Heterosexual

/Heterosexual

Review: Second Rate Posse by Lola Beverly Hills

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Second Rate Posse
Author: Lola Beverly Hills
Cover Artist: Lola Beverly Hills
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Young Adult
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Jada Williams wants to be the black Regina George, having her own set of fabulous friends that garner the most attention out of any posse they pass through the halls of Melrose High. Too bad Crystal and Junebug, her best friends since her sandbox days, would rather spend their weekends in front of Nat Geo Wild than house party hop like normal fifteen year olds. She can’t win the affections of Benjamin Banks if her posse can’t compete with the certified mean girl, KiKi Horn. When KiKi and her shameless friends, Habiba and Roxanne, take Melrose by storm, Jada becomes caught up in the competition, stopping at nothing to win. If it means paying dust to her longtime friends who can’t keep up, so be it. Jada will win the affection she’s been fighting for, but what will be her next move when it comes from someone she least expected?


Review:

Second Rate Posse was entertaining. It took me a couple chapters to be able to connected to the characters. Once I got connected to them, I really enjoyed the novel a lot. It reminded me of Mean Girls film in some way. It was a girl who wanted to be popular in her high school. Which means she had to find herself a hottest boy and be surrounded by popular people. Of course, she had a rival who wanted the same as her. Jada was annoying at first but eventually I grew onto her. Crystal was my favorite character. Imani was a hilarious character but she cared about her own friends deeply.

Benjamin was an interesting person, but he wasn’t a people person. He was the one Jada and Kiki fought for. Jada really picked the wrong guy since I could totally hand picked a right guy for her. But again, being popular infested her brain. It made the book much more entertaining and had me chuckled a couple times.

It loses a star because there were some words that were overused. Matter-of-factly for example. It was starting to get annoying to see that word being used over and over. Although, it didn’t entirely ruined the novel.

Overall, it was a good read and I can easily recommended to anyone who want to read something light and had some humor in it. I really hope the author will write at least one more book about them. I wanted to see if Jada eventually go with the guy I thought was perfect for her.

August 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Earth Three by Richard Ross

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Earth Three
Author: Richard Ross
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

David has lived all the twenty-two years of his life inside spaceship Columbus, which is the only world he knows. His destination is Earth Three, an Earth-like planet with harsh weather and life-threatening conditions, inhabited by humans for thousands of years. The only evidence that there are people still living on Earth Three is a hostile message received a few years before Columbus took off from Earth.

As Columbus approaches its destination, after a sixty-five years journey through the universe, David and his group are daunted by the hostile message and the dangers that they may face on Earth Three, both from the planet itself and from its inhabitants.

When they finally land on their new home, all their fears come true.


Review:

Earth Three was Richard Ross’s first novel. It had a great idea, enough to keep me going until the end of the novel. The writing style was what I didn’t enjoy. It was read as if it was a college essay. It took me a while to ignore the writing style and concentrate on the story itself. It had so many promising from the author, though. I could see his talent of putting ideas to share with the readers. It just had too much of telling than showing, so it was a bit difficult for me to imagine the world the author tried to build inside my head. It was also told in a present tenses, which I wasn’t a big fan of. For this type of story, I honestly think it’d sit well with past tenses, but that was just my preference.

The dialogue style the author chose for the people who lived on Earth Three didn’t fit the story well. It clearly stated the people of the district who were taller than normal were dumb people. Full of violence type of people and yet the way they talked, acted as if they did have some intelligent in them. So, it was a bit frustrating for me to be able to feel the fears David felt when he was surrounded by the “giants”.

The size of the spaceship didn’t make any sense to me either. I would be fine with the size and all, if there were more of David’s people, but it only mentioned like 5 to 8 of them the entire time. I wondered where did the kids come from. So many important details were taken out of the novel. Basically, the all important details I was looking for, being the clear definition of what the ship looked like inside and outside as well as the environment around the ship, had been taken out of the novel. That frustrated me deeply. I loved sci-fi and they usually were filled with an awesome description of what the world looked like. People’s own language, for example.

So, I accepted for those details missing out and managed to enjoy the novel as is. I loved the fact that they were in space far too long and finally found a new planet to live. The terror David and his people had to go through were well written, except the fact that it was telling rather than showing, which I was okay with it. The battle was fun to read as well.

All in all, I eventually enjoyed the novel. If it was edited really well and had been re-release, I definitely would give it another shot.

August 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Population by Elizabeth Stephens

Buy Links

Title: Population
Author: Elizabeth Stephens
Cover Artist: Amygdala Art
Publisher: Vantage Point Books
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Lawlessness, violence and desperation are all that is left of the world following the coming of the Others. Abel exists only within the boundaries that her rules allow — rules that she created to keep her alive. But when her best friend’s daughter is taken by the Others, she can’t keep playing by the rule book. Instead, she must begin a life defining journey that will test her survival techniques and challenge her ability to find what she has always feared: hope.


Review:

Population was an amazing read! So many things had happen from the beginning to the very cliff-hanging ending. I loved it. Of course I was being a baby brat when I reached to the end of the book. I wasn’t a huge fan of cliff-hanging type of book, but hey, the sequel will be out in April 2016. I guess I will have to be very patient and wait for it to be released. I really want to know what happened to all characters! Abel was a strong woman in the novel. She was a true survivor. She had gone through hell since the world went insane.

The novel was original as well. Sure, there were plenty of stories that had a similar concept of how the world went apocalyptical. But the creatures the author created was more than original. The life style people had to survive was not what I had seen in a book or a film in the past so this novel scored an A plus when it came to originality.

There were plenty of actions that kept me on a tip of the cliff. I just had to keep on reading and reading until I reached the end. Of course I was being a baby brat when I read the last page. I so didn’t see it coming, but it made me even more excite to read when the second book come out. I probably will end up re-reading it before starting second book.

I really dig Kane out of all characters. Kane was different from his own people and he was just awesome. I couldn’t explain why because I would spoil the novel for you. You just had to grab a copy and read Population. It was that good! It had horror, action/adventure, romance, and a mix of sci-fi and fantasy thrown in for a good measure. This was a type of book I’d easily pick up and fell in love with the world the author created easily. I can’t wait to find out more about Abel and Kane in second novel!

I highly recommended if you enjoy a novel with a strong heroine. It had plenty of action and a good touch of romance so it would be a good fit for any readers. Don’t wait too long to check this one out!

August 6th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Love Cubed by Eddy LeFey

Buy Links

Title: Love Cubed
Author: Eddy LeFey
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, & Heterosexual
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Three very different young men meet at St-Frederick’s University.

Francis, haunted by his past and seeking a new life.

Andrew, the introverted football jock.

And Sebastian, the charismatic and confident hockey star.

Francis, wary and troubled, didn’t count on meeting anyone he could care for.

Andrew, closeted and lonely, didn’t think anything would matter more than his football career.

Sebastian, content to float from conquest to conquest, never believed he’d meet someone who could hold his interest.

An encounter with a journalist causes consequences for all three.

Will they be able to take what they need from one another in order to cope?


Review:

Love Cubed was actually the first novel I have read that had a polygamous relationship and I thought the author did extremely well with the relationship development between three men. Out of the three men (Francis, Andrew, and Sebastian), Andrew was my favorite and the most character I felt connected to. I used to play football back in high school and I was closeted that time as well. But not once did I care to think about guys in the locker room, I just want to play some football and that was it. So, that was why I was able to relate to Andrew.

Francis was the most mysterious character and once I got more details about him, I was able to connect to him much more. Sebastian was an easy character to get connected to. He was a common jock, but with a big heart when it was needed. Just to read how they all started to express their feeling toward each other with a help from two awesome people, which were Heather and John. I definitely adored them equally. Heather was a strong female in the novel and she wouldn’t accept the disrespectful type of people and she would say something about it. John, being such a sweetheart and opened mind person, was a great roommate for Andrew.

The whole dramas the guys had to go through was very real. It was very realistic and could happen at this very moment. Someone would bully a gay person in a locker room while the adults weren’t around. That was a scary thought if you think about it. The author provided a realistic perspective, which was exactly what I was looking for. Especially a polygamous relationship, which was tough to write. The author did well!

I gave it a four stars because I feel the ending could have been better than what it currently stood. I ended rather abruptly and I felt that there were so much more to wrap up the novel. This one lacked it a bit.

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot and I seriously doubt you would be disappointed with it.

July 3rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Breaking of Bonds by Alina Popescu

Buy Links

Title: The Breaking of Bonds (Bad Blood Trilogy, )
Author: Alina Popescu
Cover Artist: M.P. Revita
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer 


Blurb:

A human sacrifice throws vampires of two worlds, trueborn and baseborn, into an escalating conflict. One side pushes for revenge, the other for freedom. The trueborns stubbornly hunt for Anthony and Louis, pushed by Hesrah’s desire to avenge her human best friend, Alexa. The baseborns are divided between rallying with those challenging the rule of Ankhsis and obeying the trueborns.

What emerges from the portal between Earth and Ankhsis in the middle of the turmoil rocking both worlds is more dead than alive. Neither human, nor baseborn, and certainly not trueborn. This new being will either damn them all or be their race’s most powerful weapon. Will they trust it not to destroy them, or will Ankhsis decide putting it down is the only solution?

In the end, who is guilty? Who will pay? Will anyone survive its wrath?


Review:

The Breaking of Bonds had gotten better after the first book! I truly loved how original the novel was. After reading the blurb, I realized writing a review of this novel would be much challenging since I couldn’t exactly name a couple people that was in the novel. However, the trueborns’ home was amazingly awesome. There was something that flew fifty feet away from the portal and it was still alive. Just barely. The shocking thing was… This fallen body on the ground were neither a human, a baseborn, or a trueborn. It was a new being that no one ever met. This person was the most powerful being at the moment.

I was able to get to know Hesrah more in this novel and kept loving her character. She wanted to avenge Alexa by chasing down Anthony and Louis for betraying her. I was also introduced to Hesrah’s brother, Seth. He was one confused pal! He couldn’t make up his mind about how he truly felt for a certain person. It was frustrating (in a good way, mind you) to see how stubborn Seth was. In some way, he was a whining, spoiled brat.

As the novel ended, it ended on a softer cliffhanger so I wasn’t complaining. Although, I really hope the third book is nearly finished! I have a good feeling I know who gave the orders to Anthony, but I can’t say it here. 😀

I highly recommended! Vampire fan or not, still awesome!

June 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Edge of Hope by Alina Popescu

Buy Links

Title: The Edge of Hope (Bad Blood Trilogy, )
Author: Alina Popescu
Cover Artist: M.P. Revita
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer 


Blurb:

Everyone she loved betrayed her. She felt lost and broken. Getting away from the pain and embracing a new path, Alexa decided to leave her old life behind and chase a long forgotten dream in Malta. There she met a gorgeous man, bearing the scent of fresh love. He led her to a new city to explore, Amsterdam. Is the tall, dark, and delicious man a dream come true or just a risky gamble?

Alexa chose hope and new beginnings over fear and warning signs only to be brutally dragged into a world she never really thought existed. Vampires, their feuds, and her future held tightly in their hands.

Trapped in a mysterious world, Alexa gives love chance after chance. Following her quest of self-discovery in a blood bound world, will she survive the journey?


Review:

I’ve been seeing The Edge of Hope all over the social network and when I found out the sequel to it was about to come up, I knew I just have to give this novel a chance. I’m glad I did! It was a great vampire novel and I haven’t read vampire stories for a while, so it was a nice change for me to read The Edge of Hope. The plots were all there and the author chose to focus on the story itself rather than relationship, which was what I really enjoyed about the novel.

Alexa was truly a fun character to read. She had a strong mind and would speak up whether she like it or not, even if she knew that would cause her death, but she bravely kept on to it. I adored Alexa very much and I especially loved Hesrah. As much as I would love to explain who she was in the novel, I just couldn’t because it was a secret at the beginning of the novel until Alexa got herself in a horribly bad situation with the wrong man. I just couldn’t stop reading until the end. Of course I was completely frustrated when it ended on a cliffhanger, but hey, I only needed to wait for three days before the sequel The Breaking of Bonds comes out.

Another favorite part about the book was how the vampires started. Louis was an interesting character as well and he played an important role in the novel as well. The ending shocked me and it just ended there. I applaud the author for keeping the vampires’ background as original as possible. I knew it was hard since there were beyond too many vampire stories out there right now and I didn’t see any similarities to The Edge of Hope. I highly recommended you to check it out! Vampire fan or not, you will still enjoy them.

June 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Ravens Crossing Book Two by Three Authors

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: The Raven Crossing Book Two (The Raven Crossing, )
Author: Amanda Corlies, Andi Lea, and West Thornhill
Cover Artist: Andi Lea
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Young Adult
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Lesbian, & Heterosexual
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

This is the second book in The Ravens Crossing series.
Previous book: The Raven Crossing: Book One
Next book: The Raven Crossing: Book Two

The Ravens Crossing is a serialized LGBTQ and straight ally young adult series. It is a paranormal/science fiction/fantasy adventure. TRC is written by three authors sharing a world. Books One, Two, and Three follow the adventures of thirteen high school friends. This volume contains Season Two stories in the order they were originally published at the companion website www.theravenscrossing.org.

***

Welcome back to Wildwood, where keeping secrets has become a way of life. Because being a Gaea is nothing if not complicated. But, when thirteen high school seniors come into their full powers as Earth, Air, Water, Fire, and Time Gaeas, they begin to uncover a depth of deception surrounding them that may tear some of them apart. The secrets revealed will shake them to their very foundations, and just when these friends need to trust each other the most, they will end up keeping secrets from each other.

With Gaea abilities that range from astral projection to firestarting to time travel and a whole lot in between, the Thirteen must learn to protect themselves. They should be focused on college acceptance letters, but planning for their future involves Armors teaching them martial arts and swordplay. Instead of learning from a history text, they are learning the intricacies of time travel from a legendary eccentric named Amyntas. With each discovery, from Gaea genetics to ancient prophecies, to what it means to become bonded as a Tempus and Solus, the stakes get higher. Because Frederick Demetrius, Donna Holden, and a mysterious man named Jiro seem fixated on Wildwood. They want something from the Thirteen, and they don’t mind taking out anyone who stands in their way.


Review:

It took me over a year to finish the book. All in all, it’s a good book, but it was too long for my taste. There are a lot of scenes that can be easily cut off from the book and shorten it a bit. For example, one scene was repeated a few times from different POV and I got tired of reading the similar scene. I loved the characters the authors created for this world. They have gone through tough times, especially for their ages. As soon as the book ended, it left me with nothing to be honest. I thought they’d encountered something crazy with Frederick, Donna, and Jiro, but I guess I’ll need to check the third book out when I can. It’s longer than book three, so I’ll still get it and read as often as I can until I finish the book. I know it wasn’t the best review I’ve yet to write. The book basically left me exhausted and speechless. If you have plenty of time, the series is worth a checking out. The abilities the characters had were brilliant and I loved the type of powers the authors created for them.

June 17th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Appearances (Opposites, #2) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: Appearances (Opposites, )
Author: T.M. Smith
Cover Artist: T.L. Shreffler at Runaway Book Design
Publisher: TTC Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi and Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Appearances, can be deceiving.

Raven and Tanis are trying very hard to merge their vastly different lifestyles, but Tanis issues with his own past could prove to be more than their fragile relationship can handle. Is their love for each other strong enough to weather the oncoming storm?

Aiya and Sawyer have fought hard to be together in a world where Opposite relationships are generally forbidden. Yet, they are still forced to keep their relationship a secret while they are outside the walls of House Gaeland.

Everyone assumes that the only threat lies outside their walls, the group of rebels led by Cillian. But something is happening within House Gaeland, something that hasn’t happened since GWI. And with all the attention focused on that, their guard is down. An evil that was under their nose all along strikes, and someone will make the ultimate sacrifice to save another.

Appearances is the second book in the Opposites series, the series should be read in order.

** Warning, Opposites is an Adult Dystopian majorly M/M series that contains explicit sexual content and relationships between gay, straight and lesbian couples. **


Review:

This had to be my favorite book of the series because I have a soft heart for Raven aka the Priest. Raven took a while to accept the love from Tanis, and I was glad Raven gave it a good thought before he chose to make the right decision. When Tanis wasn’t able to deal with his own acceptance of the past and often worried Raven would stop loving Tanis for his past, I wanted to slap his head! Past is past. Got to focus on the present.

What happened on the ship caught me off guard between Aiya and Sawyer and it made the book much stronger with a crazy twisty plot. I wasn’t having any issue with figuring out who was thinking or doing the action because I’d gotten used to the author’s writing style by the time I started <em>Appearances</em>. There were so many chaotic going on at Aiya’s home and it forced Raven do something he never would have imagined himself doing to a certain person. But in the end, it made him a powerful person and was able to solved the minor issue with Tanis.

I also got to learned more about a horrible secret Aiya’s father never knew about his brother. It made a whole new twisty plot I cannot wait to read in the next book. It is going to be huge. The secrets have all been revealed now. Truly a wonderful series that continued getting better.

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot, but remember, read the first book first before you started this one or you would be completely lost.

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Opposites (Opposites, #1) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: Opposites (Opposites, )
Author: T.M. Smith
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: TTC Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi and Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

In the year 2081 our planet survived global warming of an apocalyptic scale. When the dust settled and the water receded Dr. Anthony Smith, one of only a few hundred survivors of GWI, started society anew. Having come to the conclusion that injudicious breeding played a huge role in the destruction of Earth as we knew it in the twenty first century, he worked closely with other survivors to isolate the Dionysus gene. This gene has the ability to manipulate human DNA to ensure that all male children be born gay, and all female children be born lesbians. A new society is born.

In the year 2300 Dr. Smith’s descendants are ushering in the twenty fourth century having maintained control of the government that still rules society. Twins Aiya and Aiyan are preparing to meet their matches and take control of House Gaeland, the current ruling House. But not everything is as it seems.

Love is Love.. it knows no gender and doesn’t conform to restrictions and boundaries. Aiyan has found his soul mate in Kaden, the prince of House Devi that he is matched with and eventually marries. But when the person Aiya falls in love with tests the boundaries put in place after GWI, all hell breaks loose. And in the midst of one secret unraveling, another will emerge. There is a growing anomaly that threatens to destroy over two hundred years of progression. This anomaly is known as Opposites.

*WARNING* Opposites is a majorly M/M New Adult novel that contains explicit sexual content and relationships between gay, lesbian and straight couples.


Review:

I had a rough start with the books because I’m normally not a huge fan of several names that was too similar. Aiyan and Aiya for example. I often get confused between them two. There were simple too much head-hopping that took me a while to acknowledged who was actually thinking or doing the action. On the brighter note, the couple the author chose to have them together were fantastic. The world-building the author developed were amazing detailed and I could imagine the land inside my head easily. It was more of contemporary type of story but it was considered sci-fi since it was set in the future. There were straight couple, gay couple, lesbian couple, and possibly a bisexual person in the book. I was worried about that type of world and how they would make heterosexual looked horrible in the book, but it didn’t. I was really relived for that. It was good enough to make it a four star in my opinion and it was a book I would re-read again just to make myself much more familiarized with the series.

It’s a book I’d recommended if you don’t mind head-hopping type of POV and so many names in a book. 🙂

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Ember Yearns (The Seeker, #3) by Ditter Kellen

Title: Ember Yearns (The Seeker, )
Author: Ditter Kellen
Cover Artist: Syneca Featherstone
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual
Length: Novella
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:
The book is no longer available to purchase. 

After a night of incredible passion in the arms of Angelo Dimitrov, Ember betrays his trust to save a young woman from the serial killer known as the Seeker. With determination as her guide, Ember faces her biggest fear and runs headlong into the killer’s path, but things aren’t always as they seem.

Angel has never been more frustrated with another person than he is with Ember Wells. The beautiful vixen captured his heart, even as her reckless behavior spawns his rage. Amidst the lies and confusion, one thing is clear: Ember’s in danger. Now Angel must become the hunter and pray he’s not too late.


Review:

By now if you have been reading this series you are aware of the vampire component introduced in Ember Learns. Here Ember’s story continues and we are introduced to two new characters. One being Shon, Embers cousin and the other being Gina, his sire. Gina is a strong character that I am sure will appear in further installments of the series. Shon’s humor adds another layer to this action, mystery, supernatural, erotic, and suspense filled adventure.

Ember and Angel’s relationship is still being developed with each trying to sort out their feelings and role. With the Seeker still after Ember Angel’s protectiveness increases and Ember becomes increasing agitated by that. Add to it, the fact that Ember will soon be going through her change and the complexity of their relationship increases. Aside from all that, the spontaneous heat between these two continues unfaltering.

As we have come to expect this installment yet again leaves us with a cliffhanger that we have to patiently await an answer to. The author once again has continued the suspense filled M/F erotic adventure. At the risk of sounding repetitious with this series, I once again found myself engrossed in a pager turner with a writing style that is captivating and engaging. Next installment please!

April 6th, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment