Bisexual

/Bisexual

Review: Guitars and Cages by Layla Dorine

Buy Links

Title: Guitars and Cages
Author: Layla Dorine
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publisher
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Questioning
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Asher Logan is a bartender and a pretty wicked guitar player, when he isn’t wrecking his hands fighting in a cage. With a past he keeps hoping to outrun, Asher’s been on a downward spiral for longer than he can remember. When his sister-in-law leaves Rory, his eight-year-old nephew, in his care, Asher is forced into two things he’s never been good at: sobriety and responsibility. As he struggles to care for Rory, his own life begins to unravel.

When Asher’s brother, Alex, turns up, presenting as a girl and announcing her new name is Alexia, it further complicates matters, as does the arrival of his new neighbor, Conner. Both, in their own way, compel Asher to look at his own closely-guarded views on sexuality.

When the siblings’ older brother, Cole, reacts violently to Alexia, Asher is placed squarely in the middle of a family conflict which compels him to confront who he pretends to be versus who he really is.

Asher must choose who to trust and who to finally walk away from.


Review:

This is going to be hard to review because I loved the book so much! It was truly an emotional read. I nearly cried while I was reading the novel at work. It really focused on Asher Logan’s personal growth. This book was about 140k words or 475 pages and not even once I felt it was too long. It was just perfect. A perfect way to feel emotionally connected to Asher’s hard life. The opening hooked me in just like that. “Sixty-Three Seconds” was what the opening was all about. There were many things that could have happen in just 64 seconds. That was a minute and three seconds.

HOW LONG does it take to unravel a life? A second? An hour? A minute? A year? In my case it took sixty-three seconds. That’s .0175 percent of an hour, or 63,000 milliseconds, or the time it takes to chug a beer and light a cigarette. Hell, there’s a ton of things I can do in sixty-three seconds; I should know, I’ve kept track of them all. In sixty-three seconds I can open a car door with a coat hanger or make a peanut-butter sandwich. Sixty-three seconds is 11.22 percent of The Doors’ classic The End. It’s the time it used to take to walk from the door of my apartment to the door of my favorite whore. Sixty-three seconds is also how long it took my eldest brother to die after we were left no choice but to pull the plug on him.

That was the very first paragraph of the long novel and I knew I couldn’t stop. I was in for a long crazy roller coaster ride. The first paragraph didn’t lie about that. It really took me into Asher’s mind and see what he’d seen. It took me less than twenty-four hours in total to finish the novel. Nearly causing me to not do my work and read book instead. But thankfully, there wasn’t anything to do at work when I was reading so it was an opportunity for me to not waste, but keep on seeing what Asher had seen.

When his brother showed up looking smoking hot that made Asher thinking, “Man, I’d hit that,” but it turned out to be his brother that had underwent a change from male to female. Those scenes were just one of many scenes that caused a big change in Asher’s life. He spent his entire life running away when things had gotten too hard for him to deal. Especially when his sister-in-law dumped her son to Asher’s doorstep and expected him to watch his nephew. I adored Rory more than anything. He was an amazing boy for an 8-years old. Full of curiosity and in some way, he reminded me of myself since I grew up being smart-mouth.

When Asher heard a mewing down in the alley and the things he done for the injured cat made me love Asher much more. He had the most gently heart that no one got to see except the readers and me. We knew Asher was capable of being an awesome man. But as I finished the novel, I understood why Asher took so long to realize he was a good guy. You will have to read the book to see what had woken him and made him change for a better person.

Morgan was my love and hate relationship character. It was more love than hate, though. It was the reaction he had when he found out more secrets that got me so upset, but I understood why he reacted that way. Cole, I had a hard time liking him. He was really a jerk. As you can see in the blurb—When the siblings’ older brother, Cole, reacts violently to Alexia, Asher is placed squarely in the middle of a family conflict which compels him to confront who he pretends to be versus who he really is. It made Asher much more confused about himself and how he could choose to be sided with, although he didn’t want to. Man, you just have to read the book to see how much Asher had suffered.

I have say enough about the book and beg you to check this book out. It was so good. I haven’t read anything as emotional as this book in a while. It was a book I’d considered a treasure. It won’t be easy to not feel anything when you read the book as well. Your emotion may be all over the place. But I am satisfied with the ending.

July 16th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Love Cubed by Eddy LeFey

Buy Links

Title: Love Cubed
Author: Eddy LeFey
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, & Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Three very different young men meet at St-Frederick’s University.

Francis, haunted by his past and seeking a new life.

Andrew, the introverted football jock.

And Sebastian, the charismatic and confident hockey star.

Francis, wary and troubled, didn’t count on meeting anyone he could care for.

Andrew, closeted and lonely, didn’t think anything would matter more than his football career.

Sebastian, content to float from conquest to conquest, never believed he’d meet someone who could hold his interest.

An encounter with a journalist causes consequences for all three.

Will they be able to take what they need from one another in order to cope?


Review:

Love Cubed was actually the first novel I have read that had a polygamous relationship and I thought the author did extremely well with the relationship development between three men. Out of the three men (Francis, Andrew, and Sebastian), Andrew was my favorite and the most character I felt connected to. I used to play football back in high school and I was closeted that time as well. But not once did I care to think about guys in the locker room, I just want to play some football and that was it. So, that was why I was able to relate to Andrew.

Francis was the most mysterious character and once I got more details about him, I was able to connect to him much more. Sebastian was an easy character to get connected to. He was a common jock, but with a big heart when it was needed. Just to read how they all started to express their feeling toward each other with a help from two awesome people, which were Heather and John. I definitely adored them equally. Heather was a strong female in the novel and she wouldn’t accept the disrespectful type of people and she would say something about it. John, being such a sweetheart and opened mind person, was a great roommate for Andrew.

The whole dramas the guys had to go through was very real. It was very realistic and could happen at this very moment. Someone would bully a gay person in a locker room while the adults weren’t around. That was a scary thought if you think about it. The author provided a realistic perspective, which was exactly what I was looking for. Especially a polygamous relationship, which was tough to write. The author did well!

I gave it a four stars because I feel the ending could have been better than what it currently stood. I ended rather abruptly and I felt that there were so much more to wrap up the novel. This one lacked it a bit.

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot and I seriously doubt you would be disappointed with it.

July 3rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Cinder and the Smoke by Geonn Cannon

Buy Links

Title: Cinder and the Smoke
Author: Geonn Cannon
Cover Artist: Heidi DeCausemaker
Publisher: Supposed Crimes LLC
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

In nineteenth century New York, safes aren’t living up to their name. A thief so wily, so impossible to capture the the police call her “the Smoke” has been targeting the wealthy. In reality the Smoke is a woman named Kezia Cyr, a woman born in prison, stolen from her mother, and raised by runaways and pickpockets. When her emotions causes a job to blow up in her face, Kezia’s adoptive family scatters and she is left to avenge those she’s lost.

The Smoke may finally meet her match in Pinkerton Agent Shelby Button who earned the moniker “Cinder” for running into a burning building to capture a criminal. Button finds Kezia’s trail and refuses to let her prey go without a fight.

With a decade-old murder to avenge, Kezia will stop at nothing to correct her past mistakes, and Agent Button is willing to trek across the country to bring the phantom Smoke to justice once and for all.


Review:

I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading this story, to say it’s something very different is an understatement, for me anyways. It’s not for the faint of heart, it’s dark and you won’t get a happy ending here nor will you get a romance – at least not in the typical sense – but I really enjoyed it.

Kezia, the MC is a kick-ass, I can take care of myself kind of girl. Having been born in prison life doesn’t start out on the right foot. It’s not a surprise that she goes through one hardship after another but she survives and I loved that. She gets caught up in a gang of boys that gives her the family she’s never had but the life she leads with them can send her back to the place she was born. Violence, thievery, revenge and exploring her sexuality made this an intriguing story and a hard one to put down.

The story is well written, the descriptive words made it easy to visualize and put me right into the story. Kezia is one of those characters I would love to meet and love to read about, a strong and resourceful woman. A heads up, some of the terminology may be offensive to some but it’s the way things were in Kezia’s time. Also Kezia sleeps with men but she prefers women, her longest relationship is with a women so Lesbian fiction is the genre I’d put Cinder and the Smoke in. If that is a genre you don’t read you may not pick this one up but I think you should I don’t think you’d be sorry.

I highly recommend Cinder and the Smoke.

July 1st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Baby’s on Fire by A.F. Henley

Buy Links

Title: Baby's on Fire
Author: A.F. Henley
Cover Artist: Raphael
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

In 1974 Gerry Faun gets the break of his life—an opportunity to meet gorgeous, openly bisexual, glam-rock idol Mark Devon. Mark’s world is new, exciting, and Gerry finally gets to explore the side of his sexuality that he’s kept hidden. But the press is everywhere, and when Gerry’s father gets wind of what’s going on behind his back, Gerry ends up on the street. Mark offers to let Gerry come along with the tour and Gerry jumps at the chance. The tour is a never-ending party—and the start of what seems to be a perfect relationship for him and Mark. Until Mark’s manager decides Gerry isn’t worth the trouble he’s stirring up.

In 1994 Gerry is finally coming out of some tough times—he has a job that pays the bills, a car that hasn’t quite broken down, and a small rental in Jersey City. After a decade of barely getting by, if life was as good as it was going to get, Gerry figures he’ll manage just fine. It would be easier if he wasn’t still haunted by the man the media won’t let him forget, the man who stole his heart and then broke it… the man that’s shown up pleading for a second chance.


Review:

A.F. Henley never stops getting me hooked into A.F.’s books. The book the author wrote were amazingly easy to read and was easier for me to be able to connect to the characters the author created in the book. First of all, I wasn’t born during the 1970’s, so I was able to enjoy the setting the author created in the book. Everything seems realistic in my opinion. It balanced pretty well by going back and forward in 1974 and 1994, which meant it didn’t once pull me out of the story. I was still connected to the story plot for both years. I hardly find anything that I didn’t like about the book except, I’d love to see more story developed while they were working on a second chance. Perhaps, a couple chapters of presents would suffice my expectation. Nevertheless, it was one of A.F.’s best works and the author continues to do better after each book the author had completed.

In this book, the author actually succeeded in surprising me about Gerry’s boss. I really didn’t see it coming. My favorite scene had to be the Mime scene. The word wasn’t necessary because action spoke stronger than the voice. My favorite character would go to Deidre. She was an amazing support character throughout the book. I was thrilled to see her again in 1994. She knew how to put a comfort in Gerry’s thoughts no matter what a deep hole Gerry got himself into. The character I loathed was an easy pick: Phil. I meant it in a good way because we all need a character to dislike when we’re reading a book. Phil didn’t ruin the book, by the way. He made the book stronger by putting an awfully twist scene that showed why 1994 existed.

The relationship between Gerry and Mark was very realistic because being in a relationship with a person that was beyond famous could show a challenge. The author did a wonderful job showing how tough it would be to be in a relationship with a celebrity. As I get closer to the ending, I found myself frequently Goosebumps when Gerry decided to go to the family Thanksgiving dinner at his mother’s place. His siblings played a big role in that scene.

All in all, I just loved this book. I highly recommended you to give it a shot!

June 18th, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: The Ravens Crossing Book Two by Three Authors

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: The Raven Crossing Book Two (The Raven Crossing, )
Author: Amanda Corlies, Andi Lea, and West Thornhill
Cover Artist: Andi Lea
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Young Adult
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Lesbian, & Heterosexual
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

This is the second book in The Ravens Crossing series.
Previous book: The Raven Crossing: Book One
Next book: The Raven Crossing: Book Two

The Ravens Crossing is a serialized LGBTQ and straight ally young adult series. It is a paranormal/science fiction/fantasy adventure. TRC is written by three authors sharing a world. Books One, Two, and Three follow the adventures of thirteen high school friends. This volume contains Season Two stories in the order they were originally published at the companion website www.theravenscrossing.org.

***

Welcome back to Wildwood, where keeping secrets has become a way of life. Because being a Gaea is nothing if not complicated. But, when thirteen high school seniors come into their full powers as Earth, Air, Water, Fire, and Time Gaeas, they begin to uncover a depth of deception surrounding them that may tear some of them apart. The secrets revealed will shake them to their very foundations, and just when these friends need to trust each other the most, they will end up keeping secrets from each other.

With Gaea abilities that range from astral projection to firestarting to time travel and a whole lot in between, the Thirteen must learn to protect themselves. They should be focused on college acceptance letters, but planning for their future involves Armors teaching them martial arts and swordplay. Instead of learning from a history text, they are learning the intricacies of time travel from a legendary eccentric named Amyntas. With each discovery, from Gaea genetics to ancient prophecies, to what it means to become bonded as a Tempus and Solus, the stakes get higher. Because Frederick Demetrius, Donna Holden, and a mysterious man named Jiro seem fixated on Wildwood. They want something from the Thirteen, and they don’t mind taking out anyone who stands in their way.


Review:

It took me over a year to finish the book. All in all, it’s a good book, but it was too long for my taste. There are a lot of scenes that can be easily cut off from the book and shorten it a bit. For example, one scene was repeated a few times from different POV and I got tired of reading the similar scene. I loved the characters the authors created for this world. They have gone through tough times, especially for their ages. As soon as the book ended, it left me with nothing to be honest. I thought they’d encountered something crazy with Frederick, Donna, and Jiro, but I guess I’ll need to check the third book out when I can. It’s longer than book three, so I’ll still get it and read as often as I can until I finish the book. I know it wasn’t the best review I’ve yet to write. The book basically left me exhausted and speechless. If you have plenty of time, the series is worth a checking out. The abilities the characters had were brilliant and I loved the type of powers the authors created for them.

June 17th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Broken Forest by Megan Derr

Buy Links

Title: The Broken Forest
Author: Megan Derr
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Lesbian, and Trans*
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When women and children begin to vanish, the people of Edge village summon a Huntress. Though she is long due for a break and exhausted from her previous assignment, Adamina accepts the assignment and heads for Edge. But when she arrives, the simple assignment she anticipated proves instead to be complicated—complicated enough she must consult with a witch. A beautiful, compelling witch that makes Adamina sharply aware of her own lonely life, and tempts her to make it less lonely.

Assuming the forest doesn’t kill them first.


Review:

The Broken Forest is a dark twist on the fairy tale. This tale is about two powerful women one a huntress and the other a witch. These two face the darker horrors spun from the traditional Rapunzel tale. What you need to know is that these women join forces to eradicate the “broken forest” of the dangers created in the past. The book opens with women and children disappearing from the Edge village that requires the assistance of a huntress.

The huntress Adamina defends and protects the forests when called upon by the villagers within the kingdom. She is both respected and feared because of her power. Grete focuses the use of her powers on healing those in need and is more low key but still feared as much as the huntress. Both women are connected to the forest and complement each other well. There are references made that Adamina is transgender which is just part of who she is.

The magical/fantasy aspects thought-out the story are well depicted and tie the story together well. We are given a unique look at the fairy tale that engages the reader. Contained within are monsters, witch craft, romance, and a wolf that steals the show. While the short story works as written there is much that could be explored about Adamina, Grete, and many of the other characters mentioned along the way and give us more from the world that has been built. All in all this is a novella that is worth your time.

June 12th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Appearances (Opposites, #2) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: Appearances (Opposites, )
Author: T.M. Smith
Cover Artist: T.L. Shreffler at Runaway Book Design
Publisher: TTC Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi and Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Appearances, can be deceiving.

Raven and Tanis are trying very hard to merge their vastly different lifestyles, but Tanis issues with his own past could prove to be more than their fragile relationship can handle. Is their love for each other strong enough to weather the oncoming storm?

Aiya and Sawyer have fought hard to be together in a world where Opposite relationships are generally forbidden. Yet, they are still forced to keep their relationship a secret while they are outside the walls of House Gaeland.

Everyone assumes that the only threat lies outside their walls, the group of rebels led by Cillian. But something is happening within House Gaeland, something that hasn’t happened since GWI. And with all the attention focused on that, their guard is down. An evil that was under their nose all along strikes, and someone will make the ultimate sacrifice to save another.

Appearances is the second book in the Opposites series, the series should be read in order.

** Warning, Opposites is an Adult Dystopian majorly M/M series that contains explicit sexual content and relationships between gay, straight and lesbian couples. **


Review:

This had to be my favorite book of the series because I have a soft heart for Raven aka the Priest. Raven took a while to accept the love from Tanis, and I was glad Raven gave it a good thought before he chose to make the right decision. When Tanis wasn’t able to deal with his own acceptance of the past and often worried Raven would stop loving Tanis for his past, I wanted to slap his head! Past is past. Got to focus on the present.

What happened on the ship caught me off guard between Aiya and Sawyer and it made the book much stronger with a crazy twisty plot. I wasn’t having any issue with figuring out who was thinking or doing the action because I’d gotten used to the author’s writing style by the time I started <em>Appearances</em>. There were so many chaotic going on at Aiya’s home and it forced Raven do something he never would have imagined himself doing to a certain person. But in the end, it made him a powerful person and was able to solved the minor issue with Tanis.

I also got to learned more about a horrible secret Aiya’s father never knew about his brother. It made a whole new twisty plot I cannot wait to read in the next book. It is going to be huge. The secrets have all been revealed now. Truly a wonderful series that continued getting better.

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot, but remember, read the first book first before you started this one or you would be completely lost.

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Opposites (Opposites, #1) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: Opposites (Opposites, )
Author: T.M. Smith
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: TTC Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi and Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

In the year 2081 our planet survived global warming of an apocalyptic scale. When the dust settled and the water receded Dr. Anthony Smith, one of only a few hundred survivors of GWI, started society anew. Having come to the conclusion that injudicious breeding played a huge role in the destruction of Earth as we knew it in the twenty first century, he worked closely with other survivors to isolate the Dionysus gene. This gene has the ability to manipulate human DNA to ensure that all male children be born gay, and all female children be born lesbians. A new society is born.

In the year 2300 Dr. Smith’s descendants are ushering in the twenty fourth century having maintained control of the government that still rules society. Twins Aiya and Aiyan are preparing to meet their matches and take control of House Gaeland, the current ruling House. But not everything is as it seems.

Love is Love.. it knows no gender and doesn’t conform to restrictions and boundaries. Aiyan has found his soul mate in Kaden, the prince of House Devi that he is matched with and eventually marries. But when the person Aiya falls in love with tests the boundaries put in place after GWI, all hell breaks loose. And in the midst of one secret unraveling, another will emerge. There is a growing anomaly that threatens to destroy over two hundred years of progression. This anomaly is known as Opposites.

*WARNING* Opposites is a majorly M/M New Adult novel that contains explicit sexual content and relationships between gay, lesbian and straight couples.


Review:

I had a rough start with the books because I’m normally not a huge fan of several names that was too similar. Aiyan and Aiya for example. I often get confused between them two. There were simple too much head-hopping that took me a while to acknowledged who was actually thinking or doing the action. On the brighter note, the couple the author chose to have them together were fantastic. The world-building the author developed were amazing detailed and I could imagine the land inside my head easily. It was more of contemporary type of story but it was considered sci-fi since it was set in the future. There were straight couple, gay couple, lesbian couple, and possibly a bisexual person in the book. I was worried about that type of world and how they would make heterosexual looked horrible in the book, but it didn’t. I was really relived for that. It was good enough to make it a four star in my opinion and it was a book I would re-read again just to make myself much more familiarized with the series.

It’s a book I’d recommended if you don’t mind head-hopping type of POV and so many names in a book. 🙂

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Moment of Clarity by Karen Stivali

Buy Links

Title: Moment of Clarity (Moments in Time, )
Author: Karen Stivali
Cover Artist: Anna Sikorska
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Moments in Time: Book Three

Spending the summer together on Fire Island brought Collin and Tanner closer than ever, but back in their conservative college town, challenges confront them at every turn.

As they search for their new normal in their old environment, Collin’s brother Sean surprises them with help when they need it most. But when word about their relationship gets out, trouble erupts with friends and family. When Collin’s relationship with Tanner becomes an issue in his brother’s custody battle and Tanner struggles with his feelings for a heartbroken Wendy, Collin wonders if everyone he cares about would be better off without him in the picture.

In order to save them both, Tanner must make it clear to Collin that their love for each other is all that matters.


Review:

It was hard knowing this is the final installment of the Moments in Time series. I didn’t want it to end. I always enjoyed reading how the relationship between Collin and Tanner developed since book one. It started as lust at the beginning, ending with a such a loving couple. They both have grown so much together in just two years of college together. They had gone through ups and downs and yet they didn’t give up on each other. Every relationship had its own bump and their relationship wasn’t an exception.

What happened at Collin’s brother home wasn’t a big surprise. I knew someone would show up at the house that caused a main issue for them to solve. But still, it was an eye opening for Collin and Tanner that forced them to realize if their relationship was worth something to fight for. I just loved what was going on inside Collin. He was just too innocent for his own goods. I mean, he got disowned from his mother and his brothers as well. This book proved it wasn’t the end. All they needed was a time to open their own head and see how Collin felt when he was with Tanner because he was happy as heck. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see his mother in the book, but I did get to see how awesome Tanner’s mother was.

The book was also a quick and easy read just as the first two books were. I loved them and I can see myself continuing reading about their lives. It was short and sweet, which were perfect for that type of story. I just don’t want this to be the end of their story. 🙁 At least the author did mention there will be a couple of short stories featuring minor characters, so I’m looking forward to that.

I highly recommended you to check this one out. If you haven’t read the first book… You have to. It needs to be read in order because it just is. 🙂

May 7th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Triad (Courtland Chronicles, #5) by Cat Grant

Buy Links

Title: Triad (Courtland Chronicles, )
Author: Cat Grant
Cover Artist: L.C. Chase
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Ménage
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Eric Courtland has spent the last decade tucked away in a Tuscan villa with his wife, Allison—and their partner and lover, Nick Thompson. Worlds away from the bigotry and hatred they faced in the States, the triad has built an unconventional relationship that is unassailable. Or so they think.

After years of disappointment, Allison is finally pregnant. But the happy news is soon blunted by a family crisis that brings them—reluctantly—back to the country they’ve foresworn and the emotional riptides that bide there.

Assailed from every direction, the three face blackmail and a potential corporate takeover, but it’s the devastating revelations from both Eric’s and Nick’s pasts that leave them shaken to the core. The three must stand together and face the maelstrom, or risk losing everything they’ve worked so hard to build—including the unique love that binds them.


Review:

What a great way to end the Courtland Chronicles series. Yes, I know there are more in the same universe in another series called Courtlands–The Next Generation. Anyway, Triad had to be my most favorite novel out of five books. Everything about it was so real that I pour my emotions into the novel. Death were there. Arguments were there. Betrayals were there. Shocking Secrets Revealed were there. The list goes on. It had pretty much everything that real life dealt with.

Even though this is my favorite book out of five books, it was harder for me to review it. My mind was all juggled of what to describe how I felt when I finish the book. But I could say: Love Always Prevails. It was what the series was all about. It concentrated on the relationship between three wonderful people: Eric, Nick, and Ally. They all faced so many situations that could easily ruin their relationship. All year they built on to it and that could go away in a second. But for them, they weren’t allowing that to happen. Ally actually finally got pregnant, but her journey wasn’t any easier when she had to deal with the stresses coming from out there. People had no respect for them. It sucked, but, hey, it was realistic. There are bigots out there that would say absolutely everything that made you felt lousy or down. For three of them, they didn’t let it pull themselves down to their narrow-minded negative world. They fought hard.

Now, there were so many secrets that I was totally shocked, especially about a new character in the next generation series. I was just thrilled one of the three characters dealt it as best as they could. I just loved how powerful they were together. I am hundred percent satisfied with how the author ended the series and glad she decided to continue the next generation series because I wasn’t about to let them go.

I highly recommended! If you want something that seemed realistic, something you could relate to… Check this one out and be prepared for a long emotional ride!

February 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments