-hunt is under way, and David’s keen to a snag a husband without having to complete every date of his 52 First Dates challenge. With several successful meets behind him, there’s a growing feeling of confidence that his search could actually work. But now that the novelty’s worn off, finding the motivation to keep going is about to become harder.

David finds himself trying to juggle meeting new men and providing a shoulder to cry on his to battered and pregnant friends. And, with a plethora of hotties vying for his attention, things are about to get more complicated.


Review:

It just kept on getting better. I liked this one much better than first two. I got to explore more side of David and his close friends. I was able to enjoy the humor, the frustrate, the everything you could think of. The word whilst still bugged me, but I could ignore it easily. It was that good to be able to ignore the tiny issue. This was the moment where I truly want David to find someone that would make him happy. I can’t wait for book four and see where David were now. This was the series you all needed to check it out because you wouldn’t be disappointed with it and it would give you an opportunity to have some chuckles here and there.

I highly recommended the series!

February 14th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Friends and FRENCHMEN by A. Lusch

Buy Links

Title: Friends and FRENCHMEN (52 First Dates, #2)
Author: A. Lusch
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short 
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

With David in his mid-30′s, it’s time to get serious about finding a husband. Too many men and not enough time, mean he’s embarked on the challenge of a lifetime; to date a new man every week for a year until he finds THE ONE.

With one date out the way, and many more to come, David’s realising there’s a reason it’s so hard to find a soulmate. And, with friends, lovers and lust getting in the way, finding a husband might be harder than he thought.


Review:

The second book or shall I say, second episode had shown a great improvement to support the first book. I loved it enough to want more. Yes, it was short, but it didn’t ruin the story for me. It was mainly the one word that was over-use in the book, which was whilst. It was getting annoyed as I went through the book in a quick read. But other than that, it kept me smiling and laughing. Especially the crazy date with a vegan. It was so funny when David spoke before thinking about the chicken to a vegan person. I guess it was better to talk as much as anybodies could before moving on to second date. it’d prevented from wasting either of their times.  I really enjoyed the book and it gave me the excitement to start the next book.

Highly recommended because it’ll make you laugh out loud. It was that good.

February 14th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Man Plan by A. Lusch

Buy Links

Title: The Man Plan (52 First Dates, #1)
Author: A. Lusch
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short 
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Now that David’s heading towards his mid-30s, he’s finally realised that it’s time to find a husband. But with so many men and so little time, he realises he’s going to have to be strategic if he’s ever to find his soulmate.

Thus, 52 First Dates is formed; a challenge, a scheme, to go on a date with a new man, every week, for a year. If it pays off, he’ll be in marital bliss. If it doesn’t, he’ll know that he’s fated with being the eternal bachelor. With everything to live for, David plunges into the world of dating in search of the perfect man.


Review:

Before reading the book, I was very uncertainly since it wasn’t type of topic I’d usually read. I was glad the author contact me and offered an ARC copy for me to review the book because I really enjoyed the book. It was unique, funny, lovely and a really fast read. In such a short story, the author managed to make me connect to the characters. It was like watching a television show since I was positive the author set it as episodes since there were so much to tell in the story that could easily turn into a long novel length but I was glad the author split it and made the story more personal.

David actually was a hilarious and yet a desperate man who sought for a man of his life. A husband where he could settle. It was interesting how he was so “pro” with the hook-up sites and still manage to find something on it even though he ended up having a hot steamy hook-up with Rav. I loved that part. I secretly hoped David will ended up with Rav in the end.

I definitely highly recommended you to check this one out. It was a great start to a series. Seeing that it was based on a true story so that ought to be interesting where this had lead to.

February 14th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Nganga by Damien D’Enfer

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Nganga
Author: Damien D’Enfer
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Short
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Jacksonville Detective Fletch Boatwright’s life sucks. It’s not easy being a white cop in an increasingly colorful world. Fletch has a chip on his shoulder as big as the space shuttle, pops pills like tic tacs and is so unpopular that his own wife and kids hate him. When he shoots and kills an unarmed Afro-Cuban boy and gets transferred down to Miami, his life goes from bad to worse.

Someone’s slaughtering the priests of Santeria, and Boatwright’s hunt for the killer leads him into Miami’s underworld of, in his words, ‘hoodoo and voodoo from every f*cking banana republic in the world.” Before he knows it he is being hunted by the spirit of dead murderer hell-bent on a particularly vicious brand of sadistic and psychosexual revenge.


Review:

For something that was so short, the author really did well with this one. I believe it was one of the author’s first works and it most certainly wouldn’t be my last with his work. I’ve enjoyed the story from the beginning to the ending. As far as I could tell, the author inspired his story toward the true story crime that happened back in 2013 where a unharmed teenager boy was shot dead from a police officer. This book was a straight-on revenge to cop for what he had done to an innocent teenager.

I loved the fact that author chose a black magic to be a horror element in the story. It worked perfectly for a short horror story. The horror part was actually detailed so it may not be for those who couldn’t stand anything that related with death, blood, murder or worse. For those who happened to have a tough heart, do pick this one up! It was a thrill read. Can’t wait to see what the author will write next.

January 27th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments