Lesbian

/Lesbian

Review: Bug Queen by Jen Ponce

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Bug Queen (Queen Trilogy, )
Author: Jen Ponce
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Horror
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing:
Length: Novel
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

A small town with an alien secret buried in its foundation.
A mysterious box willed to an unsuspecting niece.
An insidious parasite with only one goal: to infest and destroy all life on Earth.
One woman with unwanted power and an entire planet to save.

“Do not risk the life of your planet on wishful thinking. The infected must die.”

Vedalia Kirkaldy is deathly afraid of bugs, which makes the scarab-topped box her uncle leaves for her to find very strange indeed. But it isn’t what’s on the box but what’s in it: an alien creature that wants to help Vedalia save her world from the parasitic invader bent on starting the apocalypse.

Sabra Dempsey’s job is to protect and serve but when she meets Vedalia, she finds herself longing to do more than just guard her from harm. What could be the start of a great new relationship is interrupted by the meteor than crashes into a bean field and unleashes the beginning of the end of the world.

Together, Vedalia and Sabra fight to save the town from being overrun by an insidious parasite that spreads faster than they realize. Either they root out and eradicate every bit of the threat or watch as the fungus turns humanity into alien zombies.


Review:

Bug Queen was an interesting read. I found it through Amazon Unlimited and was relieved that the book was awesome. It was a different type of zombie novel, except it was caused by aliens. The whole bugs thing got me icky. I don’t like to be around bugs as much as Vedalia did. I really love how original the novel was as well. It was focus on the plot rather than the relationship development between Vedalia and Sabra. Although, they would be awesome together if the story continues on.

The part where Vedalia’s ex showed up and how Vedalia reacted totally caught me off guard. I didn’t think it was necessary for her to be like that, though. I did understand why she felt she needed to do that, but not necessary. Scare her off would be the best in my opinion. But again, I didn’t write the story. If the author felt it was important to be included in the novel, then so be it.

The length of the book was just right. It contained all details that support the novel really well. I didn’t find any flaw from it. Just disgusted by the awesome description the author describe for the monsters and how bugs deal things around people. Having a story that grossed me out a bit got on my win side easily. I can easily recommend this book to any horror fan. Yes, it was a lesbian horror novel but the pairing in the book didn’t matter. It was how the characters deal with the apocalypse that was important. Check it out! I seriously doubt you’ll be disappointed with it, disgusted maybe, but definitely not disappointed.

July 27th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Cinder and the Smoke by Geonn Cannon

Buy Links

Title: Cinder and the Smoke
Author: Geonn Cannon
Cover Artist: Heidi DeCausemaker
Publisher: Supposed Crimes LLC
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Historical
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

In nineteenth century New York, safes aren’t living up to their name. A thief so wily, so impossible to capture the the police call her “the Smoke” has been targeting the wealthy. In reality the Smoke is a woman named Kezia Cyr, a woman born in prison, stolen from her mother, and raised by runaways and pickpockets. When her emotions causes a job to blow up in her face, Kezia’s adoptive family scatters and she is left to avenge those she’s lost.

The Smoke may finally meet her match in Pinkerton Agent Shelby Button who earned the moniker “Cinder” for running into a burning building to capture a criminal. Button finds Kezia’s trail and refuses to let her prey go without a fight.

With a decade-old murder to avenge, Kezia will stop at nothing to correct her past mistakes, and Agent Button is willing to trek across the country to bring the phantom Smoke to justice once and for all.


Review:

I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading this story, to say it’s something very different is an understatement, for me anyways. It’s not for the faint of heart, it’s dark and you won’t get a happy ending here nor will you get a romance – at least not in the typical sense – but I really enjoyed it.

Kezia, the MC is a kick-ass, I can take care of myself kind of girl. Having been born in prison life doesn’t start out on the right foot. It’s not a surprise that she goes through one hardship after another but she survives and I loved that. She gets caught up in a gang of boys that gives her the family she’s never had but the life she leads with them can send her back to the place she was born. Violence, thievery, revenge and exploring her sexuality made this an intriguing story and a hard one to put down.

The story is well written, the descriptive words made it easy to visualize and put me right into the story. Kezia is one of those characters I would love to meet and love to read about, a strong and resourceful woman. A heads up, some of the terminology may be offensive to some but it’s the way things were in Kezia’s time. Also Kezia sleeps with men but she prefers women, her longest relationship is with a women so Lesbian fiction is the genre I’d put Cinder and the Smoke in. If that is a genre you don’t read you may not pick this one up but I think you should I don’t think you’d be sorry.

I highly recommend Cinder and the Smoke.

July 1st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Breaking of Bonds by Alina Popescu

Buy Links

Title: The Breaking of Bonds (Bad Blood Trilogy, )
Author: Alina Popescu
Cover Artist: M.P. Revita
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer 


Blurb:

A human sacrifice throws vampires of two worlds, trueborn and baseborn, into an escalating conflict. One side pushes for revenge, the other for freedom. The trueborns stubbornly hunt for Anthony and Louis, pushed by Hesrah’s desire to avenge her human best friend, Alexa. The baseborns are divided between rallying with those challenging the rule of Ankhsis and obeying the trueborns.

What emerges from the portal between Earth and Ankhsis in the middle of the turmoil rocking both worlds is more dead than alive. Neither human, nor baseborn, and certainly not trueborn. This new being will either damn them all or be their race’s most powerful weapon. Will they trust it not to destroy them, or will Ankhsis decide putting it down is the only solution?

In the end, who is guilty? Who will pay? Will anyone survive its wrath?


Review:

The Breaking of Bonds had gotten better after the first book! I truly loved how original the novel was. After reading the blurb, I realized writing a review of this novel would be much challenging since I couldn’t exactly name a couple people that was in the novel. However, the trueborns’ home was amazingly awesome. There was something that flew fifty feet away from the portal and it was still alive. Just barely. The shocking thing was… This fallen body on the ground were neither a human, a baseborn, or a trueborn. It was a new being that no one ever met. This person was the most powerful being at the moment.

I was able to get to know Hesrah more in this novel and kept loving her character. She wanted to avenge Alexa by chasing down Anthony and Louis for betraying her. I was also introduced to Hesrah’s brother, Seth. He was one confused pal! He couldn’t make up his mind about how he truly felt for a certain person. It was frustrating (in a good way, mind you) to see how stubborn Seth was. In some way, he was a whining, spoiled brat.

As the novel ended, it ended on a softer cliffhanger so I wasn’t complaining. Although, I really hope the third book is nearly finished! I have a good feeling I know who gave the orders to Anthony, but I can’t say it here. 😀

I highly recommended! Vampire fan or not, still awesome!

June 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Edge of Hope by Alina Popescu

Buy Links

Title: The Edge of Hope (Bad Blood Trilogy, )
Author: Alina Popescu
Cover Artist: M.P. Revita
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Heterosexual & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer 


Blurb:

Everyone she loved betrayed her. She felt lost and broken. Getting away from the pain and embracing a new path, Alexa decided to leave her old life behind and chase a long forgotten dream in Malta. There she met a gorgeous man, bearing the scent of fresh love. He led her to a new city to explore, Amsterdam. Is the tall, dark, and delicious man a dream come true or just a risky gamble?

Alexa chose hope and new beginnings over fear and warning signs only to be brutally dragged into a world she never really thought existed. Vampires, their feuds, and her future held tightly in their hands.

Trapped in a mysterious world, Alexa gives love chance after chance. Following her quest of self-discovery in a blood bound world, will she survive the journey?


Review:

I’ve been seeing The Edge of Hope all over the social network and when I found out the sequel to it was about to come up, I knew I just have to give this novel a chance. I’m glad I did! It was a great vampire novel and I haven’t read vampire stories for a while, so it was a nice change for me to read The Edge of Hope. The plots were all there and the author chose to focus on the story itself rather than relationship, which was what I really enjoyed about the novel.

Alexa was truly a fun character to read. She had a strong mind and would speak up whether she like it or not, even if she knew that would cause her death, but she bravely kept on to it. I adored Alexa very much and I especially loved Hesrah. As much as I would love to explain who she was in the novel, I just couldn’t because it was a secret at the beginning of the novel until Alexa got herself in a horribly bad situation with the wrong man. I just couldn’t stop reading until the end. Of course I was completely frustrated when it ended on a cliffhanger, but hey, I only needed to wait for three days before the sequel The Breaking of Bonds comes out.

Another favorite part about the book was how the vampires started. Louis was an interesting character as well and he played an important role in the novel as well. The ending shocked me and it just ended there. I applaud the author for keeping the vampires’ background as original as possible. I knew it was hard since there were beyond too many vampire stories out there right now and I didn’t see any similarities to The Edge of Hope. I highly recommended you to check it out! Vampire fan or not, you will still enjoy them.

June 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Ravens Crossing Book Two by Three Authors

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: The Raven Crossing Book Two (The Raven Crossing, )
Author: Amanda Corlies, Andi Lea, and West Thornhill
Cover Artist: Andi Lea
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Young Adult
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Lesbian, & Heterosexual
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

This is the second book in The Ravens Crossing series.
Previous book: The Raven Crossing: Book One
Next book: The Raven Crossing: Book Two

The Ravens Crossing is a serialized LGBTQ and straight ally young adult series. It is a paranormal/science fiction/fantasy adventure. TRC is written by three authors sharing a world. Books One, Two, and Three follow the adventures of thirteen high school friends. This volume contains Season Two stories in the order they were originally published at the companion website www.theravenscrossing.org.

***

Welcome back to Wildwood, where keeping secrets has become a way of life. Because being a Gaea is nothing if not complicated. But, when thirteen high school seniors come into their full powers as Earth, Air, Water, Fire, and Time Gaeas, they begin to uncover a depth of deception surrounding them that may tear some of them apart. The secrets revealed will shake them to their very foundations, and just when these friends need to trust each other the most, they will end up keeping secrets from each other.

With Gaea abilities that range from astral projection to firestarting to time travel and a whole lot in between, the Thirteen must learn to protect themselves. They should be focused on college acceptance letters, but planning for their future involves Armors teaching them martial arts and swordplay. Instead of learning from a history text, they are learning the intricacies of time travel from a legendary eccentric named Amyntas. With each discovery, from Gaea genetics to ancient prophecies, to what it means to become bonded as a Tempus and Solus, the stakes get higher. Because Frederick Demetrius, Donna Holden, and a mysterious man named Jiro seem fixated on Wildwood. They want something from the Thirteen, and they don’t mind taking out anyone who stands in their way.


Review:

It took me over a year to finish the book. All in all, it’s a good book, but it was too long for my taste. There are a lot of scenes that can be easily cut off from the book and shorten it a bit. For example, one scene was repeated a few times from different POV and I got tired of reading the similar scene. I loved the characters the authors created for this world. They have gone through tough times, especially for their ages. As soon as the book ended, it left me with nothing to be honest. I thought they’d encountered something crazy with Frederick, Donna, and Jiro, but I guess I’ll need to check the third book out when I can. It’s longer than book three, so I’ll still get it and read as often as I can until I finish the book. I know it wasn’t the best review I’ve yet to write. The book basically left me exhausted and speechless. If you have plenty of time, the series is worth a checking out. The abilities the characters had were brilliant and I loved the type of powers the authors created for them.

June 17th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Broken Forest by Megan Derr

Buy Links

Title: The Broken Forest
Author: Megan Derr
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Lesbian, and Trans*
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When women and children begin to vanish, the people of Edge village summon a Huntress. Though she is long due for a break and exhausted from her previous assignment, Adamina accepts the assignment and heads for Edge. But when she arrives, the simple assignment she anticipated proves instead to be complicated—complicated enough she must consult with a witch. A beautiful, compelling witch that makes Adamina sharply aware of her own lonely life, and tempts her to make it less lonely.

Assuming the forest doesn’t kill them first.


Review:

The Broken Forest is a dark twist on the fairy tale. This tale is about two powerful women one a huntress and the other a witch. These two face the darker horrors spun from the traditional Rapunzel tale. What you need to know is that these women join forces to eradicate the “broken forest” of the dangers created in the past. The book opens with women and children disappearing from the Edge village that requires the assistance of a huntress.

The huntress Adamina defends and protects the forests when called upon by the villagers within the kingdom. She is both respected and feared because of her power. Grete focuses the use of her powers on healing those in need and is more low key but still feared as much as the huntress. Both women are connected to the forest and complement each other well. There are references made that Adamina is transgender which is just part of who she is.

The magical/fantasy aspects thought-out the story are well depicted and tie the story together well. We are given a unique look at the fairy tale that engages the reader. Contained within are monsters, witch craft, romance, and a wolf that steals the show. While the short story works as written there is much that could be explored about Adamina, Grete, and many of the other characters mentioned along the way and give us more from the world that has been built. All in all this is a novella that is worth your time.

June 12th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Appearances (Opposites, #2) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: Appearances (Opposites, )
Author: T.M. Smith
Cover Artist: T.L. Shreffler at Runaway Book Design
Publisher: TTC Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi and Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Appearances, can be deceiving.

Raven and Tanis are trying very hard to merge their vastly different lifestyles, but Tanis issues with his own past could prove to be more than their fragile relationship can handle. Is their love for each other strong enough to weather the oncoming storm?

Aiya and Sawyer have fought hard to be together in a world where Opposite relationships are generally forbidden. Yet, they are still forced to keep their relationship a secret while they are outside the walls of House Gaeland.

Everyone assumes that the only threat lies outside their walls, the group of rebels led by Cillian. But something is happening within House Gaeland, something that hasn’t happened since GWI. And with all the attention focused on that, their guard is down. An evil that was under their nose all along strikes, and someone will make the ultimate sacrifice to save another.

Appearances is the second book in the Opposites series, the series should be read in order.

** Warning, Opposites is an Adult Dystopian majorly M/M series that contains explicit sexual content and relationships between gay, straight and lesbian couples. **


Review:

This had to be my favorite book of the series because I have a soft heart for Raven aka the Priest. Raven took a while to accept the love from Tanis, and I was glad Raven gave it a good thought before he chose to make the right decision. When Tanis wasn’t able to deal with his own acceptance of the past and often worried Raven would stop loving Tanis for his past, I wanted to slap his head! Past is past. Got to focus on the present.

What happened on the ship caught me off guard between Aiya and Sawyer and it made the book much stronger with a crazy twisty plot. I wasn’t having any issue with figuring out who was thinking or doing the action because I’d gotten used to the author’s writing style by the time I started <em>Appearances</em>. There were so many chaotic going on at Aiya’s home and it forced Raven do something he never would have imagined himself doing to a certain person. But in the end, it made him a powerful person and was able to solved the minor issue with Tanis.

I also got to learned more about a horrible secret Aiya’s father never knew about his brother. It made a whole new twisty plot I cannot wait to read in the next book. It is going to be huge. The secrets have all been revealed now. Truly a wonderful series that continued getting better.

I highly recommended you to give this book a shot, but remember, read the first book first before you started this one or you would be completely lost.

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Opposites (Opposites, #1) by T.M. Smith

Buy Links

Title: Opposites (Opposites, )
Author: T.M. Smith
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: TTC Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi and Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

In the year 2081 our planet survived global warming of an apocalyptic scale. When the dust settled and the water receded Dr. Anthony Smith, one of only a few hundred survivors of GWI, started society anew. Having come to the conclusion that injudicious breeding played a huge role in the destruction of Earth as we knew it in the twenty first century, he worked closely with other survivors to isolate the Dionysus gene. This gene has the ability to manipulate human DNA to ensure that all male children be born gay, and all female children be born lesbians. A new society is born.

In the year 2300 Dr. Smith’s descendants are ushering in the twenty fourth century having maintained control of the government that still rules society. Twins Aiya and Aiyan are preparing to meet their matches and take control of House Gaeland, the current ruling House. But not everything is as it seems.

Love is Love.. it knows no gender and doesn’t conform to restrictions and boundaries. Aiyan has found his soul mate in Kaden, the prince of House Devi that he is matched with and eventually marries. But when the person Aiya falls in love with tests the boundaries put in place after GWI, all hell breaks loose. And in the midst of one secret unraveling, another will emerge. There is a growing anomaly that threatens to destroy over two hundred years of progression. This anomaly is known as Opposites.

*WARNING* Opposites is a majorly M/M New Adult novel that contains explicit sexual content and relationships between gay, lesbian and straight couples.


Review:

I had a rough start with the books because I’m normally not a huge fan of several names that was too similar. Aiyan and Aiya for example. I often get confused between them two. There were simple too much head-hopping that took me a while to acknowledged who was actually thinking or doing the action. On the brighter note, the couple the author chose to have them together were fantastic. The world-building the author developed were amazing detailed and I could imagine the land inside my head easily. It was more of contemporary type of story but it was considered sci-fi since it was set in the future. There were straight couple, gay couple, lesbian couple, and possibly a bisexual person in the book. I was worried about that type of world and how they would make heterosexual looked horrible in the book, but it didn’t. I was really relived for that. It was good enough to make it a four star in my opinion and it was a book I would re-read again just to make myself much more familiarized with the series.

It’s a book I’d recommended if you don’t mind head-hopping type of POV and so many names in a book. 🙂

May 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: A Touch of Mistletoe Anthology

Buy Links

Title: A Touch of Mistletoe
Author: A.F. Henley, E.E. Ottoman, J.K. Pendragon, Megan Derr, and Talya Andor
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Less Than Three Press presents a collection of stories about people brought together by the magic of mistletoe…

Here for You by J.K. Pendragon
Warren’s life has been shrinking ever since his wife passed away. Blind, and finding it difficult to adjust to life on his own, it’s easier to hide away in his house. When his friend Missy invites him to a Christmas party, an unexpected kiss with a stranger under the mistletoe leaves him confused and wondering…

The Christmas Spirit by Talya Andor
Christmas in Japan is no big deal for Ash Harmon, with his family half a world away and supernatural problems that have no respect for the holidays. When he picks up a bodyguard job for a rising star of figure skating who seems to be encountering trouble with a restless spirit, he stubbornly resists the unexpected attraction to his charge, wary of the risks that come with relationships. But the mistletoe has other ideas…

A Beautiful Thing by A.F. Henley
Sometimes, Fate gets tired of being ignored. And some nights, Fate decides something will just have to be done about it. Enter Drualus, Senior Correspondent for the Collective Assembly of Christmas Fae, working with the Night Before Reach Out Program. He’s got a few short hours to change Scott Misener’s outlook on life, love, and understanding. Lucky for Scott, Dru knows a tried and true trope that might just do the trick…

Ad Meliora by E.E. Ottoman
It’s Christmas Eve and An-An and M.C. have plans to spend Christmas in Texas with An-An’s family. But their plans are cut short when M.C. takes on a last minute case. Thankfully, though, it should be an easy exorcism.

Until they arrive at the snowbound lodge where trouble resides, and come face to face with a demon wolf unlike anything they’ve ever encountered.

Two Parts Mistletoe by Megan Derr
Kingston has worked hard to get where he is: owner of his own shop, master potion maker, well-respected… and lonely, too busy with life to enjoy more than his regular visits to Acacia House. If he wishes his loneliness might be eased by Hux, the man he meets at Acacia twice a month, well, someday he’ll work up the nerve to ask. Maybe.

Then Hux unexpectedly visits his shop, distressed and in desperate need of help to save his employer from a love potion…


Review:

A Touch of Mistletoe is a unique collection of holiday shorts. Most of the shorts have a mystical component to them taking you on journeys that toy with your emotions. It is hard to pick one favorite of the bunch but Two Parts Mistletoe comes out on top for me. If you missed this during the holiday season put in on your “to read” list for this year that is unless you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the holiday season and enjoy them now.

Here for You by J.K. Pendragon – This is just a sweet story about two lonely men who connect and move towards a future together. Warren is blind and has lost his wife his only true love. Kyung is longing for his home life in Korea. The attraction these two find is just what they each need.

The Christmas Spirit by Tayla Andor – Ash Haromon is a psychic detective hired to figure out what is plaguing skating champion Hanabishi Yuki. There is a slow building romance here that is sweet. The mystery is given time to be resolved but so is the relationship between these two relatively shy men.

A Beautiful Thing by A.F. Henley – Here we have a twist on the classic A Christmas Story. Scott is the Christmas grump in this story. Due to an encounter with a child at the local store he spouts his disgruntled Christmas beliefs. Dru enters his life and takes Scott on his journey of past, present and future. Their interaction and connection puts a smile on your face and you can’t help liking these men.

Ad Meliora by E.E. Ottoman – This gives us a haunting mystical story as to why one family’s Christmas rituals have ended in tragedy for the last few years. An-An and M.C. talents of magic and exorcism combine to make them the right choice for the problem. The love is evident and beautiful between An-An and M.C. as these two women face the real possibility of death.

Two Parts Mistletoe by Megan Derr – Potions Master Kingston and Hux have been meeting in secret and anonymously at a local club every couple weeks for some time now. Each man believes that there isn’t time for love in their current life. When they run across each other in the open at Two Parts Mistletoe each examines their true feelings for the other. The romance builds and peeks as they disentangle the love potion mystery that brought them together at last.

April 10th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Living in Sin by Anastasia Vitsky

Buy Links

Title: Living in Sin
Author: Anastasia Vitsky
Cover Artist: Natasha Snow
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Lesbian
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Sick of playing “roommate” for the sake of her girlfriend’s religious, tight-knit family, Audra issues an ultimatum: Tell your family, or I move out. After all, Audra’s family supports her and loves Ciara as a second daughter. Why would Ciara’s family be any different? Audra’s tired of hiding the reality of their lives. She puts Ciara first, so why can’t Ciara do the same?

Caught between her family and her girlfriend, Ciara resents being forced to choose. She tries to keep the peace by accepting her aunt’s endless blind dates and comforting her mother, who cares for Ciara’s dying grandmother. How can Ciara shatter her family by forcing the truth on them? How can she face life without Audra if she does not?

Agonized and at her wit’s end, Ciara receives an unexpected spirit visit that asks her hard questions. Does love require self-sacrifice? How much can she give up without losing herself?


Review:

Living in Sin gives us Audra and Ciara as girlfriends currently living together. Audra is out and proud with her family, wants Ciara to be the same, and has grown tired of hiding. Ciara comes from an extremely religious family that is currently dealing with the demise of Ciara’s grandmother due to Alzheimer’s. Ciara is torn when Audra issues an ultimatum to tell her family about her or she is done with the relationship. This kind of turns you off of Audra while at the same time you can completely understand her positon.

Ciara family is important to her and during one visit and a lucid moment on her Grandmothers part you get a glimmer of hope that Ciara’s family will be accepting. During that encounter Ciara receives a purple stone from her grandmother and that night she dreams of “the one that got away” from her grandmother. The dream sequence has Ciara agreeing to come out to her family. As the events unfold they somehow strengthen the bond between Ciara and Audra.

In the end the story was just that a story that I read that didn’t leave me with much of any emotion. I think if the ending were revised to provide some closure to their struggle and gave the reader something to hang onto this would have been a really good story. The writing was good and the characters defined. It fell short on plot especially near the ending for me. I guess I wanted acceptance for Ciara and would have settled for rejection, neither of which occurred.

April 8th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments