Questioning

/Questioning

Review: Submission by Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow

Buy Links

Title: Submission (Submit for Redemption, #)
Author: Robert Cage & Kathryn Sparrow
Cover Artist: Lou Harper
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

When Army Ranger Captain Everett Palmer enters gay BDSM club Cuffed Links, he is seeking brutal punishment for what he perceives to be an unforgivable failure: allowing an entire squad of men under his command to die while he worked to defuse a bomb at his base. Everett initially wants only pure pain, which professional interrogator and jaded British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge is more than prepared to give. Their meeting, however, is not at all by chance.

Phineas has been contracted to coerce a false confession from Everett, implicating the captain in planting the bomb. Phineas has tortured many men in the past, but there is something different about Everett Palmer, a man whose sheer purity of soul causes the colonel to question his every selfish, devious act and legion of war crimes.

In Submit for Redemption: Book One – Submission, erotic romance and spiritual redemption come from the most unexpected places – from the seedy extremes of a smoke-laden, neon-drenched bondage den to the tropical, hedonistic pleasures of Phineas’ private Greek island.

On this unbidden psychosexual odyssey, Everett and Phineas find exactly what they don’t expect: a chance to redeem their troubled souls and fulfil their every romantic ideal. But the clock is ticking. The deeper Phineas falls in love with Everett, the harder it becomes to finish his assigned task. If he succeeds, the consequences may be far more explosive than he ever anticipated.


Review:

Submission, the first in the Submit for Redemption series, is about two lost individuals whose paths cross changing their view of things.  Army Ranger Captain Everett and the British aristocrat Colonel Phineas Bainbridge provide each other with what the other has been lacking.

Army Ranger Everett is looking for physical pain (punishment) after he survives a bomb that some of his men didn’t.  This takes him to a BDSM club where he meets Phineas Bainbridge who is ready and willing to dish out the punishment that Ev is seeking. Unbeknownst to Ev, Phineas has been hired to obtain a false confession from Everett for the bombing incident. When Phineas begins to have feelings for Ev things turn complicated.

The premise here is hard to swallow but somehow the authors manage to make it believable.  Watching Ev and Phineas build something even though they come from completed opposite ends of the spectrum is enjoyable.  The fact that they are able to provide what the other is lacking in their life spurs a relationship that is often beautiful. Though it all there is genuine concern for Ev and wonder will he ultimately become further broken at the hands of Phineas.

Ev is truly a tortured soul and I believe that Phineas is as well.  While Ev is a completely likeable guy that is easy to relate to, Phineas is extremely sketchy.  At times Phineas comes across as perfect for Ev, but then things happen that make you concerned for Ev and seriously doubt Phineas’ intentions.

Submission is a strange one.  At times it moved slowly then picked up and edged on brilliant then slowed again.  This flow continued, up and down, until the story ends on one of the biggest cliffhangers I have ever seen.  Because of this, I have to read the next in the series but I fear I will be angered at the turn of events.

September 23rd, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Touched Starved by Samantha Lau

Buy Link

Publisher

Title: Touch Starved
Author: Samantha Lau
Cover Artist: Samantha Lau
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.75 Stars (3.75 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Recently removed from the life he knew, from his family, and from the land that saw his birth, Rajnish Nayar finds himself lonely. On this new country, on his birthday, what could have been a fatal accident helps him rediscover himself, and perhaps, find a second chance at love.

Erotica writer Stephen Kouris has trouble keeping friends. He has even more troubles keeping lovers, even though all he wants is someone to be by his side always. When he meets exotic Rajnish Nayar, his interest is immediately piqued. Could this shy man be the one? And could he get him to admit his feelings, despite the cultural differences?


Review:

Rajnish’s birthday is today, he is turning 43 years old, is Indian, is divorced from his arranged heterosexual marriage, is shy, and has a teenage son. He left his homeland to be in the US while his son attends college. Raj has few friends and finds himself lonely in the states.

Raj literally runs into the drunken M/M writer Stephen who is in his late thirties. Stephen is instantly attracted to Raj and wishes to form a friendship with the man. Raj and Stephen take their time and becomes friends before lovers. Stephen is patient with Raj as he works through accepting his son’s homosexuality along with his own. They spend time together learning about each other and becoming friends.

The level of drama and angst here is minor giving us a sweet romance that builds between the main characters at a slow and steady pace. The intimate scenes were well written with care given to Raj’s inexperience. There are some unanswered questions that niggled me while I was reading but I have come to expect that from a short story.

Overall Touch Starved is a sweet romance where the writing is simple, well done, and the story flows nicely. The characters were well defined and you can’t help encouraging Raj and Stephen along. The friends first was pleasant and fit well with Raj’s personality. At only 44 pages long you can’t go wrong giving this story a try.

August 21st, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Not Safe For Work by Ingela Bohm

Buy Links

Title: Not Safe For Work
Author: Ingela Bohm
Cover Artist: Ingela Bohm
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay, Questioning, & Undecided
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review  


Blurb:

It’s Jakob’s birthday, and boy is he getting a surprise. His friend Leo has written a sexy blog about the two of them — all untrue, of course. Or is it? Identity hijacked, fake love life laid out for the world to see, Jakob is devastated. He should deny it all, but he can’t stop reading. Soon, he’ll have to confront Leo, but he’s afraid — can there be a tiny grain of truth in those stories?


Review:

OMG!!! ….I know, not really the right way to start a review but……OMG! THIS BOOK! I don’t even know where to start or what to say about it. I guess I’ll start with…. I LOVE THIS STORY! So much so that it’s now on my top 5 favorites list of m/m reads, as a matter of fact this one deserves to be on my top 5 list of all-time great reads!

Not Safe for Work is a very complicated story. One that I couldn’t put down and didn’t want to end. It’s like nothing I’ve ever read before. This story is part fantasy, part mystery, part romance with some very erotic scenes. It’s so suspenseful it had me on the edge of my seat right up to the end. Someone is writing and blogging for all the world to see private moments of the MC’s lives but is it real or made up and if its real how do they know what they know?

Not only did Ingela Bohm do a fantastic job writing a story that made me think every step of the way but she also wrote some pretty amazing characters in Leo and Jakob. I felt their pain and their brief moments of euphoria and even though there were things about them that should have made it impossible for them to be together I so badly wanted these best friends to become lovers forever.

Bravo Ingela, for a job well done!

I highly recommend this amazing story.

July 24th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Guitars and Cages by Layla Dorine

Buy Links

Title: Guitars and Cages
Author: Layla Dorine
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publisher
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Bisexual & Questioning
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Asher Logan is a bartender and a pretty wicked guitar player, when he isn’t wrecking his hands fighting in a cage. With a past he keeps hoping to outrun, Asher’s been on a downward spiral for longer than he can remember. When his sister-in-law leaves Rory, his eight-year-old nephew, in his care, Asher is forced into two things he’s never been good at: sobriety and responsibility. As he struggles to care for Rory, his own life begins to unravel.

When Asher’s brother, Alex, turns up, presenting as a girl and announcing her new name is Alexia, it further complicates matters, as does the arrival of his new neighbor, Conner. Both, in their own way, compel Asher to look at his own closely-guarded views on sexuality.

When the siblings’ older brother, Cole, reacts violently to Alexia, Asher is placed squarely in the middle of a family conflict which compels him to confront who he pretends to be versus who he really is.

Asher must choose who to trust and who to finally walk away from.


Review:

This is going to be hard to review because I loved the book so much! It was truly an emotional read. I nearly cried while I was reading the novel at work. It really focused on Asher Logan’s personal growth. This book was about 140k words or 475 pages and not even once I felt it was too long. It was just perfect. A perfect way to feel emotionally connected to Asher’s hard life. The opening hooked me in just like that. “Sixty-Three Seconds” was what the opening was all about. There were many things that could have happen in just 64 seconds. That was a minute and three seconds.

HOW LONG does it take to unravel a life? A second? An hour? A minute? A year? In my case it took sixty-three seconds. That’s .0175 percent of an hour, or 63,000 milliseconds, or the time it takes to chug a beer and light a cigarette. Hell, there’s a ton of things I can do in sixty-three seconds; I should know, I’ve kept track of them all. In sixty-three seconds I can open a car door with a coat hanger or make a peanut-butter sandwich. Sixty-three seconds is 11.22 percent of The Doors’ classic The End. It’s the time it used to take to walk from the door of my apartment to the door of my favorite whore. Sixty-three seconds is also how long it took my eldest brother to die after we were left no choice but to pull the plug on him.

That was the very first paragraph of the long novel and I knew I couldn’t stop. I was in for a long crazy roller coaster ride. The first paragraph didn’t lie about that. It really took me into Asher’s mind and see what he’d seen. It took me less than twenty-four hours in total to finish the novel. Nearly causing me to not do my work and read book instead. But thankfully, there wasn’t anything to do at work when I was reading so it was an opportunity for me to not waste, but keep on seeing what Asher had seen.

When his brother showed up looking smoking hot that made Asher thinking, “Man, I’d hit that,” but it turned out to be his brother that had underwent a change from male to female. Those scenes were just one of many scenes that caused a big change in Asher’s life. He spent his entire life running away when things had gotten too hard for him to deal. Especially when his sister-in-law dumped her son to Asher’s doorstep and expected him to watch his nephew. I adored Rory more than anything. He was an amazing boy for an 8-years old. Full of curiosity and in some way, he reminded me of myself since I grew up being smart-mouth.

When Asher heard a mewing down in the alley and the things he done for the injured cat made me love Asher much more. He had the most gently heart that no one got to see except the readers and me. We knew Asher was capable of being an awesome man. But as I finished the novel, I understood why Asher took so long to realize he was a good guy. You will have to read the book to see what had woken him and made him change for a better person.

Morgan was my love and hate relationship character. It was more love than hate, though. It was the reaction he had when he found out more secrets that got me so upset, but I understood why he reacted that way. Cole, I had a hard time liking him. He was really a jerk. As you can see in the blurb—When the siblings’ older brother, Cole, reacts violently to Alexia, Asher is placed squarely in the middle of a family conflict which compels him to confront who he pretends to be versus who he really is. It made Asher much more confused about himself and how he could choose to be sided with, although he didn’t want to. Man, you just have to read the book to see how much Asher had suffered.

I have say enough about the book and beg you to check this book out. It was so good. I haven’t read anything as emotional as this book in a while. It was a book I’d considered a treasure. It won’t be easy to not feel anything when you read the book as well. Your emotion may be all over the place. But I am satisfied with the ending.

July 16th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Straight From the Heart by Kimberly Gardner

Buy Links

Title: Straight From the Heart (Exception to the Rule, )
Author: Kimberly Gardner
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Loose ID
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

College student Kyle diStefano is having trouble paying his tuition. So when he hears about a job as team mascot with the accompanying full scholarship it seems like the perfect solution. Except he knows nothing about football. But why should that stop him?

Known as the Big Cock on Campus, Dave Masterson never lets his antics with the ladies interfere with his true love, playing NCAA football. But when his coach suggests the team do some off-season conditioning at the ballet barre, most of the guys scoff. Only Dave takes him seriously.

With Dave’s knowledge of football and Kyle’s knowledge of ballet, it seems each has exactly what the other needs, except they play for different teams. Or do they?

Kyle knows one sure path to heartbreak is falling for the straight jock who’s teaching him the rules of the game. Dave falling for another man is going to mean nothing but trouble. But neither man can seem to help himself.

When a public display of affection casts doubt on Dave’s NFL dream, he is forced to make a choice. Stay with the game plan or call an audible straight from the heart.


Review:

When Kyle DiStefano loses his financial aid he decides to try out for the school’s mascot which comes with a full ride. One problem he knows nothing about football. Seeking assistance, his roommate’s boyfriend suggest that he talk to the star quarterback Dave Masterson. Dave has just been told by his coach to step up his game and seek ballet lessons. Well Kyle is a dancer and the two enter into an agreement to assist each other. Seems like the perfect arrangement right?

Kyle does not hide the fact that he notices Dave and that he is straight. Along the way Dave begins to feel things towards Kyle. When Kyle finds a drunk Dave at a party he takes Dave back to his room to care for him and things change. The chemistry builds between these two young men and there seems to be no hesitation forming a friendship. When their world is torn open and the angst begins to build you can’t help but hope that Dave will come to his senses and rectify the cover-up that has been set in motion by his father.

Straight from the Heart is a sweet romance between the out dancer and the big man on campus quarterback. I’m not sure I would call this a gay for you story but more of a coming out for you story. Along the way Kyle does not relinquish who he is while Dave struggles to claim himself against odds both perceived and real. Kyle is the dominate character in this story but you can help but feel Dave’s pain along with some sadness for his initial choices.

The author writes a story that highlights Kyle’s strength, courage, and beauty while allowing Dave to discover himself. There are a couple of inconsistencies along that way that detract slightly from the story but all in all the MC’s and the supporting cast are understandable and for the most part a likable bunch. I found Straight from the Heart to be a delightful and enjoyable read well worth the time my nose was stuck between the pages. I know this was the third installment in a series but by no means felt I missed anything by reading it as a standalone.

June 16th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: A Year in the Life by Cat Grant

Buy Links

Title: A Year in the Life (Courtlands - The Next Generation, #1)
Author: Cat Grant
Cover Artist: L.C. Chase
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay, Bisexual, and Questioning
Length: Novel 
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Courtland fans, get ready – the next generation’s here! 

A campus flu outbreak, complicated by a freak October blizzard, brings Cornell seniors Seth Thompson and Bilal al-Mansoori together. Three days spent waiting out the storm at Seth’s snowbound apartment leads to an unexpected mutual attraction—and a hot night under the covers, which quickly deepens into a true emotional bond… 

Plus, a world of problems for Bilal, an Iranian Muslim. Despite his homeland’s harsh laws and even harsher punishment for homosexuality, Bilal can no longer deny who he really is: A gay man falling in love for the first time. 

Seth’s gentle manner and passionate lovemaking bring Bilal more joy than he ever thought possible. Yet, despite the lovers’ growing happiness, Bilal’s haunted by guilt and shame left over from his strict upbringing, and the sad realization that he’ll never see his family in Iran again. 

Speaking of families, it’s time for Bilal to meet Seth’s… 

Eric, Nick and Ally. Ten years later, this committed triad is still as deeply in love as ever, but even commitment comes with challenges… 

Is there room in this non-traditional family for Bilal? His future with Seth may depend on it. 

(Includes the novella In From the Cold)


Review:

<span “font-size:16.0pt;font-family:helvetica;=”” mso-bidi-font-family:helvetica;color:#1a1a1a”=””>A Year in the Life<span “font-size:16.0pt;font-family:helvetica;mso-bidi-font-family:helvetica;=”” color:#1a1a1a”=””> was a refreshing read since it has been a while since I’d read the Courtlands series. This time, it focused on the son of triad, Seth. He was twenty years old and he happened to get sick bad enough to see nurse. Upon a visitation, he met an Iranian, Bilal who happened to have the very same type of illness Seth currently had. Unfortunately, Bilal wasn’t able to cover the medical bills and had to find a way to survive without it. Seth saw him again outside in a terrible weather and Bilal was too far from his dorm and Seth’s home was much closer. Therefore, he invited Bilal to his home just for a couple of hours, which led to something else. Beyond Seth’s expectation, including Bilal’s as well. It was a truly love story between these two fine gentlemen. It went on a slow pace and I was able to feel the emotions that had grown for each other as an audience. It was as if I was watching them meeting and do things together. Bilal’s culture was very strict when it came to gay stuff and of course that showed how fearful Bilal had been when he realized he was attracted to men. He didn’t have United State citizen or green card, which mean he probably would be forced to go back home where his father lived. 

<span “font-size:16.0pt;font-family:helvetica;=”” mso-bidi-font-family:helvetica;color:#1a1a1a”=””>Still, he had a whole semester and a month or so to figure things out, but during that time, he was given a chance to get familiar with his own feelings toward Seth. He’d already met Seth’s family and saw how opening they were. It confused him easily since he was so trapped to school and discipline. Upon having Seth in his life changed had things for him in a positive way. I had grown fond of Bilal more than any characters in the book. He went from questioning himself to accepting himself for who he was. I really didn’t want the book to end just yet but knowing it was part of the series, I knew I’d enjoy the book two. But for now, this book was an amazing read. The awkwardly between Seth and Bilal was written so extremely well for a virgin man doing things with an experienced man. Seth was actually a bisexual and he didn’t go off switching gender to sleep with. He was more of passionate type of guy who would be committed to one person and gender didn’t matter. So for that, I also liked him and looking forward to get to know him much more as the series go further. 

<span “font-size:16.0pt;font-family:helvetica;=”” mso-bidi-font-family:helvetica;color:#1a1a1a”=””>Since I hadn’t read the Courtlands series for a while and didn’t finished the last two of the series, I was glad to get to read a bit more about them. I truly didn’t want anything to happen to Ally. 🙁 I remembered her being one of my favorite characters and see her suffering really did something to my heart. It was tough but it was necessary to make the book much stronger with the emotions. I could go on and on, but if I did that, I could easily spoil pretty much everything. I can easily tell you that this book isn’t a book to skip, it is a story that told us what would happened to an Iranian who had a very disciplined and strict father that followed the customs in his country and how an Iranian would deal with the situations. It was a terrifying thought of what would happen to him. I never knew it could still be a danger thing even if they were in the states not in their country. It sucks but it was refreshing to see this type of plot in a gay romance book. I highly recommended it! 

December 24th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Try (Temptation, #1) (Audiobook) by Ella Frank

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Try (Temptation, #1)
Author: Ella Frank
Narrator: Shannon Gunn
Cover Artist: N/A
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Gay, Questioning, & Undecided
Length: Long Novel (13 Hours and 21 Minutes)
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Try – verb: To make an attempt or effort to do something or in this case…someone.

Sex. Logan Mitchell loves it, and ever since he realized his raw sexual appeal at a young age, he has had no problem using it to his advantage. Men and women alike fall into his bed – after all, Logan is not one to discriminate. He lives by one motto – if something interests you, why not just take a chance and try?

And he wants to try Tate Morrison.

Just coming out of a four-year marriage with an ex-wife from hell, a relationship is the last thing on Tate’s mind. He’s starting fresh and trying to get back on his feet with a new job at an upscale bar in downtown Chicago.

The only problem is, Tate has caught the unwavering and unwelcome attention of Mr. Logan Mitchell – a regular at the bar and a man who always gets what he wants.

Night after night Tate fends off the persistent advances of the undeniably charismatic man, but after an explosive moment in the bar, all bets are off as he finds his body stirring with a different desire than his mind.

As arrogance, stubbornness and sexual tension sizzles between the two, it threatens to change the very course of their lives.

Logan doesn’t do relationships. Tate doesn’t do men. But what would happen if they both just gave in and…tried?


Review:

Logan Mitchell is a player and it doesn’t matter if the object of his affection is male or female he goes for what he wants. He owns a law firm with his brother Cole and has all the comforts in life. He often hangs out at After Hours, the bar around the corner from the office. He is extremely comfortable with himself but never lets himself get close to anyone that is until Tate.

Tate Morrison has just gotten out of a marriage from hell. He is a simple man, rides a motorcycle, and has always considered himself straight. He has taken a bartending job at After Hours and is friendly and flirty with Logan. The tips are good and hey why not, but other feelings begin to work their way into him. 

Tate plays hard to get with Logan and Logan is always up for the challenge of getting what he wants. Logan soon discovers that his typical actions don’t have the same impact on Tate which causing Logan to pursue Tate harder. Their initial connection is really about sex but as time goes by there is defiantly more there. It was intriguing because even when Logan and Tate argue there is a definite passion between them. There comes a point when Tate really needs Logan and what does he do? Well he shows how arrogant and selfish he can really be – the jerk!

Am I glad I gave Try by Ella Frank a try? Absolutely, I like the characters and found myself connecting with them. Was the sex overdone? Yeah it was, should have left some of that out and provided more substance to the plot especially since Logan and Tate are really interesting guys. You can’t knock the chemistry between them and the passion and hot sex they shared. For Ella Frank’s first attempt at M/M she did a decent job, I just wished there was more depth to Logan and Tate.

Oh I should mention that there is a bit of M/F action with the pages of this story so you are forewarned.

This review is based on the audio book version:
Narrator: Shannon Gunn
Length: 13 hours & 21 minutes
Narration: I enjoyed Shannon Gunn’s narration of Try. His voice was pleasant to listen to and he expertly conveyed consistency, emotion, and the attitudes with each of the characters. Shannon is definitely one of my favorite narrators.

October 9th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Dakota Skies by Taylin Clavelli

Title: Dakota Skies
Author: Taylin Clavelli
Cover Artist: Lily Velden in Collaboration with Jay's Cover Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay, Heterosexual, Questioning
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4.5 Stars (4.5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Born in the wrong time… 

In 1875 Dakota, Sheriff Jamie Carter has to hide his interest in men, even from his gutsy twin sister, Anna. On a good day, the truth can mean a bullet between the eyes, and on a bad, one in the back. 

A man on a mission… 

Jamie leaves Anna in charge of Blackrock and he hits the bounty hunting trail, along with his faithful equine companion, Houston. Five territories, scores of ‘Wanted’ posters, and many bullets later, his path unexpectedly converges with that of enigmatic loner, Kit Brooks. 

Two men with one soul… 

Will the smoldering fire between them rage into an inferno and break down protective barriers, allowing them to find love? Or will it separate and kill them? 

Beneath Dakota skies… 

Jamie and Kit’s story is a sweeping saga of cowboys, Indians, persistent broads, and vengeful villains, where the cowboys aren’t always the good guys, and love can’t be taken for granted. 


Review:

The blurb got me curious and I am actually not a huge fan of historical but this book surprising was that great. I enjoyed pretty much everything about it. It was a comfort read; at least it was for me. I fell in love with the book but there were certain areas in the book that dragged on much too long. I think some of scenes could be omitted and still had the book as strong as possible.

Sheriff Jamie Carter started out as a questioning, but eventually learned among his journey as a bounty hunter that he was actually gay. He’d had slept with a couple of women only to protect his identity because he born in the wrong time as it was mentioned in the blurb. That year, homosexual wasn’t recognized or even allowed. People could die if caught. It was a scary thought to see what Jamie had to go through to survive. 

His twin sister, Anna, was my number one favorite character in the book. I’d totally read another book if it concentrated on Anna. She was an interesting and strong female character in the book. Not a person anyone should even think about messing around with her. One scene made me weep a bit because I didn’t like seeing Anna gets hurt. It was a hard scene. 

Kit Brooks was a well-defined man who knew what he wanted but still vulnerable for a good reason. I’ve grown fond of Kit and learned what he’d gone through his entire life was hard. I tried to picture myself if it happened to me in the same year, how would I handle it? Not quite as well as Kit had for sure! He was a brave soul with a heart that seemed to be bigger than himself. He cared for the right group. 

All of the secondary characters were well defined and excellent developed. I was able to learn who they were and how they helped the book to be something good. Kit’s father was awesome. Jamie’s best friend was also awesome and he was hilarious. I wish I could say more about Jamie’s best friend but I’d be spoiling everything without realizing it. 

The plots were extremely good. Except for few plots that I didn’t think it was really necessary to be included in the long novel. It dragged on a bit but it wasn’t enough to cause me lose interested in the book, which was a relief. The book was also a hard book to abandon. 

The world building also was clearly defined and I was able to imagine it in my head and see where the characters were at or where they were going. None of the scenes, plots, descriptions, world building, and character developments was info dumping. It balanced with information and the story telling.

Since I wasn’t a huge fan of historical, this book changed my mind and easily to recommended to anyone including the one that wasn’t into historical. I’m confident you’ll enjoy the book as much as I did! 

September 24th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Unacceptable Risk (Hidden Wolves, #1) by Kaje Harper

Buy Links

Title: Unacceptable Risk (Hidden Wolves, #1)
Author: Kaje Harper
Cover Artist: Winterheart Designs
Publisher: MLR Press
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Paranormal
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Simon Conley was born a werewolf, making him one of a tiny minority in a sea of vanilla humans. The safety of the pack lies in absolute secrecy, sometimes violently enforced. In a species where pack-members are born and not made, being gay is considered a perversion. So when Simon falls in love with a human man, he’s twice damned. Even his Alpha’s grudging tolerance may not be enough to shield him from the hatred of the other top wolves. Then his lover Paul stumbles across pack secrets Simon was sworn to keep, and if the pack finds out, they may both end up dead.


Review:

Wow! What a truly remarkable journey from the book! It was my first read by Kaje Harper and it was certainly not the last. The author created an amazing world for me to get lost in. The werewolves’ laws were insane and pretty much original. No one was safe once someone had broken he law. There were plenty of characters mentioned in the book and I remembered them all. The author kept the characters as clear as possible and remember-able as well.

Paul was a great character of the book. He faced so many new things in the book through a lot of self-battle, but he managed to learn and accepted it. It was a struggle for me to watch how Paul dealt with what had been happening around him. It was scarier to think of how I’d reacted if I was in his shoes.

Simon had to be my favorite werewolf character. He was hilarious but did get very protective when it was necessary. Being the only “Out” gay in his pack had to be the most challenging he had to deal with.

Having Paul and Simon paired up was the best decision the author made. They were totally perfect for each other. The relationship build up was at a very reasonable pace even though some of it was a bit rushed without any choices. The steamy scenes between them got me all hot up. It was a true love moment between them in the bed. Seeing how new it was for Paul made it all sexier.

Now, the plots were absolutely outstanding! In a one hundred thousand and more words, not even once had the author info-dumping the world building, society, and etc. It was very well balanced and I was able to understand what exactly was going on without feeling lost. The werewolf laws was the best part of the novel because it was different and made sense.

I highly recommended to werewolf fans. Truly a wonderful read! 

September 18th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Brokenhearted (Hope Cove, #1) by Cate Ashwood

Buy Links

Title: Brokenhearted (Hope Cove, #1)
Author: Cate Ashwood
Narrator: John Orr
Cover Artist: Aaron Anderson
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Questioning
Length: Novel (6 Hours and 17 Minutes)
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Oliver Parrish has been alone in the world since he was born. So when Sheriff Owen “Mack” Macklin shows up on his doorstep to deliver the news that Oliver’s sister has died, he’s beyond surprised. Still, Oliver returns with Mack to Hope Cove, Maine, hoping to get to know the sister he never knew he had. As he tries to snap these new elements into his solitary life, he’s not sure how they might fit. 

His life is shaken up further as he falls in love with the irresistible town of Hope Cove, and with Mack, its equally irresistible sheriff. But when he receives devastating news about his sister’s cause of death, Oliver doesn’t know whether to stay and fight for love and a good life, or cut his losses and run.


Review:

Oliver Parrish has been alone most of his life. He grew up in the foster care system never knowing who is real family was and never developing any close friendships. He lives life day by day and is pretty comfortable with it. He dreams of one day owning his own restaurant because is one passion is cooking. Oliver has held various positions at different eateries, hasn’t had any formal training, but has a natural talent.

The dark and sexy Sheriff Owen (Mack) Macklin from Hope Cove shows up on Oliver’s doorstep and tells him that he had a sister Maggie but she has passed away leaving everything to him. This shakes Oliver’s small world and Oliver travels to Hope Cove a small town where everyone knows everyone else. Oliver learns that Mack is mourning the death of Maggie, his longtime best friend. He fills Oliver in on Maggie’s life and has Oliver read her journals. Maggie owned a bake shop where she produced delectable treats but baking has never been one of Oliver’s strong cooking abilities.

The supporting characters were well played including the young, smart, geeky Jeremy and the out and proud Haydn. Oliver and Mack’s feelings for each other quickly develop and they soon work their way into your heart. However, the news surrounding Maggie’s death shakes Oliver to the core and he can’t hurt Mack any more or so he tells himself.

The gay for you aspect of the story felt off somehow but in the end it didn’t matter. The bond that formed between Oliver and Mack was tested, but overall sweet and strong. Yes they both, probably Oliver more than Mac, made some bad choices evoking sadness as you read but in the end they figured things out. I really enjoyed the small town setting and was encourage by the acceptance of the town. The overall story with its sweet, lovable, and emotion provoking characters is definitely worth reading.

This review is based on the audio book version:
Narrator: John Orr
Length: 6 hours & 17 minutes
Narration: John Orr does an excellent job with the narration capturing the emotional aspects of the story extremely well. I haven’t checked, but I hope that the sequels are also narrated by him.

August 28th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments