Trans*

/Trans*

Review: Ari by Cheryl Headford

Buy Links

Title: Ari
Author: Cheryl Headford
Cover Artist: Carrie Francis and Jay's Cover Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Intersex, Pansexual, Trans*, & Undecided
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

After having known each other online for some time, writers, Benji and Ari meet at a convention.

Their attraction is both immediate and mutual.

But all is not straightforward—Ari is intersex and Benji transgender.

Together they embark on a journey.

A journey that unites families, and heals old wounds.

But not everyone is happy with the blossoming love between these two unique and special individuals.

Will an act of aggression crush the flower before it can bloom?


Review:

Ari was an expanded version of a short story that was part of Wayawrd Ink Publishing’s Stranded anthology. It was also my favorite short in that anthology. When I found out it had been expanded into a novel-length, I was so thrilled and couldn’t wait to start reading more stories about Benji and Ari.

It was way better than the original version because I’ve got to connect with all of the characters in the novel more than I had from the original one. The length of the story helped big time. This time it showed me more story how both Benji and Ari identified themselves. Ari already knew himself a long time ago. Ari happened to be an intersex person, but he didn’t let that define him either. He could be whomever he wanted to. There was so much more about him that I’ve learned more after finishing the novel.

Benji was one confused person. He grew up unable to understand himself. After meeting Ari, he finally was able to accept and love himself for who he want to be. He more than identified him as a man. When it came to picking who he’d sleep with, he realized it didn’t matter to him. Based on my opinion, I believed Benji identified him as a transgender pansexual male. After all, what was behind the underwear didn’t matter to him.

Marc was a hilarious young man and he played a huge role as Benji’s young brother. To see the type of relationship he had with Ari and his family was the best moment out of the novel.

As I reached the near-end of the novel, I was almost to the point where I’d cry at work! Cheryl, Cheryl, you are so cruel! I didn’t expect to see that type of plot in the novel.

All in all, I loved the book and fully intended to buy a paperback of it. It’s a book I hold dearly in my heart. I hope that there will be more about them. I wholeheartedly highly recommended you to get the book and read! Especially if you enjoyed the short version of Ari.

June 30th, 2015|Categories: Review|1 Comment

Review: Speedy Rewards by Jeff Erno

Buy Links

Title: Speedy Rewards (Working Class, )
Author: Jeff Erno
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay, Trans*, & Queer
Length: Novel
Heat Rating5 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Phil Mitchell pours his heart and soul into his job as manager of Speedy Mart, a local convenience store. He loves his work and he loves his fellow employees, but when it comes to his personal life, Phil is lonely and depressed and still pining for his long-departed ex.

He embarks upon the week from hell where anything that can go wrong does. It begins with a truck crashing into his outdoor sign and only goes downhill from there.

Add an asshole homophobic boss hell bent on seeing him fired and Phil realizes he needs to put into place a plan to save himself and his job.

First step in his plan… do something about his love life.

Meanwhile, Ezra, one of Phil’s team members, is dealing with his own roller coaster ride of a week.

As is Brandon, the local cop…

And Mark, the homophobic boss…

Perhaps, with a little… luck, the next week will be better.


Review:

This was an easy five-star novel read. When I started it, I simply couldn’t stop. I loved how Jeff Erno set the chapters the way he wanted by showing us who was doing the thinking and acting by mentioning a character’s name as a chapter title. The opening easily hooked me in. I just had to know what happened. The fun and somewhat suck part was after each chapter, it didn’t continue from the previous chapter, but change point of view and location. It worked extremely well for this novel, though!

Phil, the best character of the novel. He was what anyone would call “A Superstar Manager.” He really was. He sacrificed his own life for the sake of his employees’ safety and ensuring the store is in a good place. The first three days were insane and I was really surprised to see Phil handling it all without losing his mind. Especially dealing with homophobic boss! Phil’s heart was broken from his ex as well, but someone showed rather a big interested in him that got me all happy. Phil deserved better, which made me hardly wait for the second book of the series.

Ezra was actually my second favorite character. He was a real character who dealt with a tough life. And yet, he didn’t let anything pull him down as if he was a dust that had been swept under the rug. His heart has been huge, just like Phil. I could see why Phil hired him in the first place despite him being tattooed and wore eyeliners. He would do anything for his best friend as well. He was that special that hold a special place in my heart as I finished the novel.

Mark, an interesting character who had a good reason to be a homophobic. I couldn’t say anything more about Mark because you will need to read the book to find out why I wouldn’t mention it.

The rest of the characters were awesome (of course, there would be some jerk dislikable character in the novel). How could a real life survive without the dislikable person? Jeff Erno made sure his novel was more on the realistic side than being a completely fictional. I wholeheartedly highly recommended you to grab a copy and join for a wild roller coaster ride! It had a lot of ups and downs that kept me reading without stopping. Definitely a five-star read!

June 29th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Illusions & Dreams by Z. Allora

Buy Links

Title: Illusions & Dreams
Author: Z. Allora
Cover Artist: Paul Richmond
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Trans*
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Randy Camster failed at being married. His life now centers around work, TV sports, and listening to his friend Jake complain about how Randy’s lack of a sex life will be the downfall of mankind. Not true! Well, not totally. He’s just never understood the fascination with sex until… ladyboy performer Lalana Dulyarat shimmies into his world via an Internet ad for Thailand tourism.

Jake O’Neil’s open pansexuality yields him interesting bedmates, but he’s never chased after the mythical illusion of love. He focuses on others, like his best friend Randy, who needs a Bang-Cock vacation. Finding an adorable little imp named Boon-nam wasn’t on the itinerary. Gay, straight, and undecided, Jake has had ‘em all, but never a virgin aching to take a walk on the kinky side after having her affirmation surgery. Talk about pressure. And what’s with everyone warning him not to break her heart? His is the one in danger


Review:

Randy Camster and Jake O’Neil are best friends. After Randy’s failed marriage he becomes kind of a loner hiding in his personal space. Jake is out going and tries to pull Randy’s out into the world again. Deciding what they need is a vacation the two decided on a trip to Thailand for a Bang-Cock vacation. Illusions & Dreams takes us on a trek were these two discover themselves and find love that neither thought was out there.

In preparation for their trip Randy does his research and becomes entranced by ladyboy performer Lalana (La-La) Dulyarat. Upon their arrival in Thailand they immediately head to the club Illusions & Dreams and encounter La-La and her friend Boon-nam. La-La is reserved and presents an air of experience while Boon-nam is a ball of energy and comes across slightly naïve. Randy’s attraction for La-La only intensifies and surprising to Jake he is attracted to Boon-nam. Plans are made to meet up after the show for drinks beginning a two week romance for the two couples.

In case you are wondering yes, La-La and Boon-nam are trans. Boon-nam has just completed her affirmation surgery finally feeling like she is in the right body. Illusions & Dreams does not hide the details of living a trans life and you are made part of their world. The writing of these characters was done very well providing these ladies with the respect they deserve. The love and true emotion that Randy and Jake exude is truly amazing. While the setting is part of the red-light district that is not what this story is about at all.

This is a love story through and though. For me it was educational at times giving me insight that I was unfortunately lacking. All the characters not just the MCs are strong and well integrated in to the story. Your heart breaks for Jake and Randy when they put themselves out there but in the back of your mind you understand what is really happening. In the end these two couples receive their happy ending and you are left a better person for having spent the time with these individuals

June 22nd, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: The Broken Forest by Megan Derr

Buy Links

Title: The Broken Forest
Author: Megan Derr
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Jay
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Bisexual, Lesbian, and Trans*
Length: Novella
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating4 Stars (4 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

When women and children begin to vanish, the people of Edge village summon a Huntress. Though she is long due for a break and exhausted from her previous assignment, Adamina accepts the assignment and heads for Edge. But when she arrives, the simple assignment she anticipated proves instead to be complicated—complicated enough she must consult with a witch. A beautiful, compelling witch that makes Adamina sharply aware of her own lonely life, and tempts her to make it less lonely.

Assuming the forest doesn’t kill them first.


Review:

The Broken Forest is a dark twist on the fairy tale. This tale is about two powerful women one a huntress and the other a witch. These two face the darker horrors spun from the traditional Rapunzel tale. What you need to know is that these women join forces to eradicate the “broken forest” of the dangers created in the past. The book opens with women and children disappearing from the Edge village that requires the assistance of a huntress.

The huntress Adamina defends and protects the forests when called upon by the villagers within the kingdom. She is both respected and feared because of her power. Grete focuses the use of her powers on healing those in need and is more low key but still feared as much as the huntress. Both women are connected to the forest and complement each other well. There are references made that Adamina is transgender which is just part of who she is.

The magical/fantasy aspects thought-out the story are well depicted and tie the story together well. We are given a unique look at the fairy tale that engages the reader. Contained within are monsters, witch craft, romance, and a wolf that steals the show. While the short story works as written there is much that could be explored about Adamina, Grete, and many of the other characters mentioned along the way and give us more from the world that has been built. All in all this is a novella that is worth your time.

June 12th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Stranded by Various Authors

Title: Stranded
Author: Alina Popescu, Michael P. Thomas, Kim Fielding, Asta Idonea, Rob Colton, Nephylim, Lily G. Blunt, Eric Gober, Nikka Michaels, Louise Lyons, Kirifox, Sarah Hayes, and J.N. Olsen
Cover Artist: Jay's Cover Design
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, and Historical
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay & Trans*
Length: Novel
Heat Rating4 Stars
Book Rating4.25 Stars (4.25 / 5)

 


Blurb:

STRANDED

DEFINITION:

adjective

(of a boat, sailor, or sea creature) left aground on a shore.
“a stranded whale”

left without the means to move from somewhere.
“he offers a lift to a stranded commuter”

###

The boys in this collection of short stories have most definitely been left STRANDED!

They’ve been shipwrecked and abandoned.

Marooned and cast away.

And left helpless and high and dry.

But you should never underestimate the tenacity of the human heart…

Craving Stains by Alina Popescu

Trapped since birth in a sterile, hospital-like apartment, Wynn longs to break free to experience the world.

Enter Doyle.

But is Doyle real, or is he just a figment of Wynn’s imagination?

Say Cheese by Michael P. Thomas

Sitcom sensation Felix Medrano, America’s Sweetheart, throws a star-studded surprise party for his sweetheart, beanpole barkeep Grover Shepherd.

It’s a smash, save for one detail: Shep is a no-show.

Who’d have thought it would be so hard to pop the question?

Standby by Kim Fielding

Who’d have thought being stranded at the airport could possibly have some long term benefits?

Certainly not Tom.

But then he hadn’t bargained on meeting Rafael…

The Raider by Asta Idonea

The gods truly do work in mysterious ways as Thorstein found out when he was left for dead on the battle field of a foreign land.

The Buckle by Rob Colton

One ditching and one rescue later, Hayden discovers the use of a telephone isn’t the only offer that’s on the table…

Ari by Nephylim

Benji and Ari have spent their lives feeling lost and alone, stranded between genders.

Can they help each other stop unravelling?

Opposites Attract by Lily G. Blunt

Chris and Andreas are opposites in character.

Both fear the other wants to move on.

Can being stranded on a mountainside resolve the doubt that is threatening to tear them apart?

Out of Order by Eric Gober

Rob was the one who got away.

Trent stumbles upon him during a trip to San Francisco…

Right before a deadly earthquake…

Dating For Deafies by Nikka Michaels

If Evan York keeps hiding from the world behind his laptop he might miss out on something special.

Will he find the courage?

One Snowy Night by Louise Lyons

One snowy night, Keith Brambles learns that appearances can be deceptive.

The Climb by Kirifox

Jessie went camping with friends expecting to have some fun and maybe drink a little beer.

Instead, he found his perfect man…

but is he real or just a dream?

Did You Leave Any For Me by Sarah Hayes

Two ex-lovers, one hotel room, and one random act of technology.

Will they fall out or fall back in love?

Sweetness and Strength by J.N. Olsen

Miles makes one seemingly small and inconsequential decision that turns out to be not so small and inconsequential after all.


Review:

I decided to review each story as if it was a stand alone story. I averaged the rating with theme and story ratings. The one I didn’t finish wasn’t counted toward the average rating. The overall anthology was an excellent theme to read. It was fun and see what kind of situation the authors came up with. 

Craving Stains by Alina Popescu
Theme Rating: 5
Story Rating: 3.5

Review: Being trapped in a room for his entire life, I couldn’t imagine how difficult that was to live. His over-protected mother was ridiculous to keep him trapped. I pretty much loved everything about the story but the ending actually ruined it for me. It ended abruptly with little or none explanation of what exactly was going on. Did he survive? Rescued? I had so many questions at the ending. But nevertheless, the beginning and middle of the story was fantastic. 

Say Cheese by Michael P. Thomas
Theme Rating: DNF
Story Rating: DNF

Review: I unfortunately didn’t finish this story. I ended up skip the whole story to the next. It did fit the stranded theme but it wasn’t original and wasn’t type of story I like to read so there is no rating for this one. I apologize in advance. 

Standby by Kim Fielding
Theme Rating: 3
Story Rating: 4

Review: It was a quick read, but I enjoyed it very much because it had a bit of fantasy thrown in. As for stranded, I find being stuck at airport not too original. But the way the author described the two men had won my heart. I’d love to learn more about Rafael.

The Raider by Asta Idonea
Theme Rating: 5
Story Rating: 5

Review: After being wounded badly on a battleground and his people didn’t think he was still life, and then they left him. Just when he thought he was going to die, he was found by the people he actually killed. He was about to accept the true death but it didn’t happen. The development occurred between him and the rescuer. It was surprisingly good for such a short story. It was more of historical story and I got to enjoy reading about the old languages in the story and followed up with glossary in the ending so I understood what words meant in modern English. 

The Buckle by Rob Colton
Theme Rating: 2
Story Rating: 4

Review: The story’s theme wasn’t exactly a true stranded situation but they acted like it. The scene of them going at each other was hot. That was pretty much it. Not enough plot in my opinion but I like this story a lot still. It got me all hot up so that was a winner. I loved me some furry man. 

Ari by Nephylim
Theme Rating: 5
Story Rating: 5

Review: This story did fit the theme but in a complete different way. It wasn’t physical theme but more of mental theme for it to be considered as a stranded situation. It had to do with the gender identity. This story was one of my favorite stories. Benji is a trans* character and the author wrote him really well. Ari, I wasn’t sure how to identity Ari so I wouldn’t guess it. It wasn’t my goal to offend anyone so I would rather let the identity to be read by yourself. It was a second story I’d read written by Nephylim and either of them disappointed me so I definitely would keep eye on the next work by the author. 

Opposites Attract by Lily G. Blunt
Theme Rating: 5
Story Rating: 5

Review: I loved this one. I often adored seeing couples that were a total opposite to each other but still find a way to love each other on a deeper level. Everyone made sacrifice to make the relationship work. It was much harder on Andreas because he wasn’t as ambitious as Chris was when it came to outdoor activities. Seeing Andreas faced his fear and the resulting to that was totally worth it. In the end, their relationship had become much stronger. The theme…this story was a winner. Twice in a story! 

Out of Order by Eric Gober
Theme Rating: 5
Story Rating: 5

Review: Out of the whole stories in this anthology; this one gave me the most goosebumps. The earthquake actually happened and I remembered reading news a while ago about the earthquake incidents. Trent was an amazing character in the story and Rob was the right guy for him even though he’d done something bad to him in the past. Fate happened for a reason and this story had proven that. I loved Denny as a minor character. I needed to check more of Eric’s works. 

Dating for Deafies by Nikka Michaels
Theme Rating: 1
Story Rating: 5

Review: This story failed the stranded theme big time. I am deaf myself; that wasn’t an obvious stranded situation. It lacked that theme badly. But the story itself was AMAZING. I loved it. Just to see how Evan communicate with an author just give me a flashback how I met people online so many time growing up. But to see they actually were in the same room got the whole thing interesting. They made such an adorable couple. I hope the author had written more stories featuring deaf character(s). 

One Snowy Night by Louise Lyons
Theme Rating: 4
Story Rating: 4.5

Review: A reckless drive easily could lead anyone into a terrible stranded situation. This main character almost cost his life for his stupidity. But thankfully, he had a stranger rescuing him. Keith assumed too much, though. He nearly got himself all worried up, but it was all for nothing. The rescuer turned out to be a great charming person. It had such a sweet ending. 

The Climb by Kirifox
Theme Rating: 4.5
Story Rating: 4

Review: This one was technically a sci-fi but it was more on contemporary side. It did provide a perfect stranded situation but I felt it could be more than that. It was a bit too quick for a specific person to get himself out of stranded situation. There wasn’t enough development between him and his love interest. It felt a bit rushed, but when I got to the ending, it gave me a goosebumps. Seeing the author’s work, I would check more of the author’s work. 

Did You Leave Any For Me by Sarah Hayes
Theme Rating: 5
Story Rating: 5

Review: It sure was a powerful story to seek in each other to figure out what went wrong in the past. What led the break up and what brought them back together after being stuck in a room so long together. It was really cute and adorable of how they figured a way to bring each other back together. The title fit the story extremely well because that was technically a final line of the story. This couple was a story I’d love to read more. I want to know what happened next. 

Sweetness and Strength by J.N. Olsen
Theme Rating: 3.5
Story Rating: 5

Review: I found this story to be such a cute and sweet story between a man and a waitress. It was a blind date that went wrong but the result wasn’t bad at all. The chemistry between two men was obviously a hit. They were perfect for each other. The theme, on other hand, didn’t seem so much like a stranded situation. He wasn’t stuck or trapped in a certain place. He was given a free choice where he wanted to go. I think it failed a little bit with the theme of the anthology. Nevertheless, it was a great ending to the anthology because I found myself smiling when I finished the story. 

October 10th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Shakespearotica: Queering the Bard Anthology

Buy Links

Title: Shakespearotica: Queering the Bard
Author: Anna Black, Caitlin Ricci, Jean Roberta, Laila Blake, Lousia Bacio, Penelope Addams, Rob Rosen, Salome Wilde, Tilly Hunter, and Wes Hartley
Cover Artist: Mistiqarts
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Lesbian, Trans*, Gay, & Ménage
Length: Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3 Stars (3 / 5)

 


Blurb:

Frolicking in gender play and sexual diversity, the ten authors collected in this volume offer a dazzling array of queer erotica and romance. Stories range from comic to tragic and historical to fantastic, taking up textual hints overt and subtle as they engage with the power of lust and love. By Any Other Name introduces the beautiful young Renaissance thespian Anthony, who faces a challenge for the women’s roles he covets. Then, The Buttboy of Nicomedes: A Masque in Eight Scenes offers a gay farce built upon an original chorus of gossiping guards who crassly comment on the gay exploits they witness unseen. For Love or Duty explores a complex affection between Iago and the Moor in, while The Ills We Doreveals their wives’ secret attractions.

All Pucked Up: A Midsummer Night’s Romp shows new ways the four lovers of A Midsummer Night’s Dream can be paired and grouped… with the right magical intervention. Next, A Well-Placed Pinch shows three young contemporary women rehearsing and improvising well beyond the script of Twelfth Night. Improvisation is also at the heart of a passionate encounter between two members of an all-gay cast in Much Ado About a Kiss. A meager Romeo proves the perfect fit for an irresistible beast with three backs when he practices swordplay with his Mercutio and Tybalt in A Tight to RememberSmoke Signals shows the erotic pleasure of a young woman’s crossdressing experience when heightened by the coaching of her more experienced male co-star. Finally, As We Like It: A Romance brings a science fictional future in which we learn how the trans desires of Ross (née Rosalind) can best be filled.

Whether you’re a devotee or just Bard-curious,Shakespearotica has something for every lusty reader.


Review:

This anthology is a collection of 10 short stories all with a Shakespearean theme. Whether they be written like ages ago or written in the present it is one of the most cohesive and diverse Anthologies I have ever read. A few of the short stories are directly related and some are a different take on a same theme but like the Shakespeare of old the individual stories contain humor, love, lust and conflict, some are tragic while others are lighthearted. It’s quite the mixed bag and not all the stories will appeal to everyone. This anthology is not strictly M/M but contain stories of F/F, M/M/M, M/F/F/M, F/F/F, there are stories of gender role playing and one that has a trans theme. 

If you enjoy all genre then you will enjoy this anthology if not only some of the stories will appeal to you. Personally it surprised me that I found almost all the stories entertaining, to different degrees of course. Eight worked well and 2 did not out of those eight the following two were my favorite:

Much Ado About a Kiss by Caitlin Ricci. It was a cute and funny story about Alex and Jack, young men playing opposite one another in a local play. They have no lines but they do have to share a kiss and appear as if they are having sex. Alex is nervous and he’s fantasized about Jack since they’re first meeting, he thinks inviting Jack to his home on the pretence of “rehearsing” their part would be a good thing. Things go differently than Alex expects but in a very good way and the two decide that more “rehearsal” is needed to make sure they play their roles perfectly. 

A Tight to Remember by Rob Rosen. This is a story of 3 young men who have roles in the play Romeo & Juliet. Their awkward fight scene has the director sending them off to practice until they no longer look stiff and uncoordinated. I found myself laughing a lot in this story and loving the chemistry between the boys. It’s not to be taken seriously but read as a light, hot, sexy romp! 

Stories featuring love no matter the gender always work well for me!

March 11th, 2014|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Legal Briefs by Various Authors

Legal Briefs by Various Authors
Title: Legal Briefs
Author: Kelly Rand, Cari Z., Stella Harris, Blaine D. Arden, Salome Wilde, and Gryvon
Cover Artist: Dare Empire eMedia Productions
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Reviewer: Sean
Buy Links: Publisher | Amazon | ARe
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance and Non-Romance
Pairing: Trans*, Gay, and Lesbian
Length: Novel
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨
Rating★★★★★

Blurb:

 

All net proceeds from the sale of this anthology will be donated directly to Lambda Legal!

We at Storm Moon Press are aware of the legal struggles many within the QUILTBAG face, and we know the valuable service Lambda Legal provides. With that in mind, we collaborated with six of our favorite authors (actually, all of our authors are our favorite!) who graciously agreed to donate their time and creative ability to help us create this anthology of legal-themed short stories specifically to help benefit such an excellent organization.

In Honest Lawyers, court reporter Luna is flattered by law student Craig’s attentions, but the fear of rejection makes her nervous about opening up to him about her status as a trans woman. Evan defends himself in a barroom brawl and 24 Hours later has to defend himself again, this time to his drunken attacker’s lawyer, who fortunately has as little patience for his client as Evan did. Lawyer Melanie is starting to come to terms with her attraction to women, something her new Study Buddy April is happy to help with.

Master Illan is a powerhouse in the Surim court, but it’s newcomer Daru who proves to be His Best Defense against threats both without and within. The moment Candy LeBon walks into Detective Calvin Guy’s life, he suspects a Double-Cross, but even he’s unprepared for the extent of twisted path she’ll lead him down. In Henry’s country, his attraction to Abel is Against the Law, but his secret is kept safe by another who harbors same-sex attractions—Henry’s wife.

Review:

Honest Lawyers by Kelly Rand – 5 Stars

Pairing: Trans* (MtF with male)

I loved it! The awkward moment for Luna was described beautifully. I could see it as if it was happening right in front of me. Of course I would love it if it was in either novella or novel length but for this anthology theme, it fit perfect. Nothing felt rush either. I was thrilled for what the sexy lawyer had done in this story. The writing style was done brilliantly. Highly recommended! A great opening to the anthology, too.

24 Hours by Cari Z. – 5 Stars

Pairing: Gay

Another good short story. Everything was taken at a slow pace between two men. I really would like to read more about them. I actually was surprised that there weren’t any sex scenes, not even a kissing scene either. Just talk and get to know each other in a comforting way. For that simple reason, it easily earned its five stars.

Study Buddy by Stella Harris – 5 Stars

Pairing: Lesbian

My goodness, what a great first timer scenes! Melanie was really a likable character. The way she chose to explore her sexuality was done fantastically. The strip bar scene was really interesting choice as her first experience whether if she was attracted to women or not. Then to the coffee shop, it had gotten much better for Melanie to figure out what she could do to have her inexperience becoming experienced when it came to attractions and experiments. Highly recommended!

His Best Defense by Blaine D. Arden – 4.75 Stars

Pairing: Gay

Blaine developed the world really well. It wasn’t overdid or complicated. Just good enough to give me a better picture of the world she built. This book was somewhat fantasy but still contemporary, which I evidentially enjoyed the story very much. My only issue and it was really minor– the author added the “crime” case to the story and it wasn’t exactly elaborated enough. Other than that, I loved it. The relationship development was done well. I got to enjoy reading the story from two point of views. It gave me a better picture of who the characters were. Highly recommended!

Double-Cross by Salome Wilde – 4.5 Stars

Pairing: Trans* ( FtM / MtF )

Everything about this story was wonderful. It had more excitement than the first four stories. This one involved an actual crime. My only minor issue was that the description of who Cal and Candy were when they had an intimate session together. I had to go on the author’s website to check what were the surprises Cal and Candy shared together. Other than that, I really enjoyed it.

Against the Law by Gryvon – 4.75 Stars

Pairing: Gay

A great story to close the anthology. In this case, I didn’t think it really fit the theme of anthology, but it was good and quick read. My minor issue: I have no idea if it was historical or where they were at. I’d like to know the setting just as much I’d like to know the relationship and plots. I enjoyed the first timer stories and this story was done really well. It’d probably be stronger story if it was expanded a bit.

Overall, it was a great anthology that had different pairing but falls in the same theme. I definitely highly recommended to to get the book and read 🙂

July 31st, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: His Kind of Woman by Nona Raines

His Kind of Woman by Nona Raines
Title: His Kind of Woman
Author: Nona Raines
Cover Artist: Fiona Jayde
Publisher: Loose Id
Reviewer: Sean
Buy Links: Publisher
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Romance
Pairing: Trans*
Length: Novella
Heat Rating: ♨♨♨
Rating★★★★☆

Blurb:

When Roy Girard went looking for Victor Varrano, he never expected a woman to answer the door. He soon discovers that Victor is now Venetia. Roy’s startled, but even more surprised by his attraction to her. As they spend time together, he doesn’t want to let her go. But she’s sure to dump him when she learns his secret.

Venetia’s falling hard and fast for Roy. But when she learns that his brother was the bully who tormented her in high school, she’s shattered. She can’t wrap her head around the fact that the man who made such amazing love to her could so completely betray her trust.

Review:

Such a good read. I only wished it was a bit longer because it was a wonderful trans* story. We really need more of that. The dramas that had been going on in Venetia’s life made her a stronger person. Roy was a like able character and he made a great pairing with Venetia. He actually handled Venetia’s identity really well and the secret he had to keep temporary had to be hard on him. I’m just glad he told her immediately before they got in deep with each other. It is also my first book by that author and she done it fantastic, which means I intended to check her other work. I hope she will write more trans* stories and in longer length too.

I highly recommended you to check this one out if you want to seek for a good trans* story even if it’s out of your comfort zone. It is that good.

July 19th, 2013|Categories: Review|0 Comments