Gay

/Gay

Review: L’Histoire de François: Vampire by Edward Kendrick

Buy Links

Title: L'histoire de François: Vampire (Immortal Angst, #)
Author: Edward Kendrick
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Since his turning in 1022 young spy, François, has hated all humans. And yet, in 1347, he falls in love with one, only to be betrayed by Giles who tells his liege lord that François is a vampire. The lord blackmails François into spying for him. Years later, François gains his revenge on Giles through his son.

In 1876 New Orleans, François joins forces with Vasile, a master of the city, to take on human vampire hunters. Then Vasile’s human lover dies and Vasile turns to François for comfort. Will love ensue, or is François destined to always be alone?


Review:

This little novella combines two things I love and that’s vampires and historical reads. I was hoping for a bit more than what I got but I still enjoyed the story. There is a lot packed into this short story, maybe a little too much but the big thing missing for me was the angst. Where was all the angst? I never really felt any.

L’Histoire de Francois revolves mostly around Francois but does introduce other characters. The premise is a good one, it’s the first book in the Immortal Angst Series about a young man that’s turned and used as a spy. He meets and falls in love with a human that betrays him and his life is never the same. Francois is a tough character to like but I’m drawn to the bad and tormented men, he fits that role perfectly.

I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series and hoping there will be a bit more angst.

December 4th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: All That You Can’t Leave Behind by Kirby Quinlan

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: All That You Can't Leave Behind
Author: Kirby Quinlan
Cover Artist: Kirby Quinlan
Publisher: KQ Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating2 Stars (2 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Let go of the past. Live in the moment. The future will take care of itself.

Tailor Sway is a professional organizer on the brink of divorce. When he is hired to appear on a reality TV show called “Hoarded Houses”, he has three days to help a collector of Christmas decorations clean up her property before it’s condemned by local authorities.

Everything is going according to Tailor’s carefully laid plans. That is, until Brayzen Mapleridge, a mega-famous pop singer known for his wild, daredevil antics, shows up.

Forced to pay for a recent stunt which has turned into a serious legal matter, Brayzen is given the opportunity to avoid jail time by doing some hard labor in front of the cameras. But, it’s not an easy thing to do while being chased by all who trail in the wake of a major celebrity. Is Brayzen sincere about helping, or is it all just part of a well-crafted publicity campaign?

Despite some initial clashes between Tailor’s uptight determination and Brayzen’s carefree attitude, the two develop an unlikely partnership that quickly blossoms into a sizzling attraction.

But, Tailor’s unresolved conflict with his husband, Grant, an emotionally scarred veteran of the Iraq War, still looms in the background amidst a whirlwind of TV cameras, relentless paparazzi, eager fans, and scathing headlines. Despite all these complications, will it be Brayzen’s own meddling mother who puts the brakes on their steamy love affair for good?

At times sexy, laugh-out-loud funny, and tragically heartbreaking; this erotic tale of love, loss and letting go promises to give you a front-row seat on Tailor and Brayzen’s crazy, romantic rollercoaster ride. Strap yourself in!


Review:

This is another review that’s difficult to write because in order to explain why I feel the way I do about this story I have to give too much away and I won’t do that, not even by hiding it in a spoiler. So I’m left with trying to explain without giving to many specifics. I’ll give this a try and hope it makes sense.

Tailor is that guy you call if you are in need of organization, he’s even on a tv show helping people get their places and lives in order. Brazyen is a musician that got himself into some trouble with the law and part of his punishment is working with Tailor to fulfill his community service. After a less than stellar first meeting they do hit it off and I thought they were a great couple with lots of chemistry. One major road block for these guys is that Tailor is married and not willing to act on his feelings for Brazyen.

I really wanted to like this story but unfortunately it just didn’t work for me. Tailor and Brayzen are great main characters and some of the secondary characters are interesting even the story premise is a good one but and there is a very big but….so much went wrong. I did like this story until the 25% mark then one paragraph made the whole story fall apart for me. “How many years has it been now? It’s been a while. Poor Brayzen. I mean it’s no wonder he flaked out these past few years. Sneaking that pet monkey he had on the plane to Germany, exposing himself, getting in trouble with the law.” First of all, is this story really about Justin Bieber and the name has just been changed? Because not that long ago it was in the news about Justin Bieber trying to get his monkey on a plane in Germany, along with all is other troubles that sound very similar to Brayzen, it didn’t help that Brayzen is also a musician. That paragraph took it one step to far for me, add in the fact the writing doesn’t flow and at times sounds stilted. There were places the story read like bullet points rather than a smooth flowing sentences. One other major problem I had with this story was Tailor’s husband. That man was one big hot mess and what the author does with him annoyed me to no end!

I really do think there could be something here and with a lot of reworking it could potentially be a good story but as it stands it just it just didn’t work for me.

December 1st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Meet the Family by Leta Blake & Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Meet the Family (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Leta Blake Books
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Follow Will & Patrick as they cope with the fallout from their Vegas wedding in this second installment of the romantic-comedy serial, Wake Up Married, by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

Meeting the family is challenging for every new couple. But for Will and Patrick, the awkward family moments only grow more hilarious—and painful—when they must hide the truth of their predicament from the people they care about most.

Throw in the sexual tension flaring between them, uncomfortable run ins with Will’s all-too-recent ex-boyfriend, an overprotective mobster father, and a mafia spy tailing them around Healing, South Dakota, and you’ve got a recipe for madcap laughs and surprisingly heartwarming feels.

Episode 2 of 6 in the Wake Up Married serial.


Review:

Yet this novella was another excellent read and a great second episode to the serial. I got to learn more about Will’s family and they were complicated. Scary, yes, but complicated. The writing style flowed extremely well and I was able to enjoy without re-read to understand what was going on. Everything was explained clearly. It was also cool to learn more about Patrick. He may be a jerk, but on a deeper level, he wasn’t. I still adored Patrick more than any other characters.

I’m curious to learn more about Will’s mother. She seemed to be a strong optioned character. She did judge before get to know Patrick, but that would be what all mother would have done anyway. Will’s grandmother, on other hand, was an awesome grandmother! She was hilarious. I’m looking forward to read more between Will and Patrick. I have a great feeling things are going to turn out better for both of them even if they deny it. I believe they were meant to be together, but I shall wait and find out as I continue on reading the next episode. It was as excite as waiting for new episode coming up on television.

I highly recommended you to start first episode before starting this one or you would be completely lost since it cannot be read as a stand-alone novella. Start at the first episode and you’ll love this episode more.

November 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Foolish Encounters: A Rainbow Gold Anthology

Buy Links

Title: Foolish Encounters: A Rainbow Gold Anthology
Author: Tali Spencer, Tinnean, Elin Gregory, JC Wallace, Amy Lane, Angel Martinez, and Freddy Mackay
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

An accident, a chance encounter, a thought blurted out, a boat blown off course, a change in direction that suddenly runs into the line of fire – the smallest misstep can change everything. These foolish encounters are the moments around which lives pivot and sometimes spin out of control. Join us for tales of imprudent choices and bad decisions that can lead just as easily to hilarity as they can to tragedy.


Review:

Like most anthologies some of these stories worked and a few didn’t. Overall it is a good bunch of short stories, something fun to pick up when you’re just looking for something quick to read that’s out of the norm.

A Message from the Home Office by Angel Martinez

I really liked this one. It’s a sci-fi alien shifter story that made me chuckle. Sissal, a cobra shifter and Rcrred (Richard) a dik dik shifter are great characters and I absolutely loved the two of them together. I enjoyed this story the most it was cute, sweet and funny and I would really have loved for there to be more.

Shredding the Heart by JC Wallace

This is one of the two stories in the anthology that is a contemporary romance. Nicholas is a skateboarder and Quinn is a Financial Adviser two completely opposite men that find themselves attracted to each other. I loved their romance, it was one of those sweet slow burn things unfortunately the ending was just a bit too sappy for me. It was cute though.

The Lunar Imperative by Elin Gregory

This story took me back into the sci-fi world but I couldn’t get into this one at all. For most of the story I was confused and by the time I kind of figured out what was going on and who was who the story was over. I think there was too much of everything in too small a space.

Blue and Green Persuasion by Tinnean

Another story in the sci-fi world and for the most part I loved this one! With Blue and Green Persuasion I got a good amount of history that helped me understand why the characters were in the situation they were in. It’s very different from any sci-fi story I have ever read and I laughed a lot but I was disappointed when it ended and a bit disappointed with how it ends. It didn’t feel quite complete, I’m hoping to see this one in a longer version at some point.

Well Hello, Eight Eyes by Tali Spencer

Spider shifters? Ewwww….but who knew they could be so cute? Well one of them anyway. Main character Tanner goes out on his boat and gets caught in a storm and thrown overboard. He thinks it’s the end but he wakes up on an Island he’s never heard of with people who won’t tell him much of anything. I liked this story! It’s cute, sweet and fun, I’d love for more of this one.

The Fenestra Penetration by Amy Lane

By Amy Lane….need I say more? This is the other contemporary romance in the anthology and I loved this one. The characters are great, the story is steamy and it’s just that tiny bit quirky but that made it all the more fun to read. There is a satisfying happy for now ending but I’d love for these guys to get there happily ever after.

The Nut Job by Freddy Mackay

This story takes place in the same world as Angel Martinez’s story A Message from the Home Office. While I liked that story a lot this one lost me. I couldn’t connect to the main characters or their plight. Maybe it was just too out there for me or maybe because I’d read so many other shorts in between I got confused. I wonder if I would have liked this one more if I had of read it immediately after reading A Message from the Home Office. The story idea sounds great it just didn’t work for me.

October 30th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Enigma by Lloyd A. Meeker

Buy Links

Title: Enigma (A Russ Morgan Mystery, #)
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

Who’s blackmailing the high-profile televangelist whose son was famously cured of his homosexuality fifteen years ago? Now in 2009, that ought to be ancient history.

It seems there’s no secret to protect, no crime, not even a clear demand for money—just four threatening letters using old Enigma songs from the 90′s. But they’ve got Reverend Howard Richardson spooked.

Proudly fifty and unhappily single, gay PI Russ Morgan has made peace with being a psychic empath, and he’s managed to build a decent life since getting sober. As he uncovers obscene secrets shrouded in seeming righteousness he might have to make peace with a sword of justice that cuts the innocent as deeply as the guilty.


Review:

So I did this backwards, I read book 2 first then just had to read book one to see how this series started. While it’s not essential to read Enigma before reading Blood and Dirt Book 2 of this series I would highly recommend you do. The mystery in each book are stand-alones but there are things in Russ’s private life that I learned after reading Enigma that helped me understand him more.

Russ Morgan is a PI and an empath and he uses that to aide him in solving his cases. I loved the premise and surprisingly I even loved that there isn’t a romance in this story but there definitely looks like the beginning of one. Enigma is all about the mystery and I thought that was well done even if a bit predictable. I love this author’s writing style and so far I’m loving this series. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

October 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Everyone’s a Casualty by Jaidon Wells

Buy Links

Title: Everyone's a Casualty
Author: Jaidon Wells
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating2.5 Stars (2.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Joel is more in love with a fantasy world, and one of his own characters, than he is with his own life. He spends his days slipping between reality and the world on the other side of his bedroom door, drifting from day to day with no sense of direction.

But something is haunting the world he’s created, and when it slips out into the real world Joel must choose: surrender the world he loves, or tear it down.


Review:

This little fantasy – and I mean 39 pages little – is really out there but what a great premise! Being so out there it’s a difficult story to review, I’m sure my review will end up being just as confusing as the story.

This reminded me of Narnia, instead of a magical wardrobe there is a magical room behind one of the doors in Joel’s apartment that took Joel – the main character – into a magical world. During the day the mild mannered Joel works at a record store but in his spare time he’s a writer, the writer that has written that magical story behind that door in his apartment.

This story starts out gangbusters but as the story progresses it gets more and more confusing. Like the character in Everyone’s a Casualty I got lost between what was reality and what was fantasy. Unfortunately near the end the story goes off the rails completely and it totally lost me but I see a great deal of potential with this premise. With a bit of fleshing out, some work on the pacing and of course adding more to the story this could be a great read.

October 27th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married by Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Join the wild ride in this vibrant and fun first installment of the new romantic comedy serial by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

After a drunken night of hot sex in Vegas, strangers Will Patterson and Dr. Patrick McCloud wake up married. A quickie divorce is the most obvious way out—unless you’re the heir of a staunchly Catholic mafia boss with a draconian position on the sanctity of marriage.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, Will and Patrick don’t like it, or each other, but they have to make the best of it until they can find another way out of their marriage. To ensure the trust fund Will’s charitable foundation relies on isn’t revoked by his mobster grandfather, he and Patrick travel to Will’s hometown of Healing, South Dakota, posing as a newlywed couple in the throes of true love at first sight.

Complicating their scheme are Will’s unresolved feelings for his all-too-recent ex-boyfriend Ryan, and Patrick’s desire to get back to the only thing that really matters to him in life: neurosurgery. Will they fool everyone? Or will the mafia get wind that their marriage is a fake? Throw their simmering attraction into the mix and all bets are off!

Episode 1 of 6 in the Wake Up Married Serial.


Review:

Wake up married with no knowledge can be scary. This novella just proves it. Will sure is a whiny character but I can see why he is acting like that. He comes from a wild family where he needs to be sure everything is going as expected. Otherwise his dream will crushes easily over one tiny mistake. He can’t afford making a dramatic mistake and getting married happened to be one of the huge mistake. It is entirely up to him to try to figure out how to solve the situation without losing everything he builds.

Patrick is a jerk but a fun character to get connect with. I don’t even dislike him, in fact, I like him best out of all characters so far. I feel terribly bad for Patrick being trapped after a crazy night in Vegas. I have no knowledge about getting hitched in Vegas is much harder to get it undo. But it is what making the first episode exciter. The challenge Will and Patrick have to deal is a good storyline to introduce the first season.

I’m really looking forward to start the second episode and see what happens next. I also am looking forward to learn more about Will’s grandmother. I have a funny feeling there will be a huge problem when Will’s ex tries to get involve, so I can’t wait!

I highly recommend you to check the first episode out. The novella formats as a true episode is done extremely well. It feels like I have been watching it on television.

October 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Losing Ground by Sasha Miller

Buy Links

Title: Losing Ground
Author: Sasha Miller
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Carter Bellwood’s family has Earth-claimed the Bellwood territory for generations and they’ve always had an excess of Earth energy to back it up. Until Carter, whose energy is barely a fraction of that his mother has. But he’s the only Earth wizard in his generation and set to inherit the territory—if there’s anything left of it. The territory is being ravaged by a disease that kills all plant life it comes into contact with. They can’t cure it, can barely contain it, can only watch as their territory turns into a barren landscape. Then a new Earth wizard shows up. Tai is everything Carter is not when it comes to the strength of his magic, and more importantly he knows how to cure the disease. But he’s also terrified and clearly on the run from something, and Carter’s not sure Tai’s help is worth the risk of him trying to stake his own claim on the territory—or the risk that whatever he’s running from finds him…


Review:

I really enjoyed this fast easy little fantasy. I loved the magic and the little mystery surrounding Tai and I especially loved Carter and Tai’s relationship. Tai is hiding but from what? Carter’s family territory is under attack, everything is dying but who is responsible? The mystery in this story is a good one but my favorite thing is the relationship between Tai and Carter. Tai is sweet and somewhat naïve. He has more magical power than he knows what to do with until Carter comes along and asks for Tai’s help in repairing whatever it is that’s destroying the land. Carter is the perfect leading man for Tai, he’s patient, loving and very protective. Sasha L. Miller has written two very special characters that I would have loved to read a lot more about. The pacing was good and I liked the writing style, I can’t say anything was missing. By the end everything was answered but it ended way too fast for me, I would have loved to see a whole lot more…..maybe a sequel?

October 14th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Greenleaf’s Blessing by M. King

Buy Links

Title: Greenleaf's Blessing
Author: M. King
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating2.5 Stars (2.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

In a world where the old ways walk uneasily alongside the new, orphan Rhynn is apprenticed to old Master Wemmick, his village’s Herb Mage. He is tasked with learning the potent craft that blends herb lore and magic, but which also marks him as a pariah. After an unexpected encounter drives away the one person Rhynn considered a friend, he flees into the ancient heart of the forest… only to meet the wood’s guardian spirit, who awakens the dormant power within him.


Review:

Greenleaf’s Blessing is a very short fantasy that read more like a sample than an actual novelette. There just wasn’t enough for me to get attached to any of the characters or get immersed in the plot but I did see potential in this story. The little I learned of Rhynn and Vareth I liked but I needed a lot more. The dream like sequence where Rhynn is in the forest was erotic and sweet but I’m not really sure where that came from or where it was supposed to go. There was something missing and it left me a bit confused. I liked the writing style and I really liked how different this short is from anything I’ve read. There were just a few too many holes for me to feel anything more than like but I would love to see this story expanded on, I’m intrigued.

October 5th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Blue Paramour by Louise Ligon & Hunter Maine

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Blue Paramour (The Blue Ridge Saga, #)
Author: Louise Ligon & Hunter Maine
Cover Artist: Najla Gamberd
Publisher: Voir Media Group
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Heterosexual
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When Brayden, a devastatingly handsome heir to a prominent Southern family, is caught in a compromising position with his handsome male lover, Jackson, life as he knows it comes crashing down. Exiled from the only home he’s ever known and separated from his love, Brayden is ordered to live in Boston where he is expected to become a true man and a proper successor.

But life will show him that things don’t always go as planned…

When Brayden encounters the mysterious and powerful, Vincent Gallaud, he instead embarks on an unforgettable adventure with his newfound king in the tantalizing world of New York City, forsaking everything he has ever known. Taking him on an unexpected journey that teaches him lessons Daddy would never approve.

Back home, Jackson has no choice but to consent to marry Brayden’s greatest adversary and twin sister, Annabelle Steed. Consumed with greed and longing for revenge, Annabelle will stop at nothing to destroy Brayden’s life and rob him of his birthright, Blue Ridge.


Review:

If it were possible to give more than 5 stars this book would be one of the very few deserving of that!!!! There aren’t words to adequately describe how this story made me feel and how much I loved it. It is set in a time when the North and the South were divided on the issue of slavery and when a man caught loving another man would get you hanged.

Blue Paramour is not your typical historical romance and it took me completely by surprise. I was expecting a sweet, flowery easy to read gay romance and what I got was a gritty, angst filled drama about deception, jealousy and hatred. It’s so much more than any gay romance out there and I’m hard pressed to call it that. Yes, there is romance, actually more than one, but they are so far from the easy romance I’m used to reading, it will gut you….it did me. This is one of those few stories that had me crying buckets, one of those stories that made me want to throw my kindle in frustration for the hardships the main characters had to endure but I kept reading because through all the hardship and the angst is a really great story and some beautiful scenes. The guys are amazing and I have to say the sex is hot!

I thought the writing was incredible and the characters were perfect, even the ones I hated. The story grabbed me and wouldn’t let go. I was hooked from page one and read far into the night, I just couldn’t put it down. Even if you aren’t a fan of historical romance I think you’ll love this one. I have one pet peeve when it comes to books in a series and that’s when the story ends with a cliff-hanger like this one does. Normally those stories will lose stars from me but I was just so blown away by this particular story, it deserved every star and then some. The next book in the Saga can’t come soon enough for me!

*Note* A heads up to those readers that really dislike anything m/f in their gay romance. Blue Paramour has an m/f sex scene in it but it’s crucial to the story. I just wanted to mention it so there are no surprises.

I highly recommend this story!

October 2nd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments