Blog Tour: Will & Patrick Meet the Family (Episode 2) by Leta Blake & Alice Griffiths

Meet The Family Banner

Author: Leta Blake & Alice Griffiths

Title: Will & Patrick Meet the Family

Series Title and Number: Wake Up Married, Episode 2

Publisher: Leta Blake Books

Release Date: November 10, 2015

Genre: Romantic Comedy M/M Romance

Tags: gay, woke up married, tropes, rom-com, mafia, forced marriage, disabled heroes

Heat Level (1 being no sexual content, 5 being erotica): 2 for this Episode, 5 for entire serial

Pairing: M/M

Length: 32,000 words

Book/Buy Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Amazon UK

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00075]Book Blurb 

Follow Will & Patrick as they cope with the fallout from their Vegas wedding in this second installment of the romantic-comedy serial, Wake Up Married, by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

Meeting the family is challenging for every new couple. But for Will and Patrick, the awkward family moments only grow more hilarious—and painful—when they must hide the truth of their predicament from the people they care about most.

Throw in the sexual tension flaring between them, uncomfortable run ins with Will’s all-too-recent ex-boyfriend, an overprotective mobster father, and a mafia spy tailing them around Healing, South Dakota, and you’ve got a recipe for madcap laughs and surprisingly heartwarming feels.

Episode 2 of 6 in the Wake Up Married serial.

Excerpt

Keying open the door to their hotel room, Will tries to fake some cheer. “Honey, I’m home! And I brought dinner!” He stops and grips the bags more firmly as his cock rushes with a sudden influx of blood.

“Just put it over there.” Patrick’s ass is in the air, his hands flat on the floor, and he’s wearing nothing but his black boxer-brief underwear. “I’ll eat it when I’m done.”

Will stares as Patrick swivels, his body moving fluidly and his legs flexing in strong, limber movements.

“What are you doing?”

“This is downward dog. And this—” Patrick moves down with careful, slow strength. “Is plank position.” The muscles in his arms, back, and thighs are like bundles of wires, and Will’s mouth goes dry, remembering clearly how they felt under his hands.

“Looks hard.”

Patrick doesn’t answer. Will turns to put the food on the table, because if he keeps watching, something else is going to be hard too.

He clears his throat, glancing over his shoulder at the flexing muscles in Patrick’s back. “When we met, I wouldn’t have pegged you as a yoga kind of guy.”

Patrick grunts. He’s in a position now that Will can’t even imagine twisting himself into.

“I mean, you don’t seem like an ‘om’ type.”

“Yoga, and meditation for that matter, are legitimate, effective, and scientifically proven means to an end: physical health and reduction of mental stress. In other words, it helps keep me sane.” Patrick moves into an upright position, sweeps his arms over his head, and brings them back to a prayerful place at his chest. “Sanity is something you could stand to try. And none of that spiritual mumbo jumbo has anything to do with it.”

“So says the guy who believes in astrology.”

“Sure, be a Libra about it.”

Will feels heat in his cheeks. “The yoga doesn’t seem to hurt as far as keeping the rest of you in shape either.”

Patrick’s lips turn up into a smirk.

Will clears his throat, turning to the bags of food. He keeps his back to Patrick as he unpacks the takeout packages onto the small dining table. “So, do you want the gyros or the mac ‘n’ joes, because I can go either way.”

Patrick’s breath is tingly in Will’s ear and his body heat warm along Will’s back. “I go both ways too. It’s your call.” He reaches around and plucks up one of the Styrofoam boxes without looking inside.

Will swallows and gestures at the box still on the table. “This will be fine.”

He doesn’t know for sure which it is, but it will be fine, so long as his dick stops acting like a traitor and his mind stops supplying him with images of Patrick bent over, taking Will’s fingers into his tight, hot—God!

He shakes himself.

“Mmm, gyros,” Patrick murmurs from his perch on the bed. “So good.”

Will’s eyes flutter closed as he sits at the table and spreads a napkin over his crotch. No matter how good Patrick looks almost naked, they aren’t doing that again. It would be wrong. Because Will loves Ryan.

Who are you trying to convince?

He sighs and begins to eat. Mac ‘n’ joe is always tasty. Though at the moment it seems hard to choke down.

 

 

Author Bios

imageLeta Blake

Author of the bestselling book Smoky Mountain Dreams and the fan favorite Training Season, Leta Blake’s educational and professional background is in psychology and finance, respectively. However, her passion has always been for writing. She enjoys crafting romance stories and exploring the psyches of made up people. At home in the Southern U.S., Leta works hard at achieving balance between her day job, her writing, and her family.

You can find out more about her by following her online:

On the web: http://letablake.wordpress.com/

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/letablake

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/LetaBlake

 

Alice Griffiths

A long-time reader of romance novels, Alice Griffiths finally took the plunge into writing, teaming up with best-selling author Leta Blake for the ‘Woke up Married’ serialized comedy. A lover of tropes, Alice enjoys mining old ideas and putting a fresh, funny spin on them. Formerly working in the newspaper industry, Alice is now an art curator. She lives in Sydney, Australia.

You can find out more about her by following her online:

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/Alice_Author

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alice.griffiths.7169

 

Tour Schedule

11/9 Gay Book Reviews http://gaybook.reviews
11/9 Unrandom Randomness http://bronwynheeley.blogspot.com.au
11/9 World of Diversity Fiction http://wodfreview.com
11/9 Bike Book Reviews http://bikebookreviews.blogspot.com
11/9 V’s Reads http://vsreads.com
11/9 Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words http://ScatteredThoughtsandRogueWords.com
11/9 The Novel Approach http://thenovelapproachreviews.com
11/10 BookWinked Www.bookwinked.com
11/10 Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words www.scatteredthoughtsandroguewords.com
11/10 Literary Nymphs Hot List http://literarynymphshotlist.blogspot.com/
11/10 two chicks obsessed with books and eye candy twochicksobsessed.com
11/10 Sinfully Addicted http://sinfullysexybooks.blogspot.co.uk/
11/10 3 Chicks After Dark http://3chicksafterdark.com/
11/11 Gay.Guy.Reading and Friends http://ggr-review.com/
11/11 brantley twitter.com/celli
11/11 Inked Rainbow Reads www.inkedrainbowreads.com
11/11 JP Barnaby www.JPBarnaby.com
11/12 QUEERcentric Books www.blog.queercentricbooks.com
11/12 JB’s Book Obsession http://jbsbookobsession.blogspot.com/
11/13 Mikky’s World Of Books http://mikkysworldofbooks.blogspot.fr/
11/13 Abbey’s 1-Click Book Blog http://www.abbeys1clickblog.com
11/13 Bayou Book Junkie http://bayoubookjunkie.blogspot.com/
11/13 Teatime and Books http://www.teatimeandbooks76.blogspot.com
11/13 MM Good Book Reviews https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com/
11/13 Prism Book Alliance http://www.prismbookalliance.com

Giveaway

2 copies of Will & Patrick Meet the Family (Wake Up Married, Episode 2)

Rafflecopter Code:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

November 9th, 2015|Categories: Blog Tour|0 Comments

Blog Tour: Long Haul by Michael P. Thomas

Long Haul Tour Banner
Title: Long Haul
Author: Michael P. Thomas
Series: The Mile High Club, book two
Genre: Gay Romance, Contemporary
Length: Novella (62 pages)
Publisher: JMS Books

Synopsis

Flight attendant Tanner Bradac and his occasional make-out buddy Clark Arnold find themselves on a layover in San Francisco on the day the U.S. Supreme Court legalizes same-sex marriage. Tanner is as happy about the ruling as any of his Facebook friends rainbowing up their profile pictures, it just doesn’t affect him personally—he doesn’t even have a boyfriend. Color him surprised, then, when he and Clark get caught up in the celebratory spirit of the day and return home as lawfully wedded husbands.

The wedding may have been a last-minute light-hearted lark, but Tanner and Clark are willing to give marriage a go. Tanner loves Clark—at least, he really wants to love Clark—and he figures the rest should just fall into place. How hard can being married to a guy you barely know really be?

Long Haul by Michael P Thomas

Short Blurb: On the day the Supreme Court legalizes same-sex marriage, Tanner Bradac doesn’t even have a boyfriend, so you can imagine his surprise when he and his buddy Clark get carried away by the celebratory spirit of the day and wind up lawfully wedded husbands. The wedding may have been a light-hearted lark, but Tanner and Clark are willing to give marriage a go. After all, how hard can it be?

Buy Links

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Long-Haul-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B016N810MO/
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Long-Haul-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B016N810MO/
Amazon AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/Long-Haul-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B016N810MO/
Amazon DE: http://www.amazon.de/Long-Haul-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B016N810MO/
JMS Books: http://www.jms-books.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=29_94&products_id=1540

Start with book one!

First Flight Out

First Flight Out CoverJesse Cisneros and his best buddy Tanner fly for Mile High Airlines, which is every bit as classy as it sounds. When Dr. Willis rings his call light on a flight from New York to Denver, Jesse is so taken with the good doctor’s looks and charm, he forgets all about the inflight medical crisis that prompted him to call for a flight attendant in the first place. Willis is handsome. Willis is helpful. And wouldn’t you know it? Willis is someone else’s husband.

Jesse can hardly believe his luck when their paths cross again on the patio of a popular gay bar. It’s been nine months, and Willis has been busy: now he’s single, he’s out, and he’s very interested in getting to know Jesse better. It all seems too good to be true! And you know what they say about that …

Buy Links

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/First-Flight-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B00UDJ3PT6
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/First-Flight-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B00UDJ3PT6
Amazon AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/First-Flight-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B00UDJ3PT6
Amazon DE: http://www.amazon.de/First-Flight-Mile-High-Club-ebook/dp/B00UDJ3PT6
JMS Books: http://www.jms-books.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=29_94&products_id=1405

Excerpt

“I just don’t want to live in Boise. Does that make me such a terrible person?”

August was whipping along. Clark’s September report date loomed huge, casting every conversation, every afternoon in the park, every romp across Clark’s gigantic bed into shadow. Tanner was two cups in at the Sunday beer bust, soaking up the shade on the back patio with Jesse and Willis, eager to get the day’s whining about it out of the way before Clark arrived. His flight hadn’t landed until three, but it was four-thirty; he was liable to stroll up at any moment, and Tanner hoped to pass an argument-free afternoon. If such an animal still existed.

“It does not make you a terrible person,” Willis assured him.

“Although it’s a strike against you in the husband department,” Jesse apparently couldn’t resist saying.

“We’ve been married for two months. We’ve been together for two months and ten minutes. You don’t feel like ‘pack your shit and move to Idaho’ is asking kind of a lot?”

“I guess the only thing I feel like needs asking,” Jesse said, “is, Do you want to be with him?”

“And what, love will conquer all? Even if it does, love won’t fly me to Denver every time I need to get to work.”

“Do you love him?” Willis asked.

A perfectly reasonable question. Certainly when asked by a friend, certainly when asked about one’s own husband. Tanner wasn’t sure why it felt like a slap across the face.

Probably partly because the answer was still, “I don’t know.”

“God, you haven’t told him that?” Jesse said.

“I haven’t told him anything. He leaves in like ten days, I can’t even commit to driving back with him.”

“Tanner, you have to drive back with him. What’ll that take, two days? You can’t just wave goodbye from the curb, he’s your husband.”

“Yeah, well, I’m starting to get real sick of that word.”

Giveaway

Prize: $20 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the author

Michael P. Thomas is a flight attendant whose writing is continually inspired by his work with the flying public, who flatly refuse to be boring. The author of three novel-length gay romances and a number of romantic and erotic shorts, he writes gay fiction because when he was coming out he sure was glad to have it to read. After misspending his youth in San Francisco, he now lives in his native Colorado with his husband.

Social Links

Website: http://misterstewardess.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GoReadMichaelPThomas

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MrStewardess

November 2nd, 2015|Categories: Blog Tour|0 Comments

Cover Reveal: Secret of the Manor by Taylin Clavelli

Secret of the Manor Facebook Cover Art

Synopsis

Warren Blake is an accountant at the pinnacle of his career. After accepting a new position he decides to settle in the scenic Cotswold village of Walmsley Hackett. A village with a colourful history of myth, old wives tales and mystery.

One morning during his train ride into work, Warren notices a small quaint church which he becomes enchanted with. Curiousity compels him to find the church and when he finally does, he discovers an unmarked grave in the corner. Feeling sorry for its occupant, Warren becomes a frequent visitor.

Little does he know that the young man inside the coffin needs a champion and Warren is chosen.

What follows involves a ghostly medieval joust, witchcraft, love, and Warren risking his life.

Release date: November 6th, 2015

Secret of the Manor Cover

Pre-order Links

WIP: http://www.waywardinkpublishing.com/product/secret-of-the-manor-by-taylin-clavelli/
Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Secret-Manor-Taylin-Clavelli-ebook/dp/B0174MHXS8/
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Secret-Manor-Taylin-Clavelli-ebook/dp/B0174MHXS8/
Amazon AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/Secret-Manor-Taylin-Clavelli-ebook/dp/B0174MHXS8/
Amazon DE: http://www.amazon.de/Secret-Manor-Taylin-Clavelli-ebook/dp/B0174MHXS8/
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-secretofthemanor-1914001-149.html

Excerpt

The men were relaxed, almost dozing off as they ambled through a small walled field, when Warren noticed something strange. Despite there being plenty of flowers, a few bushes, and a dozen trees, not a single bird flew within the field’s borders. They occupied the flora outside its walls, but not one feathered animal ventured inside. The sensations invading Warren’s subconscious were not of eerie evil emanating from the dark side. They were ones of respectful space. It was as if someone had kicked the kids out of the house, turned the volume down, placed a glass of wine in one’s hand, and said, “Enjoy the quiet.”

When Warren looked over to Carl, the man had his eyes shut, serenely enjoying the surroundings. Even the horses seemed to tiptoe through the grass. Only bees pollinated the dandelions, daisies, and other meadow flowers. Warren himself could feel his heartbeat laze as if he’d had enough wine to relax but not enough to be tipsy.

“Why is it so quiet in here?” Warren whispered while looking for other signs of life.

Carl took a deep breath, opened his laughter-lined eyes, and pointed to the raised areas of the field. “Those mounds are believed to be Saxon burials.” He chuckled. “We can’t bring that gelding, Dusty, through here. He tries to lie down before we get to the gate at the other end.” Carl spoke like the scene was as natural as walking around the supermarket. Briefly, Warren imagined Carl around Tesco’s. The man wasn’t fat, but he was by no means thin. He enjoyed the comfort of a belly filled with his favourite foods. He’d hang onto the trolley, grumbling and limping his way around on a leg that had been kicked a few times over the years. Then he’d run his hands through the grey hair of his receding hairline that he covered with his flat cap. Warren smiled to himself before he stopped his musings and continued with his enquiries.

“Why don’t you get the Time Team in to find out for sure?”

Carl turned serious. “No. It’s not good to disturb the bones of the dead. It upsets ’em.”

About the author

Taylin Clavelli lives in the United Kingdom, about 15 miles south of Birmingham, and a short journey from the world famous Cadbury’s Chocolate factory. She’s married with children and loves her family with all her heart.

Her love of books has been a long standing affair, with Taylin liking nothing better than to lose herself in an imaginary world.

Until she met Lily Velden, she never considered trying her hand at writing. However, after talking ideas, Lily encouraged her to put pen to paper—or rather, fingers to keyboard. Since, with a few virtual kicks in the right place, she hasn’t stopped. Her confidence eventually led to her writing an original work for submission.

Her first published work was Boys, Toys, and Carpet Fitters, developed for the Dreamspinner Press Anthology – Don’t Try This At Home.

Now she absolutely adores immersing herself into the characters she creates, and transferring the pictures in her brain to paper, finding it liberating, therapeutic, and wonderful.

Outside of writing, her interests include; martial arts (she’s a 2nd Degree Black Belt in Taekwon-do), horse-riding, all of which facilitates her love of a wide variety of movies. Her action heroes include Jet Li and Tony Jaa—finding the dedication these men have for their art combined with their skill both amazing and a privilege to watch. If pressed, she’ll admit to thinking that the screen entrance of Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow in the Pirates of the Caribbean – Curse of the Black Pearl, and Shadowfax in LOTR, to be the greatest screen entrances ever. Her all-time favorite movies are Star Wars and Lord of the Rings.

The simple things in life that make her day, putting a smile on her face are:

Laughter – especially that of her children.

The smell of lasagna cooking – it makes her mouth salivate.

The dawn chorus – no symphony ever written can beat the waking greetings of the birds.

Social links:

Website: http://www.taylinclavelli.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100005234535413
Twitter: https://twitter.com/taylinclavelli

October 30th, 2015|Categories: Cover Reveal|0 Comments

Review: Foolish Encounters: A Rainbow Gold Anthology

Buy Links

Title: Foolish Encounters: A Rainbow Gold Anthology
Author: Tali Spencer, Tinnean, Elin Gregory, JC Wallace, Amy Lane, Angel Martinez, and Freddy Mackay
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Long Novel
Heat Rating3 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

An accident, a chance encounter, a thought blurted out, a boat blown off course, a change in direction that suddenly runs into the line of fire – the smallest misstep can change everything. These foolish encounters are the moments around which lives pivot and sometimes spin out of control. Join us for tales of imprudent choices and bad decisions that can lead just as easily to hilarity as they can to tragedy.


Review:

Like most anthologies some of these stories worked and a few didn’t. Overall it is a good bunch of short stories, something fun to pick up when you’re just looking for something quick to read that’s out of the norm.

A Message from the Home Office by Angel Martinez

I really liked this one. It’s a sci-fi alien shifter story that made me chuckle. Sissal, a cobra shifter and Rcrred (Richard) a dik dik shifter are great characters and I absolutely loved the two of them together. I enjoyed this story the most it was cute, sweet and funny and I would really have loved for there to be more.

Shredding the Heart by JC Wallace

This is one of the two stories in the anthology that is a contemporary romance. Nicholas is a skateboarder and Quinn is a Financial Adviser two completely opposite men that find themselves attracted to each other. I loved their romance, it was one of those sweet slow burn things unfortunately the ending was just a bit too sappy for me. It was cute though.

The Lunar Imperative by Elin Gregory

This story took me back into the sci-fi world but I couldn’t get into this one at all. For most of the story I was confused and by the time I kind of figured out what was going on and who was who the story was over. I think there was too much of everything in too small a space.

Blue and Green Persuasion by Tinnean

Another story in the sci-fi world and for the most part I loved this one! With Blue and Green Persuasion I got a good amount of history that helped me understand why the characters were in the situation they were in. It’s very different from any sci-fi story I have ever read and I laughed a lot but I was disappointed when it ended and a bit disappointed with how it ends. It didn’t feel quite complete, I’m hoping to see this one in a longer version at some point.

Well Hello, Eight Eyes by Tali Spencer

Spider shifters? Ewwww….but who knew they could be so cute? Well one of them anyway. Main character Tanner goes out on his boat and gets caught in a storm and thrown overboard. He thinks it’s the end but he wakes up on an Island he’s never heard of with people who won’t tell him much of anything. I liked this story! It’s cute, sweet and fun, I’d love for more of this one.

The Fenestra Penetration by Amy Lane

By Amy Lane….need I say more? This is the other contemporary romance in the anthology and I loved this one. The characters are great, the story is steamy and it’s just that tiny bit quirky but that made it all the more fun to read. There is a satisfying happy for now ending but I’d love for these guys to get there happily ever after.

The Nut Job by Freddy Mackay

This story takes place in the same world as Angel Martinez’s story A Message from the Home Office. While I liked that story a lot this one lost me. I couldn’t connect to the main characters or their plight. Maybe it was just too out there for me or maybe because I’d read so many other shorts in between I got confused. I wonder if I would have liked this one more if I had of read it immediately after reading A Message from the Home Office. The story idea sounds great it just didn’t work for me.

October 30th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Blog Tour: The One That I Want & Hopelessly Devoted by R.J. Jones

TWTIW and HD Tour Banner

Title: The One That I Want; Hopelessly Devoted
Author: RJ Jones
Genre: Gay Romance, Musical
Length: Short Stories
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing

Synopsis

Jason escapes into the magic of a Broadway play every weekend. Musicals always have a happy ending and for a few hours he can believe there’s a happy ending waiting for him, too. When the tall drink of water who works on the top floor of Jason’s building, wants to take him on a date, Jason is surprised. After all, Jason is awkward and skinny, and sees himself as a boring accountant, while Paul is tall, dark, and incredibly hot.

Despite Jason’s reservations, Paul and Jason start dating and attending the shows Jason adores. But if Paul likes musicals as much as Jason, why does he always doze off? Is Paul leading a double life? Does he have a wife tucked away somewhere?

Jason knows Paul is hiding something and when the secrets come out, Jason finds his fantasy comes to life, right there on the stage.

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26851011-the-one-that-i-want

The One That I Want RJ Jones

Buy Links

WIP: http://www.waywardinkpublishing.com/product/the-one-that-i-want-by-rj-jones/
Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/One-That-I-Want-ebook/dp/B0160LK6CE/
Amazon AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/One-That-I-Want-ebook/dp/B0160LK6CE/
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/One-That-I-Want-ebook/dp/B0160LK6CE/
Amazon DE: http://www.amazon.de/One-That-I-Want-ebook/dp/B0160LK6CE/
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-theonethatiwant-1897813-149.html

Hopelessly Devoted

One year on from Paul’s proposal, Jason is living a life he never dreamed of. As he fusses with his tie and readies to walk down the aisle, he reminisces about the previous twelve months. It hasn’t all been smooth sailing for the happy couple in the lead up to their wedding, with obstacles big and small thrown in their way.

Marrying one of New York’s most eligible bachelors has Jason’s stomach in knots. Expectations of their society wedding are high, but out of love for Paul, Jason goes along with the grand plans because he understands Paul’s family has a reputation to maintain. But Paul has a surprise up his sleeve that just may see Jason getting the wedding of his dreams.

Follow Jason on his journey as he prepares to marry one of the most eligible bachelors in New York and find out just how Dave got his name.

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26851055-hopelessly-devoted

Hopelessly Devoted

 

Buy Links

WIP: http://www.waywardinkpublishing.com/product/hopelessly-devoted-by-r-j-jones/
Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0161IK2ZW/
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0161IK2ZW/
Amazon AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B0161IK2ZW/
Amazon DE: http://www.amazon.de/dp/B0161IK2ZW/
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-hopelesslydevoted-1897814-149.html

Excerpt

NOT LONG after I moved in, we had a problem with Dave. It seemed my cat had taken quite a liking to Paul’s shoes and peed in them whenever we left the closet door open, whether he’d been fed or not. Paul had been at his wits end trying to scrub the smell of cat urine out of his expensive loafers and it had caused more than a few fights between us.

It all came to a head when Paul was working from home one Thursday afternoon. I had stopped by our local Chinese after work to pick up dinner, and as I entered the apartment, I was assaulted by the smell of disinfectant and Paul’s yells.

“Get back here you little pissing machine!”

Dave darted past me, around the kitchen, and up the stairs, heading to his cat-flap that led to the small terrace garden on the roof. Paul was hot on his heels, naked apart from his boxer briefs, his hair wet from a recent shower, clutching the water spray bottle we used to squirt Dave when he’d done something wrong.

“Your fucking cat!” Paul yelled at me as he ran past, taking the steps two at a time after Dave.

Yes, it was my fucking cat when Dave peed in Paul’s shoes, but when Dave wanted a cuddle he was all Paul’s. I rolled my eyes at Paul’s retreating back.

I placed the takeout boxes on the counter and gathered plates and cutlery from the drawer as I waited for Paul to return. I knew Dave would be fine. There’s a hidey-hole in amongst the garden planters where he hides from the spray bottle, big enough for him to fit but too small for a human to get to him. My cat wasn’t stupid. He wouldn’t come out until Paul had left or Dave thought sufficient time had passed for Paul to calm down.

Paul came down the stairs with a scowl on his face and a full squirt bottle in his hand as I finished dishing up dinner.

“I’m tearing out the planters this weekend. The fucker won’t be able to hide so easily then.”

I almost laughed, but the look on Paul’s face said I better not. I remembered what it was like to have your shoes smell like piss.

“How many this time?” I asked instead. “Three.”
“Shoes or pairs?”
“Pairs.”

“Damn.” That was a lot of pee for a small cat. “What were they doing on the floor anyway? You’re supposed to put them on the shelves. That’s why you had that fancy-ass closet built to begin with.”

So not the right thing to say.

 

Giveaway

Prizes: Two WIP gift cards of $2.99 each

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the author

R.J. Jones started as a reader and eventually made the progression to reviewing. It wasn’t until two men popped into her thoughts, insisting on telling her their story that she started to write.

It started with one scene. A hot and dirty one in the shower…

R.J.’s initial thought was if she could write their scene then they’d shut up and allow her to concentrate on other aspects of her day. Not so. That shower scene ended up being 3000 words long and three hours of work.  And still, they didn’t shut up.  They told her their entire story and she didn’t sleep for days. Sometimes she couldn’t keep up with what they were telling her and she had to keep a notebook by her bed.

Whilst she was writing their story a side character decided he needed his story told too. Then other characters followed suit.

You see the problem? If she ever wants to sleep again then she needs to write.

R.J. is a wife and a mother to two boys. She is surrounded by males. Even her dog is a boy.

R.J. Jones can be found at:

Website: http://rjjonesauthor.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robyn.j.jones.1711
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rjjonesauthor
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/rjjones-author
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/rjjonesauthor/

October 29th, 2015|Categories: Blog Tour|0 Comments

Review: Enigma by Lloyd A. Meeker

Buy Links

Title: Enigma (A Russ Morgan Mystery, #)
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Cover Artist: Wilde City Press
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating3.5 Stars (3.5 / 5)

This book was purchased by the reviewer


Blurb:

Who’s blackmailing the high-profile televangelist whose son was famously cured of his homosexuality fifteen years ago? Now in 2009, that ought to be ancient history.

It seems there’s no secret to protect, no crime, not even a clear demand for money—just four threatening letters using old Enigma songs from the 90′s. But they’ve got Reverend Howard Richardson spooked.

Proudly fifty and unhappily single, gay PI Russ Morgan has made peace with being a psychic empath, and he’s managed to build a decent life since getting sober. As he uncovers obscene secrets shrouded in seeming righteousness he might have to make peace with a sword of justice that cuts the innocent as deeply as the guilty.


Review:

So I did this backwards, I read book 2 first then just had to read book one to see how this series started. While it’s not essential to read Enigma before reading Blood and Dirt Book 2 of this series I would highly recommend you do. The mystery in each book are stand-alones but there are things in Russ’s private life that I learned after reading Enigma that helped me understand him more.

Russ Morgan is a PI and an empath and he uses that to aide him in solving his cases. I loved the premise and surprisingly I even loved that there isn’t a romance in this story but there definitely looks like the beginning of one. Enigma is all about the mystery and I thought that was well done even if a bit predictable. I love this author’s writing style and so far I’m loving this series. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

October 28th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Everyone’s a Casualty by Jaidon Wells

Buy Links

Title: Everyone's a Casualty
Author: Jaidon Wells
Cover Artist: Aisha Akeju
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Reviewer: Monika
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Type: Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novelette
Heat Rating2 Stars
Book Rating2.5 Stars (2.5 / 5)

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Blurb:

Joel is more in love with a fantasy world, and one of his own characters, than he is with his own life. He spends his days slipping between reality and the world on the other side of his bedroom door, drifting from day to day with no sense of direction.

But something is haunting the world he’s created, and when it slips out into the real world Joel must choose: surrender the world he loves, or tear it down.


Review:

This little fantasy – and I mean 39 pages little – is really out there but what a great premise! Being so out there it’s a difficult story to review, I’m sure my review will end up being just as confusing as the story.

This reminded me of Narnia, instead of a magical wardrobe there is a magical room behind one of the doors in Joel’s apartment that took Joel – the main character – into a magical world. During the day the mild mannered Joel works at a record store but in his spare time he’s a writer, the writer that has written that magical story behind that door in his apartment.

This story starts out gangbusters but as the story progresses it gets more and more confusing. Like the character in Everyone’s a Casualty I got lost between what was reality and what was fantasy. Unfortunately near the end the story goes off the rails completely and it totally lost me but I see a great deal of potential with this premise. With a bit of fleshing out, some work on the pacing and of course adding more to the story this could be a great read.

October 27th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Review: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married by Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths

Buy Link

Amazon

Title: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married Episode, #)
Author: Leta Blake and Alice Griffiths
Cover Artist: Dar Albert
Publisher: Self-Published
Reviewer: Sean
Genre: Contemporary
Type: Non-Romance
Pairing: Gay
Length: Novella
Heat Rating1 Stars
Book Rating5 Stars (5 / 5)

This book was provided by the Promoter/Marketer in exchange for a honest review.


Blurb:

Join the wild ride in this vibrant and fun first installment of the new romantic comedy serial by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

After a drunken night of hot sex in Vegas, strangers Will Patterson and Dr. Patrick McCloud wake up married. A quickie divorce is the most obvious way out—unless you’re the heir of a staunchly Catholic mafia boss with a draconian position on the sanctity of marriage.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, Will and Patrick don’t like it, or each other, but they have to make the best of it until they can find another way out of their marriage. To ensure the trust fund Will’s charitable foundation relies on isn’t revoked by his mobster grandfather, he and Patrick travel to Will’s hometown of Healing, South Dakota, posing as a newlywed couple in the throes of true love at first sight.

Complicating their scheme are Will’s unresolved feelings for his all-too-recent ex-boyfriend Ryan, and Patrick’s desire to get back to the only thing that really matters to him in life: neurosurgery. Will they fool everyone? Or will the mafia get wind that their marriage is a fake? Throw their simmering attraction into the mix and all bets are off!

Episode 1 of 6 in the Wake Up Married Serial.


Review:

Wake up married with no knowledge can be scary. This novella just proves it. Will sure is a whiny character but I can see why he is acting like that. He comes from a wild family where he needs to be sure everything is going as expected. Otherwise his dream will crushes easily over one tiny mistake. He can’t afford making a dramatic mistake and getting married happened to be one of the huge mistake. It is entirely up to him to try to figure out how to solve the situation without losing everything he builds.

Patrick is a jerk but a fun character to get connect with. I don’t even dislike him, in fact, I like him best out of all characters so far. I feel terribly bad for Patrick being trapped after a crazy night in Vegas. I have no knowledge about getting hitched in Vegas is much harder to get it undo. But it is what making the first episode exciter. The challenge Will and Patrick have to deal is a good storyline to introduce the first season.

I’m really looking forward to start the second episode and see what happens next. I also am looking forward to learn more about Will’s grandmother. I have a funny feeling there will be a huge problem when Will’s ex tries to get involve, so I can’t wait!

I highly recommend you to check the first episode out. The novella formats as a true episode is done extremely well. It feels like I have been watching it on television.

October 26th, 2015|Categories: Review|0 Comments

Blog Tour: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married by Leta Blake & Griffiths

Wake Up Married Banner

Author: Leta Blake & Alice Griffiths

Title: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married

Series Title and Number: Wake Up Married, Episode 1

Publisher: Leta Blake Books

Release Date: October 27, 2015

Genre: Romantic Comedy M/M Romance

Tags: gay, woke up married, tropes, rom-com, mafia, forced marriage, disabled heroes

Heat Level (1 being no sexual content, 5 being erotica): 2 for this Episode, 5 for entire serial

Pairing: M/M

Length: 32,000 words

Book/Buy Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Amazon UK

Book Blurb

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00075]Join the wild ride in this vibrant and fun first installment of the new romantic comedy serial by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

After a drunken night of hot sex in Vegas, strangers Will Patterson and Dr. Patrick McCloud wake up married. A quickie divorce is the most obvious way out—unless you’re the heir of a staunchly Catholic mafia boss with a draconian position on the sanctity of marriage.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, Will and Patrick don’t like it, or each other, but they have to make the best of it until they can find another way out of their marriage. To ensure the trust fund Will’s charitable foundation relies on isn’t revoked by his mobster grandfather, he and Patrick travel to Will’s hometown of Healing, South Dakota, posing as a newlywed couple in the throes of true love at first sight.

Complicating their scheme are Will’s unresolved feelings for his all-too-recent ex-boyfriend Ryan, and Patrick’s desire to get back to the only thing that really matters to him in life: neurosurgery. Will they fool everyone? Or will the mafia get wind that their marriage is a fake? Throw their simmering attraction into the mix and all bets are off!

Episode 1 of 6 in the Wake Up Married Serial.

Excerpt

Patrick sits down beside Will and rubs his hands together in anticipation. “So, what did Granny say? Can she free me from the shackles of our loveless union?”

Will puts his head in his hands. “It’s not going to be as easy as I hoped initially. It might take some time.”

“We knew that. How much time? A week? Two?”

“Maybe a month?”

“What?” Patrick’s voice is loud.

“Maybe more than a month? Possibly up to a year?”

Patrick’s eyes grow dark with anger. “Don’t tell me the all-powerful Eleanora Molinaro you were going on about so enthusiastically when you were convincing me of this half-baked scheme can’t make a little inadvertent marriage disappear.”

“Could you hold it down?” Will whispers. “Or do you want someone to hear?”

“Oooh, right, the Molinaro spies. Might have the place bugged. Guess I shouldn’t yell then? I’m not your toy, Will. I want a divorce and I want one now,” Patrick hollers.

Will glares at him. He raises his own voice, saying, “Don’t be so dramatic, baby!”

He stares Patrick down, daring him to say something else. “You know I love you more than life!”

Patrick looks daggers at him. “Who do you think you’re fooling, Will? The bellhops? The maids?” He wipes a hand across his face and rises. “You know, no. I can’t believe I’ve let your paranoia and insanity drag me across the country into this hornet’s nest of absurdity and—”

Patrick rants on, but Will’s not paying attention anymore, because Patrick’s tossing his new clothes onto the bed, and getting out his suitcases.

“Wait,” Will says, putting his hands on Patrick’s arms. “Wait, don’t.”

Patrick throws a shirt into the bag and sighs. “What do you want from me? I gave your plan a chance, but there is no way in hell I’m going to hang around this town for a year. Not when I could be at the Mayo Clinic or Cedars-Sinai or Vandy. Not when I can be honing my skills and expanding my practice. I am not small-town material, Will. I’m the big-time. I have absolutely no desire to play your loving spouse indefinitely and if your grandmother can’t get us out of this mess? Well, I sure as hell can.”

“Look,” Will says. “I know you can. I just need you…no, no, stop that. You’re not going anywhere.” Will pushes Patrick, trying to move him away from the bags.

Patrick lurches toward him, gripping his forearms and shoving him back with surprising strength. “I’ve been pushed around enough in my life, Will. Now, if you’ll excuse me. I’m going to take care of this my way.”

Will breathes in hard. Terror and attraction jolts through him at once. He swallows and backs away from Patrick, his hands shaking, and his throat dry. Blood rushes in his ears.

Patrick picks up his bag and heads for the door. Will tries to block Patrick from getting it open.

“Really? It’s come to this? Holding me against my will?”

Will pushes the barely open door shut with a hard slam. “I don’t know what you’re talking about, Patrick. This is just our first lover’s spat. That’s all. The first of many to come in our long, wonderfully happy marriage.”

Patrick stares at him like he’s kind of impressed by this level of insanity. “Good God, you’re drinking your own Kool-Aid.”

“Yeah, well, it’s a very, very expensive drink.”

“You think you’re so clever don’t you?”

Will shrugs. “I think I don’t know what else to do.”

 

Author Bios

Leta Blake

imageAuthor of the bestselling book Smoky Mountain Dreams and the fan favorite Training Season, Leta Blake’s educational and professional background is in psychology and finance, respectively. However, her passion has always been for writing. She enjoys crafting romance stories and exploring the psyches of made up people. At home in the Southern U.S., Leta works hard at achieving balance between her day job, her writing, and her family.

You can find out more about her by following her online:

On the web: http://letablake.wordpress.com/

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/letablake

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/LetaBlake

 

Alice Griffiths

A long-time reader of romance novels, Alice Griffiths finally took the plunge into writing, teaming up with best-selling author Leta Blake for the ‘Woke up Married’ serialized comedy. A lover of tropes, Alice enjoys mining old ideas and putting a fresh, funny spin on them. Formerly working in the newspaper industry, Alice is now an art curator. She lives in Sydney, Australia.

You can find out more about her by following her online:

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/Alice_Author

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alice.griffiths.7169

 

Tour Schedule

 

10/26 Bike Book Reviews http://bikebookreviews.blogspot.com
10/26 Unrandom Randomness http://bronwynheeley.blogspot.com.au
10/26 Gay Book Reviews http://gaybook.reviews
10/26 Mikky’s World Of Books http://mikkysworldofbooks.blogspot.fr/
10/26 World of Diversity Fiction http://wodfreview.com
10/27 BookWinked www.bookwinked.com
10/27 Literary Nymphs Hot List http://literarynymphshotlist.blogspot.com/
10/27 Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words www.scatteredthoughtsandroguewords.com
10/28 two chicks obsessed with books and eye candy twochicksobsessed.com
10/28 3 Chicks After Dark http://3chicksafterdark.com/
10/28 Sinfully Addicted http://sinfullysexybooks.blogspot.co.uk/
10/28 Gay.Guy.Reading and Friends http://ggr-review.com/
10/28 Andrew Grey andrewgreybooks.com
10/29 JB’s Book Obsession http://jbsbookobsession.blogspot.com/
10/29 QUEERcentric Books www.blog.queercentricbooks.com
10/29 V’s Reads http://vsreads.com
10/30 Abbey’s 1-Click Book Blog http://www.abbeys1clickblog.com
10/30 Inked Rainbow Reads www.inkedrainbowreads.com
10/30 Bayou Book Junkie http://bayoubookjunkie.blogspot.com/
10/30 Teatime and Books http://www.teatimeandbooks76.blogspot.com
10/30 Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words http://ScatteredThoughtsandRogueWords.com
10/30 MM Good Book Reviews https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com/

Giveaway

 

2 copies of Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married, Episode 1)

Rafflecopter Code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

October 26th, 2015|Categories: Blog Tour|0 Comments

Blog Tour: Redeeming Hope by Shell Taylor

BT_Banner

AboutTheBook

RedeemingHopeLGTitle: Redeeming Hope

Author: Shell Taylor

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Cover Artist: L.C. Chase

Length: Novel – 206 Pages

Release Date: October 5, 2015

Blurb: Home for Hope: Book One

Fifteen years ago Elijah Langley’s world came to an abrupt halt with the death of his high school boyfriend. He keeps his past—and his sexual orientation—hidden until he attends a fundraiser for The Center for HOPE, an LGBT youth center, where he meets Adam Lancaster, HOPE’s infuriatingly stubborn and sexy founder.

A survivor of a turbulent childhood, Adam understands better than most the challenges his youth face. He’s drawn to Elijah’s baby blues and devilish smile but refuses to compromise his values and climb back into the closet for anyone—not even the man showering time and money on HOPE. Months of constant flirting wear down Adam’s resolve until he surrenders to his desires, but Elijah can’t shake his demons.

When a youth from the center is brutally assaulted, Elijah must find a way to confront the fears and memories that are starting to ruin his life, so he can stand strong for those he loves.

CommonExcerpt

Eli clutched the glossy eight-by-ten as tears welled in his eyes. He could hardly believe the emaciated, washed-out figure in the picture was the same person he’d centered his entire world around just a few weeks earlier. Eli would recognize that face anywhere. God knows, he’d spent enough time staring at it—running his fingers over those soft lips, sucking on the kidney-shaped birthmark just below the ear. He never imagined he’d see those eyes so lifeless.

“It’s him,” Eli whispered, dropping the picture on the officer’s desk.

His mother rested a hand on his shoulder. “E.J.—”

“Don’t pretend to care, now that he’s dead.” Eli shrugged out of her grasp and clenched his jaw to hold in the gut-wrenching sobs brewing in his chest. “Will I need to identify the body in person too?”

The officer avoided Eli’s eyes, but his voice was kind. “If you’re certain, this is good enough for us. He’ll be released in the next thirty-six hours. Will you be claiming him, or will the city keep him?”

Eli’s eyes widened, and panic ripped through his heart. He’d never expected the search to end with a dead body, and there was no way he’d be able to give his boyfriend the funeral he deserved—the one Eli owed him for his own part in Brian’s death. Prepared to beg, he turned and met his father’s eyes for the first time since Brian disappeared from their house almost three weeks earlier.

“We’ll take care of his arrangements.” Eli’s mother spoke quietly but firmly, and his father dipped his chin in silent agreement.

Relief carried Eli back to his parents’ car, but grief consumed him as soon as he slid into the back seat. Burying his head in his knees, he shut out the rest of the world. Eli didn’t leave the quiet safety of the car until long after he arrived home, his cheeks crusted with salty tears from mourning the loss of the future he’d been so sure of.

BuyLinks

Dreamspinner Press (ebook)

Dreamspinner Press (Paperback)

Amazon US

Amazon UK

All Romance eBooks

Barnes & Noble

 

AboutTheAuthor

 

Shell Taylor is a full-time mother of three exuberant and loving kiddos and one fur baby, a tiny but fierce Yorkie-poo named Rocco. As a Christian who practices love, grace, and humility rather than hatred and judgement, she tries her best to instill these same virtues in her rowdy kids. She just recently learned how to crochet to start bombarding new mothers with matching hats and booties. She is a huge Marvel fan and because of the superhero-plastered tees paired with jeans and Chucks has been told when helping out in her son’s classroom that she looks more like the students than a parent. Her favorite way to procrastinate is to binge watch entire seasons on Netflix. Best of all, she’s been married ten years to a man who’s turned out to be everything she never knew she needed.

|| Website & Blog || Facebook || Twitter || Email ||

RafflecopterGiveaway

Winner’s Prize: $20 Amazon Gift Card.

Runner-up’s Prize: $10 Amazon Gift Card.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TourSchedule

October 6:

MM Good Book Reviews

Drops of Ink

October 7:

My Fiction Nook

October 8:

Molly Lolly: Reader, Reviewer, Lover of Words

Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents

October 9:

The Purple Rose Tea House

A Celebration of Books

October 12:

Wicked Faeries Tales & Reviews

Bike Book Reviews

October 13:

Hearts on Fire

October 14:

Diverse Reader

October 15:

Bayou Book Junkie

October 16:

Wake Up Your Wild Side

October 19:

Jessie G Books

October 20:

World of Diversity Fiction

Gay Media Reviews

October 21:

Prism Book Alliance

October 22:

BFD Book Blog

Love Bytes Reviews

October 23:

Divine Magazine

October 20th, 2015|Categories: Blog Tour|0 Comments