Ménage

/Ménage

Review: Triad (Courtland Chronicles, #5) by Cat Grant

Buy Links

Title: Triad (Courtland Chronicles, )
Author: Cat Grant
Cover Artist: L.C. Chase
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Ménage
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Eric Courtland has spent the last decade tucked away in a Tuscan villa with his wife, Allison—and their partner and lover, Nick Thompson. Worlds away from the bigotry and hatred they faced in the States, the triad has built an unconventional relationship that is unassailable. Or so they think.

After years of disappointment, Allison is finally pregnant. But the happy news is soon blunted by a family crisis that brings them—reluctantly—back to the country they’ve foresworn and the emotional riptides that bide there.

Assailed from every direction, the three face blackmail and a potential corporate takeover, but it’s the devastating revelations from both Eric’s and Nick’s pasts that leave them shaken to the core. The three must stand together and face the maelstrom, or risk losing everything they’ve worked so hard to build—including the unique love that binds them.


Review:

What a great way to end the Courtland Chronicles series. Yes, I know there are more in the same universe in another series called Courtlands–The Next Generation. Anyway, Triad had to be my most favorite novel out of five books. Everything about it was so real that I pour my emotions into the novel. Death were there. Arguments were there. Betrayals were there. Shocking Secrets Revealed were there. The list goes on. It had pretty much everything that real life dealt with.

Even though this is my favorite book out of five books, it was harder for me to review it. My mind was all juggled of what to describe how I felt when I finish the book. But I could say: Love Always Prevails. It was what the series was all about. It concentrated on the relationship between three wonderful people: Eric, Nick, and Ally. They all faced so many situations that could easily ruin their relationship. All year they built on to it and that could go away in a second. But for them, they weren’t allowing that to happen. Ally actually finally got pregnant, but her journey wasn’t any easier when she had to deal with the stresses coming from out there. People had no respect for them. It sucked, but, hey, it was realistic. There are bigots out there that would say absolutely everything that made you felt lousy or down. For three of them, they didn’t let it pull themselves down to their narrow-minded negative world. They fought hard.

Now, there were so many secrets that I was totally shocked, especially about a new character in the next generation series. I was just thrilled one of the three characters dealt it as best as they could. I just loved how powerful they were together. I am hundred percent satisfied with how the author ended the series and glad she decided to continue the next generation series because I wasn’t about to let them go.

I highly recommended! If you want something that seemed realistic, something you could relate to… Check this one out and be prepared for a long emotional ride!

February 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Arrangement (Courtland Chronicles, #4) by Cat Grant

Buy Links

Title: The Arrangement (Courtland Chronicles, )
Author: Cat Grant
Cover Artist: L.C. Chase
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Heterosexual, & Ménage
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

Most people are lucky to find one love—Eric Courtland found two. He’s spent the last decade in and out of a tempestuous relationship with his lover, Nick. But all that is nearly over when his new bride, Allison, discovers that his vows of fidelity came with an exception. Suddenly, Eric is at risk of destroying all he cares about, from his burgeoning political career, to the two loves of his life.

Terrified of losing everything, Eric proposes an unconventional solution: a non-traditional arrangement that neither Allison or Nick can refuse. And despite the betrayal and jealousy that plague the birth of their new relationship, the three begin to discover new ways of achieving harmony and balance—and an intimacy beyond anything they expected.

Even as their secret relationship grows, however, blackmailing political rivals and the pressures of life in the public eye create stresses that threaten to tear the three apart. In the end, Eric must decide what he’s willing to sacrifice: the political ambitions he’s nurtured all his life, or building a new dream with the only two people he’s ever loved.


Review:

After completing the first book of the brand new series that continues Courtland story, I knew I needed to finish the original series since I only had two books left out of five books of Courtland Chronicles. I was glad the author was nice enough to provide the e-copies of her last two books because I’m madly in love with the series. It had full of flaws for each character. No matter how badly the situations get, the author described so real and realistic plots that made me feel for them. The Arrangement concentrated on Eric than Ally and Nick. It was all about him making the right decisions.

The beginning of the novel, it was already filled with plenty of secrets and lies that could easily jeopardize anyone’s life. Especially Ally. Ally held a special spot in my heart the entire time for any reason. She was a person I could imagine myself being in a good friendship with. Seeing her getting hurt badly by Eric made me want to scream at Eric for doing that to her. It wasn’t just the lies that hurt Ally. It was the commitment Eric was having problem with. As the blurb mentioned, Eric must decide what he’s willing to sacrifice: the political ambitions he’s nurtured all his life, or building a new dream with the only two people he’s ever loved. For that kind decisions Eric must choose was a truly toughest performance, he’d had done for himself. In the end, he actually made the right decisions. That warmed my heart up for his new hope. The book didn’t exactly ended with a “Happy Ever After” but indeed a “Happy For Now”.

The book was also a story that showed how a Polyamory worked. It showed plenty of issues such as jealously since jealous played a big role in the novel. Eric was a naturally bisexual character and Nick was gay, but his love for Ally changed it. It was a long and hard battle for three of them to make their relationship work. Eric’s work provided a much tougher task for them to work things out because there were blackmail going on and the attentions from the public eyes didn’t make it any easier either. Ally made mistakes. Nick made mistakes. Even Eric made mistakes. In the end, they won, but what did they win? Check the novel out and find out!

All in all, I loved the book. I was able to learn more about how Polyamory relationship would work with the terrible background that tried to attack them. Thankfully, they were strong enough to beat whatever was throwing at them. I highly recommended you to check this one out.

February 20th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Measured Doses by T.T. Kove

Buy Links

Title: Measured Doses (Their Circumstances, #5)
Author: T.T. Kove
Cover Artist: Megan Derr
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Ménage
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

After his father beats him, Chad escapes to the only safe haven he can think: his former teacher, Dion. But when he arrives at Dion’s door, it’s opened by a stranger—who promptly finds himself catching an unconscious man.

Unable to turn away the broken, battered Chad, Jeremy takes him in and tends his wounds, even if he would much rather have nothing to do with the student that his ex, Dion, cheated on him with… 


Review:

After a particularly horrendous beating from his father Chad runs to the only person he can think of that may be able to help him, his former teacher and ex-lover Dion. He makes his way to Dion’s but it’s not Dion that answers the door but Jeremy, Dion’s boyfriend. Jeremy catches Chad as he’s about to pass out and does the only thing he can do, he helps Chad into the apartment and takes care of him. Surprising all of them feelings develop between Chad and Jeremy while Dion admits to wanting both Chad and Jeremy. Now they have to figure out if a relationship between the three of them can work.  

This story is full of angst and required more than a couple of tissues. My heart broke for Chad, Jeremy and grudgingly for Dion. T.T. Kove was able to make me love all of them despite the cheating and the eventual ménage story line. I can’t wrap my head around how a ménage could possibly work but their story does and I attribute that to the way the story is written.

There is an HEA but I think there can be so much more story to tell about these three guys.

November 27th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Of Dark and Bright (Dark Horse, #3) by Kate Sherwood

Buy Links

Title: Of Dark and Bright (Dark Horse, #3)
Author: Kate Sherwood
Narrator: Peter B. Brooke
Cover Artist: Justin James
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Ménage
Length: Novel (6 Hours and 49 Minutes)
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Jeff, Evan, and Dan have been living happily together for the past two years. They still have problems, especially between Evan and Dan, but they’re mostly able to convert the interpersonal disagreements to sexual tension—and then resolve it—so nobody’s complaining. 

Then Dan’s long-lost sister shows up seven months pregnant and on the run from the law, and the situation goes from complicated to overwhelming. Jeff and Evan want to help, but with Evan fearful for his own sister’s safety and Jeff struggling to keep his health issues under wraps, they’re a little distracted. As Dan’s sister struggles with her past, Evan’s seems intent on gambling with her future. With emotions and family ties pulling them in different directions, the threesome have to hold together—or the people they love may tear them apart.


Review:

Of Dark and Bright continues Dan Wheeler, Evan Kaminski, and Jeff Stevens story. These guys still have a few relationship insecurities but all in all they are happy and building a life together. Jeff continues to be the peacekeeper, Dan continues to show his tendencies for running and over thinking things, and Evan still exerts his controlling nature while entertaining us with his humor. I really love these guys!

Of course their lives cannot be trouble free. Dan’s pregnant sister Krista, appears needing someone to care for and raise her child. She is facing an extended period of jail time. Evan solution as always is to throw money her way, for what is in the story. Then Jeff is facing some serious medical issues that he ignores. Here for the first time Jeff annoyed me. Really Jeff, you know how much Dan and Evan need and love you. Combine all that with Tatiana acting like a rebellious rich kid and their lives are in upheaval once again.

The interactions between Dan, Evan, and Jeff continue to be a combination of love, clashes, and companionship while they build a family together, albeit a non-traditional one. The complete cast of characters is really amazing and I really love that Chris has remained part of the picture throughout the three stories. His relationship with Dan is amazing and the comradery he forms was Evan was nice to witness. Maybe there is more in store for Chris at some point?

As with the other stories I really loved Of Dark and Bright as well. While there is a lot going on it feels quite realistic and you fall into the lives of the characters. This was really a story about their love for one another, companionship, and family. I was drawn into their lives with laughter, tears, and anger. The things these men have been though have only strengthened their love and commitment for each other. My only complaint is that I have finished what I believe is the last in the series. I have become hooked on these guys and have really enjoyed my time spent with them.

This review is based on the audio book version:
Narrator: Peter B. Brooke
Length: 6 hours & 49 minutes
Narration: Another excellent narration by Peter B. Brook. I look forward to his narration as much as the story itself with this series. The voices given match Evan’s humor and excitement, Jeff calm, gruff and sexiness, and Dan’s insecurities, integrity, and flight response perfectly. 

August 27th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Out of the Darkness (Audiobook) by Kate Sherwood

Buy Links

Title: Out of the Darkness (Dark Horse, #2)
Author: Kate Sherwood
Narrator: Peter B. Brooke
Cover Artist: Justin James
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Ménage
Length: Long Novel (12 Hours and 32 Minutes)
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

“It’s hard enough with two people. Throwing a third into the mix is… I don’t know, doesn’t it seem like we’re asking for trouble?”

It hasn’t been easy, but horse trainer Dan Wheeler is beginning to build a new life for himself, finding his place in California with his lovers Evan Kaminski and Jeff Stevens. When things are going well, it’s spectacular: there’s affection, humor, and passion. But things don’t seem to go well all that often.

Dan continues to struggle with the loss of his previous lover and sometimes doubts that he even deserves to be happy; Evan is jealous of every rival for Dan’s attention—including Jeff; and Jeff worries that he’s too old for the younger men and wonders if he should bow out completely. Despite his resolutions, Dan has grown attached to the other two men, but he’s not sure that’s enough. He knows that it hurts to be together—he needs to decide whether it would hurt even more to be apart.


Review:

Out of the Darkness it the continuation of Dan Wheeler, Evan Kaminski, and Jeff Stevens story begun in Kate Sherwood’s Dark Horse. Dan has become a member of the Kaminski “family” and is getting settled with this new job on the Kaminski ranch. The dynamics between Dan, Jeff, and Evan are enjoyable and realistic if not frustrating at time while they adjust to the dynamics of their relationship. The guys experience jealousy, insecurity, fear, controlling natures, and more adding to their tension. On the other hand these three fit and complement each other extremely well. 

Jeff continues to the peacekeeper of the bunch, Dan continues to show his tendencies for running and over thinking things, and Evan exerts controlling nature while entertaining us with his humor. Dan and Evan seem to be struggling the most with the relationship with Dan feeling left out at times. Deep down they all know their relationship is good and what they want. I both liked and was frustrated by the fact that these guys have to work at their relationship. There are times that you just want to them to look at what they have and enjoy each other. While on the other hand you understand and don’t want them to dismiss their insecurities and doubts.

I really love Chris and his relationship with Dan. I think their conversations and the anytime of the day phone calls between these two are great. Chris is that best friend that puts things into perspective and brings you back to reality forcing you to look at things logically. The banter they share is heartwarming and their conversations are just what Dan needs.

This series continues to be well written with likeable and realistic characters that are put in realistic situations. You can feel the emotions running through these guys. The times in both this book and the first that Dan talks to Justin lets you feel the love that is there and understand the struggle to move on that Dan is dealing with. Justin will always hold a piece of Dan’s heart but is there room for Jeff and Evan? The short answer is yes and Kate Sherwood’s talent will take us there.

This review is based on the audio book version:
Narrator: Peter B. Brooke
Length: 12 hours & 32 minutes
Narration: Excellent narration by Peter Brook. Again with this second book each character has a unique voice that matches their personalities perfectly. The wit often delivered by Evan is quite humorous. 

July 15th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Dark Horse (Audiobook) by Kate Sherwood

Buy Links

Title: Dark Horse (Dark Horse, #1)
Author: Kate Sherwood
Narrator: Peter B. Brooke
Cover Artist: Justin James
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Ménage
Length: Long Novel (16 Hours and 5 Minutes)
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Dan thinks about just driving, leaving the whole mess behind. He’s got enough money. He could just arrange to get his stuff and his horse shipped to wherever he’s going. Taking off is what he used to do when things got to be too much, and it worked pretty well, really.

Dan Wheeler thought he’d found lasting love and stability with his life and work partner, Justin Archer. But when Dan finds himself alone again, still working as a horse trainer for Justin’s parents, he has to find a way to accept that his perfect life is gone forever.

Then he meets billionaire Evan Kaminski, who arrives to buy a horse for his younger sister, and Evan’s lover Jeff Stevens, a horse trainer who seems to understand more than just Dan’s job. Struggling to deal with all the upheavals in his life, Dan finds himself drawn to both Evan’s mercurial passion and Jeff’s quiet wisdom. Is Dan strong enough to take a chance on new love, or would it be better—safer—for him to be alone?


Review:

Dan Wheeler found his perfect match with Justin Archer after years of running around with a different guy every time. Dan’s youth was troubled and Justin is the reason he turned his life around and settled into a relationship. We realize that tragedy struck and left Justin in a vegetative state and that Dan doesn’t want to move on and give up on Justin. The first part of this book is extremely emotional causing your heart to ache and tears to flow. Dan’s emotion for the loss of Justin is quite evident.

Evan Kaminski the 26 year old billionaire and Jeff Stevens (Evan’s lover and part time trainer) show up to buy a horse for Evan’s younger sister, Tatiana. Dan feels an attraction to Jeff but is it too soon? When the Archers decided it is time to move on they sell the ranch Dan finds himself with a new job as head trainer for Evan and Tatiana. Dan doesn’t have a lot of faith or trust in himself and expects the worst but Evan supports him and trust him even after only knowing him a short time.

A three way attraction quickly forms between Dan, Evan, and Jeff. I was skeptical at first about the ménage aspect of this book but fell in love with these guys and found myself hoping they would find a way to make it work. There is some age difference between the guys with Dan being 33, Evan being 26, and Jeff being 40. The author does an excellent job with the characters allowing you understand them and their unique personalities. Dan is a runner who tries to escape from issues, Evan is confident and sure, while Jeff is quietly reserved and intelligent.

All the characters are well done. Dan’s friendship with Chris (the straight best friend) is great. Chris is an awesome guy that helps Dan keep things real and in perspective while encouraging him to find love after Justin. Tatiana is a bright young woman with only a touch of the privileged attitude. Her relationship with Evan is strong, believable, and loving. The Archers, Molly and Karl, are sad folks that need a change and to move on after the events with Justin.

I highly recommend this book. This intense story pulled me in from the start. Dark Horse is written beautifully and the sex is about loving and relationships and not the act itself. Kate Sherwood has written an extremely well done story about love, loss, and relationships of all kinds.

This review is based on the audio book version:
Narrator: Peter B. Brooke
Length: 16 hours & 5 minutes
Narration: Excellent narration by Peter Brook. Each character has a unique voice that matches their personalities perfectly and the gruff voice given to Jeff is swoon worthy. 

July 14th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Snatched Anthlogy

Buy Links

Title: Snatched
Author: Ann Anderson, Lor Rose and Tilly Hunter
Cover Artist: Lou Harper
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Ménage
Length: Novella
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Any hunter will tell you part of the satisfaction is in the chase as well as the triumphant capture of their prey. In Snatched, the focus is on the eroticism of the power play between men and their male captors. Sometimes romance ensues, sometimes just a good amount of steamy sex, but in all cases, the effects of one character being in utter control of the man he has captured takes center stage. The appeal is in the erotic dominance and the way the captive would try to escape if he could, whether he truly wants to deep down or not.

Thomas is determined not to let the fights with his boyfriend, John, ruin his vacation in the tropical rain forests of Equador. But when he steps off the trail, he steps into danger as he is taken captive by guerrilla freedom fighters. Held against his will, he nonetheless finds himself developing an attraction to the man who both arouses and repels him. And as his captivity weighs on him, Thomas finds that being The Guerrilla’s Plaything is not the worst fate he can envision…

Bryce’s life changes forever the night that he and his boyfriend are brutally attacked by creatures that seem like they can only be demonic. He’s sure, when they carry him off, that he’s being packed off for lunch, so it’s a shock when he finds that one of his captors is not the horror that he expected. As their attraction grows, it could be The Two of Us against the world.

As a member of the lesser nobility, Micah has never truly been able to Feel the Wind of freedom, and he and his family are not exempt from the brutality of the highest of the nobles. When he is imprisoned, hunted for sport, and captured by Ari, one of the realm’s Princes, he feels that his life is over. But when an escape attempt leads him to the bed of Dhea, Ari’s brother, he finds that there is much more to live for… and at the same time, so much more danger than he knows.


Review:

Snatched is a collection of three short stories centered on forced seduction. These guys are kidnapped, the prey, and sold (or should that be won). They are faced with discovering their identities, desires, and themselves.

In The Guerrilla’s Plaything by Tilly Hunter, Thomas is on vacation in tropical rain forests of Equador having gone on vacation after an argument with his boyfriend John. Here he is kidnapped as part of the political unrest in the area. He is stripped and on display most of the time but that doesn’t seem to be an issue. His captor, Alvaro, takes a liking to him and Thomas doesn’t protest to their sexual encounters. We see that Thomas’ past helps him see his captivity differently than one would think which helps him deal and somewhat enjoy it.

In The Two of Us by Lor Rose, Bryce witnesses his one night stand attacked and devoured by horse like creatures. Bryce is devoid of emotion and feelings which sends a chill to your bones. Xanthos can take on a human form when not in horse like stony reality and must consume human hearts to survive his mythical existence. Xanthos realizes that Bryce is the one he must protect and be with. The attraction between these two is laid out there for us to enjoy.

In Feel the Wind by Ann Anderson, Micah is given the chance to gain his freedom. All he must do is avoid being captured by the nobles for a day. He uses his gift of wind to attempt this task but sadly is unsuccessful. Micah becomes enslaved to the prince Ari. These two explore their desires and Micah engages in a ménage with Ari and his brother Dhea. Emotions flare as the story of these guys unfolds.

Overall this was a fun short read that went from the rainforest to fantasy places. You would think that the “captors” in these tales would be the villains, however, in each one you can’t help feeling for them along with the victims. If you enjoy fantasy and the kink of being forced this Anthology is for you.

March 14th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Shakespearotica: Queering the Bard Anthology

Buy Links

Title: Shakespearotica: Queering the Bard
Author: Anna Black, Caitlin Ricci, Jean Roberta, Laila Blake, Lousia Bacio, Penelope Addams, Rob Rosen, Salome Wilde, Tilly Hunter, and Wes Hartley
Cover Artist: Mistiqarts
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Lesbian, Trans*, Gay, & Ménage
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Frolicking in gender play and sexual diversity, the ten authors collected in this volume offer a dazzling array of queer erotica and romance. Stories range from comic to tragic and historical to fantastic, taking up textual hints overt and subtle as they engage with the power of lust and love. By Any Other Name introduces the beautiful young Renaissance thespian Anthony, who faces a challenge for the women’s roles he covets. Then, The Buttboy of Nicomedes: A Masque in Eight Scenes offers a gay farce built upon an original chorus of gossiping guards who crassly comment on the gay exploits they witness unseen. For Love or Duty explores a complex affection between Iago and the Moor in, while The Ills We Doreveals their wives’ secret attractions.

All Pucked Up: A Midsummer Night’s Romp shows new ways the four lovers of A Midsummer Night’s Dream can be paired and grouped… with the right magical intervention. Next, A Well-Placed Pinch shows three young contemporary women rehearsing and improvising well beyond the script of Twelfth Night. Improvisation is also at the heart of a passionate encounter between two members of an all-gay cast in Much Ado About a Kiss. A meager Romeo proves the perfect fit for an irresistible beast with three backs when he practices swordplay with his Mercutio and Tybalt in A Tight to RememberSmoke Signals shows the erotic pleasure of a young woman’s crossdressing experience when heightened by the coaching of her more experienced male co-star. Finally, As We Like It: A Romance brings a science fictional future in which we learn how the trans desires of Ross (née Rosalind) can best be filled.

Whether you’re a devotee or just Bard-curious,Shakespearotica has something for every lusty reader.


Review:

This anthology is a collection of 10 short stories all with a Shakespearean theme. Whether they be written like ages ago or written in the present it is one of the most cohesive and diverse Anthologies I have ever read. A few of the short stories are directly related and some are a different take on a same theme but like the Shakespeare of old the individual stories contain humor, love, lust and conflict, some are tragic while others are lighthearted. It’s quite the mixed bag and not all the stories will appeal to everyone. This anthology is not strictly M/M but contain stories of F/F, M/M/M, M/F/F/M, F/F/F, there are stories of gender role playing and one that has a trans theme. 

If you enjoy all genre then you will enjoy this anthology if not only some of the stories will appeal to you. Personally it surprised me that I found almost all the stories entertaining, to different degrees of course. Eight worked well and 2 did not out of those eight the following two were my favorite:

Much Ado About a Kiss by Caitlin Ricci. It was a cute and funny story about Alex and Jack, young men playing opposite one another in a local play. They have no lines but they do have to share a kiss and appear as if they are having sex. Alex is nervous and he’s fantasized about Jack since they’re first meeting, he thinks inviting Jack to his home on the pretence of “rehearsing” their part would be a good thing. Things go differently than Alex expects but in a very good way and the two decide that more “rehearsal” is needed to make sure they play their roles perfectly. 

A Tight to Remember by Rob Rosen. This is a story of 3 young men who have roles in the play Romeo & Juliet. Their awkward fight scene has the director sending them off to practice until they no longer look stiff and uncoordinated. I found myself laughing a lot in this story and loving the chemistry between the boys. It’s not to be taken seriously but read as a light, hot, sexy romp! 

Stories featuring love no matter the gender always work well for me!

March 11th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Rising Frenzy by Brandon Witt

Title: Rising Frenzy
Author: Brandon Witt
Cover Artist: Anne Cain
Publisher: DSP Publications
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay, Ménage
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

The book has been pulled from Dreamspinner Press and will be re-published to DSP Publications in the second half of 2015 or beginning of 2016. Until then, there are no buy links.

 

Sequel to Submerging Inferno
A Men of Myth Story

Heartbroken, angry, and hurting, warlock Finn de Morisco can feel darkness growing inside, altering every aspect of his life. There are moments when the man he used to be seems to have been devoured completely. Retreating from his family and everything he once held dear, Finn attempts to escape the despair left in the wake of Brett’s rejection—only to find dangers he never knew existed.

Still struggling with the decision to leave everything he knew behind, Brett Wright is swept into a maelstrom as he searches for his place within his newly discovered family. Life beneath the surface of the ocean should have been unlike anything he’s ever known, yet prejudice over his demon ancestry and homosexuality follows him. Even the existence he begins to build may not last as those he is learning to love face extinction.


Review:

Rising Frenzy is the second book in Brandon Witt’s Men of Myth series.  I was just as enthralled with this book in the series as I was with the first. After Submerging Inferno I really needed to find out what was happening with Brett and Finn. It was sad to discover that Brett and Finn have gone their separate ways, at least for now. But, have no fear Witt weaves an enjoyable tale and introduces us to new characters that ease the pain.

There are actually three subplots that expand upon and delve into the characters of Brett Wright, Finn de Morisco, and Sonia Liu.

  1. Brett has returned to the sea and is building his life within the mer community that his father Therin comes from.  He faces rejection all over again for being gay and this time he gets to add being part demon to the mix. He also meets his new BFF Lelas, who is very sweet and innocent.  The mer tribe is fascinating to follow with their traditions and legends unfolded before us.
  2. Finn, the grounded, caring, and family guy we know from the first book is the hardest to follow this time.  Heartbroken, Finn has turned to drugs, sex, and has distanced himself from his family.  Thankfully Schwint enters the picture.  Finn needs this charming, funny, and sarcastic fairy in in life and how they met is quite interesting.
  3. Sonia, Brett’s BFF and savior from the first book, has been turned into a vampire.  Sonia doesn’t have a major part in this book.  She is coming to terms with being a vampire and her hatred for the vampire that turned her.  You just get the feeling that she has a major role to play in the upcoming plot.  Guess we will have to continue reading to find out.

I will sum this book up just like that last – just plain AWESOME.  Witt continued to expand upon his world in which faeries, werewolves, vampires, witches, warlocks, nymphs, demons, and humans coexist. The characters are so well developed that you know each and every one of them. I still want Brett and Finn to get back together but am completely torn not wanting Schwint to get hurt in the fall out.

Again the masterful story teller and evil, evil, evil Mr. Witt has left us with a cliffhanger making you want to immediately pick up the next book in the series.

January 20th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Gilded Lily by Pauline Allan

Gilded Lily by Pauline Allan
Title: Gilded Lily
Author: Pauline Allan
Cover Artist: Mina Carter
Publisher: Loose Id
Reviewer: Lynn
Buy Links: Publisher | Amazon | ARe
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Ménage
Length: Novel
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨♨
Rating★★★½

Blurb:

Adam’s ferocious sexual appetite for submission has left him frustrated and alone. He turns to the photo in his wallet. The woman’s full lips smile with laughter. The yellow sundress hugs her soft curves. The beautiful muse. His elusive flower.

Lily has a dark secret. A submissive without a Dominant, her life had derailed with grief, solitude, and rejection. Until a mysterious stranger’s erotic education led to unfathomable pleasure.

Tony knew Lily’s training would be his last attempt to escape the void in his life. An experienced Dom with the very nature of his control shaken, he has to run. There’s one last responsibility to take care of before he can leave. Lily, his once timid sub, is testing her boundaries and craves more. A love he can never give.

Tragedy leads Adam to Lily’s plantation in Louisiana. While packing his brother’s belongings, Tony offers the one precious thing Adam could never deny. The submission of his elusive flower. The clock is ticking. Tony wants freedom. Adam demands total submission. Lily must choose. Does she cling to the safety of Tony’s commands or risk the rejection of Adam’s love?

Either way, a submissive’s trust is a fragile thing. Once broken…it’s lost forever.

Review:

There was so much going on in this book, it makes it hard to write a good review.

Waiting in line to pay her respects, Lily’s body can’t help but react to the gorgeous man standing by the casket. After her formal fiancé left her broken and unsure of herself, Lily is ashamed of her reaction and longs for her Dom, Tony.

Adam takes one look at Lily and knows without a doubt, this is the woman his brother described. His lily flower. When Lily offers his the house, his brother rented from her for the summer, he can’t pass up the opportunity to see more of Lily and enjoy for time alone.

Adam has been rejected by several women who found his sexual needs disgusting. When he learns of Lily’s needs, his desire for her rises. Adam learns of Tony’s role in Lily’s life and wants to be the man feeding his desires.

Lily invites Adam to her annual masquerade ball. Only certain guests are invited, they all have high sexual appetites. Adam can’t contain himself when he sees his Lily working another man. Lily finally feels safe enough to allow Adam into her world.

Gilded Lily by Pauline Allan, grabbed my attention from the first word. I was so excited to see a new take on the BDSM community and lifestyle. I loved the connection between Tony and Lily.

The sex scenes were so well written, I had to put the book down and fan myself. Super sexy! I can’t wait to read more of these types of books from Ms. Allan!

I give Gilded Lily, three and a half stars. As much as I loved the book in the beginning, there was a missing piece for me towards the end. Tony’s time was limited with his work, girlfriend, and Dom duties. I felt like Lily was just sort of handed off between Adam and Tony. I think there should have been a scene between Tony and Lily alone, not a BDSM scene, but a thank you for putting me back together again discussion. I felt like Lily needed more closure than the scene that was offered.

I think Gilded Lily would be a great introduction for those who want to try a BDSM type story. Allan shows why each scene is needed when Tony is with Lily. She also shows a beautiful Dom/sub connection.

 

September 30th, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments